Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Red sauce

• 22-07-2011 8:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else put it in the fridge or am I alone on this??!! I find it strange when I find it in the press in someone elses gaff...:confused:

Where do you keep yours 148 votes

Fridge
    0% 0 votes
    Press
    100% 148 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Nobody calls it that anymore, you should ketchup with the rest of us :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

batari wrote: »
    Does anyone else put it in the fridge or am I alone on this??!! I find it strange when I find it in the press in someone elses gaff...:confused:

I am confused by the Irish 'sauce color' system.

What is 'red sauce'? :confused:

And what the hell is brown sauce? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Cold ketchup is rank. Should be room temperature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

It sits on the shelf in the shop, reckon it belongs at room temp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭sundodger5

if it aint put in the fridge like it says on the bottle, then it would be rank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭ahyeahok

Does it not say refrigerate after opening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

In the press, near the front. Just in front of all the weird jars of stuff you bought to try and havent got around to throwing out yet, like Picalilli and french mustard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

usually stays out on the kitchen table

Archeron wrote: »
    In the press

The Sun like?? wtf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I am confused by the Irish 'sauce color' system.

What is 'red sauce'? :confused:

And what the hell is brown sauce? :eek:

Red sauce is ketchup.

Brown sauce is, well . . . brown sauce. It's disgusting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Absurdum wrote: »
    The Sun like?? wtf

Exactly. Rebekah Brooks hair is dyed you know, the color is Heinz Tomato Red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

In the press. And it must be Chef, obviously

Archeron wrote: »
    Exactly. Rebekah Brooks hair is dyed you know, the color is Heinz Tomato Red.

there's a conspiracy in there somewhere, if only I was smart enuff to figure it out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

In the press. And it must be Chef, obviously

And by Chef this man means Heinz, the vastly superior brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Oh lookee here, Mr Thinks He's Better Than The Rest of Us!! Probably calls jelly jello, and films movies! Feck off ta America with ya Yank!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Thats basically what I entered the thread to say..thanks for saving me the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Remmy wrote: »
    Thats basically what I entered the thread to say..thanks for saving me the time.
    i only thanked him because of the pun, not cos i was agreeing with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

You got to keep it in the fridge and you got to store it upside down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

i only thanked him because of the pun, not cos i was agreeing with him

yeah..eh me too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I call it red sauce or sometimes tomato sauce I will never call it ketchup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

TML91 wrote: »
    Red sauce is ketchup.

woa woa woa...now...hold it one darn second.... Brown sauce is pure nate hi!!lol
    on anything and everything.

sure isnt that Reggae Reggae sauce only fancy brown sauce!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

"in the press" lol! There should have been an "in the cupboard" option!! For the in the cupboard types. I'm not an in the cupboard type, i'm only saying! But yes, in the fridge, as per the instructions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

In the refrigerator, right beside the Catsup.

http://geekwars.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/ketchup-catsup.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

red sauce ketchup in the fridge is not right, there's nothing worse then sticking a mouth watering hot soggy chip with lashings of salt and vinegar into ice cold red sauce ketchup, its the equivalent of a straight man sticking his willy into another willy :confused: just not on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We used to have the huge bottles of Kandee, awful stuff

Heard a few times only poor people bought it, I guess we were poor so :(

I think it's still sold, it's the cheapest of the cheap

ahyeahok wrote: »
    Does it not say refrigerate after opening?

You can leave most condiments on the counter or in the pantry as long as 1) they don't have dairy in them and 2) you never put them in the fridge. Once they go into the fridge, they need to stay there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭spirit_77

hate when some of the sauce gets around the cap and goes hard :/

TML91 wrote: »
    Red sauce is ketchup.

Why would you call ketchup 'red sauce'? :confused:

Were there no other red sauces in Ireland or something? (Salsa, tabasco, etc)

And what do you call 'red sauce' on spaghetti then?

And, seriously, what is brown sauce? Is it gravy? Vinegar? Soy sauce? And, like ketchup, did you only have one brown liquid seasoning in Ireland or something?

mikemac wrote: »
    We used to have the huge bottles of Kandee, awful stuff

Heard a few times only poor people bought it, I guess we were poor so :(

I think it's still sold, it's the cheapest of the cheap

Think i remember them, did they come in big plastic bottles with a white flippy thing on the top?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

cruiser178 wrote: »
    Think i remember them, did they come in big plastic bottles with a white flippy thing on the top?

Yep, that was them
    Ugly red bottle, it was huge

And realy plain white stamped writing

Ketchup for poor people :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Forget your red sauce!
    Brown sauce you say? Pfft!

What you need is Rickey's Hot Sauce
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQZ9wXO8RVs&t=6m50s
    USA number 1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Yis are wasting yer time with the Red Sauce

Brown Sauce is where it's at.

Stick it in your Cup of Tea, sounds rank but it's delish, man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Kandee sauce was disgusting

We always had a bottle of it in the house :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Cold ketchup is rank. Should be room temperature.

sais on the bottle to put in the fridge as soon as you open it.

mikemac wrote: »
    Yep, that was them
    Ugly red bottle, it was huge

And realy plain white stamped writing

Ketchup for poor people :p

Ah yes i remember them now, the stares of hatred i'd get from the poor folk with their bottles of kandee as i strolled down the isle of tesco's with my large bottles of chef ketchup, pfft peasants :P

Just kiddin we had kandee as well

also 1000 posts woo hoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Ive been having red sauce outta the cupboard for over 20 years, and months after its been opened. Hasnt killed me yet. The stuff is so full of crap not even bacteria seems to grow on it ha ha..

After trying many different types my favourite is the Kandee one, dad used to come home with the HP or Heinz stuff and it would be left there. He learned after a few years though. Youd only dip into it after you ran out of the Kandee cheap stuff, after you had your toasted rasher sandwhich made and you were desperate ha ha.

You don't have to. Especially in Ireland, as it doesn't get that hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

You don't have to. Especially in Ireland, as it doesn't get that hot.
    IT PUTS THE BOTTLE IN THE FRIDGE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

At home it was always kept in the press with no problems. Now in my own place it's kept in the fridge because it's where my boyfriend has always put it. Personally I think that if it doesn't need to go in a fridge it's better in a press, fridge space is sacred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

When I was a kid I thought that red sauce mixed with mayonnaise was the McDonald's secret sauce.

My brother's a real ketchup snob, according to him ketchup has to come from a glass bottle, the kind they had in Eddie Rockets. Otherwise it doesn't taste the same apparently..

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I like a bit of red sauce.
    I also like the green sauce:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Warm/Hot food onto fridge-temperature ketchup? Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo

In the press, with the small amount of butter in the butter dish (so you don't rip your bread to bits when making toast/sandwiches.)
    My brother's a real ketchup snob, according to him ketchup has to come from a glass bottle, the kind they had in Eddie Rockets. Otherwise it doesn't taste the same apparently..

Your brother must love punishment, because that's what glass bottles are. You have to throw them away when there's loads left in the bottle that just won't come out. Plastic ketchup bottles are the way of the future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

In my life I have been a strong campaigner for both Chef and Heinz ketchups.

Stopped all that recently though and now just buy my ketchup in Aldi.
    Costs about a third of the price and tastes pretty good.

Plus I don't feel like I've been fleeced blind.
    It's like €4 for a big bottle of Heinz, that's highway feckin robbery.

Keep it in the fridge, I don't live in a restaurant, so it would go off in the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dont need to keep it in the fridge cos the fúckin stuff disappears quicker than a priest's hand at a first communion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

And it's called TOMATO SAUCE, not red sauce, or ketchup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Paigne

the small amount of butter in the butter dish (so you don't rip your bread to bits when making toast/sandwiches.)

I go old school crazy when that happens, rip the shirt, throwing feces etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

In the fridge, beside the american style mustard, 1000 island, mayo, BBQ, and sweet chili sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

I wondered about this myself last week, so I read the bottle. It said "Keep refrigerated once opened", so I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

DjFlin wrote: »
    I wondered about this myself last week, so I read the bottle. It said "Keep refrigerated once opened", so I do.

I wonder if when you start to drive you'll ever do 101km/h in a 100km/h zone, or 121 on a motorway :p