Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't it a bit a sad how celebrity culture has affected the race for President?

• 04-08-2011 12:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭

Miriam O'Callaghan, Olivia O'Leary, Joe Duffy... We're just short of suggesting Pat Kenny or Ryan Tubridy should go for it!

Anybody with any decent candidate (not necessarily celebs but somebody with a challenging life experience) suggestions for the office?

How about John Hume? Or would there be anybody within the group that is working for people for free to protect from repossession that may be worthy?

Regards Dana, isn't it obvious she got her brother to put out word of her desire for President to feel out public opinion... How sad is that?! She'd only go for it if she knew she'd have a decent chance. She doesn't deserve it on that fact alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭alan85

Add Gaybo to above list...

Anybody else from RTé!? Marian Finucane?!

FFS... I heard a story about Gaybo a few years ago. A neighbour of his, new to the area, had a house warming and invited everyone around on the street. Gaybo made an appearance and subsequently sent an invoice for an appearance fee...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I'm patiently awaiting Dustin the turkey to announce his bid...

Seriously though, it's no surprise in our media oriented society that celebrities (and/or those backing their bid) see themselves as worthy of such a role based solely on the fact that the public knows their face or has grown comfortable with their company on the TV or in other media. It gives them a head start on people coming from other circles, who may be a lot more qualified for the actual task in hand...

What's 'sad' is that there are those in the electorate who will vote on candidates based on familiarity with the person through a media presence, rather than on their qualifications (if any)... appealing to people because you could sing, host a chat show or sit on a panel of entrepeneurs doesn't (necessarily) make you a good head of state IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

alan85 wrote: »
    Add Gaybo to above list...

Anybody else from RTé!? Marian Finucane?!

FFS... I heard a story about Gaybo a few years ago. A neighbour of his, new to the area, had a house warming and invited everyone around on the street. Gaybo made an appearance and subsequently sent an invoice for an appearance fee...

That has the whiff of urban myth about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

i don't think Joe would want the pay cut - and only having your job guaranteed for 7 years, that's not the RTE style.

I don't think Gay is as loved as the media think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Might as well move the Aras to RTE at Donnybrook......maybe even the Dail.

Well Marian definitely wouldn't take the pay cut & most certainly would not do the hours ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its a non job for, I'd nearly say, a non person. Hardly a surprise that all types are being linked even if rather tenuously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Miriam O'Callaghan, Olivia O'Leary, Joe Duffy... We're just short of suggesting Pat Kenny or Ryan Tubridy should go for it!

Anybody with any decent candidate (not necessarily celebs but somebody with a challenging life experience) suggestions for the office?

How about John Hume? Or would there be anybody within the group that is working for people for free to protect from repossession that may be worthy?

Regards Dana, isn't it obvious she got her brother to put out word of her desire for President to feel out public opinion... How sad is that?! She'd only go for it if she knew she'd have a decent chance. She doesn't deserve it on that fact alone.

Why in the name of God would anyone enter if they felt they didnt have a chance - :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Callan57 wrote: »
    That has the whiff of urban myth about it :)
    You could be right - maybe the revenue people should check it anyway.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

mike65 wrote: »
    Its a non job for, I'd nearly say, a non person. Hardly a surprise that all types are being linked even if rather tenuously.

Fully agree on that. It's not like there's many people who aren't "qualified" to be prez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,165 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It's a token job, where you basically become a socialite and charity whore for 7 years+

It's the fascination with who is running which is funny, as if the next president will solve any of the problems the country is facing today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

Such a pity that Dermot Earley has passed away - believe he would have been a wonderful president....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

im surprised jedward havent launched a campaign yet.

by the way..what do you call a man with two pr.icks?

amacachi wrote: »
    Fully agree on that. It's not like there's many people who aren't "qualified" to be prez.

Well good table manners are important ... according to Sam Smyth
    So maybe we could have a contest .. eating spagetti, oysters, spare ribs etc
    A lot cheaper that holding an election & it could be a reality show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well Dana and Adi Roche so it isn't a new thing.

John Hume would be a shoe in.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

amacachi wrote: »
    The only major criteria seems to be that you have to be 35 years old or older. So that explains why Jedward haven't entered yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Maybe I'm being overly cynical but the publicity machine seems to be getting fired up out in montrose already "just in case" Byrne decides to run...which gets me thinking that if he does run, that it'll be wall to wall cheerleading for "their man" albeit as surreptiously as they can manage without presenting themselves as biased, lots of subliminal smiley stuff, reading out the "right" texts and a concentration on digging the dirt on the nearest second runner in polls...if he runs it'll be the cheapest political campaign in decades...unless you're a licence payer.

As for no qualifications needed...well at least the last two have had some form of previous when it came to actual legislative work...I'd prefer anyone tasked with overseeing our constitution, even oin a figurative manner, to at least have a grounding in some form of academia, rather than someone who just looks good shaking hands and reviewing guards of honour.

As for Hannafin....jaysus...have we learned nothing here? I hope, hope, that she wouldn't make it past the first count, were she to run...hopefully the FF tag would be enough of a millstone to sink her...

GSF wrote: »
    The only major criteria seems to be that you have to be 35 years old or older. So that explains why Jedward haven't entered yet.
    Perhaps they could add their ages together ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I can only trust FF will not back Mary Hannifan to run unless they really are looking to wrap the party up for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Given that its said that Gay Byrne is only back on TV because his pensions and investments were annihilated and he needs the money, you'd have to consider that maybe his intentions wouldn't just be to fulfil the role of the highest office in the land better than anyone else. There's a big wedge, a house and a solid pension.

Why the country would want to vote for a 77 year old tv presenter with no legal or humanitarian background for a 7-year term is beyond me. Hope he doesn't run - it'd make a mockery of the race.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Personally I'd hope a businessperson would enter the race, given how poorly the state has mismanaged its finances. Bill Cullen for president? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Oh god you're not actually serious are ya? Joe Duffy running for the presidency... I'm moving country if that idiot gets elected.

Laisurg wrote: »
    Oh god you're not actually serious are ya? Joe Duffy running for the presidency... I'm moving country if that idiot gets elected.

The 'Dependency Culture Industry' would be devasted if Joe Duffy headed off to the park !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pierre le Peu

Just in to the Party ...
    Now ...

As I said somewhere else today...:D

Four things about "coy" Gay Byrne's intestest in being President :

1. Independent ? His wife's family - if I recall correctly - are staunch FF.
    2. RTE have too much influence over Irish society as it is - without putting their old star mouthpiece in to The Arús as well.
    3. Gay has already admitted he'd be a low-key and non-proactive President - "too old to go traipsing round the country" he says. Hello ??? ...we want someone to go confidently across & around the WORLD STAGE !
    4. His own personal financial errors and misfortunes - and public weeping about same - don't exactly send the upbeat inspirational theme that our President will want to reflect - especially in the current economic times that are in it...

Manach wrote: »
    Personally I'd hope a businessperson would enter the race, given how poorly the state has mismanaged its finances. Bill Cullen for president? :rolleyes:

He's so keen on people working for nothing I'm sure he'd lead by example ... that would be a few hundred thousands saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Callan57 wrote: »
    He's so keen on people working for nothing I'm sure he'd lead by example ... that would be a few hundred thousands saved.

Would he have to take his illegal banners and signs down from his dealerships? Funny how he's such a shrewd businessman that he has to lash up an oul' tacky fabric banner to tell the folks about the "MASSIVE SALE". Banners, like apples, are cheap.

G'wan Bill, don't mind the planning permission. :rolleyes:

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=bill+cullen+motors+liffey+valley&hl=en&ll=53.353879,-6.400281&spn=0,0.791016&sll=53.384557,-6.303406&sspn=0.23344,0.791016&t=h&z=11&iwloc=A&layer=c&cbll=53.353879,-6.400281&panoid=oGyaZURQiyRyGP_rGXIj2Q&cbp=12,51.37,,0,0

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=bill+cullen+motors+airside&hl=en&ll=53.447219,-6.220873&spn=0,0.00309&sll=53.359722,-6.278745&sspn=0.235625,0.791016&t=h&z=19&layer=c&cbll=53.447219,-6.220873&panoid=kJhbbvD4dLvpVX-zIDQGJg&cbp=13,154.36,,1,-6.65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Sean Gallagher ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

K-9 wrote: »
    Well Dana and Adi Roche so it isn't a new thing.

John Hume would be a shoe in.
    john humes health would make him a bad choice i think

bill cullen really. i dont know whether to laugh or cry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

You are aware that constitutionally the office of President in Ireland has absolutely zero influence on actual policy yes?

Any business leader considering a run for the Aras would do the state far greater service by continuing to run their business instead, thus generating jobs and revenue, instead of sacking it all off to spend seven years shaking hands with Rugby players and going to the RDS Horse Show...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

...but replying to the OP, yes, it's very sad indeed; but then the entire role and function of the Presidency in Ireland is so neutered and ceremonial that it just acts as a magnet for people with an inflated sense of their own importance who want big money for a job that doesn't really require much in the way of skills apart from a little charm, a firm handshake and the ability to not headbutt a foreign dignitary. Amazed Twink hasn't gone for it yet.

I'll put money on Ronan Keating getting to the Aras by 2040.

http://www.herald.ie/news/apprentice-cullen-loses-euro9m-at-muckross-hotel-1633396.html"
    " top hotel owned by Apprentice presenter Bill Cullen had accumulated losses of over €9m in 2007, it has emerged..."

Why not make him Minister for Finance as well ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

pjmn wrote: »
    Such a pity that Dermot Earley has passed away - believe he would have been a wonderful president....
    the perfect president.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I just thought of something. Martin Sheen is an Irish citizen.

Jed Bartlett for president !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

The problem is I believe that our president is seen to have no powers so people don't mind voting for a joke, celebrity candidate.

Time for political reform I think.

I think I will now dedcide on the basis of whichever candidate will make the safety of our children a major campaign issue - doesnt matter who they are aligned with or whether they are really independents or no.
    If none do I will simply boycott.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We espoused the Telly years ago and all the nonsense that goes with it.Our homes are cinemas with the moods of bus stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭WaltKowalski

john humes health would make him a bad choice i think

It is a shame - he'd be very deserving of the presidency.

I think the post should be a reward for a lifetime devoted to the betterment of civic society.

I'm finding it hard to think of someone I'd like to run.
    David Andrews maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭scholar007

Gorgeous George Lee could have a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

scholar007 wrote: »
    Gorgeous George Lee could have a go!

For a few months maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

bill cullen really. i dont know whether to laugh or cry

I would suggest that you cry - bill cullen is one of your lads ( FF supporter)

raymon wrote: »
    I would suggest that you cry - bill cullen is one of your lads ( FF supporter)
    he might support them i certainly dont.