Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay couple cut down swing on children

• 30-07-2011 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

We live in a quiet village in Roscommon. Last weekend the two gay guys on the corner had a hissy fit and cut down the swing on the green in our estate because the kids hanging out there were calling them "queers" and laughing at them watering their flowers. They were 12 year olds ffs, not one of them was even in secondary school. There were 5 year olds that used that swing every day, I was the one put it up as there's very little outside for the kids to do. Not alone did they cut that branch, they cut another on the other side that could also be use for a swing. What an ignorant thing to do.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/56355/2011-07-26%2017.47.37.jpg
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/56355/2011-07-26%2017.47.47.jpg

There was a preservation order on the trees, the builder was under orders from the council when building the estate that the trees along the road had to be protected. Not sure how I go about complaining, or who to, but I'm hopping mad about it.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

It looks like boobies now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Are you sure it was the gay guys that did it?

Also, what a strange story...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

such a gay thing to do,bunch of queers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I read that title way too quickly, thought it was something far more disturbing....

On a more serious note- I'd contact the Gardaí if I were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

Gays seek no strings attached fun for swingers.

Or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Playground attacked in queer swing scandal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the kids obviously weren't swinging the right way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Will teach the kids to be more tolerant I spose,still kinda crappy for the kids who didn't actually do anything though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

It's a disgrace, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

OP strikes me as a paedophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Who will win in this fight - the gays or the enviromentalists?

PC brigade will have a hard time picking sides in this one I fear....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    We live in a quiet village in Roscommon. Last weekend the two gay guys on the corner had a hissy fit and cut down the swing on the green in our estate because the kids hanging out there were calling them "queers" and laughing at them watering their flowers. They were 12 year olds ffs, not one of them was even in secondary school. There were 5 year olds that used that swing every day, I was the one put it up as there's very little outside for the kids to do. Not alone did they cut that branch, they cut another on the other side that could also be use for a swing. What an ignorant thing to do.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/56355/2011-07-26%2017.47.37.jpg
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/56355/2011-07-26%2017.47.47.jpg

There was a preservation order on the trees, the builder was under orders from the council when building the estate that the trees along the road had to be protected. Not sure how I go about complaining, or who to, but I'm hopping mad about it.

Pansies?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Lol gays dont know how to use a chainsaw

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

They over-reacted by cutting down the swing.
    Why couldn't they have called to said children's house and have a talk with their parents about the matter?

Would have being more beneficial because now the kid's are going to get pissed off and direct more anger toward the gay couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Decent cut allowing ample room for callusing.
    Either those "queers" knew what they were doing or someone got a professional in to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Are you sure it was the gay guys that did it?

Also, what a strange story...

Yes, they told me they did it and I demanded the swing back, it was in the boot of their car.

They argued, "the language out of them, they'll be smoking over there next, then next thing they'll be drinking". I think they want to turn the estate into an old folks home. Kids will be kids, You don't just cut the swing down. I have a laugh at the kids, if they say something smart to me I just answer back, make a joke of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

This calls for a burning cross in their front garden

Thread title is wrong,i though it was about gay swingers looking for children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Nice looking blue skies there...are you having lovely weather at the moment there on The Mothership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭aas

They were right, maybe you should raise your children better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

I'm stumped at why they wood do this. That wasn't very fir on the children. They really should just leaf them alone.

"the language out of them, they'll be smoking over there next, then next thing they'll be drinking"..........

.............then ridin' the bum off each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

drill a hole through the tree then insert an iron bar, job done plus you can remove it when finished.

removing their flowers will leave them with no need to water or listen to the awfull remarks

Yakult wrote: »
    Why couldn't they have called to said children's house and have a talk with their parents about the matter?
    there was no matter though,what if they were straight and the kids were calling them straight?,just because they're gay doesn't exactly mean they should act liked they're being attacked all the time.

however,a gay couple looking after flowers in their garden in front of kids,come on what did they expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Serves the kids involved in the abuse right, sucks for the innocent ones.

They argued, "the language out of them, they'll be smoking over there next,

Probably be smoking fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

I say fair play to them. I say go and cut down the whole tree!

They obviously live in an estate where the people are nice and accepting to their face and call them all names behind their backs in front of their kids.

I feel sorry for the kids. They are merely just voicing what their intolerant two faced parents are saying.

No wonder kids are so messed up in today's society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Would have being more beneficial because now the kid's are going to get pissed off and direct more anger toward the gay couple.

Would you go away out of that with your rational talk and ideas, sure where has that ever gotten anyone??

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Nice looking blue skies there...are you having lovely weather at the moment there on The Mothership?

Pics were taken the 26th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Damn I thought they literally cut it and it fell on the kids and I'd finally have proof that the gays shouldn't be allowed be parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

If they went to the parents, something tells me all the kids would get is a telling off and they'd keep doing it.

Now they can feck off and hang around hurling abuse somewhere else.

Pics were taken the 26th

Weather's been queer ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'm stumped at why they wood do this. That wasn't very fir on the children. They really should just leaf them alone.

Yew sicken me with your puns.

Just to note, the kids calling them "queers" weren't from the estate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Even after that, your username remains your greatest crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

The kids sound like a pack of typical $hitehawks tbh. Laughing at someone for watering flowers or calling a gay couple 'queers' for fun sounds pretty ignorant itself.

Just to note, the kids calling them "queers" weren't from the estate

bloody foreigners slagging our fudge hunters

The kids sound like a pack of typical $hitehawks tbh. Laughing at someone for watering flowers or calling a gay couple 'queers' for fun sounds pretty ignorant itself.

i read that statement and imagine hot pants,mustaches and broken nails

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Yes, they told me they did it and I demanded the swing back, it was in the boot of their car.

They argued, "the language out of them, they'll be smoking over there next, then next thing they'll be drinking". I think they want to turn the estate into an old folks home. Kids will be kids, You don't just cut the swing down. I have a laugh at the kids, if they say something smart to me I just answer back, make a joke of it.

What they did is unacceptable but so i what the kids did! Dont make excuses like "there only kids" Chrildren can be callous and they know what there doing! And in a way the guys were right, kids like that who are let away with small things grow up and move on to creating bigger issues! Not all but some do , trust me ive seen it.
    And yes the the guys did is totally unacceptable no doubt but if the same thing happened but it was to a black family or a Chinease family would you feel the same. Like if these kids were goin round shoutin "****" at some poor family i wouldnt blame them for wanting to ruin the kids fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Where did the '12 year olds' pic up the term queer etc? Sounds like their parents need a lesson in equality too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If there was a "preservation order" on the tree, how come you were allowed turn it into a swing, hmm?

Thread title should be "Gay couple cut down swing on PogMoThoin" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

We're a couple with no kids, living in an estate full of them. It's only 3 or 4 kids that act the maggot but they are ridiculous - they play chicken with the cars, as in wait until you're turning the corner then dash out while their friends egg them on. We've had one kid try to drag our dog out of the garden by the tail, my husband was telling him to let go, but obviously couldn't physically remove the child. A less tolerant dog would have bit him. There have been neighbours having problems with kids going to the toilet in their front gardens instead of going home. We've had a line of kids with their faces pushed up to our sitting room window looking in at the dogs. Kids just strolling into our house if we leave the door open. Knocking at least 3 times a day asking if we want the car washed. They are out from 10am until I go to work at 10pm.

My point is, if you allow your kids out all day without supervision, chances are they are causing problems for someone. OP while your kids may be little angels, and too young to annoy the men who cut down the swing, it's the parents of the kids which are causing problems that you need to look at, not the men who just want a bit of peace and quiet in their own home. How can anybody say it's unfair on the kids, without thinking for a second how unfair it is on the men who had to resort to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Kids are sponges and adopt the behavioral patterns of elders. Won't somebody think of the parents? (as being the culprit).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

It wasn't the tree's fault.

If there was a "preservation order" on the tree, how come you were allowed turn it into a swing, hmm?

It was rope wrapped around and cabletied, nothing that would damage the tree like cutting the branches off

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

pmcmahon wrote: »
    there was no matter though,what if they were straight and the kids were calling them straight?,just because they're gay doesn't exactly mean they should act liked they're being attacked all the time.

however,a gay couple looking after flowers in their garden in front of kids,come on what did they expect

So you think its acceptable for children to go around and shout abuse at people for being gay or straight? Or even abuse in general?

Man, would hate to see what your children are like or will be like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

a quiet village in Roscommon. Last weekend the two gay guys.

Does not compute :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

wayfarers wrote: »
    Where did the '12 year olds' pic up the term queer etc? Sounds like their parents need a lesson in equality too.

Everywhere.

So you think its acceptable for children to go around and shout abuse at people for being gay?

Man, would hate to see what your children are like.

not exactly, i wouldn't care if kids called me straight why should they worry about being called gay? they fought enough for the status

don't have kids.