Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick v Wexford

• 20-07-2011 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭

So how do people see this one going? Hoping wexford can pull through and i expect them to as well. Not on tv either and can't make the trip so not in good form over that! Radio will do again :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Wexford for me for 4-6 points. Forward line is very mobile and Bradley seems to be a dominant player wherever he wanders on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Will Wexford line out like they did in the Leinster final:

Anthony Masterson
    Joey Wadding, Graeme Molloy, Brian Malone
    Adrian Flynn, David Murphy, Aindreas Doyle
    Daithi Waters, Rory Quinlivan
    Shane Roche, Ciaran Lyng, Ben Brosnan
    Colm Morris, Eric Bradley, Redmond Barry.

This was the Limerick team that started against Waterford albeit some positional changes:

Brian Scanlon
    T Stack, S Gallagher, S Lavin
    J Riordan, J McCarthy, P Ranahan
    S Buckley, T Lee
    S Kelly, J Mullane, M Sheehan
    G Collins, S O'Carroll, I Ryan.

Stack is a doubt but other than that we should be alright.

I'd expect this to be a high scoring game. Wexford up until the dublin game had been posting big scores and banging in goals. Limerick scored 3-9 against Kerry but scored a lot of it when the game was over but our backs and midfield were brutal that day. Scored 3-13 against Offaly and the forecast is for good weather at the weekend so conditions should be ideal.

I've been impressed by the Wexford forwards this year and the Limerick backs will have to be on the top of their game. I'd imagine we will play Lavin as a sweeper again and try to attack Wexford on the counter and get the ball to Collins and Ryan as quick as possible.

Seanie Buckley and Stephen Kelly have been Limericks best players so far and Ian Ryan had a quiet day the last day against Waterford. We don't have good memories of Portlaoise when losing out to Meath there 2 years ago and having a free given against Stephen Lucey in the last minute after he took five steps and then scored. (Padraig Hughes was desperate that day sending off a meath man for nothing aswell) We've lost four of our team from the team that brought Cork to extra time last year; Galvin (cruciate), Donovan (On the bench) and Lucey and razor to the hurlers.

Limerick won't fear Wexford and its a great opportunity for us to make the breakthrough and be playing championship football in Croker in August for the first time ever. It's nothing more than our footballers deserve after years of trying but I think Wexford will be too strong for us and will win by 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Browney7 wrote: »
    Will Wexford line out like they did in the Leinster final:

Anthony Masterson
    Joey Wadding, Graeme Molloy, Brian Malone
    Adrian Flynn, David Murphy, Aindreas Doyle
    Daithi Waters, Rory Quinlivan
    Shane Roche, Ciaran Lyng, Ben Brosnan
    Colm Morris, Eric Bradley, Redmond Barry.

This was the Limerick team that started against Waterford albeit some positional changes:

Brian Scanlon
    T Stack, S Gallagher, S Lavin
    J Riordan, J McCarthy, P Ranahan
    S Buckley, T Lee
    S Kelly, J Mullane, M Sheehan
    G Collins, S O'Carroll, I Ryan.

Stack is a doubt but other than that we should be alright.

I'd expect this to be a high scoring game. Wexford up until the dublin game had been posting big scores and banging in goals. Limerick scored 3-9 against Kerry but scored a lot of it when the game was over but our backs and midfield were brutal that day. Scored 3-13 against Offaly and the forecast is for good weather at the weekend so conditions should be ideal.

I've been impressed by the Wexford forwards this year and the Limerick backs will have to be on the top of their game. I'd imagine we will play Lavin as a sweeper again and try to attack Wexford on the counter and get the ball to Collins and Ryan as quick as possible.

Seanie Buckley and Stephen Kelly have been Limericks best players so far and Ian Ryan had a quiet day the last day against Waterford. We don't have good memories of Portlaoise when losing out to Meath there 2 years ago and having a free given against Stephen Lucey in the last minute after he took five steps and then scored. (Padraig Hughes was desperate that day sending off a meath man for nothing aswell) We've lost four of our team from the team that brought Cork to extra time last year; Galvin (cruciate), Donovan (On the bench) and Lucey and razor to the hurlers.

Limerick won't fear Wexford and its a great opportunity for us to make the breakthrough and be playing championship football in Croker in August for the first time ever. It's nothing more than our footballers deserve after years of trying but I think Wexford will be too strong for us and will win by 2.

oh ye of little faith! Limerick's momentum is worth at least 3 points to them. Wexford, like Limerick in Munster, are obsessed with winning the provincial title so the question must be asked- how much can they get themselves up for a qualifier after coming mightily close to beating Dublin in the final? This is a huge opportunity for Limerick to create a mini upset, given that we are without 4 key players and with Wexford's form this year, everyone is writing us off, but they did the same before the Offaly game. I know Wexford have quality, especially that trio of Lyng, Barry and Morris, but there be goals in that Limerick inside line too i tell ya :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

grenache wrote: »
    oh ye of little faith! Limerick's momentum is worth at least 3 points to them. Wexford, like Limerick in Munster, are obsessed with winning the provincial title so the question must be asked- how much can they get themselves up for a qualifier after coming mightily close to beating Dublin in the final? This is a huge opportunity for Limerick to create a mini upset, given that we are without 4 key players and with Wexford's form this year, everyone is writing us off, but they did the same before the Offaly game. I know Wexford have quality, especially that trio of Lyng, Barry and Morris, but there be goals in that Limerick inside line too i tell ya :)

Wexford will not have a problem getting themselves in the right frame of mind for this game as proven in the past when recovering from a 20 something point defeat against Dublin in the Leinster final to go onto the All Ireland semi final.

Also last year they came back from defeat against Dublin in the semi final to go out the next day and beat Londondon followed buy Galway in Galway and narrowly loosing to Cork.

Be afraid, be very afraid :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 horselips

will1977 wrote: »
    Wexford will not have a problem getting themselves in the right frame of mind for this game as proven in the past when recovering from a 20 something point defeat against Dublin in the Leinster final to go onto the All Ireland semi final.

Also last year they came back from defeat against Dublin in the semi final to go out the next day and beat Londondon followed buy Galway in Galway and narrowly loosing to Cork.

Be afraid, be very afraid :D:D

Narrowly losing to Cork??!!! They were destroyed in every area of the park, lost 12 points to 5 and didn't score for the bones of half an hour in the second half! And Cork were no great shakes that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Yeah it is an interesting contest. Wexford favourites and Limerick 2/1 outsiders , exactly as Limerick would like it. Limerick have some decent forwards finally and when Waterford focussed on Ian Ryan the last day the others came and did the business. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Can see nothing other than a Wexford win here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

John Hegarty makes some good points here

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/hegarty-slams-gaa-pundits-513577.html?utm_content=Twitter
    Wexford football trainer John Hegarty has lashed the standard of football punditry — and The Sunday Game in particular — for what he believes is a lack of knowledge about teams and players beyond the leading All-Ireland contenders, the Irish Examiner has reported.

The Leinster losing finalists face Limerick in the fourth round of the All-Ireland qualifiers on Saturday but the former Wexford forward claims that neither team is being afforded the respect they deserve by the game’s commentators.

Jason Ryan’s side are being tipped to account for their Munster opponents with some degree of comfort in Portlaoise but the Kilanerin clubman has argued that just as many people were predicting an equally straightforward victory for Dublin over them in the Leinster final.

In the end, Dublin had just a single goal to spare.

"A lot of regular punters and even pundits don’t actually know a huge amount about teams outside the top ones like Kerry, Cork, Tyrone and Dublin," he said yesterday.

"Like, it was said for years that, without Matty Forde, Wexford would struggle.

"We have played (Limerick) twice this year and they beat us both times. We had much more to play for when we played in the league and they still beat us.

"We met them in a pre-championship challenge as well and they beat us again.

"We gave it our best shot in that game, we went all out to win it, so Limerick are better than people give them credit.

"Teams like Limerick need to be given more credit by the likes of The Sunday Game and these people."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

We've beaten Wexford twice already this year,cant see why we can't make it a third time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Wexford team announced:

Wexford (SF v Limerick): 1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Joey Wadding, 3. Graeme Molloy, 4. Brian Malone, 5. Adrian Flynn, 6. David Murphy Capt., 7. Aindreas Doyle, 8. Daithí Waters, 9. Rory Quinlivan, 10. PJ Banville, 11. Ciarán Lyng, 12. Ben Brosnan, 13. Colm Morris, 14. Eric Bradley, 15. Redmond Barry

Glad to see P.J Banville getting a starting place and David Murphy back.

Yeah I'd agree that they don't really give the small teams credit. In fairness to Tony Davis over the last few years he gave Limreick a bit of credit alright but people forget that aside from Kerry last year Limerick were the closest team to Cork the eventual All Ireland winners. Wexford were all Ireland semi finalists not so long ago either.

I don't like any of the punditry this year at all. It's all like "Jesus Ger I think Dublin will be too strong for Wexford" but then in the next sentance in order to cover themselves they'll say "But don't be surprised if Wexford pull off a shock" :rolleyes:.

baraca wrote: »
    Wexford team announced:

Wexford (SF v Limerick): 1. Anthony Masterson, 2. Joey Wadding, 3. Graeme Molloy, 4. Brian Malone, 5. Adrian Flynn, 6. David Murphy Capt., 7. Aindreas Doyle, 8. Daithí Waters, 9. Rory Quinlivan, 10. PJ Banville, 11. Ciarán Lyng, 12. Ben Brosnan, 13. Colm Morris, 14. Eric Bradley, 15. Redmond Barry

Glad to see P.J Banville getting a starting place and David Murphy back.

Is Roche injured. I thought he had been good in the last few games he played.

Banville did well enough against Dublin, where as Roche did not perform, players just swapped I would imagine. Aindreas Doyle had a shakey game against Dublin and might consider himself lucky to keep his place. I am glad to see that David Murphy is fit, I imagine that someone like Malone would have gone in centre back had Murphy not been fit.

It seems like Doyle is out for the rest of the season, so lets hope Waters and Quinlavan play well. In the league game Limerick dominated midfield even before Waters was sent off. Although Galvin was playing that day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Think this could be the game of the round. Two very high scoring teams. Hopefully Wexford can pull through. Love to see three Leinster teams in the quarters.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I've a feeling this could go Limerick's way. They will not fear Wexford and have the capability on their day to beat them. If things go their way they are well capable of causing an 'upset'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Agreed this could very well be the game of the round even though it hasn't gotten the attention the other games have been receiving.Very hard to predict how this will go.All we can go by is that Wexford have been putting up some scores in their games and and it is going to be the duel of the forward lines.

On paper,Wexfords forwards would be better.Lyng,Banville,Barry and Brosnan.Limerick,however poor they were against Kerry put 3 goals past them while Wexford managed to score 1 goal against Dublin and probably should have got more.

On the evidence,Limerick may have beaten Wexford this year in a couple of games but Wexford seem to be a completely different team in the championship so I will back Wexford to progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Banville did well enough against Dublin, where as Roche did not perform, players just swapped I would imagine. Aindreas Doyle had a shakey game against Dublin and might consider himself lucky to keep his place. I am glad to see that David Murphy is fit, I imagine that someone like Malone would have gone in centre back had Murphy not been fit.

It seems like Doyle is out for the rest of the season, so lets hope Waters and Quinlavan play well. In the league game Limerick dominated midfield even before Waters was sent off. Although Galvin was playing that day.

Quinlivan is injured as well, so from the named team, Adrian Morrissey is coming in at wing-back with Adrian Flynn moving in to midfield to replace Quinlivan. Matthew O'Hanlon has been drafted in to the panel as well, so it seems that O'Regan and O'Hanlon are the two reserve midfielders.

Throw-in in a few minutes, Quinlivan a big loss for wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Come on Limerick!!!!

We do have a chance...the Wexford forwards are going to be dangerous and will probably have the better of the midfield, but Limerick have good players all over the pitch and finally we have a good few forwards who can score a few points from play, let's just hope they produce today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

Wexford leading by 0-4 to 0-2 with 8 mins gone. Good start for wexford.

2nd point for Ian Ryan. 0-4 to 0-3 now.

Wexford started well, but Limerick look to be settling now.

All square now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

Roche was taken off against Dublin , - He lost the ball every time .
    He was given plenty chance , but did not perform , so when Banville came on , he made an immediate impact .

This gave the manager no option , but to start with Banville instead of Roche .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Well done lads for putting up the scores on this thread....been checking the RTE "Live Updates" on their website, what a joke. They're about 20mins behind, only posted up the starting lineups :rolleyes:

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Well done lads for putting up the scores on this thread....been checking the RTE "Live Updates" on their website, what a joke. They're about 20mins behind, only posted up the starting lineups :rolleyes:

I am listening on the radio, but also find the most up to date scores by looking at the live betting on betting websites

BTW Limerick a point up now

Ger Collins just got his 3rd point from play (I think it's his 3rd anyway) and Limerick are in front 0-6 to 0-5.

Limerick have definitely settled now and are playing with much more intensity.

Brian Scanlon just messing with a short kick-out and Wexford are now back in front. That's just stupid stuff.

And John Mullane is off, John Cooke on. Mullane is a good player, hard-worker and quite pacy so that's a bit of a loss.

Roche was taken off against Dublin , - He lost the ball every time .
    He was given plenty chance , but did not perform , so when Banville came on , he made an immediate impact .

This gave the manager no option , but to start with Banville instead of Roche .

3 points from Banville so far

Stephen Kelly just scored a wonderpoint according to the Limerick commentator who swore that he'd never be able to hit it from there.

Definitely a bigger Wexford crowd there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭detective

level at 29mins

limerick by 1 at 30 mins

Sounds like a cracker on the radio, Will their be highlights?

And now Wexford mess around with a short kick-out and Limerick score 2 in a row from Seamie O'Carroll and John Cooke.

0-9 to 0-8.

Seanie Buckley seems to be having a great game. But also very enjoyable, end-to-end stuff, point-taking seems to be very good.

Only 3 wides in total so far, I think.

baraca wrote: »
    Sounds like a cracker on the radio, Will their be highlights?

Yeah, there definitely should be tomorrow night.

9 points all just before half time.

Limerick almost had a goal at one end but a minute later Paddy Byrne was through on goal, and McCarthy took him out. 13 yard free and surely a yellow card....

Wexford lead 10-9 at HT

Absolute cracker!

no yellow card... disgrace... wexford 10 limerick 9 at half time

Wexford 1 up at half time

Are they saying anything about the referee on Limerick radio? They were complaining about him a bit on South East Radio, although they did say it was not a penalty

Apparently no yellow card, but Lyng still slotted the free.

0-10 0-9 and all to play for in the 2nd half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

Wexford depend too much on Lyng & Brosnan , -

Are they saying anything about the referee on Limerick radio? They were complaining about him a bit on South East Radio, although they did say it was not a penalty

Not really...they said a couple of possibly questionable decisions but in general nothing really. They were a little surprised Johnny McCarthy didn't get a yellow but that's about it really.

Wexford depend too much on Lyng & Brosnan , -

?

They've barely been in the first half at all and were still leading. What about Roche, Bradley, Banville, Morris? Most of the team actually.

Fireball07 wrote: »

Not really...they said a couple of possibly questionable decisions but in general nothing really. They were a little surprised Johnny McCarthy didn't get a yellow but that's about it really.
    In portlaoise myself. Ref has helped wexford a bit more. Three limerick players on cards. Stevie kellys point was magic fireball.

Weve given wexford four points for free. Backs have done well so far. Last free was outside the box no question. We are still in it

In portlaoise myself. Ref has helped wexford a bit more. Three limerick players on cards. Stevie kellys point was magic fireball.

Weve given wexford four points for free. Backs have done well so far. Last free was outside the box no question. We are still in it

Wish I could have gone, but I had no way of making it. Sounds like a cracking game.

Complaints more about a few decisions that they were convinced that should have been Wexford frees, although not sure how unbiased they are ;)

Liam spratt talks some sh*te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Wish I could have gone, but I had no way of making it. Sounds like a cracking game.

same :/ Seriously though, this is one of the best chances limerick have to progress to a QF.. Hopefully they can keep the momentum from the first half and with the aid of the breeze...just please god :o

COME ON!!!!!

I don't think I could handle another loss at this stage.

4 in the last 8 years already, each one of them sickening. We have to do this at some stage.

We have good players, we have a bit of momentum, we need to keep our concentration and do this.