Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

INCREASING FPS LIMIT

• 29-07-2011 2:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

DOES ANYONE ELSE THINK THAT IRELAND SHOULD INCREASE THE FPS LIMIT AND IF SO HOW CAN THIS BE ACCOMPLISHED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

It could reasonably be achieved if it were proposed in the right way.

As it stands airsoft guns take up a lot of time at the ballistics bureau and gardai time with regards their energy limits. At the same time paintball guns inhabit a legal grey area requiring registration with the local superintendent as they are close to 17 joules at the muzzle.

If it were to be proposed, it would have to be supported by the Gardai and worded in such a way as to free up their time and ease the regulation of airsoft.

A limit above 1 joule up to 17-20 would free up paintball but again you don't want that sort of energy in Johny n'er do wells hands either.

A new limit of 2 joules would free up airsoft to the levels commonly seen in the US, and mainland Europe with perhaps and interim energy limit from 2 to 20 with seperate non-firearms legislation but some restrictions none the less to allow for paintball to be out of its grey area.

Airsoft sites would impose their own limits below the legal one, chronoing would continue and if you are a few FPS over, its no biggy, you cant play but you probably wont be committing a serious crime as you would be now.

In my opinion, it could happen, as long as it is proposed as a solution to a problem like wasted gardia resources and paintballs legal grey area, rather than just 'we want more power for our airguns'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

This again?

Search for the myriad of past threads on this topic and you'll get your answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

cathal2 wrote: »
    DOES ANYONE ELSE THINK THAT IRELAND SHOULD INCREASE THE FPS LIMIT AND IF SO HOW CAN THIS BE ACCOMPLISHED

Send emails to everyone in all caps. Also use bold in case that's not clear enough. That'll get the message through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Blay wrote: »
    This again?
    It's been about a month so it was overdue.

Still doesn't beat "Wotz a good sniper" for redundant recurrence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Is it possible we could have a limit decrease for anyone asking for an increase? It seems the most sensible option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

I wouldn't mind having an increase on bolt actions ONLY....

Bloody hell, de ja vu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Not even a month, barely 4 weeks ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭touge_drift

why may i ask??? what do you think it would accomplish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

To put it bluntly, it cant, and doesn't really need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Salaas

To be honest, I'm perfectly happy with it at its current limit, its a happy medium and does mean that if a dumbass messes around the damage is not as great as with a higher powered device.

I always do wonder at people's askance for a limit increase, what is the reason for the question? Not having to get it reduced in power when importing? That might be a reason but not exactly a earth shattering one.

To be honest, I'm perfectly happy with it at its current limit, its a happy medium and does mean that if a dumbass messes around the damage is not as great as with a higher powered device.

I always do wonder at people's askance for a limit increase, what is the reason for the question? Not having to get it reduced in power when importing? That might be a reason but not exactly a earth shattering one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Salaas wrote: »
    I always do wonder at people's askance for a limit increase, what is the reason for the question?

90% of people asking that are blaming their tools for lack of skill, to paraphrase an old adage. The fallacy of increased power equating to easier hits and massive range lives strong, despite mountains of evidence to the contrary.
    The other 10% are either looking for easier imports (soon to be redundant anyway) and people suggesting non self loading rifles should have a separate limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Typhon

Personally I would like to see a bit of an increase but as already pointed out only in bolt actions. 328fps is grand though.....no point in having 600fps and the skill of stevie wonder to make hits. The limit is here to stay so let's all just get on with it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Irishmaster

Yet another one of these threads but i dont care! 328 is fine with aegs but if your a sniper with 1bb then 400fps at distance should be ok. 1 joule is the law and is perfect not too much and not too less! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Waste of time: it's not going to happen.

Ah so they taking that stupid mentality, meh they should go to a country that does have the higher FPS and they will find they are still crap but will just have bigger bruises from the higher limit.

As I said, happy out with the current limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

People in Ireland with 1j want the limit raised.

People in the UK with 350 and 500 want the limit raised.

People in the US with 4-500fps want the limit raised...

People in Scandanavia with 3j want the limit raised...

Anyone noticing a pattern?
    Nomatter what you have, you always want more, for the very sake of it.
    you want to shoot from a mile off? buy a real gun, or play video games. Its just never going to be possible with airsoft... not if you want a rematch that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭thebrendanr1

i thin that 328fps is perfect u can still feel the bb hit u but its not sore if it was stronger the sport isnt as enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

I've bled (not a weeping bruise, a proper blood wound) from being shot in the face full auto at close range with 1J guns.

I don't trust the lot of ye with what you have, never mind more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Short answer that has been said 7 zillion times in other threads
    • Cost of changing the law
    • We're not that important
    • Think of the children
    • Why do we want to be back on the radar for the concerned mothers against everything club
    • Science supports the 1J limit, more that than we loose the major argument agains bull**** criticism.

threadfail.jpg