Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf - Irish Open and Greenbier Open

• 25-07-2011 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭

Some great value about in this one and 3 firms paying 6 places (PP, Boyle, Bet365). Last year we saw some players go low with Ross Fisher almost carding a 59. A lot will depend on the wind this year as ever. Richard Finch is the standout value for me @ 55/1 (best price now). In great current form and previous winner of this event, albeit on a different course.

Full Preview/ picks here for anyone interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

in america im being boring again big phil looking at last years scores and par 4s just at 400 yards all over place he could destroy this course and in ireland im leaving alone love to see irish winner but rory at 51 is a joke and gmac even said it himself he cant put 4 rounds together at moment

i could not believe last week kuchar was -3 through 5 holes in 1st round but misses cut and langer -4 through 9 and he loses plot hopefully better this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

jjll wrote: »
    rory at 51 is a joke

I've latched onto McIlroy for a large amount. I think he's a fantastic price.

He'll be guiding wedges onto the majority of the par 4's and the biggest key for him this week is the bentgrass greens. McIlroy putts his best on this type of green.

Runaway winner ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I'm going to lay Mcilroy at around 6-7 (depending what I can get). He's a terrible price considering this time last year he finished T35 and 16 shots off the pace. The only other bet I'll is probably an e/w on Luiten if he drifts out before the off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

foster ew 45s
    overton ew 22s
    ew double

win double rory+phil at 59/1 also
    it's like something that might happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

jive wrote: »
    I'm going to lay Mcilroy at around 6-7 (depending what I can get). He's a terrible price considering this time last year he finished T35 and 16 shots off the pace. The only other bet I'll is probably an e/w on Luiten if he drifts out before the off

?

He was a similar price for the Open Championship and this time round there is only 2 other golfers inside the top 50 in the field. Given that the course plays right into his hands (especially the greens) I'm surprised anyone can consider McIlroy a terrible price ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Irish - Dyson 22/1
    Greenbrier - Lefty 9/1
    Us Seniors - Langer 11/1
    British Womens - Tseng 13/2

€1 e/w yankee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭seathestar

Greenbrier Classic

Cameron Tringale Win/Place

Playing steady enough the last few weeks, if he can bring it all together he should go well :D

Small stakes for the craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Gone with Dyson and Finch and Phil in America.

Fursttimer wrote: »
    ?

He was a similar price for the Open Championship and this time round there is only 2 other golfers inside the top 50 in the field. Given that the course plays right into his hands (especially the greens) I'm surprised anyone can consider McIlroy a terrible price ;)

I layed him for the Open Championship too. If the course plays right into his hands then he would have performed better on it last year (personally I don't think this course gives him any kind of advantage). He's obviously a better player now but he's not that much better. He's started 87 times on the European tour and won just twice. I'm not saying he won't win it but 5/1 is a really crap price regardless of who his opponents are. I'll definitely be laying him and even if he wins I'll know in my own mind that I made the right decision because in reality he's not a 5/1 shot. I'm surprised anyone can consider that 5/1 represents any kind of value for him to win this. It wouldn't surprise me if he did because he's a solid player but definitely not a 5/1 shot in my book.

Luiten or Lawrie at 50 and 80 respectivley would be my choices. Haven't decided what I'm going to do yet but I'll watch McIlroy's price and if it keeps shortening I'll be laying him. I'll probably lay him as long as he doesn't drift too much before I get on him as things stand. I'll post up any selections I make for anyone who is interested anyway.

Good luck to everyone (except those backing McIlroy if I lay him :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

us pga.

gainey@85.
    palmer@64
    stallings@230
    couch@100
    taylor@160
    reavie@120
    trahan@120
    mcquillan@510

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Irish Open

Robert Rock
    Chris Wood
    Luiten
    Jan Derksen
    Manual Lara

GreenBrier
    Woodland
    Stallings(I am keeping the fate like you Albert Kidd;);))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭seathestar

Irish Open

David Horsey Win/Place for the interest!

Layed McIlroy @ 6.2

Backed Luiten @ 12.0 for top5 finish.

Will be in profit as long as McIlroy doesn't win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Finch/Barrie traynor ew
    Traynor ew to be first round leader! why not sur:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

I agree with the McIlroy followers here. Going for 100 win @5/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Fisher @20/1
    Rock @25/1
    Fasth @150/1

All e/w bets.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Apologises, tad late. Am abroad atm.

Euro - (no luck in the past so only the one pick)

Fisher 22/1

US -

Garcia @ 16/1
    Romero @ 33/1
    Love @ 40/1

went in this morning and did mickelson then looked around and saw mcilroy 7/4 after 4 holes wtf there is 3 rounds left i still wouldnt touch him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Poor end of the day for McIlroy, double bogeyed last hole so back down to -1

I just bet on the following now

€1 EW bet on Lorenzo Gagli @ 33/1

oh well mickelson already gon even par finished 1st round had 5 birdies no birdies on par 5 but think no chance now thought he would destroy this course

mickelson 12/1 after 1st round 6 behind putting shocking now gone white water rafting with wife and kids dont think he is taking this week serious should be 50/1

very quiet on here this week and who keeps mucking about with my threads i put Irish open and greenbrier classic its not greenbrier open

early starters seem to be struggling at greenbrier leader still -6 at least phil has a chance to get back into this with a low round :D:D:D

i cant believe bookies mcilroy 12/1 at moment and he is on cut line after 10 holes gmac 25/1 and he is -3under through 9 bookies are running scared dont know why he dont look interested at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

i cant believe bookies mcilroy 12/1 at moment and he is on cut line after 10 holes gmac 25/1 and he is -3under through 9 bookies are running scared dont know why he dont look interested at all

Its very simple really they have obviously taken a large amount of their book on McIllroy and dont want to take anymore liabilities on him. Its not a true reflection of hes chances but more a reflection of how much they are willing to take on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

if he has a putt to make the weekend, you can be sure he'll miss it on purpose

BS, if a guy of hes talent wanted to miss a cut why would he leave it that tight surely he would ensure it well before he's 141st shot :rolleyes: and to even suggest a pro of the calibre of Rory would consider something like that is redicilous, he wouldnt be where he is today with an attitude like that.

Its very simple really they have obviously taken a large amount of their book on McIllroy and dont want to take anymore liabilities on him. Its not a true reflection of hes chances but more a reflection of how much they are willing to take on him.

if i was a bookie i would be offering 50/1 to win

lee janzen is playing 6 off the tee yes 6 now left himself 289 yards to flag

if i was a bookie i would be offering 50/1 to win

Get onto BF they'll snap your hand off at that price, word of caution as bad as he is playing he is only 7 off the lead and its not exactly a quality filled leaderboard, remember Quail Hollow ;)

Only 6 behind now, is that 50/1 still on the table??

only 5 behind now lol that 50/1 looks a little foolish now :D

yep 50/1 still up still no chance laid him all day yesterday and today

:D people like you make BF profitable, laying the world no. 4 @50/1 when he is only 5 shots off lead with 36 holes to play in hes home open, not that I believe you for a second cos the biggest available on BF is 11/1

added pernice@200.

added mickelson 16/1 E10 and jeev milka 9/1 e5

big phil 3 over playing terrible had 90 foot putt only hit it 70 :confused::confused::confused:

make that 4 0ver

has he gone fully retarded or something? losing hope he'l make the cut at this stage!:eek:

2 over now 2 birds in 2 holes just knocked 1 to 8ft so heres hoping

made it now 3 birds in row 1 over on cut line one par 5 left

not great so far..all be it only the half way stage..have added merrick aswell..need to get the red down 2mora,or it'll be another case of scrambling come sunday evening.

in a better position this evening thankfully.

stallings+1750
    dimarco+500
    walker+99
    couch+856
    merrick+400.
    reavie+638.
    +30 on the field.

in a better position this evening thankfully.

stallings+1750
    dimarco+500
    walker+99
    couch+856
    merrick+400.
    reavie+638.
    +30 on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭frat

frat wrote: »
    I agree with the McIlroy followers here. Going for 100 win @5/1
    Sh1te!

layed richard green @3.2.

and tenner on fisher 9.8.

layed richard green @3.2.

and tenner on fisher 9.8.
    di ross at 8/1 on pp after second hole i hope people aint peeved with me but rory was never going to get back into it next week will be interesting at firestone ats long which will suit him

With the way he has been driving and putting lately?

Can't rule him out due to his talent but it's a course that I wouldn't say suits him. Tiger really is an exception to Firestone. I'll be all over the likes of Palmer, Stricker, Goosen and co next week myself.

i never feel green will hit the fairway for some reason now its time for fisher to make a few birdies.. i think it was paris were green feel right apart feels presure

With the way he has been driving and putting lately?

Can't rule him out due to his talent but it's a course that I wouldn't say suits him. Tiger really is an exception to Firestone. I'll be all over the likes of Palmer, Stricker, Goosen and co next week myself.

i agree with stricker like him best putter on pga tour i feel

he was well worth taking on at that price,well in..someone made comparisons to his open price to say 5/1 was value..it was never value..as his 7/1 in the open wasnt value either i thought.

anyone know how low richard green traded..i had to go out and never seen the back nine..

im all settled in for the us pga:cool:

Haha Anthony Kim last week. Don't have him this week. He's leading atm with 15 holes to play.

Gonna stick some money on him now for USPGA @ 50/1, odds will go down to around 33/1 I imagine if he does win.