Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Event Security problems

• 03-08-2011 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

I'm not really sure where to put this thread. Transport? Legal? Events? So afterhours might have to do unless a mod can decide where it should go.

So today I'm cycling to Sandymount as I do every morning. Except today the road I cycle down (Simmonscourt Road) is closed for the horse show. I tell the Garda that I live at the other end of the road and it's my only way to work without a bit of detour, I cycle this road every day. The Garda says carry on, no problem. Then I come up to barrier which is closed to allow horses cross. As I approach an event guard comes up shouting at me to get off the bike, all up in my personal space and stuff. I keep it cool and say excuse me, who the hell do you think you're talking to etc... He calls all his numbskull buddies over to get a look at me and tells them not to allow me through again because I answered him back. I laughed and cycled on. So firstly, can they legally stop me from passing through (I don't mind pushing the bike if that's what they want)? And secondly who do these guys think they are? I mean he was shouting at me, on a public road, the road I cycle every day. Talk about a power trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

What did the security manager say when you rang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Nothing worse than these power tripping arseholes with yellow jackets and ear pieces.

There is no reasoning with them. I remember on one occassion whilst attending a rugby match (won't say where but it was VERY close to where the op was) I was stopped by an event security guard for being in a "restricted" area. He threatened to kick me out. When I informed him that his colleague was directing people that way he told me "don't be smart or you'll get a puck in the head" Luckily a senior looking fella was close by, heard this and came over and lifted the guy out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Phone someone at the RDS, explain what's happening and it will most likely stop in short order. Do the RDS "own" simmonscourt road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Someone with a small amount of authority using it to act the dickhead ....surely not:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭QuadLeo

I was a bit shocked at first so I didn't think of talking to a manager. I'm gonna give the RDS a ring now though. Better to call when I'm not as annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 blackie335

I actually work part time doing event security and there is an insufferable amount of these @rseh0les who believe they are all a cross between sgt major's and mob heavy's. Also you do not need any PSA license, security qualification or gardai vetting to do event security so anyone can do it unchecked, confiscation of drugs at search gates etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I used to get similar when I lived by Croke Park.
    The gardaí were lovely, never any problems. Well I suppose if they are on overtime they have reason to be happy :)

The security/stewards were usually ok but you could get the odd power mad lad humming and hawwing over my residents pass.
    Or the gardai check me and security decide to check me again :confused:
    The supervisors were good, it was the younger lads I had issues with

Public road so I'll follow directions of the gardaí but I doubt security even have power to block a road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

op could have a nice assault charge on him and compo if you muttered something about his mother and her massive vagina or something similar :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

blackie335 wrote: »
    I actually work part time doing event security and there is an insufferable amount of these @rseh0les who believe they are all a cross between sgt major's and mob heavy's. Also you do not need any PSA license, security qualification or gardai vetting to do event security so anyone can do it unchecked, confiscation of drugs at search gates etc.

Dunno about that boss, I'd nearly swear you need PSA qualification now to do event security. I've done events a few times, it's usually p*ss easy money for minimal work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

FTA69 wrote: »
    Dunno about that boss, I'd nearly swear you need PSA qualification now to do event security. I've done events a few times, it's usually p*ss easy money for minimal work.

Yes, you do need a PSA licence to do security...stewarding however, is a different story...

Haha, I felt like letting him have it. But from past experience it's better to keep it cool and let them dig a hole for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 blackie335

FTA69 wrote: »

nah you dont need a PSA at all man i am one of a handful who has a PSA with the crowd i do it with. p!ss easy money i completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Saw one of the event security at the Forbidden Fruit festival in Dublin a couple months ago confiscate drugs off a person and then go on to extort money off him in exchange for not reporting it to the guards. No doubt the drugs were kept for themselves along with the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

PM sent OP!

Logged a complaint with RDS. All apologies from them. I'll see how I get on later when I'm heading out again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Remember a bag of weed was taken from someone I know at an event at The Point years ago.
    With weed being somewhat of a rarity in those days, the security guys were clearly delighted, "Is that weed?! oooo....etc, etc.

Was really sickening at the time.