Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2nd Motor Tax Renewal notice for a written-off car currently in dealership?

• 15-07-2011 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭

Was in a car crash late last year (no-one hurt thankfully) and car was towed to a local dealership.

Bought a new car off the same dealership and agreed that I'd get whatever the scrappage was for the old car (not much I'd imagine).

Filed for a Motor Tax Refund and forget the specifics (it was last December) but I informed them the car was waiting to be scrapped, and they told me whenever they recieved the end-of-life-certificate in Shannon, I'd get a refund.

Now a load of dillying-dallying / "dicking about" from the dealership means I got no refund (it wouldn't have been much) and no scrappage either. No end-of-life certificate obviously reached Shannon as I got a motor tax renewal form about 2 - 3 months back. I rang the tax office who told me I'd to get a form (which they sent out) signed by a Commissioner of Oaths to state I wasn't in possession of the car, or something to that effect. That form arrived as a busy time in my life and I forgot about it.

Now I got a further renewal notice stating the tax is still unpaid and liable for fees / prosecution.

Now either the dealership are trying to fix up the old car and make a quick buck, or it's sitting in a scrapyard somewhere.

Have a call into the owner of the dealership so he'll phone me back. Should I just get that form signed by a Commissioner of Oaths or be done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Are you keeping the car or have you sold it ?

If you sold it to the dealership then you should have signed the vlc and sent it off to shannon with the new owner.

If you still own the car then you can ignore the threats from the motortax office - they always send out 2 notices when your motortax has lapsed. One to say its due an then another one later on with a few threats about it being a offence not to tax a vehicle (usual in red lettering).

If your worried about it - either "sell" the car to the dealership and post off the vlc or send off the form about it being scrapped. I wouldnt leave it registered to yourself with the dealer having possession - unless you are having it fixed up for yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Name and shame and send the Dealer a link....(thats assuming yiou are already banging on his desk regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

voxpop wrote: »
    Are you keeping the car or have you sold it ?

If you sold it to the dealership then you should have signed the vlc and sent it off to shannon with the new owner.
    Neither, I was assured by the ownership the car would be scrapped.

I didn't sell it.. I was told it was un-salvageable and that they'd scrap it.
    If you still own the car then you can ignore the threats from the motortax office - they always send out 2 notices when your motortax has lapsed. One to say its due an then another one later on with a few threats about it being a offence not to tax a vehicle (usual in red lettering).
    Technically, I probably still own the vehicle since it's not been scrapped and I never filled in a change-of-ownership.
    corktina wrote: »
    Name and shame and send the Dealer a link....(thats assuming yiou are already banging on his desk regularly
    I'd rather not name the dealer to be honest.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Get it certified that its off the road since last year.

Go down to the guards with the appropriate form get it stamped and it should be sorted.

Do you still own the car?

Basq wrote: »

Technically, I probably still own the vehicle since it's not been scrapped and I never filled in a change-of-ownership.

I would then either "sell" it to the dealership or declare it scrapped with whatever form is needed. Its messy otherwise.

godtabh wrote: »
    Get it certified that its off the road since last year.

Go down to the guards with the appropriate form get it stamped and it should be sorted.
    I got the Motor Tax Refund form stamped by the car..

.. as I said above, the Motor Tax Office did send me out a form that I'd have to get signed by the Commissioner of Oaths.

Not at home so can't tell you specifics of the form.
    I would then either "sell" it to the dealership or declare it scrapped with whatever form is needed. Its messy otherwise.
    I did declare it scrapped on the Motor Tax Refund form AFAIK, but they'd to wait for the end-of-life-cert in Shannon before they could process it..

.. which they never got.

A chat with the dealer will prob sort it out. The easiest way would be to stick their name on the vlc as the new owner and sent it off to shannon - if both of ye are happy with that and you dont care what happens with the car.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I got the Motor Tax Refund form stamped by the car..

.. as I said above, the Motor Tax Office did send me out a form that I'd have to get signed by the Commissioner of Oaths.

Not at home so can't tell you specifics of the form.

I did declare it scrapped on the Motor Tax Refund form AFAIK, but they'd to wait for the end-of-life-cert in Shannon before they could process it..

.. which they never got.

If its off the road you dont need to pay the tax. You can get a form for the gardai that states the car has been off the road for a period of time. Get this sorted while you sort out the dealer side of it.

Is the tax refund form the same as off the road form? I cant find it on the net but I'll try and have a better look later

If its off the road you dont need to pay the tax. You can get a form for the gardai that states the car has been off the road for a period of time. Get this sorted while you sort out the dealer side of it.

You dont need the gardai to sign that form until you are re-taxing it, which it seems he isnt so no need to bother.

Is the tax refund form the same as off the road form? I cant find it on the net but I'll try and have a better look later
    This is the Motor Tax Refund - RF120.. and it does state:

"Vehicle Not Used (since issue of the tax date)" as one of the reasons for refund.

When I filled it out, my car was 4 months away from the tax disc expiring so that wouldn't have been an option. Think I filled in 'Vehicle Scrapped / Destroyed' but I had no date of scrappage, so probably just filled in the date of the crash. Can't remember.. it was last December.

At the end of the day, I'm not bothered about what happens the car.. I just don't want any more of these notifications.

Think the Motor Tax Renewal form is the one to be used when declaring a car is off the road - RF100A.

See section at the bottom.

Think the Motor Tax Renewal form is the one to be used when declaring a car is off the road - RF100A.

See section at the bottom.

Yes thats the one - but as you say its a motor tax renewal form. You only use it when renewing your motortax, thats when you declare it off the road otherwise you would be liable for all the tax since the last tax disc expired.

You will get renewal notices in the post, but they are just for your information and to remind you that its illegal to drive the car without tax.

I wouldnt worry about he tax reminders(there is usually only 2 anyway) - Id be more concerned about either changing the ownership to the dealer or declaring it scrapped. Youre then covered if the car ever ends up somewhere it shouldnt or gets a bunch of fines,etc.

Rang the local Motor Tax Office and explained it.. the girl was very nice.

She said the easiest way of stop motor tax notifications at this stage is to to get myself and the dealership to fill in an RF105.

http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/MotorTax/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,493,en.pdf