Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny likened to Hitler??

• 28-07-2011 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0728/1224301501818.html?via=mr
    The newsletter, which was in the Church of St Columcille in Togher on Sunday, carried an article about Mr Kenny’s Dáil speech of last week under the headline: “Heil Herr Kenny”.

Referring to Mr Kenny’s criticisms of the Vatican’s handling of clerical sex abuse, the article stated: “The last European leader to make such a blistering attack on the Pope was the ruthless German dictator Adolf Hitler”.

What a pathetic man the author of this garbage must be. At least one church-goer had the common sense to question it and bring it to the attention of the paper.

Father Dougal: God, Ted, I've never met anyone like him anywhere. Who would he be like, Hitler or one of those mad fellas?
    Father Ted: Oh, worse than Hitler! You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at three o'clock in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Apparently he has apologised, but probably only because of the publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

likening someone to hitler is becoming all the rage nowadays.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Blue shirts, brown shirts, an easy mistake to make :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Hitler comparisons are a surefire way to lose an argument.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

They're trying to take away from the impact of the speech. There's been so many people doing it in the past few days, both clerical figures and ordinary mass-goers. Fact is the Catholic Church has shown abhorrent moral leadership and needs to face up to that fact and change. Nothing any bible-bashers says or does is going to change that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Yeah well a man under the leadership of Pope Benedict would be well versed in the teachings of Hitler wouldn't he.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Hitler woulda been very offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0728/1224301501818.html?via=mr

What a pathetic man the author of this garbage must be. At least one church-goer had the common sense to question it and bring it to the attention of the paper.

Father Dougal: God, Ted, I've never met anyone like him anywhere. Who would he be like, Hitler or one of those mad fellas?
    Father Ted: Oh, worse than Hitler! You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at three o'clock in the morning.

Too slow:P

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73522330&postcount=337

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

I like the quote at the end of the article -
    “Is this the new Ireland? Is this the fulfilment of the dreams of the founding fathers? ‘No Pope here’. Is this the way forward for a new and better Ireland?”

Yes. It absolutely is. Lets stop letting an unelected and inherently evil organisation influence decisions and policies in this country.

“Is this the new Ireland? Is this the fulfilment of the dreams of the founding fathers? ‘No Pope here’. Is this the way forward for a new and better Ireland?”

Yep, it sure is.

Ste_D wrote: »
    I like the quote at the end of the article -

Yes. It absolutely is. Lets stop letting an unelected and inherently evil organisation influence decisions and policies in this country.

Beat me to it:p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

This is just a propoganda piece, like Hitler would have written.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

FatherLen wrote: »
    likening someone to hitler is becoming all the rage nowadays.

Just like that new fangled ateaishim that the children are into:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

stevenmu wrote: »
    This is just a propoganda piece, like Hitler would have written.

But sure Pope Benedict was a member of Hitler Youth a group that became well known for it's "ferocity and fanaticism" whilst fighting the Allied forces at the Battle of Normandy during WW2. He'd know all about his old boss and his style of propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

There was a mini-walkout from a mass down there in the sticks when the priest condemned the government, and alluded to an ulterior agenda, and to the "Jew, Alan Shatter" as its driving force.

I don't think it's just the Vatican and the hierarchy that are the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Disgusting comment to make. He's just trying to divert attention away from the church. I don't support Enda on much, but I won't have our Taoiseach likened to Hitler because he had the courage to call a spade a spade with regards to the abuse under the watch of the Catholic church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

This arrogance drives me mad. Just shows that even after the ruination of all the lives that the Catholic Church from top to bottom has facilitated, they still believe they are above criticism.

Bunch of ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Not sure whether Ratzinger had a choice when it came to the Hitler Youth thing, but this priest... how low can you get?! An organisation is criticised for enabling/protecting child abusers and he sees this criticism as anti catholic and actually brings an attack on the organisation by Hitler into it...? :confused:

Bewildering stuff.

Did Hitler actually attack the catholic church anyway? He was a catholic himself, as were many leading nazis. The church didn't exactly go to any lengths to save victims of the nazis either. There's no denying catholics have experienced persecution, but it's hilarious how exaggerated it can be at times.

The piece is also sectarian - the snide way he refers to N.I. protestants (as if they're all loyalist fanatics) and his bemusement at how "Ireland's going" - pretty shocking that he finds outrage at the rape, beating and torture of children to be so perplexing and unwarranted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

TheZohan wrote: »
    But sure Pope Benedict was a member of Hitler Youth a group that became well known for it's "ferocity and fanaticism" whilst fighting the Allied forces at the Battle of Normandy during WW2. He'd know all about his old boss and his style of propaganda.

Speaking as an Atheist, to be fair to Pope Benedict, he didnt have much say in the matter as nearly all other youth organisations were merged into the Hitler Youth. The Boy Scouts in Germany refused to merge and were subsequently banned.

I have no love for the Pope or the Catholic church, but he is guilty of far more tangible things then being in the Hitler Youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

Einhard wrote: »
    There was a mini-walkout from a mass down there in the sticks when the priest condemned the government, and alluded to an ulterior agenda, and to the "Jew, Alan Shatter" as its driving force.

I don't think it's just the Vatican and the hierarchy that are the problem.

The priest apparently called Alan Shatter a "Jewish, non-practising, atheist"
    yup, makes no sense to me either

Fook! :eek:

Well at least some parishioners had the decency to walk out. That would have been far less likely to happen 20 years ago - especially in a rural area...

But you'll find this "Oh they're persecuting catholics" sh1te here and there on the back of the justified criticism of the organisation - oh and "bandwagon-jumping" is another accusation... coz... anyone who is angered by child abuse is just going along with the crowd... :confused:

Dudess wrote: »
    But you'll find this "Oh they're persecuting catholics" sh1te here and there on the back of the justified criticism of the organisation - oh and "bandwagon-jumping" is another accusation... coz... anyone who is angered by child abuse is just going along with the crowd... :confused:

Sure don't ye know, all the cool cats are against child abuse now. Condemning the rape of children is the new craze! Everyone's at it. Only the Church realises that such concenrs are just a fad, and those with concerns just jumping on the latest bandwagon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

syklops wrote: »
    Speaking as an Atheist, to be fair to Pope Benedict, he didnt have much say in the matter as nearly all other youth organisations were merged into the Hitler Youth. The Boy Scouts in Germany refused to merge and were subsequently banned.

I have no love for the Pope or the Catholic church, but he is guilty of far more tangible things then being in the Hitler Youth.

You always have a choice, isn't "free will" something that the church uses to exonerate god from all the bad that happens in the world? Why yes, yes it is.

I think that's very easy to say when you're not living under a fascist regime. Many decent Germans joined such organisations, because many felt they didn't have a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Dermo wrote: »
    The priest apparently called Alan Shatter a "Jewish, non-practising, atheist"
    yup, makes no sense to me either

I gotta write that down. For when I want to rip on some Jews, or Atheists. :rolleyes:

That priest will become a bishop no doubt.

Sure don't ye know, all the cool cats are against child abuse now. Condemning the rape of children is the new craze! Everyone's at it. Only the Church realises that such concenrs are just a fad, and those with concerns just jumping on the latest bandwagon!
    'Tis the MEEEEEEJA!!! The trendy liberal MEEEEEEJA!!! :mad:
    Sure you always have a choice, but when that choice could result in you being killed/tortured/imprisoned, it's kinda fair enough if you don't opt for it...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Dudess wrote: »
    Agreed, the real problem isn't that the State is persecuting Catholics, it's that the Church is molesting Catholics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

There was a mini-walkout from a mass down there in the sticks when the priest condemned the government

Pity this wasn't reported. At least then the article would show that not all Irish people are deluded enough to put up with this crap.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Pity this wasn't reported. At least then the article would show that not all Irish people are deluded enough to put up with this crap.

It is front page on the Kilkenny People today. May be a small piece in the Nationals tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Mini walkout is pathetic.

Only goes to show how many are still deluded.... like a bunch of robots sittin' there listenin' to some ould fella spoutin' s*ite.

Majority of people in Ireland still have their eyes and ears closed to plenty.

Reason enough why the country's in a state.

Ridiculous comment. On many levels.

Are you really telling me, an 8-year old Ratsinger should have started the revolution on his own when the youth club he was in merged with the Hitler youth?

Also, the church mostly exonerate God from the bad things that happen by blaming 'evil'. They further exonerate him by linking 'evil' to non-Catholic. There is not alot of free will floating around. If there was, my aged Aunt, with her bad arthritis and dodgy hip, would skip Mass the odd Sunday, in favour of staying home. Instead she doesn't and goes religiously(see what I did there?), come rain, hail or shine.

Hate the Catholic church by all means, hate the Pope, fine with me, but I think you have picked a stupid reason to do so, when there are soooo many other good reasons to.

Lets not forget the thousands they murdered and tortured during the spainsh inquisition. C**** the lot of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Kenny likened to Hitler in mass leaflet in rural Co Cork parish of 20,000 souls.
    Makes national news. Thread in After Hours.

Slow news day?

biko wrote: »
    Kenny likened to Hitler in mass leaflet in rural Co Cork parish of 20,000 souls.

Slow news day?

I thought it was in Louth?!

And bashing on the catholic church is the in thing nowadays. But don't worry, we aren't going around raping anyone's childhood.

It was Togher in Louth. Togher in Cork isn't rural. :)

biko wrote: »

Slow news day?

Its a nice change from:

Threads about bankers
    Threads about taxes
    Threads about Taxi drivers
    Threads about immigrants
    Threads about dole scroungers
    Threads about College students

And the myriad of other topics we see everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Dermo wrote: »
    I thought it was in Louth?!

And bashing on the catholic church is the in thing nowadays. But don't worry, we aren't going around raping anyone's childhood.

No, justified criticism of the catholic church is.
    Bashing : To criticise harshly

I don't think any comments have been "harsh", given what the catholic church did.

Rural Co.Cork is it?

Inbreds the lot of them. Probably spend their spare time playing banjos, chasing 'outsiders' with shotguns. :mad:

Over & out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Now if Enda had a little moustache hmmm and judging by some of his recent policies ... i can see a father Ted replacement looming.

He would have to upgrade the moustache. Rather than stealing Charlie Chaplin's, he should steal Tom Selleck's moustache. Now that could rule the world!

(Any photoshop experts out there willing to try a few moustache's on Enda? :p )

Rural cork or louth, what's the difference?

If there not tryin' to shoot you in one spot, their tryin to blow ya up in the other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Damn, I thought this was a thread about moustaches!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 LoopTheLoop

But it's okay Enda Kenny being likened to Hitler, because the Catholic Church had no problem with Hitler ... so there's no implications to that.

^^^ It's bout the men behind the moustaches. Inbreds.

Mostly from Cork and Louth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Likening the secular menace to 1930's German authorities is all the rage amongst victimised Catholic apologists these days.
    Forcing a priest to disclose what has occurred in the confessional is also a dangerous step for a free society.

It dents trust. It all but abolishes private conversations. It makes every professional an agent of the State, and there is a word for a society in which everyone is a potential agent of the State: fascism.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

books4sale banned for trolling.
    <3 my kindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

lol, considering how Vatican helped Nazi generals escape to South America, may be this priest meant it in a good way, like Hilter, you know, our man Hitler, everyone thinks he's crazy, but he's alright, we will protect him... etc.

/disappointed.

books4sale banned for trolling.
    <3 my kindle.

<3 dr.bollocko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Father Ted:

I'm not a fascist, I'm a priest. Fascists dress in black and go around telling people what to do, whereas...priests...more drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Well Enda and his government are foolish if they think the seal of the confessional will be broken.

Is that something Hitler would have expected?