Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

L'Etape 2012

• 28-07-2011 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Just wondering, I know of On Your Bike, but are there any other companies in ireland which do package deals for doing L'Etape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

The designated country operators are listed here
    http://www.letapedutour.com/ET1/us/registrations.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭cpaul

Think I'll be going for this next year. Will probably be going through a travel agent as well. Did some enquiring about it this year but decided to buy a new bike instead.

Probably doing it on my own. Would that be unusual? I guess if I'm doing it as part of a package there'll be plenty of people to meet and get to know along the way - at least that's what I'm hoping!

Anyone else here thinking of doing it besides me and the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

cpaul wrote: »
    Anyone else here thinking of doing it besides me and the OP?

It'll depend on location and cost, but I'll be giving it serious consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 derekotoole

anyone know a way of going about this without using a travel agent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭damo80

billaustin wrote: »
    Just wondering, I know of On Your Bike, but are there any other companies in ireland which do package deals for doing L'Etape?

trailseekers. based in cork. went with them this year, pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭seve65

damo80 wrote: »
    trailseekers. based in cork. went with them this year, pretty good.

agree with that (as long as u dont mind a few changes of plan along the way!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

did it on my own the year before last (suited work wise) got an entry and transfers from sports tours international, and arranged flights and accommodation myself.......

Easy to get an entry only.....and if you leave it very late, ie month before, you will get some for half price. depending on where the event is, transfers may be difficult on your own and accommodation tends to be snapped up by the bulk operators. If you're doing it this way be prepared to hire a car if needed (could leave it at the finish as the year I did it there were bus transfers to and from the finish on the day before)

Of course the easiest is to go with an operator but I find these quite expensive as they amalgamate it with a weeks cycling which bumps up the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Has anyone here went with a camper van and make a couple weeks out of it? Would love to give a go sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

How come it's expensive. Is it the travelling, time off that brings price up or the actual event. What are the estimated costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

How come it's expensive. Is it the travelling, time off that brings price up or the actual event. What are the estimated costs?

Ultimately, these things are expensive because its a business at the end of the day, however it is handier to allow a tour company to do the organising for you. Flights to that part of the world (this year the Alpes for the Etape) are hard to gauge because there are only so many flights on certain days of the week. You might try to leave it late to (if DIY) to save money but you might be tired from travelling on the day of the event. Transfers can be difficult also, apparently to/from Geneva is very difficult. Re. car hire, you would have to make sure the car is big enough to carry your bike plus bring the car back to the airport...and it goes on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

I did it this year on my own. Got the entry myself off the Etape site "Au francais" although they opened an english page after. €75 vs the €200ish charged by operators.
    I looked at going on a tour vs self organise. I ended up in the middle. Decided to drive instead of fly. 2300 miles Cork to the alps return via London as Ireland France too expensive by ferry. Approx. €400 vs €800 upwards (plus fuel/tolls).

This was the company I went with. They were good enough, hotel was fine if out of the way, buses etc well organised. Could have been tidier with the bikes but that seems to be a common complaint. Price was very good compared to the rest.
    http://www.cyclomundo.com/etape_du_tour.html

This is the company in Cork that I got prices off
    http://www.trail-seekers.com/etape.htm

And the other Irish company. http://www.onyourbike.ie/route.aspx
    They do longer trips so if you fancied a week cycling over there they would be a good option.

Sports tours international didn't seem to have a good name with anyone I spoke to over there.

Costs, €75 entry. Package was €695 for 4 days plus transfers which I didn't use. Ferries
    about €400 and fuel and tolls over €400. I'd be slow enough to drive it on my own again though, long days! And throw in spending money plus the need to buy the Etape cycling jersey :)

Getting to the start and back from the finish are the problem. If there was a group with someone happy to drive then you could do this cheap enough. We'd a 7am start and a mountain top finish so no easy way back. Having that done for you was great. Less stress when you've something that hard ahead of you!

Some guys bikes didn't turn up so not sure how safe flying is without arriving a couple of days before. A good option is going via London and take the Eurostar. Bike boxes fit on the luggage shelves (there were 5 in my group travelling this way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

I wanna sign up , deffo going the DIY route and making a holiday out of it , great part of the world to spend 2 weeks

@ 2 wheels Good , For signing up on the official site, I was told you need a french address , how did that bit work out for you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭velopeloton

Rumours are that one of the etape will be from Bagneres de Bigorre to Col de la Pierre Saint Martin on Monday 16th July, crossing Tourmalet, Soulor, Aubisque and Marie Blanque. It is only rumour so don't book your holiday yet.
    http://www.velopeloton.com/cycling/pierre-saint-martin/
    pierre-saint-martin-12.jpg

dario28 wrote: »
    I wanna sign up , deffo going the DIY route and making a holiday out of it , great part of the world to spend 2 weeks

@ 2 wheels Good , For signing up on the official site, I was told you need a french address , how did that bit work out for you ?
    No, from what I remember the only problem I had was my poor French. I think they opened it up this year to anyone. The french registration opened up before the english so I'd it done before the english version was open.
    It's definitely doable diy without breaking the bank, especially if a few share the drive.
    Depending on where it is next year I may try it diy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭capnsantini

Ryder wrote: »

Of course the easiest is to go with an operator but I find these quite expensive as they amalgamate it with a weeks cycling which bumps up the price

FYI only, On Your Bike (OYB) will almost certainly be offering a shorter and cheaper package in 2012 as well as the full week option. The shorter trip will cater to those who can't go for the full week but still want to avoid the hassles of going DIY...

More details will be available in October. You can follow OYB by newsletter or Facebook to get updates directly.

Rumours are that one of the etape will be from Bagneres de Bigorre to Col de la Pierre Saint Martin on Monday 16th July, crossing Tourmalet, Soulor, Aubisque and Marie Blanque. It is only rumour so don't book your holiday yet.
    http://www.velopeloton.com/cycling/pierre-saint-martin/
    pierre-saint-martin-12.jpg

Jesus thats sounds tough. There's a ticket for the Marmotte with my name on it but this course sounds even tougher (and tempting) if true. Prudhomme suggested a medium mountains course for next year but I guess they have to throw in something proper mountainous for the tourists as its all the one organisation!?

Forgetting the cost, I'd a poster of Sean Yates on Alpe d'Huez on my wall when I was in school (from cycling weekly), didn't appreciate it on the day, but when it sinks in it was a great day for me! On closed roads I followed the path of legends and just about finished it.
    That's the price really. Whether you do the Trek Travel option and spend $000s or take your tent & camp it's our chance to follow in the footsteps of our heroes.
    I've never raced in Ireland, don't have a clue of the race levels etc, but love getting out on my bike since I was old enough to do it on my own and love the tour so that's the clincher for me, so if you've a chance do it!

Forgetting the cost, I'd a poster of Sean Yates on Alpe d'Huez on my wall when I was in school (from cycling weekly), didn't appreciate it on the day, but when it sinks in it was a great day for me! On closed roads I followed the path of legends and just about finished it.
    That's the price really. Whether you do the Trek Travel option and spend $000s or take your tent & camp it's our chance to follow in the footsteps of our heroes.
    I've never raced in Ireland, don't have a clue of the race levels etc, but love getting out on my bike since I was old enough to do it on my own and love the tour so that's the clincher for me, so if you've a chance do it!

Do a bit of club racing but don't follow cycling as such. Even so found the eta to be a fantastic event......well worth the training and money.

Disappointed though that they've changed the format to two events......takes away a little from the prestige of doing it IMO

Agreed that the 2 event format was questionable. I wonder if the cycling gods felt the same way with the way the weather was so harsh for acte 2.

The shorter Etape/TDF stage turned out to be excellent though IMO. It made it more accessible and anyone who did it will tell you is was still one heck of a route. It's still a full stage of the Tour and if anything this year's TDF has shown that harder is not necessarily better. Who can forget Contador grimacing and swerving all over the road on the final ramps as it became clear he wasn't going to be able to stick with the stage winner Pierre Rolland. Or Evans outsprinting the Shlecks in the last straight to take a few precious seconds on the GC. The pros were destroyed and they's only been racing for 3 hours! The race being as exciting as it was likely had plenty to do with the fact that more riders could stay in contention, as opposed to the Giro which only showed how big the differences are in the peloton when the going gets really, really tough.

Anyway, back the L'Etape, I also the I thought the staggered start this year was great and took care of the congestion problems of past editions.

No idea what's in store for 2011... 1 Acte or 2? Long stage or short? Alps or Pyrenees? Let the speculation begin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Based on testimony from lads who have done the event on a DIY basis, I wouldn't fancy it myself. It can be quite the logistical nightmare, as the start and finish lines are so far apart. Definitely worth the extra few quid to go through an established organisation to take the hassle out of it IMO

fat bloke wrote: »
    Based on testimony from lads who have done the event on a DIY basis, I wouldn't fancy it myself. It can be quite the logistical nightmare, as the start and finish lines are so far apart. Definitely worth the extra few quid to go through an established organisation to take the hassle out of it IMO

Good advice. I would recommend anyone that wants to do it to go with On Your Bike. Riding an event like that will be hard enough with all the hassle of the logistics as well. There are many other Cyclosportives in France that would be less crowded and probably more fun. As 2 Etaps has been financially successful for ASO, I'd be sure there will be 2 next year as well.

A package is nice, but some are crazy money. If you're on a budget do some research. Find accommodation near the start and check out the transport available. There were shuttle buses available back to the start for €12 I think.
    It's a dream for most and the prices match that, but with a bit of planning and early booking very doable.

Hey lads,

For those of you have who have done l'etape have you done it with mates or on your own? I'd be doing it on my own and just wondering if I'd be the exception!

doing it on your own is no problem. The biggest problem is accommodation as that gets snapped up fast. You could stay in a nearby village and drive/cycle to the start.....gives you a 15k radius. There are shuttles to the finish on the day before and day of the event.

There's no doubt that a package is the est way to go, but if like me you're stuck for time then its easy to arrange yourself.

Hey lads,

For those of you have who have done l'etape have you done it with mates or on your own? I'd be doing it on my own and just wondering if I'd be the exception!
    I did it on my own, booked a package but did most of the cycle on my own.
    Seemed to be a mix of groups and solo. I did Etape act 1, so from what I saw most people did their own thing on the climbs anyway.
    I wouldn't worry about it either way. If you find others great, if not do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

doing it on your own is no problem. The biggest problem is accommodation as that gets snapped up fast. You could stay in a nearby village and drive/cycle to the start.....gives you a 15k radius.

Watch that!!!

Mate of mine booking accommodation got caught out. Was supposed to be 12km from the start, but he didn't find out til later that the website calculated distance as the crow flies, so 12km in a straight line had him the other side of an Alp, and in reality a couple of hours drive away on twisty mountain roads!

TBH, for the cost and hassle I've resolved to never bothering with the likes of the Etape and just getting a gaff or a hotel room somewhere down there with the Mrs and a small gang of mates, spending a week, and ticking off a number of the flagship Alpine climbs in peace and quiet.

Hey lads,

Personally id say its better doing it in a group (i went with trail seekers), as you get the whole shared experience, competition within the group, and the training rides before hand. It does cost a bit more, but for me once I had decided to do it, it was worth paying the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 gal007

i did act 2 last year,went with sportstoursinternatioal and found them very good,will be going again with them this year,only thing was the weather,shocking!!!!

There will be 2 Etape du Tour Mondovelo in 2012. ASO confirm the Etape du Tour rides will be Albertville > La Toussuire (140km) in the Alps + Pau > Bagnères-de-Luchon (197km) in Pyrenees .

Does anybody have any ideas which is the most difficult in terms of climbing ?
    TDF12_profil_2.jpg
    PROFIL.gif

The stage in the Pyrenees looks like one of the hardest days on two wheels!

seve65 wrote: »
    Does anybody have any ideas which is the most difficult in terms of climbing ?
    TDF12_profil_2.jpg
    PROFIL.gif
    I stayed in La Toussuire this year for the Etape. It's tough enough. Didn't cycle all of it, went down 5k from the hotel the day before to loosen the legs. Steep but doable alright. Not sure how it'd be after 120k though!
    The downhill finish in the Pyrenees looks more tempting.

Here's an update from OYB: Packages are nearly ready to go, just a few final details left to plug in. We will be putting the full itinerary and pricing info on the website by November 14th at the latest, but with info we have so far all 3 packages are looking very interesting and well priced, both in regards to the competition and even to the DIY options. Thanks for your patience and keep the questions coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

Here's an update from OYB...

From previous experiences....would yee think it'd be do-able for 1000-eur or so? (as in, flight's n' all...), or has it cost people much more with the tour companies, when ye add in the flights and spending money etc.

I'm just trying to see if I could get over for this next year to do the Alps one, but the ferries are on akward days, camper vans cost a fortune to rent, and flying/car-rental + hassle of getting to/from the start/finish are kinda leaning me toward a package deal if I could get it all for a grand. Am I on a lost cause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Johnners1878

Crossing Cols d'Aubisque, Tourmalet & d'Aspin on Bastille Day and coming home alive would make a fine tale to tell on barstools for years to come

"Tell us about the time you rode the Tour De France again Grandad...."

I think this particular route has entrapped me, let the training begin !

Col-du-Tourmalet-Luz-St-Sauveur_profile.jpg

Col_de_l_Aspin_Sainte_Marie_de_Campan_profile.jpg

Col-de-lAubisque-Laruns-profile.jpg

Col_de_Peyresourde_Avajan_profile.jpg

As you may have seen, the OYB Etape packages are finally ready and on the website so have a look: www.onyourbike.ie

A very important point for anyone thinking about L'Etape is that this Thursday at 11am Irish time ASO will be releasing a small number of Etape Entries for sale online which start at 75€. This is a significantly lower rate than they are being sold for with the packages. OYB is encouraging anyone traveling with them to buy these discounted entries online while they last . All the packages are priced with or without Etape Entry so that you can take advantage of this savings.

www.letapedutour.com/ET1/fr/inscriptions.html

Good luck!

Hi Pat,

Do I understand correctly, If one organises their own flights do they then have to arrange their own transfers? Are we advised to go on the same flight in any case?

Thanks.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    If one organises their own flights do they then have to arrange their own transfers?

Not at all, if one were to book themselves on the same Aer Lingus flights or even arrive in Geneva or Lyon at the same time on another flight we will be sure to include them in the transfers from/to the airport. Sorry for any confusion on the issue, let me know if I can clear anything else up.

Cheers for that. I'll see if I can pick up an entry on Thursday.

Another quick one! Is that an offer to take the bikes overland/sea gratis instead of booking it onto a flight?

Yes for sure. Overland bike transport is included in the base price of all packages.

anyone know roughly how much the travel insurance might be (one that covers cycling holidays)?
    Maybe someone remembers from last year? It's just to get an idea...trying to budget for the trip now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭lazycyclist

Hi Pat - if a person is lucky enough to get an entry today, should they book the shuttle option (I think it says on the etape website that you need to book the official shuttle during registration), even if they are going with On Your Bike? Thanks

andy69 wrote: »
    anyone know roughly how much the travel insurance might be (one that covers cycling holidays)?
    Maybe someone remembers from last year? It's just to get an idea...trying to budget for the trip now

Single trip insurance should be around 30€. Here's a link to get a quote from Blue Insurance: http://www.blueinsurance.ie/wl/index.asp?AgencyID=1411 It only takes a minute to put your details in and you'll get a quote straight away.
    Hi Pat - if a person is lucky enough to get an entry today, should they book the shuttle option (I think it says on the etape website that you need to book the official shuttle during registration), even if they are going with On Your Bike? Thanks

If your are taking a package from OYB you will not need to book any additional shuttles etc. All transfers to and from the airports, race registration in Albertville, and to the start and from the finish (if necessary) are included in the base cost.

woo-hoo! entered! 75eur :)
    took two of us hammering the website for 20mins, but got it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭QueensGael

Did you get an odd looking email confirmation? Think I got a pair also :)

QueensGael wrote: »
    Did you get an odd looking email confirmation? Think I got a pair also :)

hehe! yeah the confirmation email was a bit basic alright! took a screenshot as well when it was booked...just in case :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Same here, kept refreshing, then in I went. Got a confirmation email pretty rapid as well. Took a PDF of the various screens as well, just in case!

God, what have I left myself in for:eek:

Can't get in. Did you guys use the english language site? All Im getting is 'service unavailible' when i click online entry form.

I've got to the online entry form twice but on both occasions I got the 'service unavailable' message after entrying in my details and clicking 'Register'.