Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Challenge Roth Boardsie Progress

• 09-07-2011 11:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭

Hey lads and lassies, can some one put up 1 or 2 links to how we can follow the progress of our fellow boardsies:

From Shotguns log:

If you fancy tracking the 3 Boards amigos at Roth on Sunday
    Hanangeo #2292
    shotgunmcos #940
    Izoard #2649

Thanks,
    Mac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Near tempted to bring the phone on my LSR tomorrow morning to check the updates ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Well MCOS has started as he means to continue.

Went off at 7:00; and has swam a 58:34, super swimming, then made a cup of tea :) and transitioned in 3:18 (got prepared for his sub 5:30 cycle).

Great going, go on Mike.

Handangeo went off at 7:25

Izoard off at 7:30. So both exiting the water shortly. All the best lads.

Knew he would go sub 60 for the swim, sets him up nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Nice swim, I reckon he'll go closer to 5 than 5.30 on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

nomadic wrote: »

Closer to 4:50. On a fast course like Roth if he doesn't he was wasting his time with all the epic rides.

Just dipping under 5 from his first split. 37km @ 36.3km/hr

Knew he would go sub 60 for the swim, sets him up nicely.

Yes, a very strong swim from him. IIRC he was targeting 5:15. I was just been conservative/lazy and not taxing the brain!

Izoard came out of the water in 1:18, handangeo in 1:15. And both going at +30kph on the bike - nice one.

MCOS has come through 70km in 1:56.

Mike through 153km in and around 4:23 so I reckon he will be somewhere around 5:10 for the bike which leaves him at 3:48 for transirion/marathon for the sub 10. Izo through 120 and just over 4hrs. Keep it going lads!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Just a touch over 5 hours on the bike for MCOS. On the run now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

All 3 seem to be getting on to plan so far. Hope MCOS puts in a good run now, he deserves it.

looks like mcos has hit the wall, hopefully he can get it back on track.

Yeah drop in pace is worrying, just 13k to go come on mcos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭mjth2004

Have been following the goings-on across in Roth!

Great to see Declan Doyle home on 9.02 & Brian Campbell in on 9.05! Think I read somewhere it's Campbell's first IM, amazing!

Looking at MCOS's stats, think he might have sacrificed his run for a great bike split! I echo what nomadic has said hope he gets back on track, as for the effort he has put in to get to the start line has been huge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭El Director

Looks like he is back on track now so with less than 10 to go he should be fine. Keep it going guys!!

yea much better split , come on Mike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Comon!!!

bollox, look's like **** has really hit the fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

bollox, look's like **** has really hit the fan.

I really hope that last one was a timing glitch

mjth2004 wrote: »
    Have been following the goings-on across in Roth!

Great to see Declan Doyle home on 9.02 & Brian Campbell in on 9.05! Think I read somewhere it's Campbell's first IM, amazing!

Looking at MCOS's stats, think he might have sacrificed his run for a great bike split! I echo what nomadic has said hope he gets back on track, as for the effort he has put in to get to the start line has been huge!

Amazing times by those 2 alright.

Izoard had a bike of just over 6hrs, and is looking good to come in under 12 - a 4hr run will see him under 11:30. Great going.
    Handangeo 5:30 bike and is looking at sub 11.

MCOS has suffered on the run unfortunately. And the split shows the last 8km taking 1hr. That's unfortunate. I'm very sorry to say it looks like he won't get uner the 10hrs. If I was a betting man I would have bet the house on him coming in under 10. A great achievement all the same. He must be in a world of pain.:(

**** it, est finish time of 10:07, I am genuinely gutted for him as I know how much that sub 10 meant to him.

interested wrote: »
    I really hope that last one was a timing glitch

+1.

It's not looking good for the sub 10 but he's giving it everything I'm sure. It's 27/28 degrees and thats not helping I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Jaysus MCOS you gave it everything. You were shattered when you crossed that line thanks to the live webcam for us all to see. Fair play.
    You are an Ironman!

MCOS finish 10:07:58

I really hope Mike's not disappointed because, like I said during the week-this is the man's first IM! 10:07 on a first attempt :o

I'm sure Mike will enjoy himself this evening regardless-knowing he gave it everything he had. Well done dude, well done.

Now come on the other boardsies, keep it going!

Yea, well done Mike. A tough one.
    Stressful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Macanri wrote: »
    Stressful stuff.

I know, Ive just had a second caffeine gel ;)

He'll be disappointed - the amount of training and effort he's put into this - its inevitable. A phenomenal first crack at it.

Incredible result, even if its not the one MCOS was openly aiming for. Fair play man, that IM stuff will do brutal things to you!

Eek, CW did 8:18:13 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭griffin100

11.30 for Izoard, solid result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Thanks lads...I'm sure you had better things to be doing of a Sunday afternoon:)
    The stats make interesting reading, particularly for the run - my "bad" phase, pace-wise, didn't map to the dark mental phase...

kingQuez wrote: »

I knew Catweazles training was going well:) He kept it quite:p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I knew Catweazles training was going well:) He kept it quite:p

I originally thought he was talking about Catzweazle, I looked at the screen like this for a few seconds before it clicked. :pac:

Edit: Not that I don't think our CW could do something so brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

kingQuez wrote: »

That would be my bike split :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

I can't walk down steps today!

You are all mad and thanks for following us in Roth. I'll pop a report into the log soon to shut you all up :D I ain't gutted, life is too short. I'll take it happily and move onwards and upwards! It wasn't a total calamity, just little things...

BTW Chrissie's extraordinary Marathon involved side stepping me gracefully with a smile on the Canal bank. I'm glad she chicked 46 male PROs for that alone :eek::)