Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gas boiler dilemma

• 22-07-2011 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭

Hi all,I am an rgi with a slight dilemma..I have been asked to move a gas boiler for a new kitchen installation.I went out and had a look at it and then discovered that it is a combi boiler being used as a regular system boiler i.e only the heating is piped up. anyway it is a condensing boiler and only 2 years old,my dilemma is; is there any reason i cannot move boiler and give them a cert as it is doing its job ,or does anyone know of any reason where i will encounter problems?thanks in advance,
    G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

gdavis wrote: »
    Hi all,I am an rgi with a slight dilemma..I have been asked to move a gas boiler for a new kitchen installation.I went out and had a look at it and then discovered that it is a combi boiler being used as a regular system boiler i.e only the heating is piped up.I enquired as to who installed it and explained that it was an unneccesary expense etc.the reason they want it moved is because it is too big to fit into new kitchen cabinets,I did tell them that a system boiler would be a fraction of the size of this monstrosity! anyway it is a condensing boiler and only 2 years old,my dilemma is; is there any reason i cannot move boiler and give them a cert as it is doing its job albeit half the boiler is doing didley squat,or does anyone know of any reason where i will encounter problems?thanks in advance,
    Graham

Whats the problem with the boiler only been used as a "regular system boiler"?? The only difference is that the secondary heat exchanger is not been used..
    As for cost wise I bet it was no more expensive than your regular HE boiler. I found sometimes it was cheaper to buy a combi boiler over a non combi boiler as the suppliers were having deals on them during the month..
    The sizes of boilers are all around the same depth 440mm I find its the kitchen units are not standard 500mm.
    As long its safe to move the boiler you will have no problems and sure give it a service while your at it to make sure its all working right because as soon as you put your hand onto it and sign off on it, its your problem now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

I hear what you are saying Roy,by size i meant length of boiler,its massive.I just thought it a strange setup,anyway was just wondering if there was any reason why it may not meet regs on some point or other,better safe than sorry!I would always service boiler after relocating anyway or at least gas rate,soundness test and fga.thanks for reply,appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭heinbloed

The boiler has to be run under full load to certify it's safety(anual inspection).

The full load (capacity, max.kW) is usually only achieved with the smaller household combi-condensing boilers in the DHW modus with max. flow rate and max.temperature.

Therefore I doubt if a certification can be done on a combi condensing boiler in the situation described by the OP. It would be a lie (a falsification of a document/test report is a crime) to give the costumer a certificate stating that all tests demanded by the manufacturer where done and all test parameters had been met.

That's my 2 pence worth, I'm not a plumber.

Read the manual and see how the full certification (comissioning, anual check) is done with the particular model.
    A full check usually requires a full test. Which can't be done if the thing isn't connected.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭knighted_1

you should be banned from posting - why comment on something you know nothing about - nearly all boilers can be run on max in engineer mode or max mode - combi rely on a secondary heat exchanger but this has bog all to do with the operation of the primary on max .
    a combi can be set up and used as an ordinary system no problem , the combi side is an added extra that can be connected at a later date or if the op wants to connect it to a single tap in the kitchen utility etc it might ease his mind but will make no real difference to the safety or gas rating , set up of the boiler -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭heinbloed

To give a sample we can look at the NCT certification procedures. Either the car is certified as road worthy or not.
    An excuse for the shoddy breaks ("I don't drive fast") or missing lights ("I'm blind anyhow") or a blown fuse for the trailer's electric connection ("I don't need the trailer anyhow") is not part of the certification process.

The OP should demand the previous reports, and check out who certified/ comissioned the boiler first. And report this certifier if there is any dubious documentation been found.

heinbloed wrote: »

That's my 2 pence worth, I'm not a plumber.

Yep, it's very evident:pac::pac:

ah well if anything,i livened ye up lol

Hi all,I am an rgi with a slight dilemma..I have been asked to move a gas boiler for a new kitchen installation.I went out and had a look at it and then discovered that it is a combi boiler being used as a regular system boiler i.e only the heating is piped up. anyway it is a condensing boiler and only 2 years old,my dilemma is; is there any reason i cannot move boiler and give them a cert as it is doing its job ,or does anyone know of any reason where i will encounter problems?thanks in advance,
    G

Fit it asper manufactures instructions making sure your gas pipe is sized correctly.

Welcome, by the way:D

cheers gary,yip,I went through manual from cover to cover,i will be taking new gas feed in 3/4 in to it.Anyway,it turns out I dont think I will be doing it now as he seems to think my price was too high.They want work done for nothing."Jaysus I only want the feckin thing moved from there to there,not a new boiler" or something similar was his response!! ah the joys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭knighted_1

To give a sample we can look at the NCT certification procedures. Either the car is certified as road worthy or not.
    An excuse for the shoddy breaks ("I don't drive fast") or missing lights ("I'm blind anyhow") or a blown fuse for the trailer's electric connection ("I don't need the trailer anyhow") is not part of the certification process.

The OP should demand the previous reports, and check out who certified/ comissioned the boiler first. And report this certifier if there is any dubious documentation been found.

have you ever installed or commissioned a boiler ?

knighted_1 wrote: »
    have you ever installed or commissioned a boiler ?

The full load (capacity, max.kW) is usually only achieved with the smaller household combi-condensing boilers in the DHW modus with max. flow rate and max.temperature.

No:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭GASMANN

YOU ARE WRONG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

OP, when unclear it is nearly always best to give RGI a call. You should have the number of the person who inspects you yearly, have a chat with them. I like to call it ass covering.

that was on my to do list mickey,i was just putting the feelers out there,incase i was missing the obvious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭JohnnieK

cheers gary,yip,I went through manual from cover to cover,i will be taking new gas feed in 3/4 in to it.Anyway,it turns out I dont think I will be doing it now as he seems to think my price was too high.They want work done for nothing."Jaysus I only want the feckin thing moved from there to there,not a new boiler" or something similar was his response!! ah the joys...

When you come up against a customer like that your better off keeping away.