Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jiu Jitsu

• 31-07-2011 12:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Hi Forum,

Long time lurker. Used to train in Jiu-jitsu with Sensei Jerry Flanagan many years ago. Looking to get back into it, but really want to give Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu a go as opposed to the trad stuff we used to do. Can anyone give me the top clubs in Dublin (North or South, doesn't matter drive for a living anyway) looking to compete, but need to start slowly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭crosdad

for bjj...

sbg ireland, ribeiro bjj ireland with darragh o conaill - southside

bjj revolution- northside

thats what i would reccomend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Alan OBrien

crosdad wrote: »
    for bjj...

sbg ireland, ribeiro bjj ireland with darragh o conaill - southside

bjj revolution- northside

thats what i would reccomend

Thanks. Which one is the best of the 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭dasmoose

Thanks. Which one is the best of the 3?

Don't think it's too important for beginner mate, go to the one that suits best for your timetable or if you really don't mind go try them all and stick with the one you like best. All those gyms are very very good.

dasmoose wrote: »
    Don't think it's too important for beginner mate, go to the one that suits best for your timetable or if you really don't mind go try them all and stick with the one you like best. All those gyms are very very good.

Thanks, don't really think of myself as a beginner as I've done a lot of ground work and used to be pretty good. Reckon I'll take your advice though and try all 3. Can't find riberio Bjj on google, where are they based?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Thanks, don't really think of myself as a beginner as I've done a lot of ground work and used to be pretty good. Reckon I'll take your advice though and try all 3. Can't find riberio Bjj on google, where are they based?

There are other clubs too like Balance, Legion, Morecegao, Kokoro, Kyuzo, Primal, Rush and a load more besides. All are excellent teams who do well in competition and have great coaches.

Very best of luck with it. Let us know how you get along.

Thanks, don't really think of myself as a beginner as I've done a lot of ground work and used to be pretty good. ?

I thought you might say that. What level would you put yourself at in comparison to the bjj grades?

For clubs check out bjj.ie and ribeiro jj is on the club page under Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Doug Cartel

If you're in or near Dublin and you want to do BJJ, I think you're fairly spoiled for choice at the moment. Things like distance and a time table that's compatible with your life are going to be the biggest factors in your search.

Killme00 wrote: »
    There are other clubs too like Balance, Legion, Morecegao, Kokoro, Kyuzo, Primal, Rush and a load more besides. All are excellent teams who do well in competition and have great coaches.

Very best of luck with it. Let us know how you get along.

Can't check them all out so I'll stick with sbg, riberio and revolution if they're considered the best.

I thought you might say that. What level would you put yourself at in comparison to the bjj grades?

For clubs check out bjj.ie and ribeiro jj is on the club page under Dublin.

Great site! Got up to 3rd dan and ground work was definitely my strongest area so that should count for something. Don't know much about bjj grades but I wouldn't place myself as a White belt.

Can't check them all out so I'll stick with sbg, riberio and revolution if they're considered the best.
    Let's make this easy. What part of town do you live in?
    Don't know much about bjj grades but I wouldn't place myself as a White belt.
    That would make you a white belt so.

Let's make this easy. What part of town do you live in?

I'm looking for the best club, not the closest.
    wrote:
    That would make you a white belt so.

I wouldn't consider myself at White belt level is all I was saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

SBG Ireland has the highest density of high level grades, probably makes it the best club.

White belt is the lowest one, they don't go any lighter than that.

That's very commendable, but what if it turns out you can only make it out to the "best" club once or twice a week, but there's another club that's merely "good" where you can train five times a week?

Maybe best to keep this under your hat for the first few lessons.

Alan, no one's trying to be a dick here (well Sid might, he has a slightly cruel sense of humour) but just take it from those of us who have been doing BJJ for a while and seen people from traditional jujitsu (amongst other) backgrounds come into class... it's probably for the best if you just accept that you're a beginner at this and your traditional experience probably won't help you very much if at all.

By all means don't take my word for it, go to a class at any of those gyms and you'll see... just bear in mind that if before rolling with someone you tell him 'oh i'm a 3rd degree black belt in jujitsu and pretty handy on the ground so...' - it might be a humbling experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

You will after your first session, but hopefully you will get over the fact that you are a beginner and continue to train, you might improve better because of a traditional training background, but without training bjj previously you dont know any bjj.

I have seen bjj blue belts destroy judo black belts on the ground, its a different game, and traditional jj is a different game, nothing wrong with either, but they are different, they may complement each other but they are different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭slammer187

I think what you're missing here is that being a beginner no matter where you train the fundamentals will all basically be the same...If you want to find out where the 'best' place to train is look up who will be teaching you in each club and look at their competition record. If you want to learn Jiu Jitsu go to any club, the important part about training is the club atmosphere and the quality of your training partners IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

What a great welcome to the BJJ community :rolleyes:

Of course if you've done a lot of training you should mention it discreetly to the instructor of a new club. There's nothing more frustrating than someone smashing day-one beginners and only then revealing that they've been doing XYZ for years. Yes, of course some things will be different depending on where the crossover points of the styles lie - just because you're starting off officially as a white belt doesn't mean you're at the level of a brand new white belt.

Alan, good luck with your search, try out a few clubs and see which has a timetable and atmosphere that suits you best.

Clive wrote: »
    There's nothing more frustrating than someone smashing day-one beginners and only then revealing that they've been doing XYZ for years.
    Really? I can think of quite a few things that are more frustrating.

Unless you're talking about them going too hard and injuring the beginners, though you would hope they had learned not to do that in all their years doing XYZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

Unless you're talking about them going too hard and injuring the beginners, though you would hope they had learned not to do that in all their years doing XYZ.

Mod trolling:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Andrew H

We have a couple of Traditional Jiu Jitsu Black Belts in our club and I think I can safely say that they found training BJJ a lot different. There is some cross over but the application of your technique tends to change when someone does not want to let you do it to them or to borrow a phrase are practiced in an alive manner.

I trained in Kung Fu for a number of years before attending an open mat run by John kavanagh and Dave out on the North Circular Road and I found it a very humbling experience to say the least! I stayed training Kung Fu and attended seminars etc. but switched 4 years ago to BJJ and am lucky enough to have my Blue Belt.

The main thing to remember is to leave your ego at the door, tap when your caught and have fun.

da-bres wrote: »
    Mod trolling:eek::eek::eek:
    I'm not trolling.

Different arts have different ideas of what is and is not acceptable in terms of techniques and tactics, and a true beginner should be insulated from that until they have toughened up a bit. Someone with six months of training won't be too bothered about being pinned and having a fist driven into their neck, but if that happens to someone on their first day they probably just won't come back. It takes time for someone from a different style, or even just a different gym to adjust to the culture of a new club.

Similarly if someone has been wrestling for three years, a raw beginner won't be able to do anything with them, and most wrestlers train and spar with an intensity that is great for experienced people but too much for someone in their first few classes.

If someone mentions they have previous training they can be partnered with a more experienced person - just in case they are the type to go too hard. It soon becomes obvious
    (A) The technical level they are at and
    (B) If they are a good training partner.

This "feeling out" process shouldn't be done with beginners as it unfairly exposes them to an unknown quantity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

We had a 3rd dan ninjitsu out with us the other day, very big lad, mostly small lads up that day-technique was non existent and all force was used, point been I'm pretty sure he'd rate himself above white belt but if graded would certainly not be, we've had other arts with jitsu in the name visit and same, technique was lacking.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

By all means don't take my word for it, go to a class at any of those gyms and you'll see... just bear in mind that if before rolling with someone you tell him 'oh i'm a 3rd degree black belt in jujitsu and pretty handy on the ground so...' - it might be a humbling experience.

This ^.

Go, and expect even white belts with a few months training to teach you a few things.

I'm a Judo brown belt, stuck in the 'brown belt' grave yard for the last while so I've a ton of experience (damned age/injuries/work).

I can go to most BJJ classes and expect to just about hang in there with white's and blues, but I'm not up to awhole lot and as soon as I give a BJJ player an inch they're out and I'm tapping.

Go, open your mind and accept that in their club your a white belt and you'll have a much better & easier time learning about BJJ and not just scrambling for survival or muscling your way through a class and learning feck all.

This is what I done when I started training with Paul Cowzer out in Rush, I opened up my mind to what BJJ was and I take advice (and a beating) from everyone regardless what colour is around their waste.

Oh, and welcome to the SD&MA forum - hope you stick around and let us know how your getting along if you choose to start training in BJJ.

Clive wrote: »
    Different arts have different ideas of what is and is not acceptable in terms of techniques and tactics, and a true beginner should be insulated from that until they have toughened up a bit. Someone with six months of training won't be too bothered about being pinned and having a fist driven into their neck, but if that happens to someone on their first day they probably just won't come back. It takes time for someone from a different style, or even just a different gym to adjust to the culture of a new club.

Similarly if someone has been wrestling for three years, a raw beginner won't be able to do anything with them, and most wrestlers train and spar with an intensity that is great for experienced people but too much for someone in their first few classes.

If someone mentions they have previous training they can be partnered with a more experienced person - just in case they are the type to go too hard. It soon becomes obvious
    (A) The technical level they are at and
    (B) If they are a good training partner.

This "feeling out" process shouldn't be done with beginners as it unfairly exposes them to an unknown quantity.

Beginners are just as likely to go too rough as they are to be too meek, and having beginners spar beginners is never a good idea. Regardless of what ability they think they have, they should be paired up with somebody experienced and watched until they get an idea of what's expected of them and you can see that they're not going to injure themselves or someone else once they're given more freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Truth, beginners are most likely to cause injury in class, 2 beginners together need to be well supervised..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 715 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Hi Forum,

Long time lurker. Used to train in Jiu-jitsu with Sensei Jerry Flanagan many years ago. Looking to get back into it, but really want to give Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu a go as opposed to the trad stuff we used to do. Can anyone give me the top clubs in Dublin (North or South, doesn't matter drive for a living anyway) looking to compete, but need to start slowly :)
    When you start training in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, don't call your instructor " Sensei ", BJJers tend to be a little less respectful to thier instructors :D

Best of luck with it mate, if your a former trad JJer you'll LOVE BJJ - and that's coming from a man who came to BJJ from Tae Kwon Do. You'll adapt to BJJ much faster than a guy from a striking system such as TKD, Karate, boxing etc

Beginners are just as likely to go too rough as they are to be too meek, and having beginners spar beginners is never a good idea.

Having beginners drill, work technique and spar together is an excellent idea as long as they are supervised properly, IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

I know that when beginners were placed with each other they didn't roll. Just worked on the positions in class with full resistance which when I started out I felt helped me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭youllneverknow

kyuzo gym have a beginners class on a Tuesday and Thursday at 6. Feel free to come down and try the class out
    http://www.kyuzogym.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

https://www.facebook.com/#!/LegionBJJ
    Also worth a look. Mostly White Belts in the group. Although a couple may be nearer the blue end of the white belt;)
    Also a purple belt and the instructor is a Black belt.
    New enough club so the group is small for now. Gaurantees a good roll with pretty much everyone though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭lukeyjudo

If your around Blanch check out Coolmine BJJ!

If you love groundwork you'll love BJJ, its groundfighting in an unbelievably in depth manner. :) trust me I know, coming from traditional jiu Jitsu, judo, sambo then BJJ! :) it's my top favourite form of grappling! :)

www.coolminebjj.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 715 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

lukeyjudo wrote: »
    If your around Blanch check out Coolmine BJJ!

If you love groundwork you'll love BJJ, its groundfighting in an unbelievably in depth manner. :) trust me I know, coming from traditional jiu Jitsu, judo, sambo then BJJ! :) it's my top favourite form of grappling! :)

www.coolminebjj.com
    That's some endorsement of BJJ with as much grappling experience as that !!! Yeah, I'm from a TKD background and I have to say BJJ is the most enjoyable, it's amazing the never ending amount of sweeps, chokes, armbars, reversals, heel hooks, etc and it's not static, it keeps on growing.

So checked out one of the top gyms. Great but seem to be much more focused on mma, no mention of bjj competitions, just mma belts and wins.
    Not too sure if it's for me. On to number 2 next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

So checked out one of the top gyms. Great but seem to be much more focused on mma, no mention of bjj competitions, just mma belts and wins.

1. There wont be any mention of BJJ competitions in your first class!!
    2. There was a cage contender last week and lots of people are talking about it before and after class in all the gyms in Dublin.
    3. Did you actually train BJJ or just pop in to 'check' out the gym?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

Did you go to a BJJ class??

Right, I moved the BJJ vs. Jujitsu vs. Kung Fu posts here as I think they distract too much from the OP's search for a BJJ school.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

here my one was all about BJJ!

Which one? Would it make more sense in this thread or the other one? Are you unable to send PMs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Don't take that tone with me young man.

This gets you an infraction.