Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon vs. Tyrone - 30th July

• 26-07-2011 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭

Soooo. Who do Roscommon need to nullify to have a shot at winning this one?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I think from watching yous against us that Ros paniced a bit and if they had a little more composure they had a few more points on us in the 1st half.

It really wouldn't surprise me to see Ros beat Tyrone, they are still a quality team but just aren't the Tyrone of old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭deiseindublin

Real pity it's not being televised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Real pity it's not being televised.

You can thank the stupid revised TV rights the GAA hammered out last year for that. Just makes Roscommon fans' minds up for them with the minors playing on the same bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 indosilverclub

the prize of another dance with the dubs at headquarters will be enough to keep an obviously vastly superior Tyrone team focused enough not to let the cattle thieves sneak a victory. I think Tyrone might g all the way to final

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Not sure about this one. I think roscommon have more to offer and could pull out a big performance. That said Tyrone are kinda tricky to predict. I think they have a big game in them but it might not surface against Roscommon. If Tyrone go through, I do think they will pull their big performane out of the bag against dublin. Tyrone should just be able to do enough based on their experience mostly and win by about 4. That said I would not be surprised if Roscommon come through as I think they have one big game in them this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭nedsgarden

I thought someone on BBC NI radio said the game was on BBC 2 NI, not on the listings, but heres hoping.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Syferus wrote: »
    You can thank the stupid revised TV rights the GAA hammered out last year for that. Just makes Roscommon fans' minds up for them with the minors playing on the same bill.

thats a good thing! thats why the stupid revised rights were done, so people would start going to games again rather than watching it on tv. nothing beats a good atmosphere at a ground with packed stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 indosilverclub

radio coverage has been excellent this season. Newstalk's games are a joy to listen to and RTE seem to have stepped up a bit too thanks to the competition

still hough. its such a big game now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭blowitupref

If Tyrone continue to score what they have been scoring in the last two games Roscommon will do well to keep within 6pts of them. Tyrone have all the momentum going into this game & i feel the Roscommon heads are down after leaving a Connacht title behind them.

bruschi wrote: »
    thats a good thing! thats why the stupid revised rights were done, so people would start going to games again rather than watching it on tv. nothing beats a good atmosphere at a ground with packed stands.

If I was a neutral I'd be cursing the GAA, and have done many times this summer because of reduced coverage. I can't think of any other sporting organisation on the planet that thinks less television/internet coverage is the way to stave off advances by other sports.

I'd have been going to this game anyways and, really, I'd question how much of an effect it really has on attendences.

Tyrone have all the momentum going into this game & feel the Roscommon heads are down after leaving a Connacht title behind them.

I feel the situation is quite the opposite. The horrible conditions helped ease the pain of the Connacht final loss and the two week break makes this feel like another big championship match in Croke Park - the mood in the county is certainly not one of looking back in anger. I fancy our chances more against Tyrone (or even Dublin) than I do against Cork and if anything the team may feel they dodged a bit of a bullet. With all due respect to Mayo, a win over Tyrone in Croke Park would be a far more signifcant result for Roscommon than winning this year's Connacht final, indeed it'd easily be the biggest win for a Connacht team in the Championship since 2006.

We're playing at the business end of the season for the second year running; that was the base aim this year and now it's time to try and do something a little special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Syferus wrote:
    I fancy our chances more against Tyrone (or even Dublin) than I do against Cork and if anything the team may feel they dodged a bit of a bullet

not sure how they would think that, at the end of the day a connacht title and a place in the quarters playing an injury hit cork would be my choice, cork don't have goulding and sheenan who scored 9 points against us, they don't have nick murphy to bring on and he imo changed the game against us as we were winning midfield at the time, i think this year had we played cork we would close down pearce o neill much better than last time out to as domican is much more agile than casey was on him

kilbride is a major doubt for this match, fergal confirmed this yesterday

rossie1977 wrote: »
    not sure how they would think that, at the end of the day a connacht title and a place in the quarters playing an injury hit cork would be my choice, cork don't have goulding and sheenan who scored 9 points against us, they don't have nick murphy to bring on and he imo changed the game against us as we were winning midfield at the time, i think this year had we played cork we would close down pearce o neill much better than last time out to as domican is much more agile than casey was on him

kilbride is a major doubt for this match, fergal confirmed this yesterday

Cork, with those injuries, looked fantastic on Saturday and that sort of momentum might be all they need to paper over any cracks with another game this weekend. I think Mayo have a chance to give them a shock but Tyrone are definitely a less daunting task.

Of course we'd have loved a Connacht title but there's been some rays of sunshine from losing, we've still found ourselves against a top flight team in Croke Park on the August bank holiday weekend and if anything can gear a team with ambitions up it's that.

I read Fergal's interview in the Hearld but he said Kilbride was 'a doubt' and that they're hoping he'll be ok for Saturday and I'm sure they're doing just about everything to make sure he's good to go, this isn't a match any player would want to miss out on.

Oh, and I just got my tickets! Just in case any Roscommon fans want to check out the GAA Museum (and specifically the Dermot Earley exhibit that'll be gone by next year) you need Cusack Stand tickets to even have the option of going to the museum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I think this match will be a lot tighter than people think though it is hard to look past a Tyrone win.Roscommon have good footballers and pushed Cork for the majority of last years quarter final meeting.

Roscommon have presented Tyrone with problems many years ago in league meetings too plus the minor side will have had a few players who have a season or two under their belts.

Roscommon really need to shut down the supply of ball Cavanagh will give to Mulligan and McGuigan while stopping Cavanagh from roaming up midfield and scoring himself.

Tyrone by 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

Any word on the starting 15 for Ros

Not yet and with Kilbride touch-and-go he might delay naming a team or just list Kilbride anyways in hopes of him making it. Besides enforced changes Ormsby at 4 is the only sure-fire addition to the Connacht final team, he was supposed to be the starter anyways but he wasn't 100% for that game.

He might be tempted to switch O'Gara in at 11 because I think Higgins had a weak enough game in the final. If Higgins opens up and looks for the pass more and doesn't shoot from tight angles so much he could be a useful player for the team, though. I thought McDermott looked good off the bench but I don't know where he'd put him - Devaney worked his socks off in the final and that'd seem to be McDermott's most nature position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 thegatekeeper1

As a tyrone fan I think it is wonderful how everyone has written them off this season, and now they are about to enter the last 8 once more (not a hope rossies, stay at home and save yer money, sure it is on the wireless, you do have that technology down there dont yis?). rte have too much say with the gaa, the commentary is crap (who the fk is eugene magee? one lucky all ireland with offaly, he cant comentate or analyse), although the analysis is fun, (brolly is a legend, not always right, but he annoys spillane, which is good for the soul) whelan is another joke, a big name who choked when he got close. Mc Conville puts whelan and that clown mcstay to shame when analysing games, doesnt even need notes, pure legend. listen to newstalks coverage of games, great analysis and commentary. rte dont like the fact that mickey harte wont talk to them, screw rte, their a joke, it will be great when tyrone lift sam and noone talks to rte at the city west reception. Maybe then the gaa will think about their marriage to rte.

Was that an attempt at trolling or have you been hitting the sauce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

The ramblings of a 14 year old ... Think he managed to troll half the country there..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Have seen Roscommon in action this year and I dont fancy them in this match, I think Tyrone are too physical and clinical all over the pitch. Roscommon have some very good players but then they have some very poor ones aswell unfortunately and they dont seem to have the panel or squad to do something about this. If Fergal O Donnell gets his tactics wrong again in this match I can see Tyrone running away with it, if he gets them right i think it will be close but i would still expect Tyrone to win

leonidas83 wrote: »
    Roscommon have some very good players but then they have some very poor ones aswell unfortunately and they dont seem to have the panel or squad to do something about this. If Fergal O Donnell gets his tactics wrong again in this match I can see Tyrone running away with it, if he gets them right i think it will be close but i would still expect Tyrone to win

i dread to think where we would be if the minor team of 2006 hadn't happened, take those 9 or 10 lads off the current panel and you don't have much left :( in fairness we have had a decent amount of injuries this year, the likes of o'gara and cathal shine would be massive additions if they were fully fit and we have lost some very good young players like daniel qualter to pro-rugby

but comparing roscommons panel to tyrone is funny, just like with cork last year if tyrone are in any sort of trouble this weekend they will bring in the likes of o'neill, dooher, mulligan, enda mcginley or justin mcmahon we on the other hand will bring in enda kenny or cathal dineen

i dread to think where we would be if the minor team of 2006 hadn't happened, take those 9 or 10 lads off the current panel and you don't have much left :( in fairness we have had a decent amount of injuries this year, the likes of o'gara and cathal shine would be massive additions if they were fully fit and we have lost some very good young players like daniel qualter to pro-rugby

but comparing roscommons panel to tyrone is funny, just like with cork last year if tyrone are in any sort of trouble this weekend they will bring in the likes of o'neill, dooher, mulligan, enda mcginley or justin mcmahon we on the other hand will bring in enda kenny or cathal dineen

Yah i agree, I think that's then major difference between the top teams now and the rest, Cork, Kerry, Kildare and Tyrone's squads are very strong overall, whereas with the rest of them, missing one or two key players could seriously hinder them.

I do think Fergal has a tendency to rely on those minor players too much though thereby preventing other players on the panel from really making any sort of impact when they come on

Ah, come off the doom train. Our bench has improved ten-fold since last year with the likes of Seamus O'Neil, Ger Heneghan and Enda Kenny currently on it, never mind young players like McDermott and O'Gara who are ready to bite the manager's hand off for a chance. They're not an all-star bench by any means but the most important thing that's happened this year for the senior team is that we've started to develop more of a panel. We aren't there yet but this year's first 22 is significantly stronger than last year's. And that's not even mentioning the talented u-21 and minor teams that are coming through.

Cheer up!

leonidas83 wrote: »
    I do think Fergal has a tendency to rely on those minor players too much though thereby preventing other players on the panel from really making any sort of impact when they come on

He's gradually bedding players in and, honestly, a good portion of those 2006 minors have a hell of alot of potential and don't have the scars of failure that alot of the older guys have. I'm sure it's as much about developing a mentality as winning games for him at this point and it's easier to do that with players who you've brought up through the levels.

Ah, come off the doom train. Our bench has improved ten-fold since last year with the likes of Seamus O'Neil, Ger Heneghan and Enda Kenny currently on it,

well now shaq was a fine player but i don't think that tag fits him now and hasn't he walked off the panel?? ger is good for bringing on if you want your forward to run towards the ball in the corner and not much else :( and kennys not county standard certainly not at this stage of the championship, mayo were bringing on mcgarrity and gardiner against us, we simply dont have those type of options on the bench and nothing like tyrone which was my main point
    And that's not even mentioning the talented u-21 and minor teams that are coming through.

there are some decent players coming through kilroy, shine, daly to name 3 but they all extremely young atm

Good news - Fergal said in the People that he expects Kilbride to be fit for Saturday, which would be a huge boost for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭mrgaa1

without stating the obvious every one of the Tyrone players need to be nullified - particularly Sean Cavanagh, Peter Harte, Gormley, McMahon brothers, Stephen O'Neill and then whoever else who is having a good day.
    Tyrone to step up a gear and to win by 9-12 points at a canter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

Is it worth showing up early to see this Roscommon minor team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 McSlaggart

I was at the Armagh Tyrone match.

Joe McMahon, Peter Harte and anyone with McGuigan as their surname.

Armagh had a good defence and they destroyed it by going though it in packs (ie Joe Mc Mahon goal).

Long quick ball into the forwards once the Tyrone lost the ball was tried by Armagh but joe Mc Mahon got most of them.

I don't think that Roscommon should try and nullify anyone on the Tyrone team as Armagh started with that idea and it worked at first but then Tyrone team simply changed there playing pattern and odd player.

Roscommon would be better if they followed the excellent Longford team and play the way that suited them best.

Panrich wrote: »
    Is it worth showing up early to see this Roscommon minor team?

could be the best game of the wkend in croke park :D last two times roscommon minors played in hq (not counting the new york runout in april) both were terrific games and much better than the senior games that followed, that roscommon kerry minor game in 2009 is probably best game i have seen in person in croker since dublin vs mayo senior in 2006 (and i have been to quite a few matches in hq since)

roscommon have a good team, three lads that really look the business, midfielder corcoran number 9, donie smith who played number 13 last day but tends to play more around the half forward line and half back daly who plays at number 7, i don't know much of armagh but they were favourites to win ulster (but didn't) they are still 2nd favourites for the all-ireland so they have to be decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

could be the best game of the wkend in croke park :D last two times roscommon minors played in hq (not counting the new york runout in april) both were terrific games and much better than the senior games that followed,

I still have the nightmares from 2006. I missed you beating our lads in Castlebar and Galway for various reasons (work/holidays) but the reports I hear are encouraging. Mayo haven't had a poor minor team in years, and Galway were littered with Jarleth's players so you have to think that you're not going to be far off the required standard. Good luck in both games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I've thought Mark Donnelly has been a potent threat this year for Tyrone, and had a great game last week against Armagh - might be the one for Roscommon to nullify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Eoin Cunniffe 94

the minor game is well worth going to ross have a good team and play good football! Armagh forwards are supposed to be top quality so should be a good game! would be worried though if Donie Smith doesnt perform he seems to run our forward line !!

as for the seniors agree with previous poster our bench is weak and anyone using ger heneghan as an example of a good bench is deluded he hasnt had a good game for ross in ages and any big chance he has gotten he fluffed badly.

We need Ormsby and kilbride to start to have any chance imo! wouldnt be surprised if their is changes in the forward line! Hopefully we can give it a good lash !

as for the seniors agree with previous poster our bench is weak and anyone using ger heneghan as an example of a good bench is deluded he hasnt had a good game for ross in ages and any big chance he has gotten he fluffed badly.

He's an industrious and experienced forward who won many of the frees that Donie grabbed the headlines for last year and has always been a good free-taker himself, for the county and Castlerea.

Anyone who thinks he's not a good person to be able to bring on, for any one of a multitude for reasons, is the one who's going over-board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

I think the more general point being touched on is, Is Ger Hen good enough to lead to beating Tyrone. They can be serious opposition for anyone or any footballer off the bench.

i think the thing that frustrates roscommon followers is that fact that ger is extremely talented, i was up at the 2004 qualifier in hq against dublin and he had a fantastic match that day, he ran at the dublin defense and caused them all sorts of bother, scoring, creating chances, i thought he was tony mcmanus for 70mins :p

at club level if he doesn't score at least 6 points a game its a surprise, i remember him going point for point with michael meehan when castlerea played caltra few years ago, the match basically became a shootout between the two of them, whatever it is maybe he doesn't apply himself enough at county level or something, same can be said of john rogers, another guy who scores 80% of his clubs tally every week and yet when it comes to pulling on the roscommon colours its like he never played up forward, his effort against longford in the league final was incredible, straight in front of the goal and he kicks it sideways....

Ger Heneghan is probably one of the best club players in the county but is not county standard ! yes he wins frees but a lot of players can do that its not exactly a talent ! he is the most frustrating player to watch has talent but doesnt show it prefers to run into corners!
    he is not good enough to be relied on to come off the bench and grab scores
    he had a tough chance to level it against mayo or simply lay it off for an easy score for Donie Shine and the glory blinded him and he was blocked down
    iv watched him throughout the league and championship for both club and county and he is not county standard

Ger Heneghan is probably one of the best club players in the county but is not county standard ! yes he wins frees but a lot of players can do that its not exactly a talent ! he is the most frustrating player to watch has talent but doesnt show it prefers to run into corners!
    he had a tough chance to level it against mayo or simply lay it off for an easy score for Donie Shine and the glory blinded him and he was blocked down
    iv watched him throughout the league and championship for both club and county and he is not county standard

How is winning kick-able frees not a talent? :confused:

How is getting fouled by someone a talent ?!

When someone is fouled consistently throughout a season, in dangerous positions no less, it's more than a case of a lazy defender - the forward is earning those frees by making himself difficult to mark.

Look if heneghan was a good county player I think you would have a stronger point than him winning frees to back your point up

Besides saying he's good enough of a possession attacker to be fouled as much as he was last year and that he's a good free-taker too should anything happen to Shine or Kilbride you mean? The point is clear enough, there's nothing to be gained in arguing any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Personally I think Roscommon can take this if they can stay the course. Tyrone have been a great team in the last decade but are much older now and the younger hungrier team could easily beat them.

as much as i would like to see Roscommon win the above poster is wrong, Tyrone to win by at least 3 because of their bench and strength in depth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

i would love to see the rossies win this one,it wont be easy but i think they just might turn tyrone over.they are under no presure as hardly anyone thinks they have a chance anyway.have them in a double with donegal so thats proablythe kiss of death.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Ross 0-2 ty 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

sounds like its been a good start to the game so far. end to end stuff

Live: Tyrone 0-04 Roscommon 0-03

Live: Tyrone 0-05 Roscommon 0-05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

1-08 Tyrone 1-07 roscommon

good game, sides are evenly matched

Shine and Cavanagh are excellent

Kilbride coming into it as the game goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

1-09 tyrone 1-08 roscommon

Cavanagh in superb form

Ros should be leading this game comfortably though, they will rue the wides

More direct ball is needed into the Ros full forward line as they are wreaking havoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Thanks for Update Jayob10. Better than Rte text update which is like every 2 scores in delay.
    How is midfield going? Finneran getting ball? Assume you're at game and on yer phone? Game shaping up as a real tit for tat shoot out.