Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Car Number Plates

• 15-07-2011 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭

Anyone any idea of why people would steal number plates off a car?

I know they used to do it to use the number plates on a different car and get away with robberies / cross borders etc. But since it is fairly cheap and easy to buy a number plate these days I don't know why a criminal planning a major crime would risk getting caught doing petty crime like this? (other than just being a dumb ****ér)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Maybe someone wanted it for their restaurant, to make it look all kooky and fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

So they wont be on any cameras inside car accessories stores...Something is being planned and your plates will be used and put on a stolen car of same/similar model..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Robbing petrol from stations also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Dodge automated toll gantry charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

going thru the toll bridges and speeding past gatso vans also...

who'd ya piss off:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Seosaimh77

charlemont wrote: »
    So they wont be on any cameras inside car accessories stores...Something is being planned and your plates will be used and put on a stolen car of same/similar model..
    I suppose - but I know of this happening recently and there was about 5 witnesses (none of whom tried to stop them). Could just easily been a copper off duty looking at them.

Plus, now the plates are reported stolen, so the cops could be keeping an eye out etc. Might be unlikely but if I was a criminal I wouldn't be leaving things like that up to chance.

was a friend of mine... poor bástard has had a few things like this happen to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Any one hear about couple of lads in Donegal making up the same plate as the Gatso van and tearing past about 10 times....System is automated so the operator should have 20 points now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Any one hear about couple of lads in Donegal making up the same plate as the Gatso van and tearing past about 10 times....System is automated so the operator should have 20 points now:D

LOL!! Brilliant !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Happen to me years ago, plates robbed and car very similar to mine
    was used in a robbery.

I was stopped two weeks later, took a bit of explaining to the Gardai
    that it was the other guys and not me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭4Sheets

Was happening here in our underground car park..someone was nicking them//we where advised to put the front bumper to the wall.. the m50 toll was mentioned as the probable cause..money is tight and if you use the toll everyday for work..it adds up...This is a secure flat complex so it was possibly residents.:(

4Sheets wrote: »
    Was happening here in our underground car park..someone was nicking them//we where advised to put the front bumper to the wall.. the m50 toll was mentioned as the probable cause..money is tight and if you use the toll everyday for work..it adds up...This is a secure flat complex so it was possibly residents.:(
    jaysus, man that sucks. Nice to know your neighbours are such lovely people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭LPHeadstrong

I was reading thing Glad it's not happening these days. Saw it was today!
    The girlfriend was called up twice for passing through the toll both in Dublin. The odd thing was she'd never drove there and both times was a different car. When confronted their only response was "Oh sorry. Turns out it was a completely different car"!
    Twice! That's just shifty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Big criminals don't risk stealing them. They have young criminals to do that for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

4Sheets wrote: »
    /we where advised to put the front bumper to the wall.. :(

Can't they just steal the back ones then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭4Sheets

Can't they just steal the back ones then?

Yeah sure they can But I think they need the pair to complete whatever scam they are up to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

One of the UK driving shows did an article on it once. They removed their own plates in public car parks etc and no one reported/approached them. They claimed reg plates are the most stolen car part....

Sister in law was tormented for a couple of months by phone calls from gardai asking about petrol station drive offs/non payments. I was surprised at the calls because the cars didn't match hers. Also my elderly Mother was contacted by M50 crowd for non payment. Picture showed her exact colour model and reg but it definitely wasn't her car. They took her word on it. I know a man who claims he didn't cross the M50 but paid up to avoid further hassle as photo showed his van model, colour and reg.
    There was a taxi driver on radio a while back who claimed someone had a replica of his taxi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭x_Ellie_x

Went up to Blanch shopping centre today with a mate, and when we were driving home, we noticed the car in front of us had a piece of paper stuck over their licence plate with another number printed on it. We noticed it was fake cause we were looking straight at it from a few feet away, but maybe the cameras wouldn't be able to tell it was fake. I wonder how often people get away with doing stuff like that.