Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiat Tractors

• 23-07-2011 1:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭

What does DT and DTH stand for on Fiat tractors? Dual traction? cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

just bumping this thread up!!

i have another question once someone helps me with the one above!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

DT is dual traction (ie 4wd), not sure on DTH. DT5 is dual traction 5 cylinder engine afaik

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

the ones with the circle lights and stripes are earlier models. id say from 1982-84?? just a guess though on the years but they were defo the earlier

Thanks! Yeah the circle lights might be the late 70's and the rectangular lights the early 80's as they changed to the 90 series around '85.

Thanks for the replys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

well ladsi have a 110 90 good yoke. But i need a bigger one to pull on the
    hills. What do ye think of the 160-90 or 180-90s. Are they reliable and economical for their size?

mustbe a big load if the 110-90 cant handle it on the hill!!

160-90 is a great tractor, real workhorse, not sure about the economy, i didnt pay much attention as i was driving her for a contractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 gc1992

DT stands for Dual Traction(four wheel drive)

H stands for Hydrostatic which is rare, some 680's had it and some of the larger models(1180, 1380, 1580 etc) had it. It was a cluthless shuttle I believe.

In regards to the models with the round headlights and white stripe on the cab they were built between 1975 and 1980. The models with the square headlights and no stripe were built between 1980 and 1985.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i have an 880 dt 5 2 wd tractor with a red cab on it , anybody know where i could get a gearbox for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

try Gerry sweeny at Tommy Shannons, beside Killeshandra. He ahd one broken last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Deskjet

Hi lads.Looking at buying a Fiat 82 94 with 5000 hours have any of you any experience of these tractors. Good points/Bad points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

A guy near me has one never a problem. . Bought new though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Question for ye lads are the f115 tractors turbo or non turbo

lab man wrote: »
    A guy near me has one never a problem. . Bought new though

Thank you lab man.i don't know anybody with one .they don't seem that popular so just wondering is there a reason nobody seems to have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Deskjet wrote: »
    Thank you lab man.i don't know anybody with one .they don't seem that popular so just wondering is there a reason nobody seems to have them.

By the time they came on the market here, other manufacturers had more modern gearboxes and more spacious cabs, and really New Holland dealers were pushing their blue tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭mengele

lab man wrote: »
    Question for ye lads are the f115 tractors turbo or non turbo

I think most were non turbo if not all leaving the factory. A lot put a turbo on them though and it was a successful job.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    By the time they came on the market here, other manufacturers had more modern gearboxes and more spacious cabs, and really New Holland dealers were pushing their blue tractors.

Thanks nekarsulm. Seems based on the posts that mechanically they are fine maybe outdated but I am not worried about that once it does the work I have in mind for it and it is a dependable tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Deskjet wrote: »
    Thanks nekarsulm. Seems based on the posts that mechanically they are fine maybe outdated but I am not worried about that once it does the work I have in mind for it and it is a dependable tractor.

Should be decades of life still in one.
    Just watch for rusty patches in the cab, even though they were galvanised.