Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

scumbag drivers

• 08-07-2011 12:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭

I went over to the post office this morning at 10:15am and i spent 10 minutes in there but when i came back out there was a large dint in the back rightside of my car. it looks like a white van hit it going by the height of the dint and white paint all mushed into it. i'm pissed off that other drivers just do a legger when this happens. my question is would YOU do the same and just leave and say f*ck them ?. or would you at least tell the owner ?.

it will cost a few hundred to fix this now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Any CCTV footage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

unfortunately no cameras outside any of the shops that was the first thing i checked. it's my birthday as well today so it's a pain in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 BIOHAZARD96

Aww man thats a loada B*llox. You should return and see if there is any security camara's around where your car was parked like jarecki1976 suggests.Maybe a restraunt nearby or shop? Simply request to see the footage and explain what happend. Hope you catch the scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

This really grinds on my soul, it's the utter disrespect for other people, their property & leaving them with an expensive repair bill in the bat of an eyelid.

No punishment is too far for these people...makes me really realy hope that there is a god or at least karma will bite back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Try again for cctv....I had a van damaged a few years ago in a govt buildings complex.I caught the guy actually as he hit my van.
    He denied everything ,called security who put me out,then called the Gardai who checked my van for tax,insurance etc.
    When they were all finished I asked for his supervisors name..........and upon examining CCTV he finally acknowledged he did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Had the same issue 3 or 4 wks ago - some b*st**d reversed into my passenger side causing me to have to replace both doors.
    No witnesses - no cctv - no note...

Pure scum

ok i went back over and seen the boss in the post office and asked him about the cameras and he said he would look at the tape later as they are extremly busy just now. he said i might have a bit of luck as my car was parked directly in front of the post office so will wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

zenno wrote: »
    ok i went back over and seen the boss in the post office and asked him about the cameras and he said he would look at the tape later as they are extremly busy just now. he said i might have a bit of luck as my car was parked directly in front of the post office so will wait and see.

good luck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Really can't but recommend something like this enough:

karkorder-gps-recorder.jpg

You can get them on eBay for well under €100. I have mine wired to the ignition with a small 12V battery so that it records for a few minutes when I'm not in the car. For €100 you might just save yourself a €1000 in repairs if you can catch an offender.

This is a scaled screenshot from mine:

attachment.php?attachmentid=7431&stc=1&d=1309267643

looks good. I was going to pick up a camera a while back but i just didn't have the cash but i'm seriously thinking of getting one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

Sorry to hear that op. Had something similar a while back, looked like a bike hit my driver side door while my car was parked up. No note left, nothing. Gardai were as helpful as they could be but couldn't get anything from cameras nearby. I went to Auto Dent in Dundrum (http://www.autodent.ie/) who left it good as new, I was really amazed what they could do, really nice guy and reasonable too.

Before picture:

6E52E049831446A99477F2C14D1CC5FF-0000316522-0002424974-00500L-76F831DC6D78453C993B8C2CB16EED70.jpg

After Repair

C063DC0F2C334D5E82F4F061A168B1EB-0000316522-0002424975-00500L-930590501D7C4D7D9F19914C0E25100A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

There's a certain BMW 520 owner in Navan who reversed into my drivers door in a private gated carpark in an apartment complex. Left a lovely tow-hitch sized hole in the door and broke my side mirror. Total cost to repair was nearly 600 euro :mad:

He knows he did it and refuses to make eye contact when I see him. Biding my time to reap my revenge . . one of these days . . .

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Something similar happened today in Manor Mills in Maynooth.

2 girls in a silver Nissan Micra were making an absolute meal of a maneuver in the carpark (constantly reversing and trying to get lined up to squeeze between a jeep and a van in order to exit) and ended up grazing the back left corner of a jeep - leaving a decent dent in the girls Micra and a streak of her paint and scrapes on the jeeps bumper. Hit it hard enough that you could see the jeeps suspension lift up on impact.

The jeep was a black(ish) Toyota I think, with yellow regs. Looked no more than a year or two old.

Anyways, the girls didn't stop or anything, just went straight out the carpark and myself and a mate followed her in my car until she stopped at the traffic lights exiting the carpark. Mate got out and told her that she just hit a car and she said "Oh... yeah I did... but we checked it and there was no marks" - which is complete bullsh!t considering she didn't even stop after it happened.

Took the reg down and a photo of yer ones car and left a note on the window wiper of the jeep for the owner and gave the reg of the person etc.

Hope she gets a nice bill - b!tch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

ZENER wrote: »
    There's a certain BMW 520 owner in Navan who reversed into my drivers door in a private gated carpark in an apartment complex. Left a lovely tow-hitch sized hole in the door and broke my side mirror. Total cost to repair was nearly 600 euro :mad:

He knows he did it and refuses to make eye contact when I see him. Biding my time to reap my revenge . . one of these days . . .

Ken
    You should cut out some letters from old magazines and spell out "I know what you did" on a piece of paper and send it to him. Might freak him out a bit :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Ken

Man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Wheety wrote: »
    You should cut out some letters from old magazines and spell out "I know what you did" on a piece of paper and send it to him. Might freak him out a bit :D

. . . how do you say that in Polish ?! ;)

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ironclaw wrote: »
    You can get them on eBay for well under €100. I have mine wired to the ignition with a small 12V battery so that it records for a few minutes when I'm not in the car. For €100 you might just save yourself a €1000 in repairs if you can catch an offender.

but thats all very well if the impact is from the front, what if its from behind or the side.....you'd need one on all four corners which isn't practical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Was going to start a thread about scumbag drivers so I'll post this here:

The other day we were doing traffic control on a country road at a blind bend,2 guys at one side and myself at another.I was slowing oncoming traffic and for luck the woman coming towards me stopped as a scumbag in a jeep weaved past the guys trying to stop him and onto the verge and round the bend on the wrong side without even slowing-if the woman coming the other way hadn't stopped (she had right of way at the time) I reckon she and possibly her kids in the back would have been killed.

On the topic of cctv, it seems that you won't be allowed to view it.Similar happened to my last car.The security guy at the shopping centre :mad:could look at the footage of my car being hit but wasn't allowed to show me.He couldn't make out the plate of the offending space wagon that wrecked the door of my car so I ended up no better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭littlesthobo

zerks wrote: »
    On the topic of cctv, it seems that you won't be allowed to view it.Similar happened to my last car.The security guy at the shopping centre :mad:could look at the footage of my car being hit but wasn't allowed to show me.He couldn't make out the plate of the offending space wagon that wrecked the door of my car so I ended up no better off.

You can get a guard to view it though. I wouldn't let that go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

it will cost a few hundred to fix this now.

OP

Try them for a quote,very good value for the service provided

http://www.quickdent.info/

fryup wrote: »
    but thats all very well if the impact is from the front, what if its from behind or the side.....you'd need one on all four corners which isn't practical

Depends where you position it and the angle of the lens. Put it this way, I'd rather spend €400 on 4 of them (Or a single recorder in the boot with 4 cameras) than maybe fork out €1000 on a repair. Simple economics really, with the added bonus you can move it from car to car. If I owned a very expensive car, I would definitely have them fitted along with a tracker. €500 well spent in my eyes.

People arn't so quick to jump / question / argue at you when you politely ask them to smile for the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

wired to the ignition with a small 12V battery so that it records for a few minutes when I'm not in the car.

Can you explain this in a bit more detail please? What battery pack are you using? How do you have it wired up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

. . . how do you say that in Polish ?! ;)

Ken

Wiem, co robiłeś

I found a dent in my front bumper one day and I was fair peed off over it but my neighbour had spotted the woman when she reversed into it so I found out who she was visiting and I happened to know him as he is an African neighbour of mine so I confronted him and he gave me the money to fix it so I was fairly lucky.

Can you explain this in a bit more detail please? What battery pack are you using? How do you have it wired up?

Its on the ignition, so on the turn key it boots. On the line is a small 12V pack so that it remains recording for about an hour after the ignition is killed. If you put a 12V battery from a house alarm on it, you'd probably get 24/7 recording. Its fairly easy to wire, you just need to be careful with the charging circuit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Speaking of scumbag drivers, I was on the South Ring in Cork today heading east towards Mahon in the 100km/h zone which is all of the South Ring except for the new ballincollig bypass which is 120km/h and built to near Motorway standard.

Anyway I was in the overtaking lane overtaking two artics and a car, when this little scumbag complete with hoody up and looked like wasn't a day over 18 decides he'd like to make some noise with his starlet glanza. I spotted him merging in behind me and he must have floored the starlet because he caught up very quickly.

I myself was not fully finished overtaking the traffic that I had decided to get around and was myself doing 110km/h breaking the limit. The little scummer brought the glanza almost onto my bootlid, I didn't react and just indicated in and moved left to let him off as I had gotten around the car and first lorry and there was maybe a 50 metre gap between me and the second lorry so I left him off.

Oh delight of joys that occurred the lorry ahead of me for some reason moved over and cut him straight off, Karma or what I then accelerated pulling level with the lorry and being a good road user I could not undertake the lorry leaving the skanger in his glanza boxed in and he then moved left and tried to bully me to go faster again so he could undertake the lorry. I held it at a constant 90km/h until half a kilometre later when I merged left for the mahon and the little scummer then undertook the lorry. It felt good to teach him a lesson and I wonder if the Lorry spotted his tailgating of me earlier and decided to box him in.

Putting manners in a Glanza driver like this must be one of the few joys of driving left I think. I think I managed to p1ss him off, it is one thing for a middle aged driver in a M3 to act the maggot, but a hoody clad scummer in a junkbox Glanza :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Because aggravating a already dangerous and pissed off driver is clearly a clever idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Because aggravating a already dangerous and pissed off driver is clearly a clever idea.

I know, he should have stayed out of my path :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Killinator

Stinicker wrote: »
    it is one thing for a middle aged driver in a M3 to act the maggot, but a hoody clad scummer in a junkbox Glanza :eek:

If there both acting the maggot then its the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Killinator wrote: »
    If there both acting the maggot then its the same thing!

Exactly.

You hardly thought the youngfella a lesson or even thought him manners sure he still undertook the lorry in the end. Your as bad as him tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

In blanchardstown car park, was in my old car, a total disgrace of a human dented my car rather badly with their audi. Old car worth not much but it was my car that I looked after and I was very pissed off to say the least :mad:

I filled in the door and sprayed it myself :) I saw that audi in the park many times again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

karkorder-gps-recorder.jpg

whats the make of that camera? or model no.

ah well after waiting all this time to see the boss of the post office about the camera i'm s*it out of luck their camera is so bad it's worthless. i will just have to deal with it. i cleaned it up with some halfords dark green car paint.

will be checking my car next time i leave a shop or anywhere for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

ah well after waiting all this time to see the boss of the post office about the camera i'm s*it out of luck their camera is so bad it's worthless. i will just have to deal with it. i cleaned it up with some halfords dark green car paint.

will be checking my car next time i leave a shop or anywhere for that matter.

That sucks. :( Sorry to hear that - it's a bitter pill to swallow.

I'm just glad it's not happened to me yet (I always park in the far reaches of car parks though!) but I hope that if it does happen to me one day, someone will be looking out for me!