Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the finches?

• 04-08-2011 6:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭

I put 2 birdfeeders in my back garden 2 wks ago and hvent seen one bird on them so far...but for the odd magpie on the grass, they are both still almost full...there are some overhanging trees and last year, I loved watcing the finches fly out of them and onto the birdfeeders..
    are there none around at the moment or have I done something wrong:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Fittle wrote: »
    I put 2 birdfeeders in my back garden 2 wks ago and hvent seen one bird on them so far...but for the odd magpie on the grass, they are both still almost full...there are some overhanging trees and last year, I loved watcing the finches fly out of them and onto the birdfeeders..
    are there none around at the moment or have I done something wrong:confused:

There is plenty of natural food availiable for finches at this time of year so their not as bothered with artificial feeding. Personally I don't put out anything till the end of October unless the weather is exceptionally bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

I had Linnets and Goldfinches coming to nyjer seed regularly until about 2 weeks ago. Suddenly they all disappeared. As stated above, lots of natural food around for them now. They will be back when the weather gets colder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Aw that's good to hear! I thought I had the wrong feeders out for them or they didn't like my garden anymore:(.

That's great - thanks for info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I advocate all year round feeding but even then the numbers drop away considerably in August. In addition to the ample supply of seeds and fruits now available in the wild, the birds are also undergoing a moult and will be less active and hiding in shelter.

They'll be back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I've only seen a few recently. Weeks can go by with little taken from the feeders, then I'm running out topping them up morning and evening. Grain crops are ripening so I'm sure they have found them.

Now its mostly a dozen sparrows who drop in to my ground feeder cage, and the collared doves and pigeons who perch on the roof waiting for me to throw out some seed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Same here, very few finches of any sort at the moment, only a few sparrows and the occasional tit, plus 'our' robins.

should I bring in the birdfeeders and keep the food dry for another month so, or just leave it out there? I know I've seen it get wet & soggy when I've left it out in the rain before...

Leave it out. The weather has been reasonably warn and dry so it shouldn't deteriorate too much. Surely something is feeding at it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Mothman

Goldfinches have moved into my meadow. They love the Knapweed seeds :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I was watching the nature program on BBC recently, the live one, can't remember the name.
    Any their 'expert' said that their research showed lower rates of reproduction with birds that were fed all year round.

prospect wrote: »
    I was watching the nature program on BBC recently, the live one, can't remember the name.
    Any their 'expert' said that their research showed lower rates of reproduction with birds that were fed all year round.
    But perhaps the survival rate was higher.

BTW, I don't feed all year. Just a personal choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Could be right, I dunno, I am just relaying a little bit of info I picked up.

I agree, personal choice, I never fed all year, I used to be afraid that the local birds would be come to dependent on it and if I was a way for a few weeks they would starve :o

prospect wrote: »

You really need to read the full report. It was carroed out by a BTO researcher. Please remember that this was a very small isolated study and the researcher himself discounted the findings as not being typical.

I really think many people took the wrong message from that piece and it may have done more harm than good.

The study was restricted to a very small local population and is not thought to be typical.
    The point is that birds nesting near feeding stations do NOT have smaller clutches, in general.
    The hypotheses that, if they did, more young would survive does not hold true as hatchlings and fledgelings are not usually fed with peanuts or seed from our feeding stations. Yes, it gives an additional boost to the adults which helps them forage more but no survey to date proves that to be a deciding factor in the survival of the young or the number of eggs the adults lay. The availability of wild food such as caterpillars has certainly been shown to have a link with clutch sizes. Indeed this year saw high egg laying stats as the good weather in April gave rise to a flush of food available. Unfortunately the change in weather meant that food was no longer available when the eggs hatched; leading to a high percentage of nests failing to produce young to fledging despite all out garden bird feeding

Indeed this year saw high egg laying stats as the good weather in April gave rise to a flush of food available. Unfortunately the change in weather meant that food was no longer available when the eggs hatched; leading to a high percentage of nests failing to produce young to fledging despite all out garden bird feeding

It certainly looks like the first clutches to hatch this year had a very high failure rate. I am seeing a lot of 2nd clutches successfully fledged though. Are other people noticing this?

Clutches after May are certainly better than the first ones but the fledging rate still seems lower than usual. There seem to be less grubs and caterpillars about this year - maybe a combination of the weather this Spring/Summer after the very harsh Winter we had.

I haven't an opinion yet on numbers of moths in Ireland this year, but there are reports from parts of Britain of low numbers of moths. This may be related to the dry weather. April and May across much of Ireland were very dry and this has probably impacted negatively on some moth species, though conversely may well have been good for other species.

Mothman wrote: »
    I haven't an opinion yet on numbers of moths in Ireland this year, but there are reports from parts of Britain of low numbers of moths. This may be related to the dry weather. April and May across much of Ireland were very dry and this has probably impacted negatively on some moth species, though conversely may well have been good for other species.

As I mentioned the low caterpillar numbers I wondered if Mothman had any insight into numbers this year. From my own experience there certainly are an awful lot less Butterflies, Damselflies, Dragonflies, and Moths around here this year.

It is extremely dry in many areas (I even fear for the berry crop this year). Would the expreme cold earlier have had an impact on overwintering species of insects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

...but for the odd magpie on the grass,

Is that not your answer there??
    I used to have so many finches around here but thier numbers have steadily declined and the numbers of magpies has gotten rediculous.
    I dont know the true correlation between magpie population and small birds as I havent studied it but I have, on numerous occasions, seen the magpies here relentlessly hunting the hedgerows for small birds.
    All I have now are crows and magpies, I miss the wee birds :(

Is that not your answer there??
    I used to have so many finches around here but thier numbers have steadily declined and the numbers of magpies has gotten rediculous.
    I dont know the true correlation between magpie population and small birds as I havent studied it but I have, on numerous occasions, seen the magpies here relentlessly hunting the hedgerows for small birds.
    All I have now are crows and magpies, I miss the wee birds :(

Here we go with this old nonsense again!!! You say you haven't studied it - well plenty of others have and there is no correlation between magpie numbers and the decline in songbirds. We have already answered why finch numbers in gardens are down at this time of year.

Poor old magpies, getting the blame for killing all the songbirds, just like the seals, otters and cormorants eat all the fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Ok lads, i wasnt aware i was going to annoy ye. Just saying what I saw is all. Only a couple of weeks ago I saw a magpie tucking into a pheasants egg. The hen had laid it i where I dump the grass.
    Could anyone refer me to a study done on this. I would love to inform myself. Thanks

Nobody said magpies don't take eggs or chicks. Sparrowhawks take songbirds too. As do squirrels, foxes, cats, rooks, hedgehogs etc. etc.

These are not the definitive survey reports, as they are mostly not on-line but they give a flavour
    http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/m/magpie/effect_on_songbirds.aspx

http://www.rspb.org.uk/ourwork/science/predationreport.aspx

Apologies Mods if this is being dragged off topic. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Rainbowsend

I think all the finches are in my garden :eek:
    Lots of Green Finch and Chaffinch 5 or 6 at a time
    on the feeders, only a few Goldfinch but regular and
    I think I had a bumper crop of sparrows this year
    overrun with them, counted 25 having a dust bath
    yesterday!

I think all the finches are in my garden :eek:
    Lots of Green Finch and Chaffinch 5 or 6 at a time
    on the feeders, only a few Goldfinch but regular and
    I think I had a bumper crop of sparrows this year
    overrun with them, counted 25 having a dust bath
    yesterday!

Aw great, maybe they're heading my way so!! Still no sign of anything..had a couple of doves yesterday though!!