Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The F Word

• 19-07-2011 8:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 44

Does it really offend anyone? Just listening to music videos there where the word had been censored out and wondered if it does actually offend anyone.

I think I've heard it so many times that its lost any form of meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Musicman2006

Mr_Man! wrote: »
    Does it really offend anyone? Just listening to music videos there where the word had been censored out and wondered if it does actually offend anyone.

And not feck father, the other one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Would ya ever Fúck off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

there is no F in cursing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Foreign? Definitely seems to offend some folk around these parts alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

its one of my most used words. i can understand if ya dont like c u next tuesday but fuck is a great word for expressing a vast array of emotions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

No i don't find it offensive.

But I find that awful C word incredibly offensive, and I can't justify why. I don't know if its because it sounds so harsh, or because its so crude, but my skin crawls at the mere mention of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Wasn't a big fan. Don't watch many cookery programmes at all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Nah don't find it offensive at all, I think Irish people are more relaxed about casual swearing than some other countries.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

No, there are way worse words than fuсk or сunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Nah, one of best & most flexible words in the English language

Only because it is usually said in anger, I don't like anyone who habitually curses it is crass and vulgar and it make them sound thick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

mariaalice wrote: »
    Only because it is usually said in anger, I don't like anyone who habitually curses it is crass and vulgar and it make them sound thick!

ah wouldya fúck off ye fúckin fúcker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

At the end of the day, it's just a word. I don't see why people can get offended.
    Political correctness gone made!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mr_Man!

Would ya make a deal of it if ya heard yer kids saying it?

I don't have any kids......thank Fúck! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

No i don't find it offensive.

But I find that awful C word incredibly offensive, and I can't justify why. I don't know if its because it sounds so harsh, or because its so crude, but my skin crawls at the mere mention of it.

+1, fanny or vagina are two words to describe exactly what the C word means and I can saw them all day long. I think its the whole sounding of the word CCCÚÚÚÚNNNTTT its just awful.

Tbh i dont hear to many people using it now, maybe its been fazed out a bit, although you do see a fair bit of it in internetz land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Condatis

Well! It does have meaning. The user is devoid of social grace, is crude and lacks the ability to express themselves without recourse to coarse language.

English is a rich language, replete with diverse options for expression. To express one's self with crudities indicates a lazy mind, intellectual deficiency and a sloppy regard for good manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Condatis wrote: »
    Well! It does have meaning. The user is devoid of social grace, is crude and lacks the ability to express themselves without recourse to coarse language.

English is a rich language, replete with diverse options for expression. To express one's self with crudities indicates a lazy mind, intellectual deficiency and a sloppy regard for good manners.

Hold on! I'll go and get a ladder to help you down off that horse!

Bollocks. Using the most appropriate word in the right situation is where it's at. If that word happens to be 'cocksucker', then so be it.

Many words in the English language have several meanings, which change as the language evolves. If someone said the word 'Fággot', the majority of people on this forum would think 'homosexual'. Ask the older generation, and they may think of it as a type of meatball made from lamb, or even a bundle of kindling.
    The fact that the F-word is 'crude' to some,doesn't mean it always was/is/will be. It's all subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I saw Roddy Doyle tell a story once where he was at a gathering in someone's house in Dublin, everyone drinking, chatting etc. He said he was approached by a posh woman in her 40s or 50s who told him how disgusted she was to come across the word fuck for the first time in her life recently when reading one of his books. Always thought that story was ludicrous, she's either full of shit or what kind of sheltered upbringing did she have?

Bollocks. Using the most appropriate word in the right situation is where it's at. If that word happens to be 'cocksucker', then so be it.

Only if the person about whom you are talking is a cocksucker. Otherwise there are better ways of making known your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

When I saw the title, I thought that meant that that Gordon Ramsay TV show was coming back. "It's not Rude, it's Food"? ˙uopɹoƃ 'ɟɟo ʞɔnɟ

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

As my ole da would say 'Only a conversational cripple uses bad language' while not realising that he is swears much more than the rest of us. The bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

How now brown cow!

Only if the person about whom you are talking is a cocksucker. Otherwise there are better ways of making known your opinion.

That's what 'appropriate' means, yes. What does 'sloppy regard' mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I dont find the word itself offensive but i think those that use it countless times are themselves stupid thick fuckers. I work with a person who drops it into every single sentence when speaking to us (her co-workers) yet when she's on the phone on business she manages to hold a conversation without uttering it once. Stupid bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

It's all bollix. as someone else pointed out, vagina or something else more inventive like meat curtains (:pac:) isn't starred out or bleeped because for now all that's deemed offensive by society is cunt. which is completely ridiculous. you're going to be told what words to be offended by are ya? right...

I like the word cunt by the way :)

It's the intention in what someone is saying is important, rather than the words they use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Fupping GRASSHOLES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

It's a fantastic word; it's one of the most versatile words in the English language. It's always annoyed me a tad, to be honest, when people complain about it's use as though it's somehow harmful to the language.

A very common (and completely unfounded) observation amongst many is that swearing is a sign of a limited vocabulary. I personally don't see the correlation at all.

To me it's just another argument put forward by English language snobs who seem to think that English is some precious little flower that needs preserving against the linguistic mutations of the great unwashed. Fuckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

At the end of the day, it's just a word. I don't see why people can get offended.
    Political correctness gone made!!

Its hard to believe that any word can offend now. The idea of any word being 'offensive' is ridiculous. The only way i would find if being offensive would be the fact that it was used to prop up a persons limited vocabulary. Thats fuck all good to no one.

That's what 'appropriate' means, yes. What does 'sloppy regard' mean?

Well you could have a high regard for, say, a restaurant – or hold, say, a journalist in low regard. Regard, as a feeling, is a verb.

In this context high, low and sloppy are adverbs as they modify the verb.

My use of the term 'sloppy regard' was deliberate; sloppy being an acceptable antonym for careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

The only "real" offensive words out there are ******, **** and Jedward

Well you could have a high regard for, say, a restaurant – or hold, say, a journalist in low regard. Regard, as a feeling, is a verb.

In this context high, low and sloppy are adverbs as they modify the verb.

My use of the term 'sloppy regard' was deliberate; sloppy being an acceptable antonym for careful.

Oh lord, where to begin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I find smeg to be a far more offensive word.

As in: smeg drenched cunthooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Sergeant wrote: »
    I find smeg to be a far more offensive word.

As in: smeg drenched cunthooks.

hahaha :D have you seen the dublin bus ads for Smeg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

"You never hear '**** Off' he hinted!!" Billy Connolly :D:D:D

I appear to have just managed it!! I'll get me coat