Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap 5W 30 Castrol edge.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

We could do with a 'Motors Bargains' thread sometimes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

if your an axa customer get 15% further off that price, even if your not borrow someone elses axa card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭spunk_monkey

Great findv:)

Would this be cheaper than a garage/ mechanic would normally pay from their Suppliers?

Does this stuff have a shelf life?and would 4 litres be enough for an oil change on a vw gti? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Great findv:)

Would this be cheaper than a garage/ mechanic would normally pay from their Suppliers?

Does this stuff have a shelf life?and would 4 litres be enough for an oil change on a vw gti? Thanks.

It would be roughly 20 euros for the 4l but they would be buying a 200 l barrell or buying it in bulk. you would have enough in that for your car.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    It would be roughly 20 euros for the 4l but they would be buying a 200 l barrell ...........

Indeed, many of those bastad barrels I loaded into vans as a young lad. Dunno would they get Castrol Edge that cheap barreled though.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Indeed, many of those bastad barrels I loaded into vans as a young lad. Dunno would they get Castrol Edge that cheap barreled though.

Think of all the exercise you got......

A 200l barrell of mobil 1 is about a grand plus vat of delaneys in glanmire. I was been charged 45 plus vat of a Castrol distributor for the 4l drum..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ah it's fully synthetic. I got halfords own brand the last time I changed my oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lastbuilders

Would this be ok for a 2005 S40 ?

Lastbuilders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭thom119

cheers for the heads up! got myself a bottle today with the axa 15% discount

Dropping my mkv gti in for a major service tomorrow..I don't think my mechanic uses this Castrol stuff, but a cheaper brand that complies to the same spec as this Castrol stuff .

Is it worth while using this instead, and if so, do mechanics generally mind if you supply your own oil? Would I expect to pay slightly less if I did this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Dropping my mkv gti in for a major service tomorrow..I don't think my mechanic uses this Castrol stuff, but a cheaper brand that complies to the same spec as this Castrol stuff .

Is it worth while using this instead, and if so, do mechanics generally mind if you supply your own oil? Would I expect to pay slightly less if I did this?

He shouldn't mind at all, and yes, his invoice should exclude the 5 litres that he was more than likely going to put in himself.

Picked up a bottle of this yesterday myself and in a similar position where my MK5 GTI is also due a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Lastbuilders

Depends really on what engine is in it, some of the diesels will require different oil, the 5w 30 should be ok for all the petrol versions but check on www.castrol.co.uk for your engine, gives a list of each engine when you search for your model.

Fizman wrote: »
    He shouldn't mind at all, and yes, his invoice should exclude the 5 litres that he was more than likely going to put in himself.

Picked up a bottle of this yesterday myself and in a similar position where my MK5 GTI is also due a service.

but this only has 4 litres..you mention 5 litres above..is 4 ok yeah? thanks

M

but this only has 4 litres..you mention 5 litres above..is 4 ok yeah? thanks

Golf MKV takes about 4.6 litres so you will need to purchase an additional 1 litre bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

Cheers for the heads up!
    I got 2 of these today for my E90 320D.
    It uses 5.5L of oil so I usually get the Halfords own brand 5L and an extra 1L.

-Corkie- wrote: »
    ..........38 Euro for 4 litres of Castrol edge is savage value IMO and you can get a further 10% of with this: http://www.groupscheme.com/ie/vouchers/voucher-halfords.php?real-domain=ireland.groupscheme.com

Again credit to Evostik for that post.

No expiry date on that groupscheme :cool:

My mechanic will be using an oil that is the same spec as this, but a cheaper brand,is there any point buying this and bringing to him instead? It's for a mkv gti, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

My mechanic will be using an oil that is the same spec as this, but a cheaper brand,is there any point buying this and bringing to him instead? It's for a mkv gti, thanks.

Use a quality oil in your car dude. On a turbo car use the best oil you can afford, I personally don't rate the castrol oils and believe a lot of people have been brainwashed by clever marketing. For your car I'd recommend a good quality 5w30 longlife like this. Millers are used by guys that have spent thousands building engines and is trusted by a lot of the guys involved in Irish motorsport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Cheers for the heads up!
    I got 2 of these today for my E90 320D.
    It uses 5.5L of oil so I usually get the Halfords own brand 5L and an extra 1L.

I use the 0W 30 Castrol Edge oil for my E46 320d....also on special offer from Halfords afaik.

Edit: Here it is... http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_199423_categoryId_212419_langId_-1?cm_sp=Intelligent_Offer-_-Product_Details_Zone_1-_-Blank&iozone=PDPz1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

So many oils, so many certifications! :confused::confused:

Gonna change the oil in my yoke in a couple of months. From memory, Lexus recommend 5W-30, API SJ/SL certified oil with no requirement for fully synth(i.e. pretty much any bog standard oil). Presumably EDGE is Castrol's 'top' product, yet it doesn't list an API certification. Magnatec does (SM grade). I'm guessing EDGE should be fine. Am I right or should I go with the Magnatec (or even some bargain basement semi synth)?

.........Presumably EDGE is Castrol's 'top' product, yet it doesn't list an API certification. .............?

any good to you............... ?

Castrol EDGE Meets or exceeds the world’s toughest industry specifications:
    ACEA A1/B1, A5/B5 (0W-20 and 5W-20 meet ACEA A1/B1 only)
    dexos1TM performance requirements in 5W-20 and 5W-30 viscosities3
    ILSAC GF-5, API SN

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_usa/STAGING/local_assets/downloads/f/Castrol_EDGE_FAQ.pdf

RoverJames wrote: »
    any good to you............... ?

Castrol EDGE Meets or exceeds the world’s toughest industry specifications:
    ACEA A1/B1, A5/B5 (0W-20 and 5W-20 meet ACEA A1/B1 only)
    dexos1TM performance requirements in 5W-20 and 5W-30 viscosities3
    ILSAC GF-5, API SN

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_usa/STAGING/local_assets/downloads/f/Castrol_EDGE_FAQ.pdf

Cheers. Didn't have that on the UK site though (that I saw).:rolleyes:

Onkle wrote: »
    Use a quality oil in your car dude. On a turbo car use the best oil you can afford, I personally don't rate the castrol oils and believe a lot of people have been brainwashed by clever marketing. For your car I'd recommend a good quality 5w30 longlife like this. Millers are used by guys that have spent thousands building engines and is trusted by a lot of the guys involved in Irish motorsport

I have heard the same thing about Castrol stuff aswell. Mobil 1 ESP formula is supposed to be better.

I remember GPF 101 was on here lately looking for oil for his Fathers Mazda 6 diesel. Mazda told him the Castrol 5W-30 was not good enough even though Castrol said it was the correct oil for that car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

8L bought this morning (2 cars on the 5w30). Thanks for the groupscheme link, had lost it since the last time it was mentioned....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

Umm... I feel a need to come clean & confess...

So, after some deliberation I did succumb, print off a Groupscheme voucher, grit my teeth, and present myself at Halfrauds Liffey Valley, picked up 2x 4Ls Edge 0W-30, and steeled myself for a row ("Sorry sir the discounts are finished", "Sorry sir that kind of oil's not included...", "Sorry sir we don't take those vouchers...", or "Sorry bud we're closin'..." etc)

Instead, cheery til person scanned the 2 containers and the voucher, handed me back the voucher and said "That's €36 <something> cents please" - thereby only briefly interrupting on a loud parallel conversation being held all the while with a colleague who was stood around 20 feet away.

"Umm... €36 <something> did you say?"

"...eh, yeah..."

"OK! Thanks! B-bye now!"

8Ls for €36... I LOVE Halfrauds!!!*

*I know, I'm a bad man. A BAD bad man... A bad bad BAD man...

M

"Umm... €36 <something> did you say?"

"...eh, yeah..."

"OK! Thanks! B-bye now!"

8Ls for €36... I LOVE Halfrauds!!!*

*I know, I'm a bad man. A BAD bad man... A bad bad BAD man...

Nothing better than getting a "computer says yes" person who knows there's clearly something up but has their faith in those microchips telling them how much to charge :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

VW are selling quantum oil in that grade for less than halfords promotion prices, it's 36.95 inc vat iirc and it's a 5L bottle.
    I was in Bradeys VW on Monday and it's on display priced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

BOGOF you lucky fecker testarossa! Sadly they were all out of the new speakers I was gonna treat myself to, would have been skipping out the door if I got a bogof deal on oil and speakers....

FFS I'm even more confused now! :confused::mad:

Picked up 8 litres of Edge yesterday. However, looks like the info posted yesterday by RJ is specific to the US market ("Edge with Syntec/Titanium") and not Europe (just plain old 'Edge'). The US one meets A5/B5 (newer version of A1/B1) and the EU one (which is what Halford's have) meets B3.

Issues:

1. A5/B5 and A3/B3 are mutually exclusive. A3/B3 has a higher 'high temp high shear' (= higher viscosity?) than A5/B5.

2. The Edge I bought doesn't list A3, just B3 which is a diesel certification (I have a direct injection petrol).

At the end of the day I suspect there is little real world difference in our climate and I'm not exactly going everywhere at 8000 rpm either. However, I'd like to know if it'll total my engine as well! Anyone have any insight?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

What car are you driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That castrol edge is still expensive given that its only 4L drum.
    As someone said, VW are selling an own brand oil 5L for pd engines etc for under €40. I dont know what the quality of that is like but if the manufacturer is putting their name to it and selling it across the dealer network, Im assuming its not muck.

On a side note, I got the car serviced at Audi dealer, basic service on an offer price of €120. Hardly worth climbing under the car myself at those kind of prices, given that I get a dealer stamp, fluids topped up etc and a reasonable inspection on the lift. I did it myself the last time and it cost me €85 for mobil 1 & a genuine filter. Dealer invoice listed 5L of castrol slx longlife although I wouldnt count on that given the price. Will change oil myself again at 9,000 miles and let dealer do it next time to keep a reasonable history file together.

gpf101 wrote: »
    What car are you driving?
    2005 Lexus GS300 3.0L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 lankythecamel

Lastbuilders
    Yes it would,but your wasting money,Castrol Edge is a long life fully synthetic oil.Use a standard 5w30 fully synthetic oil.You can pick up 5litres for 24 euros,in most motor factors.Always change the oil and oil filter every ten thousand miles,you will never have a problem after that.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 lankythecamel

http://www.carbibles.com/engineoil_bible.html

There two oil standards,API and ACEA

API = America Standard
    ACEA = European Standard