Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters taking wind outta Kenny's sails?

• 29-07-2011 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0729/1224301562340.html
    THERE WAS nothing particularly “courageous” about Enda Kenny’s speech.

. . to undermine the spiritual leader of the vast majority of his own people.

. .. for who now cares to defend the Pope?

But there are many ways of abusing children. You can sit them in desks and subject them to the knowing nonsense of cynics who steal their hope and joy so as to demonstrate repugnance of some derelict or decomposed authority. You can sell them false versions of freedom to make yourself rich. You can fill their heads with nihilism and wonder why they attempt to obliterate themselves with chemicals.

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

politics forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Where can I get these chemicals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

John Waters- a spokesperson for..well..nobody really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Waters is a self obsessed eejit! Anyone who needs to cram every word they know into a sentence is trying way to hard!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's a terrible article.. even by John Waters standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

You can fill their heads with nihilism and wonder why they attempt to obliterate themselves with chemicals.

Cause it's a long weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

What the holy fúck is this shít. Anyone defending the church on this needs a kick in the tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Any excuse to bring up his Katy French article again:
    Katy French was a personification of our fantasies, of our sense of what we were becoming, of how we might unfold ourselves. She was not the only one, but in the immediate past was perhaps the most spectacular light on the skyline, a meteorite of desire plummeting through the Irish zeitgeist… Katy had found a way of being that promised her it could slake all her human cravings. She had manoeuvred herself into a position where everything humanly desirable seemed to be within reach, and was careering forward on the path opening up in front of her. She did not, other than literally, die of whatever it will say on her death certificate. She died of desire, of being utterly human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nobody reallys listens to John Waters. He's a conservative bag of hot air, disenfranchised by modern Ireland, so he believes that everyone else is wrong for changing, he's unshakeably right for maintaining and displaying his opinions without any form of validation or self-correction whatsoever.

Or more correctly, he's the Irish Times's version of Brendan O'Connor; Wordy but ultimately just full of ****e.

Christ I had John Waters, he's the journalisitc equivilent of one of those crazies who stands in the middle of the street screaming about Gods love.

On a similiar John Waters note, I've never forgiven my aunt for the time when I was a teeaer and she informed me that she was representatin John Waters and would I like to meet him. I for one was all excited, who wouldn't be happy to meet the sultan of smut the man behind some of the most insane and entertaing films ever made. Imagine my disappointment when I met the Irish John Waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Well he is kinda right!!

There was nothing couragous about kennys speech...

It was easy...cloyne report is relased...bash pope, everyone thinks your great.....easy.

It should have been done years ago.

I'm not saying it wasn't a good thing, but if you wanted to capture the nations goodwill in light of certain hospital incidents recently bashing the vatican is good way to achieve it!!

and it worked!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Christ I had John Waters, he's the journalisitc equivilent of one of those crazies who stands in the middle of the street screaming about Gods love.

Suits you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Christ I had John Waters,

ew!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I agree with the general sentiment of Waters's article alright.

Courage implies that Kenny was going against the grain, or that he was landing himself in hot water - in actual fact the Vatican is probably the weakest diplomatic mission in Europe, and Kenny was undeniably saying what everybody else was also saying.

He was very much preaching to the choir - which is perfectly fine - but no, it isn't brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

later10 wrote: »

Courage implies that Kenny was going against the grain, or that he was landing himself in hot water - in actual fact the Vatican is probably the weakest diplomatic mission in Europe, and Kenny was undeniably saying what everybody else was also saying.

He was very much preaching to the choir - which is perfectly fine - but no, it isn't brave.

You're falling for the strawman. This was never about Kenny being brave, Waters is just trying to set that up as the issue.

The real issue is that the Catholic Church are still not cooperating with investigations and he called them out on it publicly, in a more direct and confrontational tone than any current world leader has done. That was the right thing to do, and no amount of John Waters' wretched ranting will change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

latenia wrote: »
    Any excuse to bring up his Katy French article again:
    a meteorite of desire plummeting through the Irish zeitgeist
    I felt physically ill reading that.

Zillah wrote: »
    You're falling for the strawman. This was never about Kenny being brave, Waters is just trying to set that up as the issue.
    I don't care whether it's the issue, but I do think that some have been insinuating that Kenny did something courageous, which would obviously be quite wrong.

It may not be the main issue - but Waters is nevertheless free to respond to it, and us to him.
    The real issue is that the Catholic Church are still not cooperating with investigations
    With which investigations are they "still" not co-operating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The real issue is that the Catholic Church are still not cooperating with investigations and he called them out on it publicly, in a more direct and confrontational tone than any current world leader has done. That was the right thing to do, and no amount of John Waters' wretched ranting will change that.
    our previous leaders were cowardly (ahern is freakishly involved in protecting the church) moreso than Enda was brave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

There are two sides to the "separation of State and Church" coin.

One side of the coin is that clergy should not use their positions as clergy to try to influence government policy - although individual clergymen, who are citizens of the country, have as much right as any other citizen to express their opinions as to how their country should be governed. The other side of the coin is that politicians do not use their political positions to influence the policy of any church.

Mr Enda Kenny has used his position as Prime Minister to interfere in the internal affairs of the RC Church. ie. His comments about Vatican refusal to approve an internal RC document about child protection - a document intended for the RC church in the whole of Ireland. i.e. His interference included an interference in the internal affairs of the RC Church in a part of the UK. His behaviour is all the more provocative because he is Prime Minister of a State which has failed to take effective action about child protection. That fact leads me to suspect that his behaviour was intended to distract attention from certain broken promises about an hospital in Roscommon.

Mr Kenny has also used his position as Prime Minister to launch an attack on the world-wide and traditional RC policy that its doctrines are not determined by public opinion.

Over the years many Eire politicians have interfered in the internal affairs of the RC Church in Eire. Garret Fitzgerald, Eamon Gilmore, Conor Cruise O'Brien, Dr Noel Browne, Jim Kemmy, Justin Keating, Senator David Norris, Jack McQuillan, Monica Barnes, Nuala Fennell, Thomas MacGiolla.

Worse, much worse, many Eire politicians and their supporters have interfered in the internal affairs of the RC Church in Northern Ireland - Paddy Cooney, Garret Fitzgerald, Mrs Joan Fitzgerald, Nuala Fennell, Gemma Hussey, Mrs Terry Kelly, Austin Deasy, Eamon Dunphy, John Bruton, Frank Cluskey, Francis De Rossa, Paddy Harte, Senator John Murphy, Ruari Quinn, Dick Spring, Dr Conor Cruise O'Brien, Thomas MacGiolla, Jim Kemmy and Mary Harney. Senator David Norris has not interfered in the internal affairs of the RC Church in Northern Ireland.

Just recently we had a Mr Micheal McCarthy TD of the Eire Labour Party thundering in the parliament of Eire about the Vatican interfering in the affairs of "this country". More recently (27 July 2011) the same Mr McCarthy was interfering in the affairs of many foreign states on the matter of aid to the Horn of Africa. As a citizen of the UK and subject of her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth 2nd, I resent this socialist, foreign politican from West Cork trying to badger the government of the UK into being generous with my hard earned money. It would appear that consistency is not one of Mr McCarthy's strong points - a weakness he shares with many other Eirefolk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Nihilism, Katy French, Zeitgeist.

Pick the odd one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

So easy ... just a pity no other politician did it in the last 20 years then isn't it?
    :mad:

Nihilism, Katy French, Zeitgeist.

Pick the odd one out.
    Nihilism.

Katy French was the Zeitgeist. The Celtic Tiger's answer to Kathleen Ni Houlihan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

'a meteorite of desire plummeting through the Irish zeitgeist'

I got sick in my mouth when I read that - or maybe it was because I tried to actuallly understand / visualize it and my body just lost it a little...
    What is a meterorite of desire? And how does it plummet through a Zeitgeist? Dunce.

Is this guy still living in Dublin? Get out Waters - you're not welcome there. Go back to your rat hole.

Callan57 wrote: »
    So easy ... just a pity no other politician did it in the last 20 years then isn't it?
    :mad:
    No other politician? If you said no other Taoiseach it might have been true.

Already the speech has assumed rather epic proportions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

seamus wrote: »
    Or more correctly, he's the Irish Times's version of Brendan O'Connor; Wordy but ultimately just full of ****e.

Ah here now, no need for that... Can't believe I'm sticking up for John Waters AND Brendan O'Connor here but really, that's quite unfair on both of them...

As for the Katy French thing, he's quite correct IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

The real issue is that the Catholic Church are still not cooperating with investigations and he called them out on it publicly, in a more direct and confrontational tone than any current world leader has done.

And the UK government is still not cooperating with investigations into the bombings of Dublin and Monaghan. Will Mr Kenny call them out publically on the matter? Hardly likely. Did Judge Barron accuse the Fine Gael - Labour government in power at that time of complicity in a cover-up? Did any Fine Gael or Labour politician suggest that the UK embassy in Dublin be closed because of the UK refusal to cooperate with the Barron enquiry?

crucamim wrote: »
    And the UK government is still not cooperating with investigations into the bombings of Dublin and Monaghan. Will Mr Kenny call them out publically on the matter? Hardly likely. Did Judge Barron accuse the Fine Gael - Labour government in power at that time of complicity in a cover-up? Did any Fine Gael or Labour politician suggest that the UK embassy in Dublin be closed because to UK refusal to cooperate with the Barron enquiry?
    Calm yourself young chap.

That isn't populist just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Nihilism.

Katy French was the Zeitgeist. The Celtic Tiger's answer to Kathleen Ni Houlihan

Ireland's Diana, and yes, that's a very perceptive comparison there with Cathleen Ni Houlihan, she was a true daughter of the Irish Republic, first amongst equals.

Ireland's Diana
    I think that was Jerry Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I don't care whether it's the issue, but I do think that some have been insinuating that Kenny did something courageous, which would obviously be quite wrong.

It may not be the main issue - but Waters is nevertheless free to respond to it, and us to him.

With which investigations are they "still" not co-operating?

Wrong. Oh it's despicable. :rolleyes:

Enda stood up to the bully, it wasn't exactly heroic, (he didn't have a sword), but he is the first leader to do so. That's what is important. A sea of change. The best thing about his speech is the fact that he speaks on behalf of most people on this Island. Who could reasonably argue with what he had to say? He had the whole Dail (which was half empty unfortunately) on his side.

Just can't understand why John would pull himself away talking to his kettle in a condescending manner, wearing Y-fronts, to type up this unwanted garbage. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

crucamim wrote: »
    And the UK government is still not cooperating with investigations into the bombings of Dublin and Monaghan. Will Mr Kenny call them out publically on the matter? Hardly likely. Did Judge Barron accuse the Fine Gael - Labour government in power at that time of complicity in a cover-up? Did any Fine Gael or Labour politician suggest that the UK embassy in Dublin be closed because of the UK refusal to cooperate with the Barron enquiry?

OT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

John Water is one of my least favorite "personalities". He swings his views around to be outraged no matter what. He equivalent to Joe Duffy but sees himself as some kind of righteous commentator.
    Joe Duffy is fully aware it is just the shows format and has had other people doing it before hand and do they same when they fill in.

Wrong. Oh it's despicable. :rolleyes:

Enda stood up to the bully, it wasn't exactly heroic, (he didn't have a sword), but he is the first leader to do so.
    The Vatican is not the bully. It has not been the bully for quite a long time now. The Catholic church in Ireland today is mostly characterised by senile old priests wearing nappies, attached to walking aids in dreary nursing homes, with greying hangers on still in damp parish houses, down to their last few grey hairs. You could describe their audience in similar terms.

I rarely agree with John Waters, but I get the feeling that he is quite right in summing up those who exaggerate the importance of Kenny's speech, as he says pretending that John Charles McQuaid is still breathing down their necks from Drumcondra.

They need to build a bridge and move on. This is not 1980. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Waters needs a boot in the hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

At this rate, we'll probably see Waters taking up dancing or bashing people with a crucifix on O'Connell St in the near future.

Waters needs a boot in the hole
    That's how the Catholic Church would deal with dissent in the past itself, isn't it.

plus ça change.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

seamus wrote: »
    Nobody reallys listens to John Waters. He's a conservative bag of hot air, disenfranchised by modern Ireland, so he believes that everyone else is wrong for changing, he's unshakeably right for maintaining and displaying his opinions without any form of validation or self-correction whatsoever.

Didn't he support Kenny before the election?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Kenny is full of himself these days.
    You'd swear to fuck he was leading a charge against the church, when all he is doing is surfing in on a piece of Tsunami driftwood.
    A blow-bag, and I believe time will bear this out.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

mikom wrote: »
    You'd swear to fuck he was leading a charge against the church, when all he is doing is surfing in on a piece of Tsunami driftwood.

Wasn't aware he was going around all cocky about it. The media (national and international) went to town on the speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The only person who cares about John Waters opinions, is John Waters. He's a bit of a joke to everyone else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

John waters has a most peculiar style of writing. His sentences if read quickly are superficially impressive with big clever words semi poetically constructed. If read slowly though they mean absolutely sweet fanny adams!

mikom wrote: »

Apart from mentioning that he has received letters of support about his speech and stance what exactly has he done to garner you criticism?
    Or perhaps do you just not like him?

John waters has a most peculiar style of writing. His sentences if read quickly are superficially impressive with big clever words semi poetically constructed. If read slowly though they mean absolutely sweet fanny adams!
    Example?

I presume by saying they mean SFA, what you actually mean is that you disagree with what is being said.

Example?

I presume by saying they mean SFA, what you actually mean is that you disagree with what is being said.

No I mean they often mean nothing or have little relevance to what he is discussing.
    I'll dig out an example.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Example?

Read the bit about Kate French

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

The way I look at this subject is as follows:

Priests raped children.

Now you can be on the side of the children, and try to punish those responsible and ensure that it never happens again

Or

You can be on the side of the rapists and try to protect the rapists from public censure (while also protecting the organisation).
    You can also speak ill of those on the side of the children.

For me it's a black or white issue
    You are either on the side of the raped children and right ...or you are not.

Any snivelling little comments like Waters' and some of the letters to the Times published today ...are in my opinion, all from rapist sympathisers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Sully wrote: »
    Wasn't aware he was going around all cocky about it. The media (national and international) went to town on the speech.
    Apart from mentioning that he has received letters of support about his speech and stance what exactly has he done to garner you criticism?
    Or perhaps do you just not like him?

The big cocky head on him at the launch of that great "initiative" Slob-bridge.

"Let me tell you a story about a young man that came to me............"

... he tells that story a lot, I actually like it. Even if it isn't true, that is exactly how people feel when they find work after time on the dole. I was unemployed about 2 years ago, and I will never forget how great it felt to get back to work and go to the bank and pay my own bills with money that I earn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

ZZZZAAAAAAAAAPPP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

What is read can never be unread.