Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting professional photos taken of yourself

• 17-07-2011 4:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭

Right, so this has been around a little while but now i'm finding more and more people doing it!

Why oh why do people go and pay a photographer money to take photos of them? If you're an actor, a model, in showbusiness, if you're with your family or your new baby then fine.

But why would you go and have someone photograph you in numerous akward and sometimes semi-erotic poses? It's ridiculous! Everytime I see photos of this kind a cringe!

The worst kind are the ones who do it to trick those on Facebook that they're part-time models or something. (There's a girl i know well who says just this. Model material she ain't).

Have you ever done it? Would you ever do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I tried to but when I turned around the camera shattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The same type of girls that go out for "drinkies with the girlies, whoop! whoop!"

Execute them :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

Id like some good professional photos of myself, maybe in burlesque gear or something like that. I dont have a problem with it. Some women get it done as presents for their partners. Others are just sh*t at taking photos and would like at least one or 2 good photos to look back on.

Ive seen some black and white shots taken of a friend and she looked amazing in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

ShadowGal wrote: »
    Id like some good professional photos of myself, maybe in burlesque gear or something like that. I dont have a problem with it. Some women get it done as presents for their partners. Others are just sh*t at taking photos and would like at least on or 2 good photos to look back on.

Ive seen some black and white shots taken of a friend and she looked amazing in them.

The vast majority of the girls i'm talking about seem to get them simply to put up on Facebook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

It's the timeless art of seduction..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭etymon

there is nothing more disturbing than going into someone's gaff and the whole family are up there on the wall draped across each other in some black-and-white blown-up monstrosity with matching outfits and dog perched in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Can you post some examples. I'm not sure what you are taking about. Cameras are getting cheaper and cheaper so it's not really hard to take a half decent photo. You'll probably find out that these photographers are amatuer looking for experience something for their portfolio and the model's want something free for their portfolio.

There is an awful amount of disillousioned people out there though with nasy pics. This reality-tv generation where everyone thinks they can become a star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

MrStuffins wrote: »
    But why would you go and have someone photograph you in numerous akward and sometimes semi-erotic poses? It's ridiculous! Everytime I see photos of this kind a cringe!

Moonlighting as high class hookers:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

The vast majority of the girls i'm talking about seem to get them simply to put up on Facebook!

I dont know anyone whos done that tbh. Sometimes people especially women have major insecurities with their looks. If someone wants to get their makeup and hair done and get nice photos to make them feel good i say why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

etymon wrote: »
    there is nothing more disturbing than going into someone's gaff and the whole family are up there on the wall draped across each other in some black-and-white blown-up monstrosity with matching outfits and dog perched in front

+1 on that, a friend of mine has one of them in his sitting room everytime I walk in I try not to laugh, its his whole family all linking arms with big stupid smiley faces on with dogs in the front etc, its become a running joke between his friends someone took a photo of it on there phone and sent it to everyone taking the piss.

As for the girls on Facebook etc you jsut want to give them a cop on slap and tell them to get over themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

lol no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

because people are vain and it gives me more of a clue of which people on facebook are too self centred and retarded for me to talk to

Can you post some examples. I'm not sure what you are taking about. Cameras are getting cheaper and cheaper so it's not really hard to take a half decent photo. You'll probably find out that these photographers are amatuer looking for experience something for their portfolio and the model's want something free for their portfolio.

There is an awful amount of disillousioned people out there though with nasy pics. This reality-tv generation where everyone thinks they can become a star.

The examples i'd have would be from Facebook friends but I can't exactly post those up here.

And these pics aren't amateur they're posed with lighting and a "stage" for want of a better term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If I never had to stand in another photo again I'd be a very happy man :rolleyes:

kfallon wrote: »
    If I never had to stand in another photo again I'd be a very happy man :rolleyes:

I'm sure we'd all be happier :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

The worst kind are the ones who do it to trick those on Facebook that they're part-time models or something. (There's a girl i know well who says just this. Model material she ain't)

I know what you mean man.
    Lets be honest, its generally women who do this (99.9%? :P )
    Truth by known alot of girls fancy themselves as models that take these pics. And with no offence intended, half of them aint model worthy.

You also find its a self confidence thing. Alot of the girls want to be "pretty" - which you know what, i aint going to say anything bad about a person who is self-conscious. But these girls who put up photos like that get a big head. Especially if its on a social networking site thats practally a dating site (myspace, tagged etc etc) ... Load of blokes telling them they're "hot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

+1 on that, a friend of mine has one of them in his sitting room everytime I walk in I try not to laugh, its his whole family all linking arms with big stupid smiley faces on with dogs in the front etc, its become a running joke between his friends someone took a photo of it on there phone and sent it to everyone taking the piss.

There's nothing worse than these families I must say. Destroying society and communities! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

My grandparents have professional photos they had taken in the 40s/50s which are gorgeous. Just head and shoulders, they both look amazing. I dread to think of my grandkids having only crappy, blurry digital pics of me in my younger years. That said, I don't know why people get photos done in the nip or really naff family ones. *Leaves to open retro black and white photography studio*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

That picture is all kinds of awesome:D

My grandparents have professional photos they had taken in the 40s/50s which are gorgeous. Just head and shoulders, they both look amazing. I dread to think of my grandkids having only crappy, blurry digital pics of me in my younger years. That said, I don't know why people get photos done in the nip or really naff family ones. *Leaves to open retro black and white photography studio*

This is fine. If you're getting family photos.

But not just going yourself and getting them done. Hung upside down with a rose stickout out of your knashers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

:eek: Christ! I need to bleach my eyes after looking at that! The fucking Mullets too!

I've been taking photos of people lately (admittedly, for the most part, I've been asking the other people to pose for me, but some of the people have come to me).

Now personally, I don't put any value on a photo taken of me. I don't particularly care what I look like in photographs, nor do I ever see myself sitting around in future wanting to look back on myself.

However, I think that most of the people I've photographed have done it just for the laugh. Just something to do. If they get nice photographs at the end of it all then that's a bonus (and I'd like to think I haven't let anyone down just yet!).

That said, i have done one or two people who are trying to stick a portfolio together to get into the ould modelling lark. And fair play to them. You'll never become the next big star if you never even give it a chance (much the same as you'll never be the next big actor without at least trying to do a bit of acting, etc.).

Don't see the harm in it.

The hammy family ones can look a bit over the top alright, but if the people who had the photo taken are happy with it then so be it. Though I do often get the feeling that photos were the family are awkwardly posed and wearing identical clothing is usually an idea forced down by the photographer rather than the idea of the family. Matching clothes looks a bit silly, I think (though matching general colours is fine, in my opinion).

EDIT: If anyone wants some photos taken ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

A lot of girls are extremely self conscious about how they look. As fellas I don't think we really appreciate just how bat sh1t insane girls can be about how they look. The difference it can make having a professional photographer that knows about lighting and how to get the best out of someone and make-up professionally applied is massive. So it's nice for them to have a couple of photos they look amazing in to make themselves feel better when their confidence is down. I don't see anything wrong with it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

strobe wrote: »
    A lot of girls are extremely self conscious about how they look. As fellas I don't think we really appreciate just how bat sh1t insane girls can be.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭legallyblonde86

my mother wanted one of myself, my brother and the dog about 8 years ago... I still cringe everytime I walk by it.

However, last year was my grandmothers 80th and all the grandchildren had a group photo taken for her and she loved it so each to their own I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

OP are you on about the girls that have them up as their facebook and bebo pictures?

I know it became kinda fashionable to get them done for bebo....

You used to be able to get them as a top gifts voucher.

It makes people look like fecking fools.

wild_cat wrote: »
    OP are you on about the girls that have them up as their facebook and bebo pictures?

I know it became kinda fashionable to get them done for bebo....

You used to be able to get them as a top gifts voucher.

It makes people look like fecking fools.

Indeed I am! Imagine paying money to fool people into thinking you look half decent on Bebo or Facebook. It makes even less sense when you think that the people on your Facebook are your friends so know what you look like normally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I got some done and I was very happy with the results. Might seem like a waste, but I think the extra time and money it takes is clear to see.

Mr. Denton wrote: »
    I got some done and I was very happy with the results. Might seem like a waste, but I think the extra time and money it takes is clear to see.

Are you single? PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

I seriously dont know, nor have I ever met any woman (Im a woman) who is soo happy with her appearance she will get prof photos done just to post on FB!!! :eek: Me personally, I HAAAAATE photos of me, I cant stand lookin at photos of parties/weddings/whatever cause I always have that sinking feeling when I see them :( I always hate how I look. My OH is always giving out about how hyper critical I am of these photos, but I just hate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

awkwardfamilyphotos.com

I shared a house a few years ago with a woman who had a professionally taken photo of herself lying down on a rug with a cheesy grin on her face hanging in her front hall. Cringeworthy, tacky and narcissistic. Made me chuckle every time I saw it.

She was full of herself-the type who thought she was hot because was a blonde haired oompa lumpa :rolleyes:

Never understood why some people put photos of themselves front and center hanging on their walls at home. It looks awful.
    Getting professional photos of your kids that you display discretely in a small frame on your dresser or sitting room side table is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The same type of girls that go out for "drinkies with the girlies, whoop! whoop!"

"Oh your absolutely Masso in that picture Sharon xx"

Death is too good for those cunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I have never and will never say that to any female friends of mine and if they want to remain friends of mine they won't say it to me either. Quite honestly that kind of talk calls for a swift kick in the taint.

efb wrote: »

ooooohhh can I have your number :o

mikom wrote: »

and yours too, sure it wouldnt hurt to have yours
    *shucks, looks at floor while rubbing toes on tiles*

carlybabe1 wrote: »

and yours too, sure it wouldnt hurt to have yours
    *shucks, looks at floor while rubbing toes on tiles*

D'ya fancy mine too?

a/s/l?

efb wrote: »
    a/s/l?

Confused.com!! no clue wat that means sorry :o

im sure you're like a good cheese, gets better with age ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's to fool guys into clicking on their dating profiles over at lonelyhearts.ie

Confused.com!! no clue wat that means sorry :o

im sure you're like a good cheese, gets better with age ;)

a (age) s (sex) l (location)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I once paid a professional photographer to follow me around for the day and take loads of photos of me, it was really cool! felt like a celeb or something, he did a great job and alot of them are the best photos anyone's ever taken of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Getting professional photos of yourself = a bit weird & extremely vain.

Why the fook would you even want a big photo of yourself on the wall? If i walked into someones house & seen that i'd be a bit spooked/suspicious to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Live and let live. Who cares? Surely there are more important things to be p*ssed off about other than some girls who want to get professional photographs taken. It's only their own money they're wasting anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

I think some of these pictures are hilarious! These girls "modelling" and they don't exactly look quite the model type. Granted, most of them have great figures, but they wouldn't exactly be good looking.

The poses are hilarious, strewn across motor bikes, cars, lawns... and the clothes are generally disgusting. I've no problem with someone wanting one set of really nice, professional photos of themselves- but the girls I know of that get these professional photos done or that "model" tend to do it on a regular enough basis. And whilst I know of a small number of Irish girls that do it, for the most part in my experience it's Eastern European girls- so maybe it's just something that's part of their culture?

All I know is that mostly the photos are just cringey!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Really? What about the holocaust?

TheZohan wrote: »
    Really? What about the holocaust?

1) Family portatrait

2) This

3) The holocaust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Must be the true hallmark of a minger -having to go to a professional to make you look half decent. Counterproductive methinks!