Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US man dies in 'Russian roulette' incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Bloody eejit.

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Colorado has four completely straight lines as borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

who would be stupid enough to do that.****ing idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Should it not be 'American roulette'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

pretty rare event according to wiki for what ever thats worth

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russian_roulette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Sure it must of been a barrel of laughs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭osullic

Anthony Martin, 21, and other men were drinking and playing with a gun before the incident,
    That's always going to end well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

You should see the amount of pistols on chat roulette!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Well I guess it broke up the monotonous deer hunting they used to do after a few beers :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

RIP

Sadly missed,

Yours,

Gene Pool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Another candidate for Darwin Awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭boardzz

He must have felt like a right tool after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

He won!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Shoulda stuck to beers, shots'll get ya every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Sad for his family and all but what an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

When playing russian roulette and someone shoots themselves what happens next? do they put another bullet in and go around the table until there is only one left standing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 west boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

didi mao...DIDI MAO !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

Colorado has four completely straight lines as borders.

Only straight if the world was flat. They wouldn't be straight on a globe or viewed from space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Evolution wins. Fatality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Good shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

squod wrote: »
    Good shot.

Be embarrassing to miss, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It never ceases to amaze me what some people will do to get out of paying for a round of drinks.He should have gone to the jacks like I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

pretty rare event according to wiki for what ever thats worth

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russian_roulette
    i would have thought a one in 6 chance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Smells of a cover up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

i would have thought a one in 6 chance??

He probably left six bullets in because he was feeling lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

mackg wrote: »
    When playing russian roulette and someone shoots themselves what happens next? do they put another bullet in and go around the table until there is only one left standing?

LOL!! and when there's only two left one of them can just shoot the other.

Who'd ever know?

What a way to spend an evening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Watch carefully, i may not show you again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Could they not do it with a bag of Revels like any normal person....gee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

didi mao...DIDI MAO !!!
    He was watching it while drinking the moonshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Didn't some world champion boxer die like that years ago? Anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

His friends told him not to do it. Wouldnt listen though.
    In one ear and out the other...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Joesh82

Investigators concluded Mr Martin had acted alone and the gun was legally registered to one of the men at the party, Sgt Bravo said.

So he was playing russian roulette alone, how does that work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

anybody want a game i have a 44magnum revolver ill only put one bullit in the chamber promise really i swear only 5 bullits and one chamber free:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

(28 February 2000, Texas) A Houston man earned a succinct lesson in gun safety when he played Russian roulette with a .45-caliber semiautomatic pistol. Rashaad, nineteen, was visiting friends when he announced his intention to play the deadly game. He apparently did not realize that a semiautomatic pistol, unlike a revolver, automatically inserts a cartridge into the firing chamber when the gun is cocked. His chance of winning a round of Russian roulette was zero, as he quickly discovered.
    - Darwin Awards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Must take some balls to play russian roulette with a loaded gun. Fair play and RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Imagine the awkward sense of shock afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

You wanna play games? All right, I'll play your fucking games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"are you talkin ta me?"

are you talkin ta me?"

"I dont see anybody else he..."

:bang!:

he got his character/movie scenes mixed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Joesh82

joshrogan wrote: »
    Must take some balls to play russian roulette with a loaded gun. Fair play and RIP.

To be honest that was my first thought too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

west boy wrote: »

Looks like it was a case of pretending to play "russian roulette" with a gun he assumed was unloaded rather than an actual russian roulette incident.

"Assumption is the mother of all ****ups"
    as someone famous once said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Redditor

And the Darwin Award goes to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Redditor

This is why I am opposed the Gardaí having ready access to firearms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Redditor wrote: »
    This is why I am opposed the Gardaí having ready access to firearms.

yeah he really shot himself in the foot there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Sgt. Eric Bravo

What a name :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Seachmall wrote: »

That lad should have been in the care of the state. That is actually the stupidest thing I have ever heard of. Surely a gun nut would have known you can only play this with a revolver. Jesus wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

In fairness, sober, he would probably have never dreamt of doing it, the auld grog does funny things to young men. If you watch the "I just fcuking shot myself" video, in the slow mo replay you can watch the track the slug takes down his thigh, entering about three quarters up and stopping just above the kneecap. The ballistic energy transferred to his leg literally baloons the flesh ahead of the bullet path. Once the shock and adrenaline wears off, that would be one sore puppy, if he lived, 'cos the femoral artery is lurking in them parts and once cut, times up without a good surgeon close by.
    A great many people shoot themselves while drawing weapons because they just don't know enough about what they're at.
    When I was younger I had a lot of family down visiting. All the fellas were pestering me to let them go outside and shoot my guns, so I took a few of them outside and set up some cans and loaded a rifle for them.
    I said to the first guy, here you go, its loaded and ready to shoot, just point it at the target and let off the safety. One of the others behind asked me somthing as I handed the gun over, so I was only half looking at what I was doing. The guy took the rifle off me, and with his finger firmly on the trigger:eek: let off the safety. The shot passed about 1/2" in front of my chin, and buried itself in the wall beside my brother in laws head, literally millimeters from his skull. We stopped shooting cans then. I am now older and wiser, and nobody touches my gun, no matter how much they ask or whinge. Lesson learnt.