Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unattractive Clothing

• 28-07-2011 3:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭

Every now and then do you see someone wearing something so unflattering you wonder to yourself, what could possess them to wear something so ugly?

I'll get the ball rolling. My pet hate has to be those sleeveless bomber jacket things. I see plenty of vets, carpenters wearing them because they are great for rough work and keep you warm on the colder days.

But I know at least two women who wear these vests casually, on warm, sunny days. I met one girl in town recently wearing one. Now she would be a 7 or 8 on the hot scale but when I see these vests on women I struggle to see the attractive side to them at all.

So AH, what clothing items can you not stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

skinny jeans on men, just look wrong. like really painted on ones, hipster type jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

fellas wearin skinny jeans :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Pajamas outside of the house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I dunno about unattractive clothing, but the best piece of clothing ever invented for women is leggings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Maybe it's my age showing, but I just cannot for the life of me understand lads who wear their trousers below their arse cheeks, showing us their boxers. Of all the things I've seen people wear over the years, this has to be one of the worst. Oh, and on women, those Aladdin-type loose trousers are shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭stacexD

jeans that are a size too big :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Soccer/GAA jerseys.
    Fine on match day, otherwise leave them at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Samich wrote: »
    I dunno about unattractive clothing, but the best piece of clothing ever invented for women is leggings.

...and simultaneously the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Crocs. Why? Just why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Girly trackie bottoms with something written across the arse.

Almost always accompanied by make-up seemingly applied with a trowel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    ...and simultaneously the worst

Depends whose wearin them! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

If men want to know what not to wear just look at Jeremy Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Leggings, particularly if they've become so worn they're almost sheer. Said item been worn with a short top that does not cover the bum area, esp if this region and the midriff above are bulging through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Fellas in skinny jeans.

Larger girls in either leggings or a short skirt.

Just no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Jeans with running shoes like these, sweet mother of God.
    krudler wrote: »
    skinny jeans on men, just look wrong. like really painted on ones, hipster type jeans.
    Ricardo G wrote: »
    fellas wearin skinny jeans
    I've a mate who's 6'1 and about 10 stone, and has the skinnies bet on to him. He's a bit marmite, but a lot of girls think he's hot as **** and I personally think the look suits him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Tights and leggings can be the sexiest items of clothing and at the same time the vilest.

Here's a tip: if you have gigantic legs don't wear anything tight or figure hugging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

ratmouse wrote: »
    Leggings, particularly if they've become so worn they're almost sheer. Said item been worn with a short top that does not cover the bum area, esp if this region and the midriff above are bulging through.

What if the arse is peachy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Tracksuits outside any sort of 'track' or pitch or sporting area, or when clearly NOT exercising. They are just awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Those horrible backpacker sandals. eugh.
    Tracksuits, particularly tucked into socks
    Badly fitting jeans
    Greasy gelled fringe mashed onto the forehead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Shell suits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

WindSock wrote: »

That should come under crimes against humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

3/4 length leggings?! Fatties always wear them to show off their kankles :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

galah wrote: »
    Tracksuits outside any sort of 'track' or pitch or sporting area, or when clearly NOT exercising. They are just awful.

In fairness, tracksuits are hardly comfortable for training or running in are they!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

With a pair of navy woollen socks pulled halfway up the shins...

Or that one with the fringe mashed to the forhead and the back spiked up, never seen anything so ridiculous and gay looking in my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Flecktarn wrote: »
    I'll get the ball rolling. My pet hate has to be those sleeveless bomber jacket things. I see plenty of vets, carpenters wearing them because they are great for rough work and keep you warm on the colder days.

this is a bomber jacket!

your link is a gilet :confused::confused:

remind me how you think these are similar apart from the fact they are worn on the top half of your body. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Ugg boots. I know the majority of people seem to love them and they're "comfortable" :rolleyes:, but personally I'd rather chop my legs off than wear them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

Polo shirts with collars turned up!! WTF it doesn't make you look posh/cool. Just makes you look like a d*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

+1. Also, it makes you look like a cretin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

I saw a skanger wearing one of these in a petrol station recently. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Loose t-shirts on girls. Not a fan me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Jeans on guys that sit halfway down the arse and show boxers. How do they even stay up? It goes against gravity.

very low waister jeans on girls that show a muffin top and builders crackage & thong when they bend over. It's just wrong.

Tracksuit bottoms/leggings that are so tight the cellulite dimples are visible.

Polo shirts with collars turned up!! WTF it doesn't make you look posh/cool. Just makes you look like a d*ck.

There's no point wearing a polo shirt then :confused:

Collar popped = Cool
    Collar not popped = Not cool

:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Leopard print.

Vomit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Groups of lads wearing boots, skinny jeans and the ubiquitous check shirt.

Black suit, brown shoes - should need no explanation.

Plimsolls with white, pulled up socks, uggggh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Saila wrote: »
    this is a bomber jacket!

your link is a gilet :confused::confused:

remind me how you think these are similar apart from the fact they are worn on the top half of your body. :confused:

Sorry about that, I always presumed they were called bomber jackets. When I searched bomber jackets on google images something like this came up so I presume you just called them sleeveless bombers! Cheers for clearing that up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭needadvi

Tracksuits, particularly tucked into socks
    Badly fitting jeans

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

Tracksuit bottoms. Horrible and lazy.

Skinny jeans on a non-skinny guy.

Anything tight on a fat person, really.

People who never wear anything but novelty t-shirts.

Socks in sandals.

The majority of check shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Those really really short waisted denim jackets that barley cover below your shoulders - so stupid and skanky looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jacksprat

i like loose fitted jeans for lads but not hanging below and showing your arse!
    i hate those straight peaked (50 cent??) hats! dont know what they're called but they look retarded
    skinny jeans on lads..ya'd have to be a creep to wear them
    dont see the problem with wearing sports jerseys,shows pride in where your from + some jerseys just look good!
    but most of all,and i know people will disagree with me on this,i HATE when people wear sunglasses indoors or when its barely even remotely sunny! look like a pretentious creep especially when you catch them looking at you and they seem to think they are invisible with their alien head glasses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

People who have no sense of matching/clashing colours.

Foe example, brown shoes, white socks, black trousers and a red shirt.

No lads, just no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

oh yeah, sweaters with a shirt underneath.

So old-man-ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

skinny jeans,turtle neck jumpers,chinos,sleeve less t-shirts,sweatpants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

There's something about white shirts with blue jeans that I hate, I'm not even sure what it is... but I could never wear that combination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Tracksuits outside of the Gym.
    Skinny jeans on men.
    Wax jackets.
    Cheap jeans (Dunnes ect) on men.
    Polo necks.
    Briefs.

Harlem trousers
    Extremely high platform shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

tan11ie wrote: »
    Skinny jeans on men.

I liked that style of jean a few years ago, when I knew them as "drainpipes" and could only get a decent pair in a vintage shop.

I still think they look cool, but I probably wouldn't wear them because of the whole "emo" stigma that's attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭-Vega-

Wax Jackets

American tourists wearing bum bags and rain ponchos

Chino's with white socks and sandles on old people

THOSE GOD DAMN UGLY FERKING RUGBY loafers that girls wear with sweat pants and an immitation AC + F hoodie.

People who still cut the bottom of their jeans so it fits around their shoes, so 90's

Harlem pants, my gf wears them. She just doesnt get it, every ass looks horrific in them.. yes hunny.. even yours..

Pink polos with colloar, regular isnt too bad as long as collar is messed (like half up) .. not straight up like pompous dildo

Dirty tinks with their track suits stuffed into their white socks cycling on the easiest cycle setting to do the most rotations of a peddle in the least amount of time to look ...waaaaa... :(:(:(

People that wear sunglasses inside.. punch them. Repeatedly. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

I hate cheap clothes! When I say cheap, I don't necessarily mean inexpensive, but clothes that just look cheap. Bad fitting, over-strected, overly 'man-made' looking clothes. Yuck! You don't have to spend lots to find quality clothing. Some people just can't pick clothes! The actual material of the clothes is really important. Lycra-type material is always gonna look bad!

HATE hate hate bad fitting jeans on people.
    Love skinny jeans on guys, I don't understand all the hate. Although it only works if its a certain 'type' of guy - i.e. young, tall and hot lol.
    Definitely dislike them on a guy who doesn't have the right body for them though, or worse, someone who is just trying to be cool and obviously looking uncomfortable.

Leggings. As a girl, I don't understand how other girls wear them. They look awful as hell. Girls I know who otherwise dress beautifully wear these, and I think they're disgusting. I don't think you can "have the body for them" either. Down with leggings, they are pure tack.

I also hate the way girls all tend to dress similarly, although I am guilty of this. I'll only follow a trend if I genuinely like it though, so I guess that's something? I do like uggs. Don't like how some girls think they can put them with everything though.

Runners. I don't understand why people wear them unless they're actually doing sports. Nothing worse than a guy in a pair of ugly jeans and a big, white pair of nike trainers. Ack.
    Similarly, people who wear any sort of jersey. Have seen some rugby ones about but, as far as I can tell, its 'country people' who are more often guilty of this. I don't care if its comfortable, don't wear the clothing unless its a match day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Socks tucked in to tracksuits... I want to literally assault the neds I see dressed like that.

Restraint... I have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

Turtlenecks never, ever look good and I find them extremely annoying to wear.
    Bootcut jeans are hideous. Especially since most people who wear them buy cheap, ill-fitting jeans that are too short.
    Can't stand those sleeveless puffy body warmers either.
    I can't stand that horrible, shiny material that they make cheap ladies suit jackets from. I've seen girls wear them to interviews, which to me is like wearing a pair of tracksuit pants to an interview.
    I'm not a big fan of Hareem pants, I've seen a few girls pull off wearing them, but on most the arse tends to look like a nappy.
    I find pointy high heels or shoes with a very thin heel to be very unattractive. Shoes like this would be my worst nightmare.