Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OP has to give their opinion

• 26-07-2011 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭

How come there's a new thing on boards now, that when a person makes a thread asking a question other members always want the OPs opinion?

I think like most things on boards, one person led the way with this and everyone is following like sheep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

I think like most things on boards, one person led the way with this and everyone is following like sheep?

What kind of sheep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

How come there's a new thing on boards now, that when a person makes a thread asking a question other members always want the OPs opinion?

Are you for or against opinions though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Not in my opinion....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

what are you talking about?
    are you giving out that op's are giving opinions too?
    because you just did

orourkeda wrote: »

How am I supposed to contribute any further to this thread with an erection? Shame on you!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's not new.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

How am I supposed to contribute any further to this thread with an erection? Shame on you!
    Pretend the sheep is wearing something from Ann Summers? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

So we can keep their ideas on file... In a filing cabinet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whats your opinion op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

How is what I have highlighted in bold a question? :confused::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

so you do like open onions or you don't like open onions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

It's been in the charter for ages. And it's a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Because it's only fair that you offer your opinion first* before asking everyone else to?

*or at least say you will give your opinion later in the thread if you don't want answers which concur with your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's in the charter
    Not every news story needs a thread on After Hours. Don't just post up a link to a news article just because nobody else has. Add something to it. Your own point of view.
    If you do start a thread, be prepared to contribute to it yourself, especially if you expect others to do so.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

El Weirdo wrote: »
    It's been in the charter for ages. And it's a good thing.

Jaysus it is.
    We thought of almost everything.
    FYI about the charter. Javaboy wrote 90% of it in the AH mods forum. I kinda just stole what he wrote it and added on more useless words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

And how do you feel about that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I absolutely hate when people ask that :mad: its so annoying.
    Personally, i think people only ask so they can argue with you. Hoping that your "view" is something that they can jump down your throat for. Nothing like a good ol i'm right, you're wrong "debate" for a good percentage on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

It's in the charter because boards.ie is not here to harvest mindless copy pasta, neither is it a blog.

So discuss something or GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Good idea, cuts down on "subtle" trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Discussion board

If you want to post links to different stories and nothing else head to twitter

Biggins wrote: »
    Pretend the sheep is wearing something from Ann Summers? :pac:

Oh great now I'm thinking of shearing a negligée onto a ewe! All rational thought is gone from my head. Thanks Biggins!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

hardCopy wrote: »
    Good idea, cuts down on "subtle" trolling
    Exactly. An OP that just links to a controversial news story is akin to handing two monkeys a knife each and sticking them in a cage.

At least if you give your opinion it's like you're getting in the cage with them.

I'm all for animal rights, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Exactly. An OP that just links to a controversial news story is akin to handing two monkeys a knife each and sticking them in a cage.

At least if you give your opinion it's like you're getting in the cage with them.

That's cruel unless the monkeys are at least given a shield each.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

On every online forum I've ever been on, it's expected that if you start a thread you'll give an opinion to get a discussion rolling. Just throwing up a link and saying "Discuss" or "What do ye think?" is lazy and boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

What kind of sheep?

The sort of sheep who try be funny looking for "thanks" off other members and fail miserably!

FatherLen wrote: »
    what are you talking about?
    are you giving out that op's are giving opinions too?
    because you just did

I'm saying if i made a thread asking what others think of a movie or something, on boards.ie you always get someone saying "OP why don't you tell us what you think of the movie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Sharing an opinion is a logical component of any informed discussion. How can one start any debate or topical discussion, without first sharing an opinion on the matter you have just raised.

To start a thread and make no attempt to give your view as the OP, is really the action of a mindless muppet. In fact the failure of an OP to share their opinion, is behaviour I find particularly spineless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I don't trust anyone who asks for everyone else's opinion but won't give their own. That kind of person is up there with the 'wallet inspector'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Without their 498 colleagues and the typewriters, do you think that they would still eventually carve out the complete works of Shakespeare on each other's backs?:confused:

It's not new.

It's new enough, or else just more widespread now, hence

Mena wrote: »
    It's in the charter because boards.ie is not here to harvest mindless copy pasta, neither is it a blog.

So discuss something or GTFO.

Discussing something doesn't mean you have to comment on your orig post does it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's new enough, or else just more widespread now, hence

its been in charters for yonks. you should probably check them out, then offer an opinion that we can ridicule.

ya know attacking the post not the poster, also in the aforementioned charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I am in 2 minds about it. It does irk me to see a thread title and then the content of the op is just 'discuss'.
    However, if the op types out a general observation, then asks what everyone else thinks, only to have some whiner a few posts onwards say 'what are your thoughts, op' in a passive aggressive way of displaying 'the rules' then that annoys me just as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I'm Ron Burgundy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

The sort of sheep who try be funny looking for "thanks" off other members and fail miserably!

Is this supposed to be some sort of Troll double-cross?

Touché mon frere, Touché! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

I don't think it cuts down on trolling, people will post up weird links regardless or whether they're supposed to give their opinion or not. I think it's a stupid idea to make the OP give their opinion because 99% of the time, the first 5 posts will be people picking apart their comment to get thanks. I'd prefer to be able to post things freely without having to give an opinion.