Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scruffy Mick and irony

• 13-07-2011 8:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭

Scruffy Mick Wallace came out with a gem yesterday when referring to Mary Mitchell O'Connor yesterday,
    Are they going to bar her from wearing pink?

Do you think Mickey is getting a little green eyed that someone is wearing the same colour in work as him, and pulling it off better ?

Fully story in a few of todays papers, here's the Indos take
    WHAT a pair of Muppets. Ming Flanagan and Mick Wallace were caught calling a fellow TD 'Miss Piggy' in the Dail chamber yesterday.

The Statler and Waldorf of the Dail, plus fellow Independent Shane Ross, were having a gossip during the Order of Business and were unaware a nearby microphone was on. And obviously the new edict about suitable attire in the chamber still rankles with Ming and Mick.

For Mick, modelling one of his trademark pink shirts, was clearly heard to remark: "Miss Piggy has toned down a bit today."

"Who's that?" asked a bewildered Shane.

"The Mary Mitchell O'Connor one," says Ming helpfully, "the one who drove off the plinth."

The sniggering duo were referring to Fine Gael's Dun Laoghaire TD (left), whose vivid outfits have added a most welcome splash of colour to Leinster House.

"Are they going to bar her from wearing pink?" muttered Mick.

How ungallant. All one can say lads is -- it's time to face the music. Or as (the one and only) Miss Piggy might say: "Hiii-yaaaaah!"

- Lise Hand
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Does this make Enda Kermit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

He might not be scruffy for long with the new dress code possibly on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Non-story, tbh.

Way more important shit going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

He might not be scruffy for long with the new dress code possibly on the way

Does anyone else see "new dress code" = "new dress bonus" as there is no way any of those shower are going to pay for any extra expenses incurred themselves!

As for Mick, he needs a good kick up the arse, the Indo are bang on calling him a muppet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

Country in the s4itter and this is one of the top stories. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Can't see how they can even try claim additional expenses for a suit, sure Mick will pick up a Guinneys special with either the trousers and cuffs around his ankles and forearms or he'll drag out his communion suit.

Where's s4itter, is that like Twitter ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

total non-story. It was the lead story on Breakfast NT this morning. Laughable.

So a group of politicians, who are elected to represent the public, make disparaging comments about a colleague, which in a private company would contravene all sorts of ethical and bullying policies, is a non-story to you ? Sexist pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Two wallies, hypocritical wallies at that.

tbh wrote: »
    total non-story. It was the lead story on Breakfast NT this morning. Laughable.
    Very tabloid-esque if you ask me.

John Murray had Wallace on his show and it seemed as if he was revelling in listening to the guy grovel and apologise. Ridiculous.

Who hasn't given a childish nickname to a work colleague?

Mitchell O'Connor has been on radio programmes all morning saying that she wants it forgotten about. Then stop going on the radio and talking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Telling people how they should and shouldnt dress isnt really a priority is it?

This has been discussed on national radio.

How embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Scruffy Mick Wallace came out with a gem yesterday when referring to Mary Mitchell O'Connor yesterday,

Do you think Mickey is getting a little green eyed that someone is wearing the same colour in work as him, and pulling it off better ?

Fully story in a few of todays papers, here's the Indos take

Slow news day I take it.

Really petty name calling is making the broadsheets?

Obviously things like wasting tax payers money on ridiculous expenses and things of that ilk are newsworthy but at the end of the day the dail is their workplace and there are going to be innappropriate jokes among friends, people who don't get along etc. We can ask for integrity in their roles as public servants but at the end of the day they are people and no one should care about stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Was just reading that on Journal.ie, fecking hilarious stuff.

http://www.thejournal.ie/mick-wallace-labels-mary-mitchell-oconnor-miss-piggy-175763-Jul2011/

This is the transcript of the conversation (for anyone on phones and can't click the link)

The full exchange is as follows:
    Mick Wallace “…Miss Piggy has toned it down a bit today.”
    Shane Ross: “Who’s that?”
    Wallace: “Miss Piggy has toned it down a bit.”
    Flanagan: “That Mary Mitchell O’Connor one. I couldn’t remember her name on Vincent Browne.”
    Ross: “Was she on with you?”
    Flanagan: “No she wasn’t…the one who drove off the plinth…they’d want to ban her wearing pink.” (Flanagan is referring to the incident earlier this year where Mitchell O’Connor took a wrong turn on her first day in the Dáil and drove down steps outside Leinster House)
    Ross: “[Laughter]. Oh yeah, that’s right. She’s nothing sensational, she normally wears the most garish colours (trails off)…”
    A number of Mitchell O’Connor’s party colleagues have heavily criticised the remarks and the behaviour of the independent TDs.
    Fine Gael chief whip Paul Kehoe has indicated he is investigating the matter and that it may be referred to the Dáil Committee on Privileges and Procedure, according to the Irish Daily Mail.
    Mitchell O’Connor’s party colleague, Alan Farrell tweeted last night: “Poor judgement by Mick Wallace TD. Calling a colleague a schoolyard name is beneath a parliamentarian.”
    Mary Mitchell-O’Connor has told TheJournal.ie she will be responding to the matter later today.
    Mick Wallace, Shane Ross and Luke Ming Flanagan could not be reached for comment this morning.

mackg wrote: »
    Slow news day I take it.

Obviously things like wasting tax payers money on ridiculous expenses and things of that ilk are newsworthy but at the end of the day the dail is their workplace and there are going to be innappropriate jokes among friends, people who don't get along etc. We can ask for integrity in their roles as public servants but at the end of the day they are people and no one should care about stuff like this.

Lots of unimportant stories are reported. Thats the newpapers fault for giving it creedence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

So a group of politicians, who are elected to represent the public, make disparaging comments about a colleague, which in a private company would contravene all sorts of ethical and bullying policies, is a non-story to you ? Sexist pig.

You should be preparing lunch.

Slow news day I take it.

The man is not on a building site any more. I guess you've lower professional standards than myself but I wouldn't stoop so low as to childishly name call a colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

Telling them how to dress isn't a prioroty, but they've been elected to represent their constituents, themselves and the country, they should be presentable.

Wallace wouldn't go to a wedding in his snickers trousers and pink t-shirt, similarly he shouldn't turning up in the Dail dressed like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Non issue tbh, but at least I now know that Doll Iron is worrying about f**king dress codes while we go down the sh**ter. :rolleyes:

Lumbo wrote: »
    You should be preparing lunch.

Dumb ass, I'm a bloke, a modern one at that as opposed to all you neanderthals that inhabit After Hours.

And lunch is prepared since last night, that's how good I am.

The dress code is about respect for the people of Ireland, I wouldn't go meet a client looking like him representing my company, why should he represent us to the rest of the world looking like that ? Anyone who works client facing know it's all about appearance.

mod: banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Its Wallace who is turning this into an issue. Every past member of the Dáil has managed to bring themselves suitably attired. This lad needed them to bring in a rule to teach his uncultured ass not to make a mockery out of the house. If he'd not brought up the issue it wouldn't have occurred, so its his fault.

Scruffy Mick Wallace...
    Sexist pig.
    Dumb ass, I'm a bloke, a modern one at that as opposed to all you neanderthals that inhabit After Hours.

For someone so enlightened and modern, you're not averse to a bit of childish name-calling yourself.

The difference is that when necessity requires it I can insult everyone in equal measure, but I look good while doing it, and therefore taken more serious so my childish remarks are a lot more cutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

The dress code is about respect for the people of Ireland, I wouldn't go meet a client looking like him representing my company, why should he represent us to the rest of the world looking like that ? Anyone who works client facing know it's all about appearance.

Do your own ironing as well?

The man is not on a building site any more. I guess you've lower professional standards than myself but I wouldn't stoop so low as to childishly name call a colleague.

It's grand if they are not a colleague though?

See above mackg.

And yes, I do my own ironing when required, look it up on youtube, I'm sure there's an instructional video on it for you, don't PM me looking for tips, they'll go straight into my spam folder.

But you've hit on something there, maybe that's why Mick is a scruff, he wants to look well but is too embarrassed to admit he can't iron ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

lol @ "client facing" I'm a client and when someone shows up giving me the sales pitch in a their stripey suit, cuff links and f**k off wrist watch I tend to disregard them unless they start showing some serious substance, which they rarely do.

Wallace is an elected representative, if he wants to show up in the dail wearing a barney costume that's between him, his constituents and the ballot box.

Nonsense

Your ruining your own argument here. Considering it took you about 4 posts to throw a tantrum I wonder how professional you really are?

The difference is that when necessity requires it I can insult everyone in equal measure, but I look good while doing it, and therefore taken more serious so my childish remarks are a lot more cutting.
    Looking good while insulting people on the internet is a bit pointless really, isn't it.

You may look good, but you sound ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

So Mary Mitchell O'Conner brings a splash of colour to the dail but Mick Wallace is making a mockery of the house by wearing a pink shirt ?

And I knew there was a reason I didnt read the Indo, its biased, sexist tripe written by sudo intellectual idiots. Not surprisingly the online rag known as the journal has latched onto this one too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Lustrum wrote: »
    Telling them how to dress isn't a prioroty, but they've been elected to represent their constituents, themselves and the country, they should be presentable.

The people that elected him have no issue with what colour shirt he wears.

You can dress him up but you can't take him out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I suppose somebody had to become Ms. Piggy since Harney left. I suppose Cowen was Oscar (the grouchy one). /runs away

Your ruining your own argument here. Considering it took you about 4 posts to throw a tantrum I wonder how professional you really are?

You misquote me, I never said nonsense. Nor have I thrown a tantrum, but there's a lot of people getting whiney for After Hours for a couple of piss take responses in keeping with After Hours tradition of people trying to bait me, bunch of babies don't like it when it doesn't go the way you want.

But the underlying point remains, stupid remarks to be caught making by elected representatives. As some of you say here there's a lot more serious issues in the country today than this story. Then why would 3 grown men be making these comments in the dail rather than discussing these issues that some of you so happily pointed out for me ? And as someone else said, Wallace , Ming and RBB are making the dress code the issue that it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Mick Wallace was on the Last Word last week complaining about the dress code issue being a distraction from him tending to his official duties in the Dail.

So now it seems that even when he's in the chamber attending to his official duties, he'd rather distract his buddies with a bitch-fest about how another elected official dresses.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The point is though, these are grown men - adults, supposedly.
    If they were 14 years of age you'd tell them to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Skunkle wrote: »
    So Mary Mitchell O'Conner brings a splash of colour to the dail but Mick Wallace is making a mockery of the house by wearing a pink shirt ?

And I knew there was a reason I didnt read the Indo, its biased, sexist tripe written by sudo intellectual idiots. Not surprisingly the online rag known as the journal has latched onto this one too.

Just what I was about to say. If Wallace can't wear a pink shirt then why can she wear pink suits?

You misquote me, I never said nonsense. Nor have I thrown a tantrum, but there's a lot of people getting whiney for After Hours for a couple of piss take responses in keeping with After Hours tradition of people trying to bait me, bunch of babies don't like it when it doesn't go the way you want.

But the underlying point remains, stupid remarks to be caught making by elected representatives. As some of you say here there's a lot more serious issues in the country today than this story. Then why would 3 grown men be making these comments in the dail rather than discussing these issues that some of you so happily pointed out for me ? And as someone else said, Wallace , Ming and RBB are making the dress code the issue that it is.

Everything I posted was a direct response to something you posted, everything I posted had a fairly respectful tone bar one joke which was indicated as a joke. The tone of your posts including the one quoted above have been far from respectful to the other posters in this thread. You are the only one insulting anyone. I don't appreciate being accused of whining or being a neanderthal or a baby and I won't be dragged down to name calling.

My point remains on the matter this stuff happens everywhere.

Mick Wallace was on the Last Word last week complaining about the dress code issue being a distraction from him tending to his official duties in the Dail.

So now it seems that even when he's in the chamber attending to his official duties, he'd rather distract his buddies with a bitch-fest about how another elected official dresses.
    So you're saying that you have never had a bit of banter with your work colleagues during a recess at a meeting or during a conference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

spurious wrote: »
    The point is though, these are grown men - adults, supposedly.
    If they were 14 years of age you'd tell them to cop on.

So is it ok for everyone to call Brian Cowen "Biffo" but referring to Mary Mitchell O'Connor as Miss Piggy is a huge scandal?

There's a massive difference between having a bit of banter with a colleague, and then casually insulting another behind their back.

Ah MackG, don't go, you're great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

Skunkle wrote: »
    The people that elected him have no issue with what colour shirt he wears.

Maybe not but when he's sitting in the elected house for the country he's representing me aswell

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

mstan wrote: »
    So is it ok for everyone to call Brian Cowen "Biffo" but referring to Mary Mitchell O'Connor as Miss Piggy is a huge scandal?

No it's not OK.
    These people are responsible for legislation in this country - just how low are our standards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I do not see the harm in what he said sure isnt everyone in Fine Gael a f**king muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

After this happened, they went behind the bikesheds for a smoke and wrote Mick <3 Mary 4evah on their schoolbags, then bunked off double maths to go to the slots. In the afternoon session, they answered the Ceann Comhailre's attempts to bring order to the chamber by saying "whatevs, you're not my real dad" and were given detention, a note in their journals and extra ecker.

There's a massive difference between having a bit of banter with a colleague, and then casually insulting another behind their back.

Ah MackG, don't go, you're great fun.

I realised I have literally nothing else to do so my exit was announced prematurely;). In every job you make friends, people who you talk more freely with than the general office population. The story even states that this conversation was overheard in the Dail. So whoever heard it went running to find a journalist, which means they were probably more interested in discrediting these 3 TDs than they were deeply morally offended by what they were speaking about.

I realised I have literally nothing else to do so my exit was announced prematurely;)

Ha ha, I told you you were great fun.

The conversation was overheard by an open microphone so there was no journalists skulking in the shadows trying to get dirt on them. They have a lot to learn about the workings of the house.

I'm off to tune into Midday on TV3 for lunch, you can bet they'll have some balanced and considered views on the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Some people dress to impress. Fascists have always been aware of the power of a well considered 'uniform'.
    The Irish voter is constantly fooled by the wolf in sheep's clothing. Notable examples; Bertie in an anorak, The Healy-Rae dynasty in caps, Wallace in a pink shirt, Ming sans razor.
    Never judge a book by it's cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Has anyone said 'OP dosnt seem to understand what irony is' yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

After this happened, they went behind the bikesheds for a smoke and wrote Mick <3 Mary 4evah on their schoolbags, then bunked off double maths to go to the slots. In the afternoon session, they answered the Ceann Comhailre's attempts to bring order to the chamber by saying "whatevs, you're not my real dad" and were given detention, a note in their journals and extra ecker.

Freeze frame