Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calorie burning

• 08-07-2011 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭

Im a 31 male, 5' 9'' 84kg, smoker, so a tad overweight,

Its all around my belly and on my neck and face lately, Ive noticed :mad: , over indulgence of bulmers and supermacs the last 10 years are taking their toll now as Im pushing on !

So Ive started to eat better, and Ive started the gym. Just doing the treadmill at the moment to till I build up some stamina.

I'm managing to run 8.3km in an hour burning 550 calories the machine tells me. My question is, how many calories do you burn naturally during the day, I wouldn't be overly active, I'm back in college and spend a lot of time in front of a pc.

Ive read I need to be expending more calories then Im taking in, & I should be taking in 2200 calories,

so I should be expending 2000+ calories a day to lose weight ? How can I manage this ! Im bolloxed after an hour on the treadmill :D

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

well your should be burning at least 2000 a day just by being alive so there's a head start :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭JavaBeans

haha ! thats exactly what I wanted to hear :D

so Im on the right path ? !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

well i cant really advise you on diet as mine is pretty bad but if you read the stickies theyll point you in the right direction, but as a fello noob i can say if you're a member of a gym id recommend you get an instructor to do you up a weights programme

i started going to the gym in january, i would go in and do mostly cardio, few weights machines here and there

in may i met a lad in the gym who gave me a programme to get me started, i swear in 3-4 weeks my body changed more than it did in 5 months! the idea of going to the weights section seemed a bit daunting but after a while i got used to it and now its got to the stage where i love going to the gym rather than feeling like its a chore

sound, good advice !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

JavaBeans wrote: »

Its all around my belly and on my neck and face lately, Ive noticed :mad: , over indulgence of bulmers and supermacs the last 10 years are taking their toll now as Im pushing on !

So Ive started to eat better, and Ive started the gym. Just doing the treadmill at the moment to till I build up some stamina.

I'm managing to run 8.3km in an hour burning 550 calories the machine tells me. My question is, how many calories do you burn naturally during the day, I wouldn't be overly active, I'm back in college and spend a lot of time in front of a pc.

Ive read I need to be expending more calories then Im taking in, & I should be taking in 2200 calories,

so I should be expending 2000+ calories a day to lose weight ? How can I manage this ! Im bolloxed after an hour on the treadmill :D

thanks

Would agree with Rossin about the program
    I'm ten years older than you and started in the gym six months ago after physio said that some weights/exercises might help recurring lower back problem.
    Wasn't really over weight due to lots of walking/jogging and reasonable diet but I got a programme from day one from instructor.
    Roughly 15 mins treadmill, 15 mins cross trainer, 15 mins weights, 10 mins floor exercises three times a week.
    There's a bit of variety in the programme (I don't think I could stick an hour on the treadmill). I never increased the times but just upped the levels more weight and more slope on the treadmill (as opposed to speed) so I keep the session to under an hour. I've gotten to levels I'm happy with now so I just want to maintain things at that level.

To be honest I was astonished at the results after 3-4 months. Of course I'm never going to have the pure fitness/flexibility I had in my 20's but I never had the body shape/definition/tone or whatever you want to call it that I have now. Of course back in the day when I was playing soccer/GAA we never did weight training.
    I couldn't believe that doing 15 mins weights 3 times a week would produce those type of results.
    No problems with my back and I look forward to going to the gym.

awesome, fair play to you !! I actually like the treadmill, I find the hour goes fast, and I do the majority of it at 2% incline.

Ya so mixing in a few weights sounds good, I never really thought about it, kind of left it the serious fit people in there...

thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

No problem JavaBeans I was just thinking that my 15 mins on the treadmill at 6 miles/hour clocks up 250 calories which is due to the slope I suppose - I do 3 mins at 0 then up it to 3,6,9 and 12 each 3 mins.
    I'm no expert but I think to get results you need to work hard for the time you are there and challenge yourself a fair bit
    A mate of mine joined the gym at the same time as me and is complaining of no progress even though he lives in the place but as far as I can see he spends a lot of time sitting on the weight machines looking at his feet, looking at himself in the mirror and wandering around from one piece of equipment to the next lifting tiny weights at breakneck speed. He is a bit fond of the Guinness too which doesn't help.

Talking to the instructor the other evening she was saying that half the members are really wasting their time and money. I was thinking the same myself as many seem to come and go without losing a drop of perspiration.
    Sure they look good going out the door (as opposed to myself a purple faced smelly sweating mess) but I don't think they are getting the results.

ha, i come off the treadmill, my face and arms looks like they about to explode, and my towell is absolutely drenched !! seriously unfit !! not for long tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

http://www.exrx.net/Calculators/CalRequire.html

calculate your total daily expenditure, subtract 500-800 and eat that much to lose weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Read through the fitness and nutrition stickies at the top of the forum. They will tell you everything you need to know.

Either use the link that Timetoshine posted or use the forumlaes that are laid out in the 'stickies' at the top of the forum. They will tell you your calorie expenditure. It really is as easy as Timetoshine has noted..people are always looking for complicated answers..when there really isn't any.

Also, ignore the readings on the treadmill, very inaccurate. Good luck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,898 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Any time friends of gym newbies ask me how many cals they need a day I tell them

(Bodyweight in kg) x 33

It's quick, easy to remember and accurate enough to be usefull.
    If you are really active then you need to add on a bit, but for most people its fine. Given that you said you are very unfit (An hour for 8km is pretty poor) I imagine that its fine.
    To lose weight subtract 500-800, or alternatively you can use say 25 instead of 33

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭William Gates

JavaBeans wrote: »

thanks

I was in a similar situation a few months ago but have managed to turn things around and have lost about 2 stone in the last 6 months or so. I'm 32, 5 11, weighed 13.6 St but am down to 11.6 now.

I'm not sure how effective the threadmill will be tbh. The key for me was to join a bootcamp style exercise programme (lots of gyms run them) where the emphasis is on fat-burning. My favourite classes are the boxing ones.

I did this for 45-60 minutes daily (excluding weekends) and just changed my diet a bit - more stir fries, no fast food, fruit instead of snacks (crisps, sweets etc) , eggs for breakfast, muslei instead of sugary cereal etc etc.

I also drink a lot of water now (2-3 litres a day), in fact its pretty much the only thing i drink now bar alcohol. So no fizzy drinks or fruit juices which i was particularly partial to.

I cut back a bit on beer but not too much, try to find a lower calorie beer. And when at home with the missus and having a drink I now join her for a couple of glasses of wine instead of loads of bottles of beer (1 bottle of wine has about the same calories as 3 pints).

So to summarise i think the trick is to do a good cardio workout 4-5 times a week, eat healthier fresh foods and pull back on the beer a bit, worked for me anyway, beer-belly was gone in no time!

Best of luck with it.