Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Athletics Championships

• 03-08-2011 12:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

These seem to be on this weekend but I can't find any sort of timetable of events or even what time the thing starts and finishes at. When I go to the Athletics Ireland website and click on the link, it brings me to another page with a Entry Form and Timetable link but that just brings up a map of where the stadium is :confused:

I also can't seem to find any other information on the website about it, other than very basic calendar links as to when it's on.

I'm trying to resist the urge of saying it's an example of typically shambolic Irish organisation as I'm not sure how good/bad Athletics Ireland reputation is :)

Although they were kind enough to say when and where the highlights would be on TV so maybe they'd prefer people watched that rather than showing up to the stadium :pac:

Anyone got a copy of the timetable?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

RTÉ are showing highlights at 11pm on Sunday night by the way. Got a nice prime time slot for people who have to be up early for work on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

G-Money wrote: »
    Anyone got a copy of the timetable?

You just need to know where to look:
    http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/senior-track-2011final.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Where's the best place to park for Morton Stadium. The parks beside it look small and I imagine they will fill up quick quickly just with athletes and staff.

The Omni place looks like a bit of a trek though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Where's the best place to park for Morton Stadium. The parks beside it look small and I imagine they will fill up quick quickly just with athletes and staff.

I go to this every year and the car park in the demesne is fairly big and there's space for plenty of cars. When thats full i'd usually go into a housing estate (Santry Close) across the road from the front gate and park there, there's a convenient alleyway from there to the stadium beside the green space there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Omni is 10 minutes' walk. I always park there. If you're early enough you may get a spot in Santry demesne car park beside the stadium or in the small parking area on the corner of Coolock Lane and the Airport road. There's a Tyre and exhaust garage on the corner.

Great that Hession got the A standard for Daegu and London.

I find it peculiar that our NC is the only championships in the world (that I know of) where the 200m is decided before the 100m. Very strange.

Thomas Barr wins the 400mH in 50.06 :eek:

Mageean beaten in the 800m. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Pherekydes wrote: »

Who by? also O Lionaird scratched for the 800 final

Results from yesterday also for those of us not able to make these championships:mad:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/senior-out-2011.pdf

ecoli wrote: »
    Who by? also O Lionaird scratched for the 800 final

Eviston, apparently. Following the tweets. It seems Ciara had a rush of blood to the head and went through 400m in 57! And then died a death.

Is that Jason Harvey running 50.65 in the Hurdles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

Wow, that puts Thomas up to 4th on the World Junior List this year. Super running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

Brian Gregan's 21.09 secs in 200m was very encouraging, good speed to take into 400m.

Anyone keep me updated (Twitter blocked in work:mad:)

Dan man wrote: »
    Brian Gregan's 21.09 secs in 200m was very encouraging, good speed to take into 400m.

Should be encouraging now that he has been added to the Universities team

Womens 400 Hurdles: Barr 57.38, Kinney 58.11, Peters 59.67, Murphy 61.81, Millet 63.76, Furney 64.82, Woods 64.99

So a double for family Barr.

Men Hammer Result: McCullogh 72.67, White 61.73, McCabe 59.05, Barry 55.77, Furlong 55.08, Doyle 53.99, Hunt 51.03, Dunne 44.21, Kidd 24.30

A chip off the old block is Conor! I wonder is he changing allegiance? :)

Mens 400m Hurdles: Barr 50.06, Harvey 50.65, Crowe 51.38, Byrne 51.41, Murphy 53.05, Ruxton 53.12, O' Donnell 53.39, Liddy 56.96.

Fantastic series of times. Did someone remove a flight or two? :pac:

Mens LJ: McMullen 7.26, Quilligan 7.07, Fahey 7.02, Finnegan 6.79, Dolan 6.68, Stafford 6.63, Tsang 6.46, Bourke 6.07

Big shock in the Steeple: Mens Steeple: Tomas Cotter 9:00.90, Kirwan 9:07.89, Doherty 9:12.57

Womens 800: Eviston 2:06.69, Mageean 2:06.85, Crowe 2:07.93, Everard 2:10.82, McSweeney 2:11.50, Denny 2:11.81

A chip off the old block is Conor! I wonder is he changing allegiance? :)

There is a rumour flying round that this could very well be an option as he has spending quite a bit of time training in Santry this year. Would be a great addition

Mens LJ: McMullen 7.26, Quilligan 7.07, Fahey 7.02, Finnegan 6.79, Dolan 6.68, Stafford 6.63, Tsang 6.46, Bourke 6.07

Big shock in the Steeple: Mens Steeple: Tomas Cotter 9:00.90, Kirwan 9:07.89, Doherty 9:12.57

Wouldnt call this a huge suprise. In the absence of Flynn and Cheeser, Cotter is one of the top steeple guys in the country. Has had very few Steeple races this year he has gone into fresh given the hectic nature of the Iowa schedule hampered quick times for the likes of him and Leighio so a big break through like this was always on the cards.
    Sympathy to Kirwan though after last years fall and the 2 3rd places before that he is being haunted by the Nationals as of late though looking at his times seems to be consitent around that barrier winning this event back in 07 only a second quicker in 9.06

Mens 110 Hurdles: Reynolds 14.05, McDonald 14.28, Taggart 14.44, Field 14.83, O' Cathain 14.95

Mens 800: English 1:50.22, Kelly 1:50.83, Leighio 1:50.88, McCarthy 1:51.00, Cronin 1:52.12, Carroll 1:52.20

Mens DT: Raukyts 52.08, McCullogh 48.68, Menton 48.42, Breathnach 46.46, Clifford 46.19

Womens SP: Fitzgerald 14.27, Moloney 12.08, Murphy 12.02, McSweeney 11.72, Murphy Niamh 11.58

Womens 100 Hurdles: O' Rourke 13.24, O Hora 15.06, Houlihan 15.89

Mens PV: Donegan 4.70, O' Brien 4.70, Rogers 4.55, Houlihan 4.40, Greene 4.20, Panea 3.80

Headwind for O'Rourke's race. Surprised to see Leighio and McCarthy beaten for 2nd in the 800m.

Mens 5k: Cragg 13:48, Kenneally 13:59, Rooney 14:04, Mulhare 14:13, Connolly 14:21, Pollock 14:40, O' Neill 14:40, McGinley 14:40

Fair play to Kenneally! Connolly tried to go with Cragg and paid the price.

Cuddihy and Murphy win their respective 400m crowns, not unexpectedly, in 52.15 and 46.68, respectively.

Mens 400 Result: Murphy 46.68, Kervick 48.16, Lynch 48.18, Hogan 48.39, Kelly 48.52, Ryan 49.01

Womens 400 Result: Cuddihy 52.15, Andrews-Heffernan 53.10, Carey 53.92, Bergin 53.93, McCallion 55.41, McArdle 56.95

Amy Foster and Jason Smyth win the 100s. Times later, but Smyth's was 10.50, no wind yet.

Womens 100 Result: Foster 11.69, Whelan 11.76, Healy 11.92, McManus 12.01, MacNeill 12.04, Healy (Phil) 12.28

Mens 100 Result: Smyth 10.52, Colvert 10.75, Adams 1.89, Russell 10.97, Ahearne 11.21, Whelan 11.22

Mageean wins the 1500m from Steph Reilly.

Robinson beats Coghlan in the 1500m.

/end.

Off out on my bike for an hour or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭garminguy

2 things i noticed while watching this last nite on rte,

1: why was there only five starters for the womens 110 hurdles final?

2: why do sprinters need to wear sunglasses in a 200m race?

it looks absolutely ridiculous !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Caprica

Just finished watching the Nationals highlights. Some good performances.

Mageean tactics in the 800 were crazy, she went out so hard and died a death in the home straight, Eviston finished like a rocket to pip her for gold. It was some achievement for her to come back and win the 1500, she has had a very busy last 18mths plus. Smyth was impressive in winning the 100, Hession looked the best he had all season in winning the 200 (got athlete of the meet), Derval looked very easy running 13.2, wonder what will she do in Korea?

Mens 8 & 15 were exciting and a very easy victory for Cragg in the 5k, hopefully he can do himself justice in the worlds. Cuddihy looks to be getting back to her old self. The Barrs were very impressive in doing their double, Thomas just missed out on getting a sub 50.

Gerry was in good form on RTE, laid the 4x400 fiasco from Barcelona squarely at the door of team management but he made a good point in that the AI should now seek commitments from all guys in the 400 to go for the relay and that those on funding can not say no. Eamonn was not overly optimistc for performances in Korea, said the walkers are our best bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Derval bags her 9th title. That is a few times I have seen her race Irish comp, and I mits say, the comp is pretty dreadful. 2 secs behind the other
    day?

Also, wouldn't Derval have a real good chance over 100 Metres to bag an Irish title?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Caprica wrote: »
    Mageean tactics in the 800 were crazy, she went out so hard and died a death in the home straight, Eviston finished like a rocket to pip her for gold. .

Only got to see that race today, she was way down with 250m to go.

http://s1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee514/banshee43/?action=view&current=Santry010.mp4

shels4ever wrote: »
    Only got to see that race today, she was way down with 250m to go.

http://s1231.photobucket.com/albums/ee514/banshee43/?action=view&current=Santry010.mp4

Eviston would have been about 50/1 in running turning into the home straight. What was Mageean at? 57 at the bell :eek: Getting idea's above her station possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Eviston would have been about 50/1 in running turning into the home straight. What was Mageean at? 57 at the bell :eek: Getting idea's above her station possibly.

Sorry could you please explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Crazy running in all fairness, if your pb is 2.03 and you want to break it you don't do 57sec 1st lap! But such are the tough lessons in life, she wont make that mistake again ha!

She admitted it herself she planned to go out hard but went out too hard we all have this from time to time people need to remember she is an 18 year old. I think people should be more looking to the fact she ran 57, blew up and still came out and ran 4.16 hours later.

Sorry could you please explain?

No bother, 57 secs for the first lap in a womens 800m is world class standard. She's not up to that level i'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

No bother, 57 secs for the first lap in a womens 800m is world class standard. She's not up to that level i'm afraid.

She may not be there yet but she has the ambition and potential to reach this level. She is young and learnt a lot on Sunday as was obvious from her run in the 1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 David Matthews

I'd like to point out another positive for young Ciara,She passed through 600 in 1.28...excellent running...regardless well done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Getting idea's above her station possibly.

That's harsh. Don't know what "her station" is but to me she showed ambition and inexperience, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

ecoli wrote: »
    She admitted it herself she planned to go out hard but went out too hard we all have this from time to time people need to remember she is an 18 year old. I think people should be more looking to the fact she ran 57, blew up and still came out and ran 4.16 hours later.

Yep and in an 800m if you go out hard, you can get it wrong very easy. It can be hard to judge your pace over the first 200m so at 400m is when you really know, if your to fast at that point its hard to recover. but looking at it she never gave up and was digging in right to the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Ideas above her station, sounds like something you'd hear at the back of a church from some lad who cleans his ears with his car keys.

We need more people with ideas above their station. Aim them high lads.

Mageean showed her charachter with her run in the 1500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

I think the important thing is she put it behind her with a mature and solid 1500.Looking at the highlights of the 800 I was worried what longterm damage it might have done to a young developing athlete, but she put those fears to bed later that day. The 800 can now be viewed as an experiment which went wrong, a learning curve on the road to what will be a great career.Shes a rare talent and deserves no negative attention only support and encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

She must have been trying to run a qualification time for Daegu/London.

It doesn't make sense to run 57/69 splits otherwise.
    There were plenty of clocks on the track, so she would have known what pace she was running at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I love to see an athlete having a right go, even though they might crash and burn. Too many talented athletes are content to stay within their comfort zone without, occasionally, exploring what might happen if they push the envelope. And no better stage than the Nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Kharisma

As an avid reader of ths forum but a novice poster, I think people are being unnecessarily harsh with some of their comments.

One must remember the girl is just 19 and although has been on top of her game for many years, she is still learning the event. Without question she has at least 10 years, when she does turn senior at the end of the year, to learn the intricacies of the event.

At such a young age, she is one of her most successful ever athletes, having medalled and World Youth and Junior, as well as the European equivalent of both. She has also performed well over the country. To add to that, at such a young age she is a multi National Senior Champion, so give the girl credit where credit is due.

We're all entitled to one off day.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

I don't like the way people are talking about the 800m womens and how Mageen blew it. Eviston ran a good race, ran to the line and thus won. She is the winner, end of story.

Why you don't like the truth. She blew it plain and simple, I struggle to see why a lot of you can't see that. Time to stop defending the indefensible.