Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First race on Saturday, Donadea duathalon. Unsure what to expect.

• 25-07-2011 6:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭

I've signed up to my first ever race, its a duathalon on Saturday and I'm not really sure what to expect. Some details first, the race is 5.2km run, 21km cycling and another 5.2km run. 5km at the moment is about as far as I can run in one go and the cycling will be my strong point. I'll have no trouble coving the 21km at a good pace. Hoping to come in around the 2hr mark. Since this is my first race I just have some straight forward questions about it all.

What is at the transition station and what can I do at it? My thinking is that I'll have my bike, helmet, cycling shoes, drink and a little simple food there, is that accurate?

In terms of hydration and nutrition I was thinking I wouldn't need anything for the first 5k, then something isotonic and some simple carbs when I get to the bike. Realistic?

Is there anything I can do at this stage to help me through the second 5km of running? I'm playing a soccer match on Wednesday and then I was planning on taking the 2 days off before the race. Would I be better sticking a run in there or am I just pissing in the wind this late?

Excited and nervous about this race, should be fun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Fair play for giving it a go. Seen as you are strong on the bike then it is the run you need to 'focus' on. Also, seen as it's your first race you may as well try to enjoy it.

Firstly transition is more or less as you describe it. You will leave your bike 'racked' here and your other bits which you mentioned. If you plan on not wearing socks then it may be useful to put some talc powder into your runners and your bike shoes. But seen as 5k is about as far as you can go in one go then it may be wise to use socks as them may help prevent any blisters that 'may' form. - Most important rule - don't touch your bike until your helmet is on and fastened, and then when leaving off the bike in 'Transition 2' don't unbuckle your helmet and take it off until you have re-racked your bike.

In terms of nutrition: you are right - you will not need anything for the first run - just arrive to the race properly hydrated - having drank water for the preceding 2 days, and a bit on the day of the race. On the bike take your simple carbs (most people choose to use 'gels' for this) and yes it will be very important to take some isotonic drink (or some drink which contains electrolyetes).
    Pace the bike well - don't push at 100% maybe go as far as 85% effort - you are going to need to be able to 'run' when you get off the bike - your legs will be like jelly or like bricks. This is why it will be very important to have some electrolyetes leading into this run as you may also possibly suffer from muscle cramps. Usually in training for a race of this type people will do a 'Brick session' where you cycle then go for a run straight off the bike to get the body 'used' to the feeling.
    But don't sweat now - you'll get through it on the day.

Seen as you don't seem to have a whole lot of run training done I would say it's not going ot be any major benefit for you to do too much running in the 2 rest days you mention. You could go for a 1 or 2 km easy run on the day before just to loosen up and get the body ready.

In regards as to what to expect - that's easy - pain! ;-)
    As I say, try to enjoy it and you'll be back for more. Have a good day. And don't forget to come back and tell us about your experience from your first duathlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Thanks Mac, that's eased the fears abit. Feel like I just want to get out there and do it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

Macanri wrote: »
    If you plan on not wearing socks
    Why would you not wear socks in a duathlon?....only time you should'nt wear socks is in a triathlon when you've just come outta the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 David Matthews

Ciaran,
    No need to be nervous, Donadea is lovely setting the event itself is very well run. I think the run is 8km this time. I competed the run(skipped the Bike I'm no sean kelly) last time and throughly enjoyed it.
    see you there.

I think the run is 8km this time.

Jaysus don't do that to me. 5.2km according to this: https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=http://www.runireland.com/sites/www.runireland.com/files/donadea_forest_park_info_pack_duathlon__race.doc

I spent alot of my childhood in Donadea I remember it be beautiful so looking forward to going back.

airscotty wrote: »
    Why would you not wear socks in a duathlon?....only time you should'nt wear socks is in a triathlon when you've just come outta the water.

Ok, maybe wasn't thinking 100% logically when I wrote that.:o
    But going sockless in a duathlon may save time in getting feet into the shoes - no? Probably only talking seconds - then again I always have trouble getting my sockless feet into the bike shoes, but would imagine I would have the same trouble if wearing socks.

OP - you're prob better off wearing socks!

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/102721744

Went pretty well, first run was grand. Then I completely bonked towards the end of the cycle energy gel got me through that. Second 5k was horrible but seemed to get a bit easier as it went. Although my foot went numb in the last 500m...

Not sure I enjoyed it at the time, but very glad I did it and will be doing another one. Now to try and walk to the kitchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Not sure I enjoyed it at the time, but very glad I did it and will be doing another one. Now to try and walk to the kitchen.

You never enjoy it at the time, well unless you love pain. But once you cross the line...

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/102721744

Went pretty well, first run was grand. Then I completely bonked towards the end of the cycle energy gel got me through that. Second 5k was horrible but seemed to get a bit easier as it went. Although my foot went numb in the last 500m...

Fair play, well done to you.
    I'm not sure anyone who pushes themselves for that last run really enjoys it - but the last lap, the last half lap, the last few hundred metres, the last few metres, sprinting to cross the line and see how you did timewise, to say yes, I feckin' did it. Thats the buzz.

With reference to you doing another one - if you want to improve your time, well get out there and get training. Then next time you wont bonk on the cycle, and the 2nd run wont be horrible. (T&C apply:))