Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I know I'm back in Ireland because...

• 03-08-2011 8:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭

..within one hour of me returning from London, I heard the recession mentioned three times out of context.

First time on the plane, some old fella from Mayo, nice chap, going on about the terrible state of the property market and how the good old days are gone (he's a sub contractor).

Then I heard some mother in a shop say to her child that he can't have those sweets because "...we're in a recession". Makes perfect sense to a fecking 10 year old, where a simple NO can do. Might as well say "you can't have sweets because Brian Cowen said so".

Then on the radio on the way back. "Breakfast with Hector?" I'm never up this early so yeah. It's a light hearted show, and some girl called in to do a quiz. The conversation went like this (not word for word): "Well, you seem happy today?" "I am Hector" "It's great to see people happy with all the doom and gloom".

I just want to get this off my chest, because the recession doesn't affect me to such an extent that it dictates my emotions!

Does anybody else get annoyed when the 'R' word get brought up for no particular reason?*

*Yes, I see the irony of writing about the recession on forum over-loaded with recession based topics.

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    .......... "Breakfast with Hector?" ...........................

Can't stand that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

RoverJames wrote: »
    Can't stand that show.
    Neither can I. It's a clusterfcuk of rural Irish slang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Whats a recession?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Neither can I. It's a clusterfcuk of rural Irish slang
    Ah lighten up lads.
    KEEP HER LIT!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

What had ye over to London eh?

/strokes beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

.. every house I visit while I'm back..,

"will you have a cuppa tea?"
    "i'm ok, thanks"
    "ah go on, you'll have one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Then I heard some mother in a shop say to her child that he can't have those sweets because "...we're in a recession". Makes perfect sense to a fecking 10 year old, where a simple NO can do. Might as well say "you can't have sweets because Brian Cowen said so".

How stupid do you think a 10 year old is? I say that to mine all the time and they understand, including my 9 year old. It's a fact of life and it helps indicate to children that there are times that you would if you could but it's not possible. Saying a bland no to children all the time breeds resentment. Kids that age do discuss politics of a sort in school and in the playground and have an idea of what is going on.

The recession has hugely affected people's lives. We may have to suck it up and get on with it but it needn't stop us from having a moan from time to time, just like we do about the weather. I bet that gentleman on the plane probably segued from the recession to the weather. Small talk. Take it for what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's bleedin' deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

After Hours seems to be stuck in an incredibly shít loop these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

... I notice all the colloquiaisms that I took for granted that didn't stand out when I lived here all my life but which other people took the piss out of me for when I went abroad. A guy I worked with thought it was hilarious that we called bank cards pass cards. The first time I said I was going to the pass machine to take out some money he thought I said the pasta machine :D

How stupid do you think a 10 year old is? I say that to mine all the time and they understand, including my 9 year old. It's a fact of life and it helps indicate to children that there are times that you would if you could but it's not possible. Saying a bland no to children all the time breeds resentment. Kids that age do discuss politics of a sort in school and in the playground and have an idea of what is going on.
    May have phrased it wrong, but I don't doubt the child's ability to comprehend what a recession is. It may just be a buzz word used by a parent to end an arguement. Unless the recession is explained properly, he may get warped ideas and join the Eirigi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

..within one hour of me returning from London, I heard the recession mentioned three times out of context.

First time on the plane, some old fella from Mayo, nice chap, going on about the terrible state of the property market and how the good old days are gone (he's a sub contractor).

Then on the radio on the way back. "Breakfast with Hector?" I'm never up this early so yeah. It's a light hearted show, and some girl called in to do a quiz. The conversation went like this (not word for word): "Well, you seem happy today?" "I am Hector" "It's great to see people happy with all the doom and gloom".

I just want to get this off my chest, because the recession doesn't affect me to such an extent that it dictates my emotions!

Does anybody else get annoyed when the 'R' word get brought up for no particular reason?*

*Yes, I see the irony of writing about the recession on forum over-loaded with recession based topics.
    ya must not have heard Enda Kenny is taoiseach now...:p

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    After Hours seems to be stuck in an incredibly shít loop these days.
    I actually cringed while writing this, and I cannot appologise enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

I knew I was back when I saw dogshyte EVERYWHERE ohh and rubbish,filthy place.:mad:

ya must not have heard Enda Kenny is taoiseach now...:p
    Don't worry, I have. But the sh1t hit the fan, seemingly, while Brian Cowen was Taoiseach, so I'm sticking with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

The recession has hugely affected people's lives. We may have to suck it up and get on with it but it needn't stop us from having a moan from time to time, just like we do about the weather. I bet that gentleman on the plane probably segued from the recession to the weather. Small talk. Take it for what it is.

Jesus things must be pretty bad if you can't get your child a bit of chocolate though.

We always had a treat at the end of the big shopping trip... even my brothers got this in the eighties. When interest rates were crippling my parents due to their business venture(all worked out well in the end :)) I'm sure times were pretty tough back then to.

Maybe the child was used to getting something every time they went into a shop perhaps. But not being able to afford 25c for an animal bar things must be really bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I've been living out of the country for a fair few years and things I always notice are:

-How pale and translucent us Irish as a nation are. No one else compares...

- The friendliness. I'm always struck by how I'm greeted by the guy checking the passports as you walk out and when I walk into a shop and how often I get chatting to someone outside the airport, even if it's only something like, "Jaysus, it's freezing, isn't it?". I remember waiting for my dad to pick me up outside Dublin airport last Winter and I went to get a cup of tea as it was freezing and the woman working in the shop gave me a free Twix bar...and I shed a little tear. You might argue with me but come to Madrid and you'll know what I'm talking about. Ireland IS a relatively friendly country no matter what you say. People want to talk to you even if they don't know you. You don't get that here.

- Yeah, agree with the OP, immediate chat about the recession either from my dad or on the radio.

- Being able to understand everything being said by strangers and on the radio.

- How they destroyed a lot of the Irish countryside with housing estates that all look virtually the same. Bastards.

- The greyness of Irish skies. Read an article about Ireland's situation a while ago and the journalist that he was talking to a taxi driver in Dublin who had an African guy in his car. His first observation was, "It's like Ireland is being sat on by a giant elephant."

- How laid-back a country it is. People are in no major rush.

- How badly we dress. I include myself in that by the way.

- The smell of fresh, clean air and how green and lush the country is.

Going home at the end of the month! Can't wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Breakfast with Hector

I prefer 'Breakfast with Silence' but she gets going right away. "You're not wearing that to work today are you!" I don't know where she gets the energy in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Having worked abroad on a few occasions and coming home once every couple of months for a weekend I knew I was back in Ireland when:

Plane touched down in Dublin Airport.
    Plane door was opened and get chill-blasted.
    Passport control don't give a flying.
    Dirty skangers outside Dublin Airport in trackies puffing on their Johnny Blue.
    Distinct lack of hotties.
    The first decent pint of Guinness I've had in ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Whats a recession?

Mods have a 'Get out of Recession free' card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Everytime ive flown back into dublin I know im home as I see rain droplets appear on the plane window.

Also, when I land and go to the shop and have to pay €2.35 for 380ml of lucozade, "yep, home again :("

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

- How they destroyed a lot of the Irish countryside with housing estates that all look virtually the same. Bastards.

This makes my blood boil. If I ever meet the planning officer for Wexford I'm going to be quite rude to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

I know I'm back in Ireland because it's not fucking hard to figure out what country I'm in even at the worst of times. OP it's your own fault for listening to Hector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

well i just switch off and get on with life iv been through recessions before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

How I know I'm back in Ireland (even though I have not left for any great length of time):

1.Mother starts plaguing me with calls/texts.

2.Conversation with taxi driver about how sh*t the weathers been while I was away.

3.Hiding from hangover under MY blanket in MY bed.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

The smell of cow**** in the air, got off the plane in one of the regional airports before and someone had puked on the pathway ahead of me because of it, felt like doing it myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

wild_cat wrote: »

Maybe the child was used to getting something every time they went into a shop perhaps. But not being able to afford 25c for an animal bar things must be really bad.

My child is pushing me towards a financial default with her taste for 89c Cadburys Buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ruahead

"This is a drop off area only, vehicle stow in operation". This announcement at departures, being collected in Dublin airport in the most boring voice ever reminds me of the boring priest in father ted.:)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Having worked abroad on a few occasions and coming home once every couple of months for a weekend I knew I was back in Ireland when:

Plane touched down in Dublin Airport.
    Plane door was opened and get chill-blasted.
    Passport control don't give a flying.
    Dirty skangers outside Dublin Airport in trackies puffing on their Johnny Blue.
    Distinct lack of hotties.
    The first decent pint of Guinness I've had in ages.
    yea but it's great though we have allways had that attitude a sure it will be allright divil may care i worked abroad a lot over the years and allways loved the ol banter when id come home to the dear ol emerald

Krieg wrote: »
    Everytime ive flown back into dublin I know im home as I see rain droplets appear on the plane window.

Also, when I land and go to the shop and have to pay €2.35 for 380ml of lucozade, "yep, home again :("
    and sally o brien and the way she might look at ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    ... I notice all the colloquiaisms that I took for granted that didn't stand out when I lived here all my life but which other people took the piss out of me for when I went abroad. A guy I worked with thought it was hilarious that we called bank cards pass cards. The first time I said I was going to the pass machine to take out some money he thought I said the pasta machine :D

I've got the opposite problem; every time I go home to the UK, I keep saying everything is "Grand" all the bloody time. When I asked my mum to get something out of the "Press" last time I was over, I knew I'd gone native. I'm only a "how-a-ye?" away from a tracksuit and drug habit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Putting petrol in the car and if you go over by a cent or two not being charged for it, thats when I know I'm back. NEVER happens in Britain, if you put £20.01 in, thats what you pay.

jester77 wrote: »
    .. every house I visit while I'm back..,

"will you have a cuppa tea?"
    "i'm ok, thanks"
    "ah go on, you'll have one"
    i just say yes because they'll make ya anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Its only a recession. Sure you'll be grand. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Welcome to ireland... Please have your passports and wallets ready for inspection..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

priorities are all over the place! example : i commute between Geneva, Switzerland and Cork. No direct route from Cork for most of the year so I fly from Dublin. Dublin airport, particularly the new terminal is top of the range, stylish looking yet the transport to and from that airport is terrible! In Geneva the reverse is true!the airport looks like its from the 70's and 80's yet it all works as it's suppost to! there's a fantastic train station right in the airport that leaves exactly on time! also plenty of busses all the time too! in Ireland we definatly have style over substance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

- The friendliness. I'm always struck by how I'm greeted by the guy checking the passports as you walk out and when I walk into a shop and how often I get chatting to someone outside the airport, even if it's only something like, "Jaysus, it's freezing, isn't it?". I remember waiting for my dad to pick me up outside Dublin airport last Winter and I went to get a cup of tea as it was freezing and the woman working in the shop gave me a free Twix bar...and I shed a little tear. You might argue with me but come to Madrid and you'll know what I'm talking about. Ireland IS a relatively friendly country no matter what you say. People want to talk to you even if they don't know you. You don't get that here.

When I first moved back to Ireland after 5 years in London I had to completely readjust to this. I'd walk out the door and just instantly put on "game face" (neutral expression, eyes fixed ahead, curt nod to anyone who accidentally makes eye-contact, walk at determined speed with assured gait, etc). It's not something I ever realised I was even doing until I noticed that when I'd nod at a neighbour they didn't nod back they'd stop whatever they were doing and launch into a conversation and I was already 3 doors past them as I hadn't slowed down.:o

But the main way I knew I was back in Ireland was seeing the Angelus on the telly at 6pm. That was a real WTF:eek: moment, it was like going back in time or something. The "modern" thing RTÉ are doing with them with the road sweeper or the office worker pausing for a moment of reflection is even more naff than the stained glass Mary and baby Jesus picture for the '80s.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I knew I was back when I got rained on more in the 2 minute walk from terminal to bus stop than I had in the 6 weeks previous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I've been living out of the country for a fair few years and things I always notice are:

-How pale and translucent us Irish as a nation are. No one else compares...

- Yeah, agree with the OP, immediate chat about the recession either from my dad or on the radio.

- Being able to understand everything being said by strangers and on the radio.

- The greyness of Irish skies. Read an article about Ireland's situation a while ago and the journalist that he was talking to a taxi driver in Dublin who had an African guy in his car. His first observation was, "It's like Ireland is being sat on by a giant elephant."

- How laid-back a country it is. People are in no major rush.

- How badly we dress. I include myself in that by the way.

- The smell of fresh, clean air and how green and lush the country is.

Going home at the end of the month! Can't wait...

Post of the day methinks. The friendliness is something I really miss too. For a nation that loves to moan so much, we are incredibly friendly. Had my first random conversation on public transport with a Czech last week(First time in 2 years, and using public transport everyday). Five minutes into the conversation it turns out he lived in Ireland for a few years. Obviously something rubbed off on him.

I love flying into Dublin, and suddenly seeing the green fields. Its a really deep lush green. Its a good job the property bubble burst when it did, the corrupt planners would have allowed the entire country to be paved over if it hadn't.

I remember being home the last time, and we were in the car going in to town(not Dublin, another town), and I turned on the radio only to hear the R word, and I said, "Do you not get sick of hearing recession everytime you turn on the radio?", and my mother goes "Absolutely sick of it", so I'm not the only one. I grew up in the 80's and we didnt have 2 pence to rub together, but I dont remember people mentioning the R word every five minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

You know your back in Ireland when you feel like you're driving on the surface of the moon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

smurgen wrote: »
    priorities are all over the place! example : i commute between Geneva, Switzerland and Cork. No direct route from Cork for most of the year so I fly from Dublin. Dublin airport, particularly the new terminal is top of the range, stylish looking yet the transport to and from that airport is terrible! In Geneva the reverse is true!the airport looks like its from the 70's and 80's yet it all works as it's suppost to! there's a fantastic train station right in the airport that leaves exactly on time! also plenty of busses all the time too! in Ireland we definatly have style over substance!

And too many exclamation marks, by the look of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

ruahead wrote: »
    "This is a drop off area only, vehicle stow in operation". This announcement at departures, being collected in Dublin airport in the most boring voice ever reminds me of the boring priest in father ted.:)

Haahha!! ****e I forgot this!! This makes me laugh...I'm from an area close to Dublin airport, so my Dad usually does a drive by to pick me up. Before it was no probs to wait upstairs but now you have this announcement booming in your ears (and you're right, boring voice alert...they must make it boring to deter you) and Gardai wandering around. First time this happened I went downstairs to ask DAA information what the craic was and they told me that there wasn't a pick up place now but I was to ignore the announcement upstairs and wait there!! Where else would you get that contradictory advice? This could only happen in Ireland, couldn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I know I'm back in Ireland because I have to smoke rollies again and there's only two tram lines in the whole country :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

People in Manu + Liverpool jersies parade the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Krieg wrote: »

Just what I was going to post. :D