Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Competence in Firearms

• 17-07-2011 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Can your local Gun Club sign you off in Competence in Firearms when apply for your first Gun and if not where in the Midlands can I do a course and get certified

Tawny Owl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

take it your not in the club so or ya could ask them

no they cant sign ya off for it unless someone in the club is qualified to teach the competence course and teaches you

if your a member of the gun club they can give your name to your regional game council
    and they run courses once the have enough people for a course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Can your local Gun Club sign you off in Competence in Firearms when apply for your first Gun and if not where in the Midlands can I do a course and get certified

Tawny Owl.

The Midlands National Shooting Centres of Ireland MNSCI run courses

http://www.nationalshootingcentre.ie/safety.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

No.

There are no "officially" recognised courses, believe it or not, but the courses run by the likes of the MNSCI, NARGC, and other ranges are accepted. They are signed off on by the suitably qualified personel in the ranges.

The NARGC have announcements on their website ( www.nargc.ie ) and the Midlands run one once a month. See their webiste for details ( www.nationalshootingcentre.ie ).
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Thanks Tackleberrywho and Ezridax I have been looking up all sites for the last couple of hours and I seen an old Post from Tackleberrywho explaining about the Range in Tullamore and he is a Member I am taking it you are a Male I hope Ha Ha. I have sent an email and will ring them I think there closed on Mondays but thanks this is all that is stopping me sending in my Application as I have the Gun Safe bolted to the wall and am mad keen to get the ball rolling on this I do hope I am not left waiting as I am told it can take up to three Months to process

Cheers all.

Thanks Tackleberrywho and Ezridax I have been looking up all sites for the last couple of hours and I seen an old Post from Tackleberrywho explaining about the Range in Tullamore and he is a Member I am taking you are a Male I hope Ha Ha I have sent an email and will ring them I think there closed on Mondays but thanks this is all that is stopping me sending in my Application as I have the Gun Safe bolted to the wall and am mad keen to get the ball rolling on this I do hope I am not left waiting as I am told it can take up to three Months to process

Cheers all.

No bother Bosco
    and yes Sir I am male, if you have any daughters looking for a man with road frontage send them my way :D

Tackleberrywho u are a fecker I only have one lad he is 25 but he has two twin Daughters which are my grand children who are three and a half so if you have any son's that age maybe we could match them up when you leave that road frontage to them.

Cheers Tawny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

if your in or around laois,tom doheny or john conroy will do 1 anyways.pm me if u want contact details for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Hey Tawny. A lot of gun dealers are qualified to give this course. I done one for €25 in my local one evening after work.

It's kind of like a safe pass, but for rifles.

"Do not climb over fences with the gun loaded and safety off", that kind of stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

My local garda station was telling new applicant members to our gun club to get certificates of competency from the gunclub... I just signed the lads up to the NARGC course... unbelievable that the Gardai would accept a letter from a gun club saying someone was competent... It should be a NARGC cert or equivilant. We are in no position to sign off on people's competancy especially new applicants! It seems that gardai and the powers that be are giving more and more of the decision of who gets a gun and who dosent over to the gun clubs... we've had to give out membership letters and cards to applicants so the gardai could give them their guns.. I think its a good thing that its harder to get a gun if youre not in a gun club, but its also a lot of responsibilty for clubs - we get to decide in effect who gets guns! Does this make the clubs liable in event of accident or worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

rambo87 wrote: »
    we get to decide in effect who gets guns!
    Er, no, you in effect get to decide who doesn't get them. Even if you give the okay, they might still be rejected for other reasons. But yeah, it's a fair point (and one we raised a while back).
    Does this make the clubs liable in event of accident or worse?
    No more so than the Super is liable for giving out the licence, or a Judge for overruling the Super to give out a licence. In fact, quite a bit less - you aren't saying the person should have a licence, just that they're competent with firearms (where "competent" means "they have a basic knowledge of the safe use of firearms").

Thanks djflawless got sorted from your text message all set up for Sunday at 10.30am this means everything is going along at a nice pace.

Cheers.
    Tawny Owl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

rambo87 wrote: »
    My local garda station was telling new applicant members to our gun club to get certificates of competency from the gunclub... I just signed the lads up to the NARGC course... unbelievable that the Gardai would accept a letter from a gun club saying someone was competent... It should be a NARGC cert or equivilant. We are in no position to sign off on people's competancy especially new applicants! It seems that gardai and the powers that be are giving more and more of the decision of who gets a gun and who dosent over to the gun clubs... we've had to give out membership letters and cards to applicants so the gardai could give them their guns.. I think its a good thing that its harder to get a gun if youre not in a gun club, but its also a lot of responsibilty for clubs - we get to decide in effect who gets guns! Does this make the clubs liable in event of accident or worse?

I am a member an NARGC affiliated club When new members come to us with their two hour awareness course we will take them in them in put them on the next proficiency course. Our aim is for all new members to have under gone the proficiency course in the first year and to attend a compulsory club briefing.

Thanks djflawless got sorted from your text message all set up for Sunday at 10.30am this means everything is going along at a nice pace.

Cheers.
    Tawny Owl.

no probs at all tawny..just imagine it being as easy as a safe pass :P all the best

To all that helped in getting me going on this post THANKS and I hope I can return the favour I do have shooting rights on lots of land for Deer I will bring or ask each person that did comment up too the time I did my little test tomorrow 23/07/11 in Abbeyleix if they would like to go on a day out bring your Gun if not Possible just tag along and see how it is done and as I said before do your widdles before we set out as the Stag will smell u and hate too see someone doing a break dance for a Piss though I don't need this test as I did shoot years ago we must go with what the Law wants and get my Licence so hope I pass and get certed.

Thanks,

Daithi55 / Tackleberrywho / Arcto / Cavan shooter / Sparks / Rambo87 / Ezridax

And most of all for the contact Person djflawless will contact u all to see if you are available for the winter. wear warm jockies

THANKS EVERYONE.

Tawny Owl.

To all that helped in getting me going on this post THANKS and I hope I can return the favour I do have shooting rights on lots of land for Deer I will bring or ask each person that did comment up too the time I did my little test tomorrow 23/07/11 in Abbeyleix if they would like to go on a day out bring your Gun if not Possible just tag along and see how it is done and as I said before do your widdles before we set out as the Stag will smell u and hate too see someone doing a break dance for a Piss though I don't need this test as I did shoot years ago we must go with what the Law wants and get my Licence so hope I pass and get certed.

Thanks,

And most of all for the contact Person djflawless will contact u all to see if you are available for the winter. wear warm jockies

THANKS EVERYONE.

Tawny Owl.
    ah sure im always tippin around somewhere local ;)
    if you need directions to conroys place give me a shout.you'll be passing by my home place anyways

Thanks,

THANKS EVERYONE.

Tawny Owl.

No bothers, the one thing I noticed, that when it comes to Guns my mates are from all ages.
    Thats why I like shooting/Hunting.
    look forward to seeing your first hunting exploits!

Got sorted at 10.30am this morning nice little set he has there and not too far from Monasterevin I have my Cert and now I can send it and Club Membership off then its waiting time.

Thanks.

Got sorted at 10.30am this morning nice little set he has there and not too far from Monasterevin I have my Cert and now I can send it and Club Membership off then its waiting time.

Thanks.

if it was up at the clay range you were id agree..great spot..also has a great target system in the shop..nearest 1 other than the 1 he has is in sweden or finland i think

Yeh it was the Clay Range I asked about membership but none yet as the price is just for Insurance but is hoping to get it going I enjoyed my day and they were very friendly people nice spot 10 out of 10 for the set up and the welcome.well done to everyone in the County Laois Range.

Ment to say we got the Tour of the place showing us the different Clays some called the Bumble bee small disc and a lovely one where the Clay runs along a black Matt like a Rabbit bolting and it runs between two post into a Field very good.

Sending in my paparwork to the Garda station for my Gun Licence but dont have the Membership number for the Club but they said they will give me a letter stating I am a member will this be ok or will the guards be looking for the Membership Club number.should I wait till I get a Membership card back to send everything in dont want to stall things

If the Gardaí are happy send it in
    your word should be good enough;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

I am a member an NARGC affiliated club When new members come to us with their two hour awareness course we will take them in them in put them on the next proficiency course. Our aim is for all new members to have under gone the proficiency course in the first year and to attend a compulsory club briefing.
    Our clubs the same CS