Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

purchasing rifle stock online

• 20-07-2011 3:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭

A question I really should have asked before I bought a Knoxx Rifle stock for a rem 308 online .I recieved a letter from Revenue Comm located at Portlaoise An Post Sorting Office today that I furnish them with my Firearms Licence(original) to release the above mentioned stock,is this normal considering the afore mentioned licence is a very important document or am I being paranoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Constab2 wrote: »
    A question I really should have asked before I bought a Knoxx Rifle stock for a rem 308 online .I recieved a letter from Revenue Comm located at Portlaoise An Post Sorting Office today that I furnish them with my Firearms Licence(original) to release the above mentioned stock,is this normal considering the afore mentioned licence is a very important document or am I being paranoid.

Do it ASAP, or expect a knock to your door!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

A rifle stock is technically a componant part of a firearm and in being so needs the proper documentation when importing. It sounds to me as though its a simple case of drive up, produce your license, they'll probably take a copy of it, pay any fees, then you get your stock.

I am purely guessing here, as i've never imported a stock DIRECTLY. I've used RFDs and they dealt with all the paperwork for me.

Ring them back and ask do they need to drive up or can it be done via e-mail/post. If they want it posted i would drive up to avoid loosing it, if a copy or e-mail will suffice it might save a drive. If you're pushed about driving head on up, but again ring before traveling to confirm its okay.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Constab2

I Just posted the letter & licence as just off the phone with a buddy of mine said it is fairly standard ,Never experienced this before as I purchased a lot of equipment online .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Or ask them can you present your license at one of their regional offices which may be nearer, if Portlaois is a long drive away. You never know, they may agree to this and you'll save yourself a journey.

.................,Never experienced this before as I purchased a lot of equipment online .

You may start to see this becoming more normal as time passes. Whatever about importing even getting some items from abroad has become and issue. Every week/month i hear more and more stories of lads that have been able to get items imported that no longer can get them. Even some dealers i've spoken to have said they are having more "hoops" to jump through to get their usual items.

Its not a new law as such just a strict enforcing of existing ones.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Lesson learned ,stopping myself from searching Cabelas & such.I travel over the other side of the pond quite often. So will only buy in person from now on,Would'nt have bought it if I even dreamt there might be an issue,so will have to wait & see thanks for the replies I was told not to travel up as the area is restricted cheers

I was told not to travel up as the area is restricted

What? There's an Area 51 in Portlaois now? :eek: :D

Seriously though: Hope it all works out for you! And please keep us posted on how you get on as I'd reckon this is a topic which will be of interest to a lot! Thanks. dC

Not a problem will post as soon as evrything is sorted (hopefully)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I Just posted the letter & licence as just off the phone with a buddy of mine said it is fairly standard ,Never experienced this before as I purchased a lot of equipment online .

You just posted off your license.

You are a brave man. I hope you get it back. I would not be posting my license to anyone for any reason.

There would have to be a way to get around it without posting your license. Like as said above have it verified by a local Gard or post office official.

These people have a habit of loosing things.

I can just see it now. They get your license ok it and send your stock. Leave the license on a table somewhere cos they are finished with it. Next thing you know it's lost or stolen.

I hope this works out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Very bad joke
    Hope it does not get lost in the:D post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

is it the black knoxx axiom stock with pistol grip and adjustable butt?if it is they were prob just afraid it might jump out of the package and cause untold destruction,and if its the one im thinking of.......its......black aswell!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

bazza888 wrote: »
    is it the black knoxx axiom stock with pistol grip and adjustable butt?if it is they were prob just afraid it might jump out of the package and cause untold destruction,and if its the one im thinking of.......its......black aswell!:D
    Your probably right.
    I got 5 thumbhole stocks recently for myself and a few mates from www.boydsgunstocks.com and each one was delivered without any questions or requests for licences etc.

Thats the one,& as far as the licence they insisted on the original .They would not except e-mail,mms,photocopy etc,etc.So left with little choice

Very bad joke
    Hope it does not get lost in the:D post

Who is joking. I am genuinely conserned that the officials up in on post could miss lay this mans license.

I personly wouldn't post mine or my drivers license or my pasport. From my experience with Garda especially they seem to be able to loose things regulery.

I am not trying to worry the op I am just bothered that is the way he has to get his stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Goosie

Thats the one,& as far as the licence they insisted on the original .They would not except e-mail,mms,photocopy etc,etc.So left with little choice

Well thats a strange one considering that you can apply to the DOJ online to import a firearm/ammo. You must include with the application a clearly legible scanned copy of your licence front and back.

Methinks this smells of c**toms who seem to be a law onto themselves.

I dont think I would have facilitated them so readily.
    Questionable to whether the stock is a component part of the firearm.

Interesting thread on the same topic.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65389384

Note post 35.........make it up as they go along.

Goosie wrote: »
    I dont think I would have facilitated them so readily.

Right or wrong why go the hard route. If sending it to them guarantees the stock i'd send them my granny with it. Don't go the "i'm not doing tht route" for the sake of it or on some act of principal. Give a little. At the end of the day they could make life harder so why give a reason for them to do it.
    Questionable to whether the stock is a component part of the firearm.

It is. The law says "Any part" not any vital/specific/necessary part. It has a broad sweeping meaning so it covers all parts leaving more room for descretion on the DOJ/AGS/Customs behalf.

For the most part stocks and other items were never really scrutinised. However lately there seems to be a more determined effort to enforce the laws surrounding the importation of items that may be considered component parts. Not only in Ireland, but even from England and the Us, etc come companies are still shipping, but the countries customs/police force (or whomever is in charge of these things) are seizing the items before they leave the country,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

As of three weeks ago I imported a Hogue overmould 12" LOP stock and forend for a Remington 870, bought it off Hogues German website, delievered to my door, no problems at all.

To the OP, I would photocopy the front and back of your licence, call to your local Garda station, and ask them to certify that the photocopys are a true copy of the originals. It's just a stamp, few lines and a signature, should take two minutes.

I think the OP has already posted his originals off to them.
    I agree bravestar, a garda certified copy should be more than sufficient as proof of licence without anyone having to send off an original document.

Seems odd to have to send the original - Where does that leave a FAC holder while they are in possession of their guns, but don't actually have the FAC, as they sent it off to Customs/Revenue?

I can see Ezridax point about not getting too antsy about things, but I'd be personally very reluctant to send original anythings to anyone (beit passport, drivers licence, firearms certs, college degrees, or anything not readily replaceable and which in fact I might be required, under other circumstances, to present when requested).

It just seems odd to me that a certified copy would not be acceptable, as this or a similar process is pretty much acceptable elsewhere (e.g. presenting your drivers licence at your local garda station within three days if caught being naughty by gardai from another district, etc.)

Just my tuppence worth.

dCorbus wrote: »
    Where does that leave a FAC holder while they are in possession of their guns, but don't actually have the FAC, ..............

They are still covered under the authorisation the license gives them (if the guns are at home), but it could be a tricky one if they are caught shooting with no license on them.

Yep, that's pretty much the worst case scenario I was thinking of:
    You don't have your FAC, you pop out shooting, a guard stops you and politely asks to see your FAC, you tell him you have posted it to the Revenue in Portlaois but you'll show it to him when you get in back......Can't see that scenario ending too well myself.

Probably as a stop-gap the OP should make sure that he at least keeps a copy of his FAC with him and the originals of the grant letter, if he decides to go out shooting in the meantime - at least that way, he's some proof/paperwork he can produce if requested.

And if the originals of the FAC's "get mislaid" (I'm not saying they will, but just in case...), it should be handy enough to get replacements - although, didn't I hear somewhere that if a FAC is lost or stolen or mislaid, its a requirement report it to the guards? That would be an interesting conversation:

Hello Guard
    Hello Sir
    I'd like to report my FAC missing or stolen
    Oh, now, that's a bit serious, sir
    Where was it stolen or mislaid?
    By Revenue in Portlaois as far as I know.......

Ah, that'd be an interesting conversation indeed :)

Bit late now as the OP has sent off his license, but include a stamped self addressed envelope. I do it whenever i'm ask by any Gov. body to send them original documents. At least they cannot get the address wrong, and more times than not they copy it straight away, stick it in the envelope, then send it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

dCorbus wrote: »

Where does that leave a FAC holder while they are in possession of their guns

If they are at home, it would probably never come up. If out shooting probably one of two things could happen. The Garda will look for the licence and driving licence/passport of the individual to satisfy themselves as to their identity. Since in our scenario the firearms licence cannot be produced one of two, most likely, things will happen. First is that Inquiries will be made there and then over the phone as to the identity of the individual and back to the station re:firearms licence. If the Garda is satisfied, then thats that.

Second is same as above except firearm is seized while inquiries are made, you call up with your licence, when you get it back, explain your story and happy days.

There is a third option too, but lets not go there :D

Ezridax wrote: »
    Right or wrong why go the hard route. If sending it to them guarantees the stock i'd send them my granny with it. Don't go the "i'm not doing tht route" for the sake of it or on some act of principal. Give a little. At the end of the day they could make life harder so why give a reason for them to do it.

I think there are too many "what ifs" involved in popping an important document like your Fac in the post as others have said.
    The op offered numerous ways of proving he had a Fac.

If a scanned copy is good enough for the DOJ, why is it not good enough for Revenue.

I think thats being pretty reasonable.

Goosie wrote: »
    I think thats being pretty reasonable.

Absolutely, and i agree with you. If its good enough for other departments/Gov. bodies then it should be good enough for all of them.

However if they refused all other methods i would send them what they want to make sure i get what i want.

Update
    Fear an phoist just left my door after handing me stock Blackhawk Axiom Absolutley stunning very light fitted on to remmie 700 BDL SA 308 in (no exaggeration)10 minutes & letter from Rev Comm with licence enclosed so the objective of the lesson if you get something like this boys & girls from Rev Comm/An Post follow the instructions to the letter and avoid the grief as it has proved a minor distraction in a flawless transaction.
    Good shooting & be careful out there

Update
    Fear an phoist just left my door after handing me stock Blackhawk Axiom Absolutley stunning very light fitted on to remmie 700 BDL SA 308 in (no exaggeration)10 minutes & letter from Rev Comm with licence enclosed so the objective of the lesson if you get something like this boys & girls from Rev Comm/An Post follow the instructions to the letter and avoid the grief as it has proved a minor distraction in a flawless transaction.

Great to hear the good news. Put up some pics.

On another note. I got a call yesterday from a lad I a buying a scope from. I posted a postal order for €### to him about 3 weeks ago bit it never arrived. When I went to tho post office they said they can't do anything for 6 months. Mean while I am out of pocket and the lad I am buying from must be getting annoyed at this stage.

Thanks an post.

Update

Great to hear it worked out good for you.
    Mega sigh of relief I bet and I dont think you were being paranoid at all in the original post.

The licence was attached to the original letter from customs with their compliments & reading that letter again the request for the Original Licence for said firearm is underlined & highlighted twice? .Just glad it all worked out well ,just in case anyone else gets this notification as nervous about sending it as I was Customs were bang on so no complaints & no excise to pay happy days:)

Delighted to hear you got sorted. Thanks for letting us know how you got on. Too many times we hear of lads with probelsm/issues, then never hear if they sorted or not.

Thanks for the feedback and the update. Glad it worked out well for you. Now enjoy! :cool: