Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi drivers think its unfare...

• 12-07-2011 12:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/hospital-shuts-taxi-rank-over-fighting-drivers-2818208.html

ONE of the country's main hospitals has closed its taxi rank because of driver behaviour......... Officials have blamed anti-social behaviour and other problems including the blocking of ambulances......... Although not an official taxi rank, there had been spaces for five taxis..............."There were failures by taxi drivers who ignored traffic controls, some of whom performed illegal and dangerous manoeuvres on hospital grounds," added the spokeswoman.
    She said all taxis are still allowed to pick up passengers if they have been booked. And, of course, they have free access to drop off passengers.
    "Since the change was made, feedback from patients and staff has been extremely positive.".......

One taxi drivers' representative group, Tiomanai Tacsai Na hEireann, sharply criticised the removal of the rank.
    The group's spokesman Frank Byrne said: "This action by James's hospital is reprehensible. The hospital is a public place and should have direct access to all public transport.---

..."How many more hospitals around the country will follow suit if James's are allowed to get away with this?"

seems to me like they fooked it up for themselves.... idiots.

Does anyone here know any drivers that used to ply their trade there:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Tiomanai Tacsai Na hEireann

How many unions and groups are there?
    Seems they are more splintered then the IRA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Don't blame the hospital, their behaviour at almost every rank is abysmal.

Seen better behaved kids lining up in school primary yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The hospital is a public place and should have direct access to all public transport
    While a public place, I think he'll find its private property and has its own Luas stop and several bus stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

mikemac wrote: »

Dunno actually.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Don't blame the hospital, their behaviour at almost every rank is abysmal.

Seen better behaved kids lining up in school primary yards.

i agree in general...fighting in the carpark:rolleyes:... gobsh1tes....

Victor wrote: »
    While a public place, I think he'll find its private property and has its own Luas stop and several bus stops.

thats the reason they've been turfed out, cos they can do it.!

Feckers acting the maggot, looking for sympathy. Whilst i know a few honest daycent drivers (well 2) even they complain about the standard of drivers.

Dunno why they all aren't expected to dress and act appropriately and aren't monitored religiously.!

One of the first impressions a visitor gets when they arrive here is the conduct and appearance of and Taxi Drivers.

Too many gangsters, over subscribed, under reguataed over priced and poor value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Better then the boyos in Belfast

Those guys stand in the doorways like Central Station saying Taxi and trying to get you as a customer. Like street sellers with stalls at a market

Rightly in the way by the doorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Ohhh look a all new topic for a thread...... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

When was the last time you saw a *new* topic in AH? :P

Have to give points for the pun in the title though! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Tiocfaidh ar taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

orourkeda wrote: »
    Tiocfaidh ar taxi
    Our Taxi will come????

Optimistic to say the least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I Was VB wrote: »
    Ohhh look a all new topic for a thread...... :rolleyes:

don't forget :D

or :)..or :o..or the others...

:rolleyes: yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Those guys stand in the doorways like Central Station saying Taxi and trying to get you as a customer. Like street sellers with stalls at a market

Must be a new phenomenon*, I never saw any of that carry on in all my 4 years in Belfast

*I've been out of the city for a few months now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Not sure if pun was deliberate or just stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

I've noticed some of the foreign taxis start the beeping lark while driving up the street and spotting someone walking or leaving a pub, it's very annoying and hopefully won't catch on here.

judas101 wrote: »
    Not sure if pun was deliberate or just stupid

was that directed @ me:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

This must be a one-man union, the plural of tiomanai is tiomanaithe ...

Too many taxis in Ireland...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

It wasn't an official rank and they brought it upon themselves tbf. I hate taxi drivers where I live, they think they are exempt from following the law and having a bit of manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

The official rank is downstairs from there. I heard from one of the cab drivers downstairs that the upstairs guys are paramilitaries (didn't ask whom) and tha they charge up to 3 times the normal fare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

orourkeda wrote: »
    Tiocfaidh ar taxi

Taxi ár lá, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Joe10000 wrote: »
    I've noticed some of the foreign taxis start the beeping lark while driving up the street and spotting someone walking or leaving a pub, it's very annoying and hopefully won't catch on here.

Irish taxi drivers do that as well here in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

thebullkf wrote: »
    Dunno why they all aren't expected to dress and act appropriately and aren't monitored religiously.!

One of the first impressions a visitor gets when they arrive here is the conduct and appearance of and Taxi Drivers.

Bang on! In other countries (Netherlands, Belgium for example) taxi drivers all have a uniform, the wear suits. Not expensive ones now, but they wear the all the same, you'd never see a taxi driver wearing jeans and a t-shirt. They also have to wear their registered bagde, have their paperwork in the front of their car, their cars must be SPOTLESS. They are inspected regularly, and will loose work if they dont comply! Should be the same in Ireland, particularly in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Only a matter of time before the taxi drivers start blaming the bloody foreign nationals for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

YFlyer wrote: »
    The official rank is downstairs from there. I heard from one of the cab drivers downstairs that the upstairs guys are paramilitaries (didn't ask whom) and tha they charge up to 3 times the normal fare.

Jaysus, ye'd never guess...they look so classy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

thebullkf wrote: »
    seems to me like they fooked it up for themselves.... idiots.

Does anyone here know any drivers that used to ply their trade there:confused:

Yes I know someone!.

ME.

Back when I thought it was a great idea that I retire from the defence forces and drive a taxi.

"Idiots" - surely you can't mean me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Joe10000 wrote: »
    foreign taxis
    ???

Foreign taxis aren't allowed operate here. Sure the cost of driving home to Belgium every day wouldn't make it worth their while anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yes I know someone!.

ME.

Back when I thought it was a great idea that I retire from the defence forces and drive a taxi.

"Idiots" - surely you can't mean me ;)

How did you find it, as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Sat-Nav?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

See, here's where I'm caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.

If I tell the truth I'm a lying bollox by the people who want to believe the gutter snipe crap they regularly post, and if I lie for an easier life or to whore a few 'thanks' from posters the lads here who are driving taxi's full time think I'm pandering to the masses.

Truth of it, in my experience.

Its a horrible, terrible business.

A regulator (Kathleen Doyle) who was off the wall stone crazy mad & deluded who refused to engage with the driver's.

Way, way, way too many licences issued.

It was very hard to compete with foreign national drivers - the issue is too deep and complicated to get into.

Not enough rank space, last time I see figures there was something like 400 plus rank spaces (in Dublin) for close on 20,000 taxi's.

So you were expected to drive all day looking for spaces, but when there are taxi's left right and center of you its very disheartening and when your running low on diesel, haven't earned a penny for hours (yes those rumours are true) you've no choice but to 'rank up' at the back of a rank and watch out for the cops.

The one big issue with people is taxi's suddenly pulling over to pick up a fare, but when you haven't earned a penny in the last few hours then damn right your gonna do it, as Christy would say ''tough sh*t Paddy''.

Mid-week you'd be lucky to earn a fiver an hour, depending on luck you might get a tenner or score job but then you might not work for another few hours, but ya know, its a business you buy into and an earning is not guaranteed.

Some ranks were run by a right shower of c*nts, our own were probably the worse, but not by much.

I think the vast majority of cabs (in my experience) are in very good condition - they must pass their NCT annually, plus they've to get a suitability test now too.

People think driver's don't declare all their earnings, actually things have got soo bad that its in their interest to declare every penny because the vast majority are earning below the minimum industrial wage.

When I absolutely have to retire from the defence forces I'll try my hand at it again, but I'll be ahead of the posse as I'll have a pension in my pocket before a fare gets into my cab..

In the mean time there's not a snowballs chance in hell that I'll work a cab, not a chance - no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A regulator (Kathleen Doyle) who was off the wall stone crazy mad & deluded who refused to engage with the driver's.

They deregulated the industry and then appointed a regulator...very irish that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

SNIP - user banned for this post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Must be a new phenomenon*, I never saw any of that carry on in all my 4 years in Belfast

*I've been out of the city for a few months now

Err, I've been going up there a few times a year for the past 5/6 years, and they've always been there!

Don't EVER trust them. Just go down the stairs to the official cabs and ranks.