Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tall girls

• 04-08-2011 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I've been wondering about this for a while.

I'm 6'4'', and I've always liked tall girls - it isn't a dealbreaker, but I've always found them attractive.
    Yet, I've heard several people say that being a tall girl is a disadvantage as they find it harder to get guys, but I can honestly say on nights out I've seen no evidence of this.

Now, most guys won't date a taller girl, and most girls won't date a shorter guy, so obviously the potential pool for taller girls is more limited, but I doubt it's that much of a factor.And when we had a thread in AH some months ago, a large number of guys liked tall girls.

So - is there really an issue with tall girls? Or have a few people been blaming their failures on the wrong cause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

tall girls dont tend to be , shall i say, very 'boobular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

There is no 'issue' with tall women.

There are issues with people who were never taught manners and will comment on a woman who happens to be taller then average.

There are men who have issues with their own self-confidence and self worth and so won't date a woman who is taller.

I'm not sure refusing to date a taller woman is necessarily down to self worth issues, it's just preference, same as women who want taller guys

I don't see what the "issue" is though, but then I'm about average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Sharrow wrote: »
    There is no 'issue' with tall women.

There are issues with people who were never taught manners and will comment on a woman who happens to be taller then average.

There are men who have issues with their own self-confidence and self worth and so won't date a woman who is taller

And a woman who won't date a shorter guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Same thing as far as I am concerned.

For some people it is an actual personal preference but for many it is a imposed societal preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I haven't dated a taller girl (I'm 6ft exactly according to a medical) but I don't think it's down to self-esteem issues.

For some reason I just prefer petite women, honestly not entirely sure why that is. My girlfriend is 5ft1. I certainly don't rule out women closer to my height though.

My girlfriend said she went on a few dates with a guy that was the same height as her and said she found it really strange and off-putting as she is almost always used to having men be taller than her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

So - is there really an issue with tall girls? Or have a few people been blaming their failures on the wrong cause?

I'm five foot nothing so I'm not a tall girl - but I have to say I don't think dismissing any concerns women have made over their height and inferring they are actually an excuse for "their failures" based on your personal experience is going to encourage much discussion on the matter... :eek: :confused:

I have some very tall friends and guys shorter than them seem to be much more intimidated by them than they are short@rse me - and some of them are actually much more approachable/less acerbic than I can be! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I've been wondering about this for a while.

I'm 6'4'', and I've always liked tall girls - it isn't a dealbreaker, but I've always found them attractive.
    Yet, I've heard several people say that being a tall girl is a disadvantage as they find it harder to get guys, but I can honestly say on nights out I've seen no evidence of this.

Now, most guys won't date a taller girl, and most girls won't date a shorter guy, so obviously the potential pool for taller girls is more limited, but I doubt it's that much of a factor.And when we had a thread in AH some months ago, a large number of guys liked tall girls.

I'm confused :confused: What is your view on it? Either there's no evidence of being a tall girl affecting getting a guy, or there is. In the second point I highlighted you admitted that most guys won't date a taller girl :confused:

Anyway, I'm 5"10 and haven't exactly had much luck in the guy department but it's be unfair to put that down purely to height.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I prefer shorter girls as well, im pretty average height, bout 5'8-5'9 so anyone the same height or shorter is fine by me, its just a preference, same I prefer brunettes to blondes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

I'm not tall by normal standards but in my old group of friends I was the tallest by a good few inches but I didn't find it put men off approaching me or anything like that. In fact I was seeing a guy about 5-6 inches shorter than me for a couple of months before things fizzled out. I always thought I would be too uncomfortable going out with someone shorter than me but when the time came it just really didn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I'm 6'1, and in my experience my height certainly isn't an advantage when it comes to meeting guys.

Most men prefer women shorter to them, despite what they might say on here. It's not their fault for prefering smaller women to themselves. We have been brought up with very defined gender roles, and most men are very intimidated when a women is physically larger than them. I've often overheared guys in pubs, and other places, say that I'm 'too' tall for them.While obviously other factors come into play, I would say on the whole height is a hinderance to meeting someone, especially when your a women over 6'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I've had two guys in my sports club say that I come across intimidating because of my height. I'm 5'10ish.

I was actually deliberating last night on whether to wear wedged heels out tomorrow night or not. If I wear them I'll be around 6'2.

I don't think my height is the main reason for having bad luck with lads but as Panda100 said before me, I don't think it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Odaise Gaelach

For me I don't think "tall" is the right word. "Taller" might be a better one.

For example I'm male about 5' 10" in height. I wouldn't consider a woman to be tall if she's my height, because it's from my own perspective. But I wouldn't find taller women intimidating; actually I think they're quite attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I'm 5'11" and it hasn't been a hinderance to me at all. I've had men of all sizes chat me up.

I think it's an advantage to a woman as you stand out more and a taller woman is more striking (I think!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I'm only 5ft 8 and lots of people comment on how tall I am, I would never have considered myself to be particularly tall, but actually it's mainly girls, they say "Ooh I wish I was as tall as you, no need for heels" etc etc, lots of them say it with quite a b*tchy tone, madness!

I agree taller women do seem to be more striking, catch people's eye first or something! Although I don't know about voodoo_rasher's theory of less boobage in taller girls, all my taller friends actually have the biggest boobs, quite substantial differences from the shorter ones actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

^ Oh yeah I get that a lot too. The oh why are you wearing heels? or are you not tall enough? Not from my best friends, obviously but some people. :confused: I wear them cos I think I look better in them and they make an outfit look nicer just like you! :confused:
    Guys definitely don't approach me. I'm 6'2 in heels and I'm very confident so maybe I'm a bit intimidating. Not sure if it's just the height or what it is :/ but I have noticed shorter friends are approached waaaaay more for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I've mentioned before in TLL that I'm 5' 11". Don't shoot me for this, but as much as I love being tall (can always find people in a crowd for one thing!) there are times when I would really love to be a petite 5' 1" and see what it's like. Let's face it, with my build I look like I can well look after myself, and I do think that taller women do intimidate some people.

That said, I used to never wear heels, I was so conscious of being head and shoulders above all my friends as it is (but I got over it, mainly because I love shoes). It took a while to learn how to walk in heels though, having missed out on the stumbling around like an eejit most people go through as teenagers. I recently wore a gorgeous pair of 4" heeled wedges on a night out and I was delighted with myself, my legs looked great in them! The only time I won't wear heels out now is when I'm wearing a pair of trousers or a long dress that looks too short with heels on.

Personally, I have a preference for taller guys, but if the love of my life turns out to be 4' 9", then so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm not very tall but I'm about 5'8" and yeah, there have been quite a few comments about my height. Most of my friends are shorter and say things like, "Oh, I'm so glad I'm little! It means I'm cute" etc. It grates on me - that whole thing where girls think they're cute just because they're not very tall.

I'm happy being the height I am, and honestly, would hate to be shorter. I find my height makes it easier to dress.

As for guys, have never have a problem but then again, I guess I'm only a bit taller than average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lesserspottedchloe

I'm 5 11'' and I love it!

Growing up I had so many opportunities available to me because of my height and bulid. Every one of the boyfriends I've had has found my height attractive and the only negative comments I've recieved are from very short people (who were obviously threatened or perhaps insecure in themselves).

I have to admit though that I don't find 'shorter' men attractive and have never even kissed a guy thats not at least the same height as me! I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that all the male figures in my life have been tall/stocky so I associate these physical traits with masculinity.

where's Freud when you need him? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 RachyPie

I'm 5'10 and personally prefer men who are taller than myself. My boyfriend is 6'4, and i'm almost the same height as him when I wear heels. I can't say i'd be comfortable with anyone much smaller than that. It feels weird for me to be towering over a guy. I once went out with a guy who was 5'8 and although I tried not to let it bother me, it was always there in the back of my mind - thinking we looked weird together, feeling like a giant etc.

It's a very personal preference though, as I know other tall girls, some feel the same as me, lovin' the tall men, for others it isn't that big of a factor.

In the past i've found that I have gotten approached quite often, and usually the conversation doesn't go on too long before I hear the line "you're very tall", or something along those lines. So in that way, I think it definitely makes you stand out from the crowd. I would say it has been mostly taller guys approaching me. I have always just thought that smaller or even average height guys wouldn't be interested in someone taller than them. But I guess that's down to personal preference too.

I would say that being tall definitely limits the potential pool, but isn't a real 'issue' in itself. I love it! Very easy to spot people in a crowd, reach things on high shelves, and much more! I hated it when I was younger, but have come to embrace it over the past few years and wouldn't change it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Larianne wrote: »
    I've had two guys in my sports club say that I come across intimidating because of my height. I'm 5'10ish.

I was actually deliberating last night on whether to wear wedged heels out tomorrow night or not. If I wear them I'll be around 6'2.

I don't think my height is the main reason for having bad luck with lads but as Panda100 said before me, I don't think it helps.

I wouldn't have said that anyway. Do you not find that it helps you stand out from the crowd? I've a few tall female friends and I've never really noticed anything intimidating about their height. I think a girls build plays a role too, some girls look taller because they are broad shouldered etc.

As for people making comments, I don't think people mean any harm. I think everybody has something that people will make a comment about. Tall people probably get tall comments, long-haired guys will get comments about long hair, people with really blue eyes will get comments about them etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Now, most guys won't date a taller girl, and most girls won't date a shorter guy, so obviously the potential pool for taller girls is more limited, but I doubt it's that much of a factor.

Then you'd be completely wrong. It's unfortunate but taller women have less of a pool to pick from as an awful lot of people really prefer the taller man/shorter woman physical dynamic. And the taller the woman the less of the pool.

That said shorter men probably have it even harder as I know a lot of short women who would have doubts about dating a short man even though he is taller than her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'm 5'11" but I don't date guys, so that's probably not the answer the OP wanted?

I did have issues about my height, tho now I'm actually kinda happy about it. I guess I'm just a lot more comfortable with myself these days. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Personally I've never dated someone who was more than six inches shorter than me on a night out. I'm 6"4 and my gf is 5"10 but when she wears heels she's obviously 6"1 or 2.

I do feel a bit for girls who are a fair bit taller than average, it's not hard at all for a 5"10 girl to find guys as there's loads of guys here 6"4 or so give or take. I think when the girl is 6"odd there's only so many guys who are half a foot or so taller. There seems to be a range of half a foot or so that people find acceptable, if I was to look at all my friends who are attached the guy is usually five to six inches taller than the girl. Holds all the way across guys of different height. Only exception is my best mate who's the same height (he claims) as his girlfriend.

All that being said good looking girls are good looking girls regardless of height!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I dont care what height you are as long as you are in proportion
    if you are tall, then I want to see wide hips and a bigger build :)
    if you are short....wide hips and a bigger build than your height :)

my type is proportion :p --> curvy without excess fat/folds/ muffin tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

Fancy having a woman boss who is taller than you. I did once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm tallish. Almost 5'10". I don't know what I want to say.

I wanted to be shorter when I was younger, as I was I always very tall and skinny. Felt a bit gawky I guess. Was 5'8" when I was 12. Wanted to be small and cute :/ Stopped growing when I was about 14, except for the odd 2/3 cm. Thank God. Wouldn't like to be any taller.

Never wear heels because I just don't understand how people can wear shoes that are not at all comfortable. Very little to do with my height!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

panda100 wrote: »
    I'm 6'1, and in my experience my height certainly isn't an advantage when it comes to meeting guys.

Most men prefer women shorter to them, despite what they might say on here. It's not their fault for prefering smaller women to themselves. We have been brought up with very defined gender roles, and most men are very intimidated when a women is physically larger than them. I've often overheared guys in pubs, and other places, say that I'm 'too' tall for them.While obviously other factors come into play, I would say on the whole height is a hinderance to meeting someone, especially when your a women over 6'.

of course being very tall doesnt give you an advantage with the opposite sex , anything that marks you out from the ordinary is going to be problematic , i myself am nearly 6 ft 3 and its never been the slightest advantage when it comes to women , being very tall is vastly over rated anyway , from increased back problems to buying clothes , its a handicap

Fancy having a woman boss who is taller than you. I did once.

having a woman boss is bad enough in itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

irishh_bob wrote: »
    of course being very tall doesnt give you an advantage with the opposite sex , anything that marks you out from the ordinary is going to be problematic , i myself am nearly 6 ft 3 and its never been the slightest advantage when it comes to women , being very tall is vastly over rated anyway , from increased back problems to buying clothes , its a handicap

Ah its not all that bad. Its great being always able to find someone in a crowd, and be able to see at gigs and matches. It also does give you a commanding presence that in some circumstance can really be of benefit, such as at work.

But when it comes to opposite sex, its definately not an advantage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

irishh_bob wrote: »
    having a woman boss is bad enough in itself
    irishh_bob input like that example is not welcome in this forum. So dial it back please.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

Im a 5ft 10 woman, I love being tall, great for playing volleyball and basketball when I was in college. I love that I dont have to wear skyscrapers of heels all the time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I'm a 6' 1 male and find nothing sexier than a tall woman who's proud of it.

Tall women who are "negatively aware" of their height can be such a turn off too..
    It's down to the lady herself,like any other attribute,if she can project it positively she'll always rouse interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'd imagine if you're a leg man, you might prefer a bit of height in a woman.

Shorter women can have good, shapely legs too, but you're more likely to have lovely pins if you're tall, I reckon. :) (and I say this as a short woman so not trying to big myself up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I'm 5'7" and taller than most of my female friends. I feel kinda self conscious about it to be honest. If I wear heels, which I love to, I'm 6' or so and next to my friends I feel like freakish giant. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Mat the trasher

Just out of interest what is tall for a Girl these days?

for example I would consider >178cm tall, but in a couple is the difference in height more the consideration?

Just out of interest what is tall for a Girl these days?

for example I would consider >178cm tall, but in a couple is the difference in height more the consideration?

anything over around 5 ft 6 is tall for a woman imo

Wibbs wrote: »
    irishh_bob input like that example is not welcome in this forum. So dial it back please.

funny , i recall a thread on this forum not too long ago which dealt with this subject , female bosses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

looky loo wrote: »
    Im a 5ft 10 woman, I love that I dont have to wear skyscrapers of heels all the time :)

I'm a 5ft 3 woman and I love that I don't have to wear heels either ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I'd love to be tall for a day to have the perspective of being at eye line / above eye line with other people. I have no idea what that's like as I've always been the smallest or among the smallest in the room.

Although I find tallness and shortness is relative. I live in Toronto and find that here as a woman I'm pretty much of average height at 5'1 as there are so, so many short women around it's unbelievable. And just in my experience here, 'tall' for a guy would be about 5'10. Most guys I date over here would be shorter than that, whereas back home they were all taller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I used to be tall, relative to other kids my age, growing to 5'3 by age 11. Everyone thought I'd grow to be 6 foot but I didn't grow up again. I absolutely hated being 'tall' and am so glad I didn't grow any taller. People used to comment on my height and I stuck out. I much prefer being average.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm only 5'2 and I hate it. It often means I'm being mistaken for a child or young teenager, which is very irritating. Most of the tall ladies I know are very striking - it definitely doesn't seem to hamper them. Being so short means I tend to just get lost in a crowd which suits me fine sometimes but other times can be a hindrance. *shrug* It is what it is.

Pythia wrote: »
    I used to be tall, relative to other kids my age, growing to 5'3 by age 11. Everyone thought I'd grow to be 6 foot but I didn't grow up again. I absolutely hated being 'tall' and am so glad I didn't grow any taller. People used to comment on my height and I stuck out. I much prefer being average.

im nearly 6 ft 3 and hate it , ive serious back problems and being tall makes this even more of a problem, beit driving in cramped possition , hospital beds being too short or airplane seating being hopelessly inadequete , being very tall is rarely if ever an advantage

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I'm 175cm which is tallish for a girl, my boyfriend is about the same height but he doesn't mind if I wear heels. I don't wear them as much as I did when I was younger though, I used to wear huge shoes with my school uniform, now I tend to wear flats unless I'm going out somewhere.

Sometimes I have thought that it might be nice to be more petite and feminine, but overall I think I like being tall. Buying trousers long enough can be a bit of a nuisance though, since I have long legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Im 5'8" and I dated a guy years ago who was shorter than me - I didnt have a problem with his height but he hated me wearing platform runners (it was 1997 - normal footwear of that era). He had issues with his height but I hadn't.

Im married now - my husband is 6'5" - very tall. I love that he is so tall - its lovely hugging a tall man and I feel so safe with his arms around me. He asked me out because Im tall and he always liked tall women.

In my school days I had no luck with boys because I towered over most of them until they turned 18!

bit of a coincidence and a little off topic but I met a friend of a friend last night who in the middle of a totally different conversation asked:

her: What height are you?
    me: 5ft 10/11 why?
    her: ooooh.... woooow..that's veeeeery tall..
    me:...yup(?)
    her: GOD I'd HATE to be tall! I'm 5ft3..i love being small and cute-it's soo much more womanly! Small women are statistically more likely to get married ;)
    me: .....right well good for you then..I really like my height.
    (thinking are you calling me manly/would you like me to chop my legs off?)

How rude is that? It's no better than approaching a heavy girl and telling her you think it's so much more attractive to be skinny and you'd hate to be fat!!

rant over.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

An attractive person is attractive regardless of height. You will be some peoples type and you wont suit others.

Plus, no matter what physical appearance you have, there will be somebody to comment on it. Height, hair colour, weight, breast size, nose size, eyes etc will all be commented on by somebody at some stage. Tall girls probably notice issues about tall girls more readily than issues other people notice. I tend to notice things about guys around my height and age as they are applicable to me. I'm sure it's the same for everybody.

Basically if any tall girls are anxious about their height, don't worry unduly. Some people are jealous. Others fancy you. Others find you striking. Others don't even notice your height. Others don't notice you at all. Different people will react differently. If you happen to be a beautiful tall girl, learn to love it. Your friends and lovers can enjoy hanging around with their own supermodel :pac:

I think we are all prone to finding issues with ourselves and worrying about them. I'd love to be taller. But I'm realising if I were taller, I'd just have a different set of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭LEH

I'm 5ft10 and have always had a love/hate relationship with my height. Most guys are slightly intimidated by it, but the ones who love it REALLY love it, so could be worse I suppose!

Some advantages:
    Being easily found at concerts/in crowds
    Not having to crane neck so much in cinemas
    Being able to carry that extra bit of weight and hide it!
    Reaching the top shelf in the press :D (always where the secret stash of sweets is...!)
    Passing for 18+ from about 14/15 yrs old
    Hoping my larger taller frame will make any eventual childbirth that bit easier... childbearing hips and all that!

And the disadvantages:
    Really hard to find trousers long enough (tip go to Holland they've lots of tallies over there!)
    Skirts and dresses that look gorgeous on my petite friend but look x-rated on me showing too much leg
    Tops being too short, nearly all end up looking like crop tops on me
    Being taller than nearly all guys my age from 12-20
    Being head and shoulders above my 5ft friends leading to stooping and sore back to get down to their level
    Guys way more likely to talk to my boobs if wearing heels
    Can't buy all the skyscraper heels I love without towering above even my tall guy mates
    Comments from girls about shortness equating cuteness and femininity

I've let my height hold me back in the past and felt insecure about it, but I now I feel that it's something that makes me stand out, I should embrace it, stand tall and work it!!!

I totally agree Parker Kent and believe me her comments havn't dented my ego or anything! :p However, it's always going to be annoying and unnecessery when people feel the need to negatively comment on these physical attributes. I'm not normally a big fan of extreame political correctness but I think this should be as taboo as commenting negatively on somebodys weight.

We should be celebrating what makes us different and beautiful in our own unique way-not forcing people to strive towards attaining a 'normal' 'average' ideal in order to feel beautiful. How boring would that be.

Eva Longoria and and Adriana Lima are both beautiful and there's a ft in their height difference.

None of it matters much in the long-run anyway once people get past that and want to hear what you've got to say:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 joan mack

There is an old saying and its "That everyones the same size when were lying down" My daughter at five foot ten and with huge heels is the envy of myself and my two five foot four daughters, Everything we wear looks so much better on her, Clothes that reach to our knees show off her long shapely legs, I wish I had been born to be tall, I wouldn't have this fractured wrist from falling off a chair trying to reach a pot on the top of my kitchen cupboards