Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best LOI Manager

• 10-07-2011 9:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭

As the title says...

I would have to say Stephen Kenny would be the pick of the current crop.

He brings a good attacking style of play and has his defenders well drilled. It is an exciting brand of football that is also effective.

I first noticed how he changed the style of longford and made them a force in the cup and has been successful with his subsequent teams.

Who is your pick and what parts of their management style appeal to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Michael O'Neill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Ebbs wrote: »
    Michael O'Neill.

Even after his teamtalk before the Sligo game? I hope youse give him a contract for life tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭James_LWAU

Roddy Collins FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭daniel91

Stephen Kenny no contest imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,953 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Fenlon or Cook. I don't think Matthews is a million miles away but I'm not going to put him right at the top because I'm naturally ridiculously biased. Michael O'Neill is absolutely miles off. With what he has at Shamrock Rovers at the moment, he should be moving mountains. His position must surely be a bit sketchy at the minute, no?

bohsman wrote: »
    Even after his teamtalk before the Sligo game? I hope youse give him a contract for life tbh.

Cant say I was there. Id rather not judge a manager rumours.

Football fans are very fickle. If MoN gets us past this round of the champs league...and perhaps the next, everyone will be back to him being the greatest around.

People forget about LoI managers are often very much responsible for a teams downfall. Have a look at the successful managers:

Fenlon: Pushed board into rediculous spending, has a massive wages.
    Roddy: Walks out of his teams big matches to get VIP boxing tickets.
    Kenny: Do you really think he didnt know about the undertable payments?
    etc etc.

Ill gladly take the odd poor tactics, survival and trophies over free flowing football, debt and 2nd place.

If he gets the wages he wants debt wont be slow following. Would be fairly sure he'll be told where to go and be back in Scotland next season at the latest.

Cant blame any manager for pushing the boat out in asking for high wages for himself and a big budget to work with. Boards should be able to say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Nutsy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Depends what you're looking for.

Scully did a magnificent job to get Rovers out of the First Division as much as I didn't take to the tactics, but hit a wall midway through 2007 and lost it.

Devlin is doing a good job at Bray...as is moany Pete at SPA

There's managers I wouldn't let near Rovers personally, but do a good enough job...Matthews, moany Pete, Kenny, Cook..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Nutsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭-gilly-09-

Liam Buckley.

Tries to play football the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

I know he's not a LOI manager at the minute but Paul Doolin is up there IMO. Current managers then Paul Cook or Ian Foster both doing good jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Would like to see Martin Russell get a bigger job within LOI. Doing a great job at UCD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ever Jim Mc laughlin
    Current Fenlon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

dfx- wrote: »
    There's managers I wouldn't let near Rovers personally, but do a good enough job...Matthews, moany Pete, Kenny, Cook..
    Not sure what your problem is with Cook, but he'd walk the league with the budget O'Neill has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Roddy and Doolin? Jesus wept!
    Although, Roddy deserves a special award for managing to get the Kaiserslautern game into almost every LoI slot on Off the Ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Not sure what your problem is with Cook, but he'd walk the league with the budget O'Neill has.

Most managers would tbh.

Can't really judge the Premier Division, but the 1st Division I'd say either Mathews or Cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Most managers would tbh.

Can't really judge the Premier Division, but the 1st Division I'd say either Mathews or Cousins.

Give him a budget of a million Euro, and he'll get you 8th place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

What is O'Neill's budget then? And what is Cooks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

dfx- wrote: »
    Depends what you're looking for.

Nail on the head dfx

Different managers have different strengths and weaknesses. If you have money to spend then Nutsy is your man. Brings in the best players and gets the best from them. Has the ability to keep a big squad happy which is no mean feat as O'Neill is seeing this year if rumours are to believed.

Mahon is a very good manager that will get the best out of average players and has his teams well drilled and organised. His teams always grind out results but play the most horrible brand of football. If he ever became Dundalk manager I wouldn't renew my season ticket

Best overall at the minute is cook. Has his players playing great football and they have improved every season under him. It would be frightening where Rovers would be if he was managing them instead of Sligo.

markc1184 wrote: »
    I know he's not a LOI manager at the minute but Paul Doolin is up there IMO.

Seriously??

He was managing a team that was losing €3,000,000 a season with most of it going on wages. He should have been walking the league every season. I think Doolin would do ok on a small budget but certainly didn't do a good job with Drogs when they had millions pumped in to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Johnny Glynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭tribesman78

Cook, IMO he is doing wonders up at Sligo. Making good solid signings and improving every year. And anytime I've seen them play they have played good some lovely soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I dont think the Roddy suggestion was a serious one.

Anyway i nominate this guy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I'd say Paul Cook and Pat Devlin, Devlin is doing a remarakble job sinv=ce he took over Bray again last year, they havent overspent and have a lot of very good young players, they also play the right way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Do you even know what the Rovers playing budget is?

League had/has a decent amount of good managers in Fenlon, Cook, Bucko and Foster. Devlin and Mahon are decent as well. I have my own (mounting) gripes with MON but in terms of success here and Europe, he's done everything asked and bought some good players. He also works with the budget he's given. Saying he's failing because Rovers are not x points clear is bollocks and is actually contradictory as it implies that Sligo, Derry and the like are weak teams/managers assembled on a pittance. I don't think there is much between, say, Sligo's first 11 and Rovers and a squad should just give you an edge if needed, not a guarantee you'll win the league.

As for the comments that boards should not give in to managers like Nutsy. Easy to say that but the manager then causes discord in the club and cries to the media about it which unsettles the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

James_LWAU wrote: »
    Roddy Collins FTW

As a mons fan seeing how he has been great for us so far I actually think he is up in top 5 at any rate. The second half of season when he has players he has brought in himself will tell a major tale but so far he got rid of deadwood wasters who were here to pick up a wage on their way to pasture and has brought on some young talent. He is also managing our under 19's to make the step up easier for some of the lads.

He is also pleasure to work with and always makes time to chat to our fans after matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Witchie wrote: »
    He is also pleasure to work with and always majesty

Yes, he certainly does think that he's a king of some kind alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Roddy is a gent , when he managed rovers we were playing football on the astro they were training on before they came on , but they let us have half the pitch even though they were paying for it :)

He is also pleasure to work with and always makes time to chat to our fans after matches.
    Roddy is a gent

Piss take surely?

He gets the best out of the underdogs but he is far from a gent. As much as I hate doolin, moany mahon, cook, connors....they are leagues ahead of Roddy in terms of being actual human beings.

There are many a story that could make you dissilussioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Piss take surely?

He gets the best out of the underdogs but he is far from a gent. As much as I hate doolin, moany mahon, cook, connors....they are leagues ahead of Roddy in terms of being actual human beings.

There are many a story that could make you dissilussioned.
    Never had the pleasure of meeting any of the other managers so I can't judge , But he was real nice too me and my friends

.they are leagues ahead of Roddy in terms of being actual human beings.

A bit harsh.

Have never met the man myself but from talking to people that have I've never heard anybody have a bad word to say about him. Unfortunately that goes against popular opinion.

Still, I don't rate him as a manager though! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Ebbs you are very wrong. I have heard many bad stories about Roddy in my time but more about what a kind and generous person he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Has to be Pat Devlin IMO.

Roddy is a legend, even after taking stick of Bohs fans for the last few years and the way he was forced out of Bohs he was still happy to donate his league winners medal for auction last season to help the club survive for another few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Roddy is a legend, even after taking stick of Bohs fans for the last few years and the way he was forced out of Bohs he was still happy to donate his league winners medal for auction last season to help the club survive for another few months.

Let a combination of pats and drogs fans box the head off him for Drogs fundraiser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

he was still happy to donate his league winners medal for auction last season to help the club survive for another few months.

And then Nutsy went and screwed it up by not going to Scotland and vacating the job. Bet you he a proxy agent to bid for it. :)

doncarlos wrote: »
    Seriously??

He was managing a team that was losing €3,000,000 a season with most of it going on wages. He should have been walking the league every season. I think Doolin would do ok on a small budget but certainly didn't do a good job with Drogs when they had millions pumped in to them

And playing woeful football in that time too.

stovelid wrote: »
    And then Nutsy went and screwed it up by not going to Scotland and vacating the job. Bet you he a proxy agent to bid for it. :)

Bohs fan bought it, there was talk of fans raising the 2k or so it raised to buy it back off him and give it back to roddy but the majority of us had been bled dry by the club by then. Heary, roddy, toccy in that order is who I'd like to see replace nutsy when he goes.

As a mons fan seeing how he has been great for us so far I actually think he is up in top 5 at any rate. The second half of season when he has players he has brought in himself will tell a major tale but so far he got rid of deadwood wasters who were here to pick up a wage on their way to pasture and has brought on some young talent. He is also managing our under 19's to make the step up easier for some of the lads.

Just hope he isn't offered a slightly bigger job 5 games before the end of the season

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Ebbs you are very wrong. I have heard many bad stories about Roddy in my time but more about what a kind and generous person he is.

Maybe his itchy feet haven't been tested yet...