Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Races Tips?

• 25-07-2011 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭

Anyone got any goodens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I like Fosters Cross each way in the 2 mile handicap flat race
    Learn is my big bet tonight in the maiden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Weld will win the first and the maiden!

I think it might be worth having an e/w bet on Banna Man in the handicap hurdle, likes the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

oneeigthofamile is fancied in the 6.45, money around for him too.

That is the worst price horse I have possibly seen in my life in the maiden.

If that race was run at the Curragh O'Brien's horse would be odds on and Weld's would be about 3/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Learn looked top notch at the Curragh when got a typical O Brien easy introduction.Sulwaan cost plenty when Weld bought it from Sheik Hamdan he since sold it to Galway man Dr Ronan Lambe.Natural High in qr flat race[Weld won three of last four runnings since change of entry conditions].Good Shot Noreen for Tommy Stack has a big chance.My nap of the day is Learn I backed him at 7/4 this morning and did yankee on all four.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    That is the worst price horse I have possibly seen in my life in the maiden.

If that race was run at the Curragh O'Brien's horse would be odds on and Weld's would be about 3/1

But it's not run at The Curragh ;)

The Weld's horse form is far superior to Learn, 3rd behind Power (Coventry winner) and Remember Alexander (Tyros winner) plus it's running at Galway so the horse will be 'off' for its life.

I'm no fan of Weld and I don't see the attraction of priming your horses for mediocre races in Galway but it's hard to back against him at Ballybritt!

I won't be parting with any money for Galway (except maybe the Hurdle on Thursday) cos tbh the racing is very poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

pick all the races where Weld has the favorite, and then do betting without the Weld horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

ft9 wrote: »
    oneeigthofamile is fancied in the 6.45, money around for him too.

This.

What a price for Riviera Poet!!!

Was there 16 runners in the second race by any chance for Banna Man to get the e/w money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 BOS10

Hello

645pm Galway

A dutch across Fantasy King, Rattan and Kalann and a place bet on each and an eachway on Rattan.

Regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I like Fosters Cross each way in the 2 mile handicap flat race

great call there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

kfallon wrote: »
    What a price for Riviera Poet!!!

Was there 16 runners in the second race by any chance for Banna Man to get the e/w money?

15 ran the 2nd...

But it's not run at The Curragh ;)

The Weld's horse form is far superior to Learn, 3rd behind Power (Coventry winner) and Remember Alexander (Tyros winner) plus it's running at Galway so the horse will be 'off' for its life.

I'm no fan of Weld and I don't see the attraction of priming your horses for mediocre races in Galway but it's hard to back against him at Ballybritt!

I won't be parting with any money for Galway (except maybe the Hurdle on Thursday) cos tbh the racing is very poor.
    You were spot on,I backed Welds at 2/1 so covered all losses on the race.I totally ****ed up with Kielys in the second race,did not see him.Was in Roscommon to back him and as always the friends rang to find out how much I had on him,zero.I backed Stacks at 8/1 so got out on top.Again your info on Welds put me right,I owe you one.

Haha beauty. Learn was too short when I reached the track-4/6 so didn't back it.

Had my 14/1 Fosters Cross though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,286 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Here's a tip:

Catch the bus to get to the racecourse, makes parking a lot less stressful. Details here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hudhastings

any 1 any tips for day 2 I got fosters also nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hudhastings

mahaazen certainty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

John Oxx in the maiden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭1992

5:10- Sublime Talent.. 11/4
    5:35- Prince Erick... 8/1
    6:10- Dorset Square... 6/1... also Dermot Weld's horse in this race could be a nice each way bet at odds of 8/1, very very likely to place
    7:15- Mahazzen... 5/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭boysinblack

8.15 catch your eye everyone and their dog seems to be tipping it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,870 ✭✭✭✭dahat

8.15 catch your eye everyone and their dog seems to be tipping it!

At 4/9 in PP,easy to see why.........

Again no bets for me today at Galway but two of interest are Waydownsouth e/w in the big Mile Handicap (will need a bit of luck from stall 12) and Soon in the Fillies Maiden.

I am breaking out the big bucks (:D) for Requinto at Goodwood today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭knighted_1

1992 wrote: »
    5:10- Sublime Talent.. 11/4
    5:35- Prince Erick... 8/1
    6:10- Dorset Square... 6/1... also Dermot Weld's horse in this race could be a nice each way bet at odds of 8/1, very very likely to place
    7:15- Mahazzen... 5/2

where you get 8/1 prince Eric ?

Today I fancy....Mid Mon Lady 25/1,Silver Sycamore 8/1,Bankroll 16/1[has to lead]or Footprint 9/1,Dreamy Gent 10/1.Silver Sycamore is far better than his Leopardstown run,lost a few bob on him there so he is my nap today.

Again no bets for me today at Galway but two of interest are Waydownsouth e/w in the big Mile Handicap (will need a bit of luck from stall 12) and Soon in the Fillies Maiden.

Requinto is ridden by the best Irish based jockey,good luck.I have been waiting for soft ground for Libranno,yes he has won on g/f but much better on g/s or worse.

Love you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 PWSHAM

Ta very much

Well done .O Brien stop acting the bollix and give the top job to the brilliant Wayne Lordan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

7 on strong suit to win 24.50..24.50 on to requinto to win 170...thanking you!

Love you :)
    PWSHAM wrote: »
    Ta very much
    sting60 wrote: »
    Well done .O Brien stop acting the bollix and give the top job to the brilliant Wayne Lordan.

Well if you throw enough darts one will hit the bullseye :P

I shall now beat a retreat on the punting front til Thursday! Will just enjoy "The Duel on The Downs" tomorrow

Took 4's with Boylesports,any GP specials there this week?
    Thanks for the tip!...........

EDIT

Just looked properly and they do,tasty

They're always guaranteed prices if it's a single

Mahaazen 7.15 Galway

If this one wins it gives me a nice 10 euro WD with Strong Suit,hardly likely too though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Jimboblukas

They're always guaranteed prices if it's a single

wel lads, Fairly new to this so could anyone with winning experience give me some tips for today please and i will be realy greatfull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

The money has been been pouring on toufan express in the 7:45

its gone from 25/1 into 7/1 with PP's

Not a penny on and what a price :(
    Hope somebody backed her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Zarkandar

found this write up for today, some good reasoning, not my tips but will probably follow a few of these

Early look for Galway Plate day:

3.00 Serein (small each way) might be a better option at the prices to the big 2. Weld has won this race last 2 year and his runner is rated 102 on the flat so must be respected but this will be his hurdles debut. There’s been a bit of buzz around about Mullin’s runner Laganbank who won a bumper last time and was a good 2nd on last hurdles start, again must be in the mix.
    Jessica Harrington saddled the runner-up in this race in 2007, 08 and 09 and Serein has the form to make the places. He was first past post in a bumper on good to firm at Fairyhouse in October, but was placed 2nd after enquiry. He proved that day he handles fast ground. He ran well in another couple of bumpers at Punchestown and then Leop Christmas meeting before making his debut over hurdles, finishing a good 4th in a Leop 2m maiden hurdle on soft, won by Day Of A Lifetime, who hasn’t run since. The form of the run was franked by 2nd Gift Of Dgab winning next time out and the 5th What A Charm winning the Fred Winter 2 runs later. Serein was well fancied on next start in a 2m Naas maiden hurdle but looked like he tired in the heavy ground, finishing 3rd behind winner Johnny McGeeney, who won a handicap hurdle at Punchestown Festival and Great Value who has also won his maiden hurdle since. The longer trips over 2m3f and 2m4f haven’t suited Serein as well on last 2 starts but drop back to 2m on fast ground could do the trick. He still ran well in a 2m4f Killarney maiden hurdle last time, beaten 13 lengths into 3rd, but only 2 lengths behind the runner-up Rheinland who won a Limerick maiden hurdle next time. If the big guns don’t fire then Serein could take advantage and should be a fair each way price. 14/1 Boyles

3.35 Dashing Ruby (each way) was well backed at each way prices for this race last year but he never travelled particularly well and it was testament to the horse’s toughness that he was able to get up for 3rd off a mark of 106, which is a 2lb higher than he runs off today. He followed that run up with another good 3rd in a competitive 2m4f Ballinrobe handicap hurdle off 107. He fell on his next 2 starts before finishing 4th in a 2m4f Beginners chase in October. He had a layoff of 7 months before returning this season, where he disappointed on his first 3 runs, all over hurdles. The switch to fences worked the trick as he landed a 2m4f Clonmel beginners chase on yielding in June under today’s jockey Sean Flanagan and he was still bang in contention when falling 3 out in a decent Kilbeggan novice chaser on his latest NH start. He has had a sharpener on the flat at Killarney15 days ago and Paul Flynn should have him fit for this. All his wins have come in the 4 months of June-July-August-September and racing off 104, 2lbs lower than last year, he looks to hold a good each way chance in this. Seeing as he was backed last year, I'd take 20/1 Paddy Power.

4.10 Gala Dancer (each way) can continue Paul Nolan’s fine record in this race. His 3 runners in past 10 years have produced 1 winner and 2 seconds. Gala Dancer won his maiden hurdle over 2m2f at Fairyhouse on good to firm in October. He put in a fair effort in a 2m4f Naas handicap hurdle off 110 on his handicap debut but didn’t appear suited by soft ground that day. He was off track for over 6 months before seasonal debut, finishing 3rd in a 2m6f Killarney handicap hurdle off 110 on good to yielding. He looked an uncertain stayer when 6th in a 3m Listowel handicap hurdle on his third last start off 111 however form of the run has worked out very well. The 2 horses to finish ahead of him to run since were the 3rd King Of Redfield who won a chase next time and the 5th Sebadee (less than 2 lengths ahead of Gala Dancer) won a handicap hurdle by 9 lengths off same mark next time. He fell early on his second last start when fancied in a 2m4f Ballinrobe handicap hurdle and was then a bit unlucky to finish 3rd in a 3m Roscommon handicap hurdle off 110 last time. He was coming with his run but got badly stopped jumping the last, sandwiched between 2 horses, before staying on to get 3rd. He’s only up 2lbs for the run and Nolan will have ready for this, Nolan’s last runner in this was Ardalan who won it in 2007 and his previous runner was in 2006, Adastra Lad, who was well backed and beaten a short head, also had his prep run for this in same Roscommon handicap hurdle that Gala Dancer ran in last time. 8/1

4.45 Pozyc (each way) might be a better option to Dermot Weld’s Mutasharef. Weld’s 7 runners in this race have produced 4 winners and 2 seconds so Mutasharef will likely be on the short side after a promising 4th in a Leop maiden on debut. Willie Mullins 2 runners in this in last 2 years have been Blackstairmountain who won it in 2009 and Pozyc finished 2nd in this last year, well beaten by Endless Entrigue who won again next time out and then placed in the Irish Cesarewitch off 94, so 2nd to him was no bad effort. Pozyc has put in two solid efforts over hurdles this year and looks likely to have favoured fast ground, so should be in the mix in the final furlong. 7/1 Boyles

5.25 is the Galway Plate and it does look a wide open contest this year but the way John Kiely’s horses are running I have to give Wise Old Owl (each way) a massive chance. Kiely has had 8 NH runners so far in July and of those 6 have won and the other 2 have finished 2nd. His two NH runners at Galway 2011 have both won and Wise Old Owl looks the progressive type that should go well off a nice low weight.
    Wise Old Owl was 5th on his first ever run in a 2m Roscommon novice chase in June 2010 but he has finished in the first 2 on all 7 of his other runs since then. He was runner-up in a 2m 1f beginners chase at last season’s Galway Festival, he was beaten 12 lengths by the winner Kilmurry but Kilmurry showed himself to be a top class novice as he won again at Galway next time and then went over to Cheltenham and won a decent novice event by 11 lengths from Ghizao, giving him 8lbs. Wise Old Owl gained his first chase win in a 2m6f Listowel beginners chase and followed that up with an impressive 9 length win in a 3m Clonmel novice chase. He made his handicap debut over this CD on his final start of 2010 and was only just headed late on, finishing 2nd off 130, beaten a head by Got Attitude, who was subsequently runner-up in the grade A Leop Handicap Chase off 4lbs higher. Those two pulled 4 lengths clear of the rest and form of those behind look good. The 4th Agus A Vic was placed in the Paddy Power chase at Leop off same mark next time while the 5th Glenquest was runner-up in the Troytown off 1lb higher next time. Wise Old Owl was off track for nearly 7 months before making a fine reappearance in 2nd in a 2m Punchestown handicap chase off 135. The trip was well short of his best and form of those in behind looks good. The 3rd Predateur was runner-up in the Plate Trial at Down Royal off 4lbs higher, the 4th Gracchus was runner-up in a Wexford handicap chase off 1lb lower next time and looked a likely winner next time before falling. The 5th Kilflora has run twice since, finishing 2nd in a novice and beginners chase. Wise Old Owl has only gone up 3lbs for that last run and has a lovely racing weight of 10-3. Step back up to 2m6f should suit and Wise Old Owl has proven he goes well on the Galway track. 14/1 VC

6.35 Princess Severus (each way) could go well in this off 88. Jessica Harrington has won the last 2 runnings of this and Princess Severus does have some very solid form. She won a 6f Leicester maiden on good to firm as a 2yo and then finished 5th in the group 3 Prestige stakes over 7f. She was a bit out of her depth on debut when finishing 6th of 9 in a Curragh group 3 on soft but she was only beaten 1½ lengths in a 1m Dundalk race, and form of that run looks really strong. The 4th When Not Iff was a 6 length winner of a Gowran handicap off 90 next time and the 6th Ballybacka Lady won a group 3 on her next start. She has disappointed on last 2 runs off 94 and 91 over 7f and 1m2f. She has dropped to a mark of 88 and 1m on faster ground will suit. Worth an each bet at 14/1 Paddy Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

It might be worth havin a look at what Gary O Brien picks out in the mornin on ATR, 2 of his 4 picks won yesterday.

Derek! wrote: »
    It might be worth havin a look at what Gary O Brien picks out in the mornin on ATR, 2 of his 4 picks won yesterday.

GARY'S BEST BETS (SCALE 1-5 POINTS):
    5.25 GALWAY
    2pts win, 1pt place BLAZING TEMPO (8-1 general )

Only one he has up so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

my two e/w outsiders for the plate are Hampshire Express & Aigle D'Or

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Theres a very significant low draw bias in flat races up to 1m4f.

There were at least 3 Paddy Power match bets in the 6.45 and 7.45 last night with low draw pitched against high - all 3 of these (Royal Blue Star, Major Iron and Footsteps at 4/7, 5/6 and 5/4) placed to win the match bets against their middle to high drawn opponents.

You could do worse than limit Galway punting this week to this system - I will be doing so (unless of course PP spot the rick and stop pitting low against high in the match bets which wouldnt surprise me)

I have had a small bet on Dancing Tornado in the plate, I know he doesn't win as often as he should but I'm hoping things go right for him today. Remember he was 1 of only 2 horses to finish in front of Gold Cup hero Long Run (albeit receiving a lot of weight)

Currently 14/1

Didn't like either card really today,nothing much jumped out.

Had a small few quid on Royal Diamond in the 2.00 at Goodwood,12/1 in PP.
    Just going to sit back and watch the rest of the days racing

I went with bahrain storm in the plate , heres hopping it comes in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Shannonsider

Anyone know how many places PP are paying in each of today's races at Galway? & what fraction of the odds e/w? Can't get the site from work.

4 places 1/4 the odds in handicaps over 16 runners.
    5 places in the plate.

Just one bet for me today,Hoopy in the 4.10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Bahrain Storm in the Plate @ 7/1.

Irrestible E/W.

Oh I got a 2 euro matched bet in Bruce. Have 4 quid on Dancing Tornado in the plate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

Derek! wrote: »
    Surprise surprise, Gary O Brien tipped the winner in the 3.35 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

4.10 Gala Dancer (each way) can continue Paul Nolan’s fine record in this race. His 3 runners in past 10 years have produced 1 winner and 2 seconds. Gala Dancer won his maiden hurdle over 2m2f at Fairyhouse on good to firm in October. He put in a fair effort in a 2m4f Naas handicap hurdle off 110 on his handicap debut but didn’t appear suited by soft ground that day. He was off track for over 6 months before seasonal debut, finishing 3rd in a 2m6f Killarney handicap hurdle off 110 on good to yielding. He looked an uncertain stayer when 6th in a 3m Listowel handicap hurdle on his third last start off 111 however form of the run has worked out very well. The 2 horses to finish ahead of him to run since were the 3rd King Of Redfield who won a chase next time and the 5th Sebadee (less than 2 lengths ahead of Gala Dancer) won a handicap hurdle by 9 lengths off same mark next time. He fell early on his second last start when fancied in a 2m4f Ballinrobe handicap hurdle and was then a bit unlucky to finish 3rd in a 3m Roscommon handicap hurdle off 110 last time. He was coming with his run but got badly stopped jumping the last, sandwiched between 2 horses, before staying on to get 3rd. He’s only up 2lbs for the run and Nolan will have ready for this, Nolan’s last runner in this was Ardalan who won it in 2007 and his previous runner was in 2006, Adastra Lad, who was well backed and beaten a short head, also had his prep run for this in same Roscommon handicap hurdle that Gala Dancer ran in last time. 8/1

Picked all his horses €3 EW 12/1 thank You very much, I look like a genius gambler to the lads :D