Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Rally Driver needs your help

• 26-07-2011 8:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Northern Irish rally driver Martin McCormack has been chosen by World Rally Championship journalists for a shortlist of 10 driver's who the public are requested to vote on as to who should get an opportunity within the newly formed Volkswagen World Rally Team. VW are currently trialing diferent young drivers before they enter the championship with the new Polo WRC and with Martin the only Irish candidate shortlisted your votes would be greatly appreciated.

Simply click on the link below and click on Martin's name.

http://www.wrc.com/fanzone/polls/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Why should we vote for him??

why is he the best candidate for the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Done,

I've a feeling the mods may not like this so you may be better off contributing to the forum and putting a link in your sig.

Get a facebook page going too!

robtri wrote: »
    Why should we vote for him??

why is he the best candidate for the job?

Because he's from Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Should I leave my bank account details or those of HMRC - so he can send me money from Monaco when he becomes an international WRC Rally star?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 davemoy

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Done,

I've a feeling the mods may not like this so you may be better off contributing to the forum and putting a link in your sig.

Get a facebook page going too!

Sorry, New to the forum as you can see. Hope my post does not offend / upset anybody as that is certainly not intended.

It was suggested to me by a friend that this is the place to go to boost votes. Rallying is huge throughout the world and for a Irish driver to be nominated is generally unheard of so we are trying to maximise the opportunity and hopefully teams / manufacturers will look more at the talent within our small country and with a bit of luck we might have another Irish driver alongside current Mini World Rally Driver Kris Meeke within the World Rally Championship in the not so distant future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

Done, and he is definitely the best candidate for the job as he is Irish, it doesn't even matter if he can drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Because he's from Ireland?

Wrong attitude...

Basically your putting someone forward for a Job that might not be the best person for it. Basically because your Irish, He's Irish, IE your looking after him

Where else have we seen this?

grahambo wrote: »
    Wrong attitude...

Basically your putting someone forward for a Job that might not be the best person for it. Basically because your Irish, He's Irish, IE your looking after him

Where else have we seen this?
    Yip - Damn straight.
    I'm "Looking after him".
    FFS, get off the horse. Its a sport that us Irish want to premote in this country and god forbid we use an Irishman to do the job.

davemoy wrote: »
    Northern Irish rally driver ..........
    cadaliac wrote: »
    Yip - Damn straight.
    I'm "Looking after him".
    FFS, get off the horse. Its a sport that us Irish want to premote in this country and god forbid we use an Irishman to do the job.

I'd say you're on one yourself to be honest.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I'd say you're on one yourself to be honest.
    Why?

Someone commented that he may not be the best of the candidates, the only reason offered for us to vote for him is that he is Irish. Now I don't have a masters in Geography but Northern Ireland and Ireland are not really the same thing. If the chap is a Unionist I don't see why folks from the ROI should be asked to vote for him because he is from Ireland.

The chap may well WANT to race under the Union Jack

...... also the OP has made no contribution to the forum prior to this request.

Thread title reads "Irish Rally driver"
    Not going to get into a political snaping match over this.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I didnt want to say it but as he most likely has a Racing License from up north it will mean he will have to race under the union jack... Not that it really matters to me but it does to some people.
    That's a perfect situation tbh, if he wins then he's Irish, if he looses then he's a Brit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Can we move this to Politics forum??? ;)

Ah lads, will y'all cop on to yourselves with the bickering!

The lad is from the island of Ireland and if we can help to give him a leg up lets do it - if you don't want to for whatever reason then don't, simple as.

As for whoever was implying that supporting this young lad is akin to jobs for the boys - get a grip! :p

Folks,
    I didn't want to open a debate about religion or political status of people. Martin is a very capable driver. His results to date include Irish Citroen Trophy Champion 2008, British Junior Champion 2009, Irish Citroen Trophy Champion 2009, French Citroen Trophy Runner Up 2010. Current Driver for Citroen Racing in British Rally Championship and current leader of British two wheel drive championship. He has the ability to move forward and with your help and votes we can perhaps have VW ask the question as to who this young Irish driver is and perhaps move forward to obtaining a test with the team.

Can we please stop the digs going back and forth as this is not what the tread is about.

Your votes please:

Folks,
    I didn't want to open a debate about religion or political status of people. ..........

that's swung it for me so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Folks,
    I didn't want to open a debate about religion or political status of people. Martin is a very capable driver. His results to date include Irish Citroen Trophy Champion 2008, British Junior Champion 2009, Irish Citroen Trophy Champion 2009, French Citroen Trophy Runner Up 2010. Current Driver for Citroen Racing in British Rally Championship and current leader of British two wheel drive championship. He has the ability to move forward and with your help and votes we can perhaps have VW ask the question as to who this young Irish driver is and perhaps move forward to obtaining a test with the team.

Can we please stop the digs going back and forth as this is not what the tread is about.

Your votes please:

thats much better, now at least we have an understanding of who the guy is and a reason to vote for him.

Being irish isnt a reason on it own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Folks,

Your votes please:

You got my vote

G.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Can people please stop with this Ireland/Northern Ireland BS please.

The OP has (finally) given more details and if people would like to vote let them vote. Otherwise just go here for a debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Done, hope he gets through. He has a slight lead over the next closest guy at the moment but that could easily change. You should think about setting up a FaceBook event page and promoting him through that. The more Irish people we have in motorsport, the higher profile it gets in the country, which is a good thing in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Another Vote for Irish rally driver :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Voted, he is in the lead now anyway

21 Jul 11 - 31 Jul 11
    Which young driver deserves a trial with Volkswagen?

Kevin Abbring: 10%
    David Bogie: 4%
    Eyvind Brynildsen: 2%
    Karl Kruuda: 2%
    Martin McCormack: 28%
    Thierry Neuville: 23%
    Jarkko Nikara: 1%
    Hayden Paddon: 17%
    Matti Rantanen: 2%
    Ott Tanak: 10%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Never vote for these things myself - don't like Vote Pimping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭280special

A new member posts a link, he makes the mistake of not giving all the details he should have and asking for our support for a young Irish sportsman (you can call him what you want but he was born on this island and as such as much an Irishman as any of us ! )

and then he gets his head chewed off...Nice way to welcome new people !

Martin gets my vote because he is an Irishman ( north, south, east or west doesnt matter to me ! ) AND because he is a talented driver. Hope he gets the chance he deserves !

Folks, Belgium's Thierry Neuville is on a charge again and has closed to within 2% of Martin. Your votes have been greatly appreciated and anybody who hasnt already voted can we urge you to do so.

Many thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Click the name but nothing happens. Will try on pc in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Done, Best of luck to Martin :)

subway wrote: »
    Click the name but nothing happens. Will try on pc in the morning

Perhaps you haven't made to where to click. Look at end of name list and you may see a link to enter voting poll where u then click on Martin's name.
    Many thanks btw
    DM

Perhaps you haven't made to where to click. Look at end of name list and you may see a link to enter voting poll where u then click on Martin's name.
    Many thanks btw
    DM
    nope, just wouldnt accept my vote from the phone. done now.

Martin has dropped 2% behind Belgium's Thierry Neuville now :-(
    Your votes would be greatly appreciated.
    www.wrc.com/fanzone/polls

As has been said already create a facebook page, become a friend or fan of every motor related facebook page you can find and ask them to vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭goodstuff!

Don't know him personally but he is an excellent driver and deserves to be at the top of that poll. Too many drivers with rich Daddy's are getting these opportunities.
    Vote, and give the fella with no budget a chance for once, no matter what part of the world he's from.
    I've voted over 10 times by doing it on "in private" browsing on windows 7.

To all those of you who voted for Martin - Our massive thanks. Results of the poll below and the article on [url]www.wrc.com:[/url]

Martin McCormack (United Kingdom): 11,174
    Thierry Neuville (Belgium): 11,173
    Hayden Paddon (New Zealand): 3685
    Ott Tanak (Estonia): 1851
    Kevin Abbring (Netherlands): 1722
    David Bogie (United Kingdom): 759
    Matti Rantanen (Finland): 550
    Eyvind Brynildsen (Norway): 384
    Jarkko Nikara (Finland): 354
    Karl Kruuda (Estonia): 339

To all those of you who voted for Martin - Our massive thanks. Results of the poll below and the article on www.wrc.com:

Martin McCormack (United Kingdom): 11,174

I thought he was supposed to be Irish! :eek::p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

I can't believe he won by only one vote. I'm only seeing this thread now. I would have voted too, not that it matters at this stage. Northern Irish, British, Irish, unionist, nationalist, whatever, all the same to me. Good luck Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭kev250

I can't believe he won by only one vote. I'm only seeing this thread now. I would have voted too, not that it matters at this stage. Northern Irish, British, Irish, unionist, nationalist, whatever, all the same to me. Good luck Marty.

Ah Its not the same tho is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭aido 1976

Went to the link, and it will not allow me to click on Martin's name ???

(I could be doing something wrong)

But in saying that, the Boards members must have being busy, :) Martin is in joint first place at 35% with Thierry Neuville, so hopefully he makes it..

Kevin Abbring: 5%

David Bogie: 2%

Eyvind Brynildsen: 1%

Karl Kruuda: 1%

Martin McCormack: 35%

Thierry Neuville: 35%

Jarkko Nikara: 1%

Hayden Paddon: 12%

Matti Rantanen: 2%

Ott Tanak: 6%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭kev250

Martin won i thought! It's over your too late:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭aido 1976

kev250 wrote: »
    Martin won i thought! It's over your too late:D

Only bothered to read the thread now, when I seen that Ireland needed a vote I just went for it (Bad Me)

Fair play to Martin, even it is was just by 1 vote.

fair play, great to see every vote really did count on this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I said this over on the motorsport forum too. I don't really understand the point of this vote shill. Its a popularity contest/poll on wrc.com. How does this benefit the lad? Some publicity I guess...

FIA sees NI as UK in terms of your racing license. Same with Eddie Irvine countless others.