Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you recommend any World War 2 films?

• 12-07-2011 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭

Well, I'm hugely interested in World War 2 and was wondering if you wise people could recommened some movies for me?:D I've seen the 'classics' like Schindler's List several times but I'm looking for something new! I've also seen (and loved) "The Pianist", "Grave of the Fireflies" and "Life Is Beautiful" ( Yes, they're all so cheerful! :p), so anything along those line would be great!

Thanks in advance! Also, if ye could explain your choices, because I think making list threads is a no-no in this forum and I don't want to get in trouble! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Escape to Victory
    Letters From Iwo Jima
    Flags of Our Fathers
    Bridge on the River Kwai
    Das Boot
    Empire of the Sun
    Where Eagles Dare
    Downfall

edit: Ooops, forgot to give reasons, I'll get back to that!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The longest day.
    Patton.
    All of the above.
    There's also a WW2 forum:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1054

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

The Thin Red Line
    Saving Private Ryan

Band of Brothers is amazing but it's not a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Although a TV show Band of Brothers might for all the world be a 10 hour film. If you haven't seen it your in for a big treat because it's based on a true story to boot. One of the very few 5/5 ratings I would give a film/show.

I saw Valkyrie for the first time not too long ago and it was much much better then I thought it would be. Well worth a watch and it's a little different.

Harts War is not exactly a WW2 film but based in the time in a POW camp but I also found it very enjoyable.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

It's more of a prison film than a war film but Stalag 17 is worth a watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BrianOFlanagan

All of the above and "Enemy at the gates" because it's a true story and you don't see many movies based just on sniping and/or the Russian side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

The Big Red 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭breadmond

Tora Tora Tora is a brilliant film about pearl harbour, it's also very historically accurate, much better than pearl harbour (the movie) which I couldn't stand. Das boot is heavy going but one of my all-time favorites, it really captures the hellish environment of a u boat and the fact that it is from a German perspective is interesting.

All of the above and "Enemy at the gates".

Worst. Movie. Ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭8mv

+1 for
    Enemy at the Gates
    Downfall
    Saving P Ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

+1 for empire of the sun.

I cried when i watch it.
    I still do.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I don't think there's going to be much discussion in here, so just list away, folks, and I'll lock this once the OP has enough suggestions.

Hmmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Long time since I saw it, but I thought "Escape from Sobibor" was good

Das boot,
    Midway,
    Heaven Knows Mr Allison (Im sure not one most would pick, where I found out about Sake, but one I liked)

edit
    also
    Deer Hunter and Catch 22

I like the anti war ones, even when the theme seems like a war movie so the thin red line too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Caine's Mutiny

here's another defiance 2008 daniel craig. its a good movie.

Another is Valkyrie i think by tom cruise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

The Battle of Britain - very realistic film
    Bridge on the River Kwai - ditto
    The Great Escape - superb entertainment
    Kelly's Heroes - ditto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I've always had a soft spot for "A Bridge Too Far".
    For a start,it doesn't feature an allied victory but Operation Market Garden ,an ultimately failed attempt to capture three bridges and launch a spearhead into Germany in 1944.
    Secondly it's broadly historically accurate,even in some scenes which seem outlandish (e.g.
    Jemes Caan pulling a gun on a doctor to save his friend
    )
    Thirdly it has a stellar cast, including Sean Connery,Robert Redford,James Caan,Dirk Bogarde, and most significantly Anthony Hopkins is superb as Lt. Col John Frost leading the doomed troops at Arnhem bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Manco

Come and See, a Russian film about the Nazis in Belarus. Not an easy watch by any stretch of the imagination, but it really gets across the horror of their atrocities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

The Pianist, tough going but a beautiful film. Not exactly heavy on war action though. Still a great WW2 film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Nearly all the recommendations mentioned are excellent. You can't really go far wrong with WW2 films. Scratch that, you can go wrong, horribly wrong! Before the thread closes, I'm going to recommend 'Ilsa She Wolf of the SS'. It's one of the most tasteless films I've ever witnessed! :p

Seriously though, the only film not on the list so far that I'd highly recommend (after seeing the rest) would be Paul Verhoeven's 'Soldier of Orange'. It's unique in may ways as it is taken from the perspective of someone who lived through those times and (to my knowledge) not many films come out of Holland that are boys own type action films, but this is one of the best.

The Pianist, tough going but a beautiful film. Not exactly heavy on war action though. Still a great WW2 film.
    Hmm, I wonder if the OP has seen this? If only there was some way to know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Sonovagun

Kellys Heroes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Hmm, I wonder if the OP has seen this? If only there was some way to know...
    Says he who posted a big list despite the OP asking for reasons. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

I'd recommend Triumph of the Will followed by Night and Fog. For me it's a pretty 'perfect' double bill.

Germany Year Zero is another good one, some fantastic footage of a Berlin in ruins too.

Others to check:

Im toten Winkel - Hitlers Sekretärin
    Sophie Scholl: The Final Days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Merch wrote: »
    The Big Red 1

Great film.

OP, if you get this film only buy the bos that has

The Big Red One : The Reconstruction

on the cover.

This is the uncut version of the film that was released some years after Fuller died.

The original theatrical release is about 50 minutes shorter and is missing a number of complete scenes that cause the shorter version to jar badly storywise.

The Reconstruction version flows as the film was meant to and actually feels shorter than the much weaker original release.

Lee Marvin is excellent in the film and the supporting cast are quite good. It basically spans how a small group of soldiers and their sergeant get by from the very start of the war right up to when the war ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Europa Europa is a favorite of mine. Darkly comic and based on a true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The Big Red One was partly filmed in Meath. Trim Castle and the Boyne are used

Just throwing that in there if you're a local and you can see what you can spot :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Some foreign films worth considering:

The Counterfeiters - superb film based on a true story about a Nazi plan to flood Europe with counterfeit cash produced in a concentration camp. Won the Best Foreign Film Oscar a few years ago.

Downfall - Hitler's last days in the Berlin bunker.

Black Book - Dutch film about the resistance during the Nazi occupation.

Of those already mentioned I'd definitely second:

Band of Brothers
    The Great Escape
    Tora! Tora! Tora!

And a couple of others worth watching:

Cross of Iron
    The Bridge at Remagen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

In no particular order & off the top of my head.

Hitler - (the Robert Carlyle version)
    39th Battalion
    The Eagle has landed
    Attack on Leningrad
    The Night of the Generals
    Downfall
    The Night Porter
    The Damned
    Come and see
    Triumph of the Will
    The Big red one (recon)
    Das Boot
    Battle of the Bulge
    Stalingrad
    Saints and Soldiers
    The english patient
    Band of Brothers
    A Bridge too far
    The Longest Day
    Valkyrie
    The great escape
    Stalag 17
    PATTON
    Cross of Iron
    Salon Kitty

Says he who posted a big list despite the OP asking for reasons. :p
    Shuttupa yo face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭QDog10

cml387 wrote: »
    I've always had a soft spot for "A Bridge Too Far".
    For a start,it doesn't feature an allied victory but Operation Market Garden ,an ultimately failed attempt to capture three bridges and launch a spearhead into Germany in 1944.
    Secondly it's broadly historically accurate,even in some scenes which seem outlandish (e.g.
    Jemes Caan pulling a gun on a doctor to save his friend
    )
    Thirdly it has a stellar cast, including Sean Connery,Robert Redford,James Caan,Dirk Bogarde, and most significantly Anthony Hopkins is superb as Lt. Col John Frost leading the doomed troops at Arnhem bridge.

Best theme tune of any WW2 movie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Morlar wrote: »
    The english patient

up it's own hole boring ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 replica

THE GUNS OF NAVARONE. BASED ON A TRUE STORY AND WAS DECISIVE IN SWINGING THE WAR IN THE ALLIES FAVOUR.

Worst. Movie. Ever

The OP asked for a list of ww2 movies and reasons as to their recommendation. Never said they had to be critically acclaimed. Troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The Enemy Below

/thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

ziedth wrote: »
    Although a TV show Band of Brothers might for all the world be a 10 hour film. If you haven't seen it your in for a big treat because it's based on a true story to boot. One of the very few 5/5 ratings I would give a film/show.

I've heard only good things about this, I believe my boyf's friend may have it on DVD, will definetely be getting borrowed!:)

Manco wrote: »
    Come and See, a Russian film about the Nazis in Belarus. Not an easy watch by any stretch of the imagination, but it really gets across the horror of their atrocities.

For some reason, I really like films that dark and heavy-going (hence the interest in ww2!). That sounds very interesting, I'll check it out!:D

It's one of my all-time favourite films , though there are scenes I actually can't watch :(
    mikemac wrote: »
    The Big Red One was partly filmed in Meath. Trim Castle and the Boyne are used

Just throwing that in there if you're a local and you can see what you can spot :)

This one seems to be mentioned a lot so I'll check it out too, plus I like the Irish connection!

Thanks a million guys, yiz are a fountain of knowledge! I've loads to keep me going for the moment so that'll keep me busy!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

If you watch only 1 movie on this thread OP make sure it's Come And See.

It's a phantasmagoric horrorshow that's an essential watch for anybody interested in the genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

+1 for Das Boot
    and Ice Cold in Alex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Skerries wrote: »
    up it's own hole boring ****!

Tried to watch it twice and on both occasions fell fast asleep about twenty minutes in. Thunderously dull film.

Now I remember it!

Murphy's War. This is quality stuff lads!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067458/

Reason: It involves one Irish man taking on a whole bunch of nazis who really pissed him off and it's hilarious.

There's a great line in it where the French chap asks Murphy how he knew how to make bombs and he replies like this "from watchin my daddy make bombs for good men with noble causes".

+1 for Ice Cold in Alex

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,529 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Now I remember it!

Murphy's War. This is quality stuff lads!

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067458/

Reason: It involves one Irish man taking on a whole bunch of nazis who really pissed him off and it's hilarious.

There's a great line in it where the French chap asks Murphy how he knew how to make bombs and he replies like this "from watchin my daddy make bombs for good men with noble causes".

That was on telly last weekend or the weekend before, peter o'toole plays murphy, it was good alright,
    fairly depressing ending though!!