Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diamond Dan the Orangeman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

should of just had one of the girls from coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

There's a history of this up the North. For instance, Baseball Bat man is basically just a rip-off of a character created by Bob Kane in 1939.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Thieving f**ks. Sure, why make your own mascot, when you can just steal someone elses work. I'm sure this will not be lost on the youngsters. What sort of f**ked up message do these so called "Orange" men want to give to the young of today? They should be kicked out of the Orange Order for trying to bring such disdain to such a proud tradition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

the_syco wrote: »
    Thieving f**ks. Sure, why make your own mascot, when you can just steal someone elses work. I'm sure this will not be lost on the youngsters. What sort of f**ked up message do these so called "Orange" men want to give to the young of today? They should be kicked out of the Orange Order for trying to bring such disdain to such a proud tradition.

Ha, Classic.. A leopard doesn't change its spots, If they had any sense they would have checked it out before unveiling him as mascot, when I saw it on NewsLine last year I nearly wet myself laughing.

Sure we should create a mascot "Paddy Provo", Im sure he would be a big hit, Him and Diamond Dan can be mortal enemies.

Must google Baseball Bat Man. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

why not just have a superhero called Orangeman? dispensing citrusy justice and making your fingernails smell weird for hours after you peel him.

or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

krudler wrote: »
    why not just have a superhero called Orangeman? dispensing citrusy justice and making your fingernails smell weird for hours after you peel him.

or something.

It's probably taken...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Mr. Denton wrote: »

half the work already done so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Date on the RTE article is April 3 2008, hardly last year.

The battle of the Boyne was hardly last year either. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

For some reason I keep thinking that Neil Diamond is in the title of this thread. Is he an orangeman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

charlemont wrote: »
    Does any else think this is hilarious ? The Orange Order came up with a new mascot last year after holding a competition in which children submitted drawings, but it seems not all was right as it turns out he is a copy of another "Superhero" enough called Super Guy by Dan Bailey..

Newsflash: Orange Order continues its noble British settler-colonial robbing tradition by, appropriately enough, robbing a mascot from somebody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Trying not to be prejudiced here, but if I just saw a picture of him without any explanation for the first time, I'd still think he was norn iron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

The battle of the Boyne was hardly last year either. :D

It was like 321 years ago now, get over it.
    But if the British have taught us anything it that nothing will stop them being stuck in the past. WW2 happened 70 years ago and there a freeview channel with nothing but it on 24 hours a day.

Kojak wrote: »
    For some reason I keep thinking that Neil Diamond is in the title of this thread. Is he an orangeman?

And I reckon this guy is also a fully fledged member...:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZN5PoW7_kdA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Saila wrote: »
    should of just had one of the girls from coppers

Or that gay buck off tv3, alan something.
    Hes orange and loves to blow on a nice flute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Or that gay buck off tv3, alan something.
    Hes orange and loves to blow on a nice flute.

hehe. "That gay buck"!

Last time I heard somebody referred to as a "buck" was about 2003, and it was a Mayo woman doing the talking: "you're some buck!"

Ara, you're an awful article of a man that's in it. hehe.

smk89 wrote: »
    It was like 321 years ago now, get over it.
    But if the British have taught us anything it that nothing will stop them being stuck in the past. WW2 happened 70 years ago and there a freeview channel with nothing but it on 24 hours a day.

Im sure it comes with the obligatory mention of 1966 every ad break...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Im sure it comes with the obligatory mention of 1966 every ad break...

I actually had to look up 1966 to find what you meant. Whats worse is that 1966 in google brings up the fifa world cup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

There's a bit of history to the "Diamond" aspect to Diamond Dan... The dispute that ultimately lead to the creation of the Orange Order, was the "Battle of the Diamond", that took place on the 21st September 1795.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_Diamond

The outcome of this battle, led to the creation of the Orange Order.

My great great great great great grandfather was one of the party that made up the very first meeting of the Orange Order, near Dan Winter's cottage, subsequent to this battle...

For anyone who know's their Freemasonry, the Orange Order was at it's outset, and still to this day, is based upon the very tenets and the building blocks of Freemasonry, (as in that they retain lodges, brothers, rituals, regalia, a hierarchy of brethern, degrees of initiation, etc)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

the article has been appearing every year since, it's a tradition and you can't stop it now

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Didn't the hole in the wall gang do a sketch with orangeman ?

I can remember one with diluted orangeman

Jul 14 95 The Further Sectarian Adventures of Orangeman

“The Amazing Sectarian Adventures of Orangeman”, who with his Super Paranoid No Surrender Vision could see a fenian plot from miles away.

Orangeman was a photo-strip starring a sectarian superhero, created by the comedy troupe the Hole in the Wall Gang, which ran in the Belfast arts paper dv8 circa 1995. He also appeared on the groups's eponymous radio show on BBC Radio Ulster and Radio 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Captain stuck in the past.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RichieC wrote: »
    Captain stuck in the past.
    we are talking about the Orange Order , an organisation that still hasn't come to terms with Catholic Emancpiation.

Diamond Dan even looks like a creation the Nazis would have came up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Diamond Dan? What does he do exactly, fly around making incendiary speeches in order to drum up hate against his neighbours? Does he march through Nationalist areas at the speed of light brandishing paramilitary emblems? Perhaps he can telekinetically pelt schoolgirls with balloons full of p*ss using only the power of his mind?

What a load of wankology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kojak wrote: »

sweet orangeman oh oh oh

FTA69 wrote: »
    Diamond Dan? What does he do exactly, fly around making incendiary speeches in order to drum up hate against his neighbours? Does he march through Nationalist areas at the speed of light brandishing paramilitary emblems? Perhaps he can telekinetically pelt schoolgirls with balloons full of p*ss using only the power of his mind?

What a load of wankology.

His secret power isnt so special after all, It only consists of himself ringing the PSNI to squeal on Catholics. His only other power is to hype up the Loyalists to riot against the same PSNI, So I think Diamond Dan has a dilemma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

There's a bit of history to the "Diamond" aspect to Diamond Dan... The dispute that ultimately lead to the creation of the Orange Order, was the "Battle of the Diamond", that took place on the 21st September 1795.

My great great great great great grandfather was one of the party that made up the very first meeting of the Orange Order, near Dan Winter's cottage, subsequent to this battle...

For anyone who know's their Freemasonry, the Orange Order was at it's outset, and still to this day, is based upon the very tenets and the building blocks of Freemasonry, (as in that they retain lodges, brothers, rituals, regalia, a hierarchy of brethern, degrees of initiation, etc)...
    Got any more information on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Just call him Billy Bigot.Much more truthful.Aint it Keith??;)P.S Thought youd be at the linfield rangers friendly today. Now theres a bastion of orangeism at its most basic, neanderthal form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Just think how much better Ireland would have been if those Orange cnuts had all been killed.

Show Time wrote: »
    Just think how much better Ireland would have been if those Orange cnuts had all been killed.
    I don't see how that would of stopped Protestants from creating the Orange Order.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I don't see how that would of stopped Protestants from creating the Orange Order.
    I dont see the English or Welsh going on with this oranje crap.Look, yee are bigots.Everyone knows this.Bigots who took over a quarter of someone elses country.Now, why arent you watching the glasgow rangers play linfield in Windsor park today.Since your such a loyal supporter of ra rainjurs?I work with a protestant and he is mortified by the Orange Order.3 months of rioting because of these simple flute playing, innocents.The poor orangemen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Does any else think this is hilarious ? The Orange Order came up with a new mascot last year after holding a competition in which children submitted drawings, but it seems not all was right as it turns out he is a copy of another "Superhero" enough called Super Guy by Dan Bailey..

http://www.irishcentral.com/story/ent/the_keane_edge/orange-irish-seek-hero-to-rebrand-their-identity-for-the-modern-world-98164569.html

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/orange-order-superhero-dan-in-copyright-row-13912905.html

There were many strong entries such as Sash Gordon, Sashman and the Boyne Wonder.':D

'Diamond Dan will be the kind of person who offers his seat on a crowded bus to an elderly lady. He won't drop litter and he will be keen on recycling. He will also be very committed to the Orange Order and to the Junior movement and will make efforts to know all he can about the history and culture of his community.'

Diamond Dan will not replace King Billy but his creation will give us the chance to promote the true values of being an Orangeman,'

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0403/orangeman.html?rss

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No it's Diamond Dan the Orangeman.

Its fair like Stephen Staunton, maybe there's something Stan isn't telling us..

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/orange-orders-mascot-dan-is-a-real-diamond-13874966.html#ixzz1SDv2YPDt

Super Hero 'Diamond Dan' - Badge:D
    http://www.ulster-scot.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=13&products_id=87

What a bunch of muppets. Still, they probably don't see anything wrong with stealing what doesn't belong to them.

Most of the gowls marching would not know what religion means.Ive seen em.Tattoos(loyalist uvf tattoos btw) and carling lads.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    I dont see the English or Welsh going on with this oranje crap.Look, yee are bigots.Everyone knows this.Bigots who took over a quarter of someone elses country.Now, why arent you watching the glasgow rangers play linfield in Windsor park today.Since your such a loyal supporter of ra rainjurs?I work with a protestant and he is mortified by the Orange Order.3 months of rioting because of these simple flute playing, innocents.The poor orangemen.

I'd say they're haunted by the brave protestant men who fought and died for Irish freedom.

They have lodges in England and all over the UK. A bit of a false statement. If you meant in general, well of course. Most Protestants (who support the Union) aren't in the Orange Order. But still a lot do parade with them.

Show Time wrote: »

Dividing our country and people because the big baby threatened to throw his dummy (flute) out of his pram.
    Its pathetic, When I have time ill have a look and see what links were between the OO and the Peep O Day Boys..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peep_o'_Day_Boys

Yea I couldn't have guessed.:rolleyes:

flash1080 wrote: »
    I'd say they're haunted by the brave protestant men who fought and died for Irish freedom.

And there were plenty of them too. Great men who loved this country.

Historically speaking the Orange just used and manipulated the Protestant working class people, So in reality they are victims too.

They have lodges in England and all over the UK. A bit of a false statement. If you meant in general, well of course. Most Protestants (who support the Union) aren't in the Orange Order. But still a lot do parade with them.
    No. What I meant was MOST English & Welsh want nothing to do with yee.Most of em dont support this bloody stupid "union" which lost so many lives.Most of em see Ireland as Ireland.I met a fella from Manchester on hols before and he couldnt understand why Britain should still be trying to claim a part of Ireland.They want nothing to do with yee. Its just the Scots who were given the land originally.I think a lot of the English and Welsh are ashamed of yee to be honest.Yee can get pretty rowdy to be truthful.;)

You said the Orange Order. The support to maintain the Union all over the UK would get a YES vote. The discussion is either on the Orange Order or not. When you say "yee", you either mean Orange Order or Unionist?

Most Protestants (who support the Union) aren't in the Orange Order. But still a lot do parade with them.[/QUOTE]Most of Britain.Proper Britain think that yee have drawn all the problems upon yourselves.For example the IRA would have no need to exist if yee Scots didnt try and take over our country.What gives yee the right to do this? And what gives yee the right to claim another country as yours?Im not a rampaging ra man, but sometimes people have to remember what happened in the past.And what happened in Ireland wasnt far removed to what happened in Nazi-occupied lands. Shooting squads and the like.;)

You said the Orange Order. The support to maintain the Union all over the UK would get a YES vote. The discussion is either on the Orange Order or not. When you say "yee", you either mean Orange Order or Unionist?
    Both.Most English and Welsh people that I have met want nothing to do with "yee" claiming to be British.Yeer Irish now.Deal with it or "go home."

Most of Britain.Proper Britain think that yee have drawn all the problems upon yourselves.For example the IRA would have no need to exist if yee Scots didnt try and take over our country.What gives yee the right to do this? And what gives yee the right to claim another country as yours?Im not a rampaging ra man, but sometimes people have to remember what happened in the past.And what happened in Ireland wasnt far removed to what happened in Nazi-occupied lands. Shooting squads and the like.;)

Funnily enough, a lot of those Orange mongs have aligned themselves with neo-Nazi clowns in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Most Protestants (who support the Union) aren't in the Orange Order. But still a lot do parade with them.
    Britain.Proper Britain think that yee have drawn all the problems upon yourselves.For example the IRA would have no need to exist if yee Scots didnt try and take over our country.What gives yee the right to do this? And what gives yee the right to claim another country as yours?Im not a rampaging ra man, but sometimes people have to remember what happened in the past.And what happened in Ireland wasnt far removed to what happened in Nazi-occupied lands. Shooting squads and the like.;)
    Any English person or some one living on the mainland should look at the history themselves. They have nothing to complain about or say that Unionists/Loyalists brought anything on anyone. It was them that planted scots on Ulster soil and it was them that have got a lot of good out of the Ulster people who remained loyal to the crown and country. The Battle of the Somme, being a good example. They had no problem then.

They should keep quiet.

Both.Most English and Welsh people that I have met want nothing to do with "yee" claiming to be British.Yeer Irish now.Deal with it or "go home."

Few mates of mine from Cork were sharing a flat in London with a guy from Newcastle and he was always puzzled by the lads talk about the Troubles so they explained it to him and he remarked " So you mean to say one morning a million Irish woke up and decided they wanted to be British". We always get a great laugh from that comment, Just goes to show what an average Englishman thinks of it, The guy himself eventually got clued in when they all moved to Glasgow.

Any English person or some one living on the mainland should look at the history themselves. They have nothing to complain about or say that Unionists/Loyalists brought anything on anyone. It was them that planted scots on Ulster soil and it was them that have got a lot of good out of the Ulster people who remained loyal to the crown and country. The Battle of the Somme, being a good example. They had no problem then.

They should keep quiet.

LOL, ye really are a backwards bunch.

I don't want to go home. My ancestors have been in Ulster for 400 years. Im fine, thank you. It seems the discussion has went completely in the wrong direction to what it was about.

If ye love Ireland so much and want to stay here then why don't ye integrate with the rest of the population? We're a very hospitable bunch. It doesn't make sense to divide Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 400 ✭✭Im Only 71Kg

the orange order are a bunch of gobsheens.