Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cancelling a debs date?

• 06-07-2011 11:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi guys, need some help on this. So i have my debs at the start of august, about a month ago I asked this girl I kinda liked to go with me, she said yes. But I think I was a bit hasty, she is not from here so she will know nobody at this so I will have to babysit her for the whole night. Also after being on a few nights out with her since i asked I have realised she gets embarrassing to the extreme when drunk. At the time when I asked her she didnt seem very enthusiastic at all, she said she had to check if she was on holidays at the time first, she was meant to text me back, couple of days went by and no reply, eventually i texted her again, to which she said she wanted to go.

Now because of these things I think it could be a very awkward night. Is there any nice way of getting out of bringing her, or should i shut up and put up?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Don't cancel. It's pretty horrible after you invited her and potentially got her hopes up. August isn't all that far away, it's very possible she has already gotten a dress and told her friends and family that she is going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

come on to her really strongly, try to f*ck her and she wont want to go with you anymore, or you might get the ride win-win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

go with the girl you want bud, it only happens once. Don't regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Hi guys, need some help on this. So i have my debs at the start of august, about a month ago I asked this girl I kinda liked to go with me, she said yes. But I think I was a bit hasty, she is not from here so she will know nobody at this so I will have to babysit her for the whole night. Also after being on a few nights out with her since i asked I have realised she gets embarrassing to the extreme when drunk. At the time when I asked her she didnt seem very enthusiastic at all, she said she had to check if she was on holidays at the time first, she was meant to text me back, couple of days went by and no reply, eventually i texted her again, to which she said she wanted to go.

Now because of these things I think it could be a very awkward night. Is there any nice way of getting out of bringing her, or should i shut up and put up?

She should fit right in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Nothing else for it.. you'll have to repeat the Leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Debs are a load of ****e. Just head in with her, there will be plenty more and better parties for you from here on in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Why don't you arrange to meet up with her a few times before the debs, get to know her better so that its not so awkward on the night? Maybe even invite her to hang out with some of your friends so that she knows people.

And tell some of the girls you know going that she knows nobody there and if they are anyway nice they will be friendly to her so she doesn't feel left out.

Don't be a prick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Take her, have a few drinks yourself and see what happens. Not really fair on her either plus wouldn't it be not awkward if you cancelled it and the two of you are there? You can't really give an excuse if you're going anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 tentersawars

Don't cancel. It's pretty horrible after you invited her and potentially got her hopes up. August isn't all that far away, it's very possible she has already gotten a dress and told her friends and family that she is going!

Well only one of her freinds has mentioned it to me, so hopefully thats the only one she told.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...hopefully thats the only one she told.
    Not a hope... She will have told others, besides her parents also.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

I can't she will know nobody there, ill have to look her for the whole thing:( I really want to have fun with my mates, some of which ill never see agian.

Surely there is a nice way of letting her down? Or am I screwed?

Well if you faked your death........

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

come on to her really strongly, try to f*ck her and she wont want to go with you anymore, or you might get the ride win-win

Poster is actually Eric Cartman.

Do you have someone else you can go with OP? If you do, ditch her. Its your Debs no point being miserable at it.

If you don't, then don't, there's nothing sadder than s Guy on his own at his debs.

Or do what I did, and introduce her to your friends before hand. I brought a girl from work to my debs, I brought her to a couple of party's where people from school could meet meet her. Ended up having a great night, she new everyone, and we got all got on great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I can't she will know nobody there, ill have to look her for the whole thing:( I really want to have fun with my mates, some of which ill never see agian.

Surely there is a nice way of letting her down? Or am I screwed?

Well, you appear to have you mind made up what you're gonna do, so just take it on the chin if you're gonna let her down and don't try to wheedle out of it. Or better still, be a real man and just take her along. It's not like the debs will be a pioneer meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Have you never been to a party where you only knew one person?

I have. And what happened was that I was introduced to people and they were really nice and included me. Every time.

You don't think your friends are like that?

Do you have someone else you can go with OP? If you do, ditch her. Its your Debs no point being miserable at it.

If you don't, then don't, there's nothing sadder than s Guy on his own at his debs.

Or do what I did, and introduce her to your friends before hand. I brought a girl from work to my debs, I brought her to a couple of party's where people from school could meet meet her. Ended up having a great night, she new everyone, and we got all got on great.

I've plenty of others i could ask, but they might say no if they find out i cancelled my last date?:pac: She is in a different social circle totally to my school mates but Fuk it i'll bring her out with my freinds one night, if they get on...great, if not ill just tell her the debs are cancelled or something.

Have you never been to a party where you only knew one person?

I have. And what happened was that I was introduced to people and they were really nice and included me. Every time.

You don't think your friends are like that?

They are, but she has expressed concern over the issue a number of times...in fairness i dont want to drag her to something she will hate either, that would be a bit unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

They are, but she has expressed concern over the issue a number of times...in fairness i dont want to drag her to something she will hate either, that would be a bit unfair.

Doubt she'd hate it entirely- She'll like dressing up and being brought along to something and all the associated fuss.

What would be a bit unfair would be cancelling on her- as others have said she's probably made preparations at this stage. There's really not a nice way of putting to her "Well...I think you're a bit awkward..."

As others have said the debs is a load of ****e anyway, so just swallow your pride and bring her along. It could well exceed your expectations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

If you genuinely think she doesn’t want to go then you could try to give her an out. If the subject comes up you could tell her that you’d really like her to go but that you’d understand if she’s not comfortable with it because she won’t know anyone etc. But DON’T make excuses about the debs being cancelled or something, she’ll see right through it or find out the truth and end up being even more upset. In all likelihood she’s bought or is looking for a dress and told everyone that she’s going. To ask and then ‘unask’ her would be mortifying not to mention extremely hurtful for her. Do the right thing…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Get her drunk, really drunk. And take lots of photos.

Also chill out, bring her. Introduce her to your mates. Have a couple pints and a laugh.

Don't stress over your debs or it will be a shite night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 ererer

I asked a fella to my debs before the leaving cert, went to England to work for the summer, he beboed me the week before to ask about tuxes. anyway got the train back to Ireland the day before (I left my deb's dress at the train station).

Spent the day of the debs spent my savings on a new dress. Rushed around got ready text him to meet me at the school. Got out of the car to pick up my tickets and I was met by my little sister to tell me that he has gone home and he isn't going.

So I picked up my ticket got on the bus and didn't have to buy a drink the whole night through sympathetic school friends.

OK, I've decided to grow a pair and bring her, I was the one who did the inviting so it's my responsibility I guess. Thanks for putting me straight AHers before I did something stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

OK, I've decided to grow a pair and bring her, I was the one who did the inviting so it's my responsibility I guess. Thanks for putting me straight AHers before I did something stupid.

now go do something stupider with her afterwords;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Some girl in my school asked me to our debs and being a nice guy I said yes, 2 months later she tells me she doesn't want to go with me because she asked somone before me from outside the school who had finally agreed to go with her supposedly. It didn't realy bother me but it was pretty obvious she made that story up lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

joshrogan wrote: »
    Some girl in my school asked me to our debs and being a nice guy I said yes, 2 months later she tells me she doesn't want to go with me because she asked somone before me from outside the school who had finally agreed to go with her supposedly. It didn't realy bother me but it was pretty obvious she made that story up lol.

yeah but lads can take it, girls cry n shít

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Its hardly responsible to take the child out on the pish.Just sublet the babysitting out to some other sap and make a few quid.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Up until this post you sounded like an ass. Good lad.

Cianos wrote: »
    Up until this post you sounded like an ass. Good lad.

I was well aware I was coming across as a prick(isnt that what the interwebs are for), but i was genuinely worried that we would both have a **** night. Ah well, i'll ask my friends to be extra nice to her anyway, one of whom told he is also bringing someone from far away so maybe they can be loner friends or something :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I was well aware I was coming across as a prick(isnt that what the interwebs are for), but i was genuinely worried that we would both have a **** night. Ah well, i'll ask my friends to be extra nice to her anyway, one of whom told he is also bringing someone from far away so maybe they can be loner friends or something :D

I brought a girl to my debs who I only meet twice and knew NOBODY from my school year of 370. Didn't see her for half the night, make a nice fuss at the start, introduce her to loads and get bladdered.

Oh and def take photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Man if its going ****/awkward just pretend to get hammered and tell her u love her, she's bound to leave...worst case scenario you get a GF out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

What's the chances of her putting out, or at least giving you smelly fingers?

This is a dealbreaker.

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    What's the chances of her putting out, or at least giving you smelly fingers?

This is a dealbreaker.

None, which i see as a good thing, its better than bringing some skank that would ride me and give me an STD just for bringing her to my debs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

ererer wrote: »
    I asked a fella to my debs before the leaving cert, went to England to work for the summer, he beboed me the week before to ask about tuxes. anyway got the train back to Ireland the day before (I left my deb's dress at the train station).

Spent the day of the debs spent my savings on a new dress. Rushed around got ready text him to meet me at the school. Got out of the car to pick up my tickets and I was met by my little sister to tell me that he has gone home and he isn't going.

So I picked up my ticket got on the bus and didn't have to buy a drink the whole night through sympathetic school friends.

There's a train now between England and Ireland? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

digme wrote: »
    go with the girl you want bud, it only happens once. Don't regret it.

It's a debs. Hardly a highlight on someones social calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

get her pissed, then next day text her saying, i am disappointed you decided not to go to the debs with me but its OK molly said she would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

yeah but lads can take it, girls cry n shít

i must say, this man tells it as it really is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

There's a train now between England and Ireland? :eek:

Ya, did you not know?

OP just bring her to the debs. If you have high expectations for the night it will be muck. My first few nights of college were the week after mine and they were epic compared to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would be very concerned about her behaviour when drunk and as you said yourself embarrasses herself. This is totally unacceptable. You could end up more than baby-sitting her the whole night, more so if she gets very drunk could have your night ruined by her antics and if she passes out what then?
    Maybe you should approach her and request that she not drink so much and reassure her that she is a much more pleasant when she has no or little drink taken.
    It is common that at this age a person doesn’t realise what they are like when drunk, and there is nothing worse than being with someone who acts the ass when they get a few drinks in, so maybe video her when she is plastered and replay it to her, hopefully this might lead her to act more mature.
    Whatever action you take I hope is the right one and enjoy your night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Introduce her to your mates and try get one of them to score her so she will feel accepted and you will be free.

Or when she starts to get real drunk retire to the hotel room with her and get your hole.

Either way you should have some fun.

I would be very concerned about her behaviour when drunk and as you said yourself embarrasses herself. This is totally unacceptable. You could end up more than baby-sitting her the whole night, more so if she gets very drunk could have your night ruined by her antics and if she passes out what then?
    Maybe you should approach her and request that she not drink so much and reassure her that she is a much more pleasant when she has no or little drink taken.
    It is common that at this age a person doesn’t realise what they are like when drunk, and there is nothing worse than being with someone who acts the ass when they get a few drinks in, so maybe video her when she is plastered and replay it to her, hopefully this might lead her to act more mature.

Well, if this isn't the pot calling the kettle a cross-dressing písshead I don't know what is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Well, if this isn't the pot calling the kettle a cross-dressing písshead I don't know what is.

Maybe in that post he was talking in the third person? Sending out a lovely coded warning of what's to come? :D

I've already said it too her a number of times, the next time i see her ill casually mention how it would be a good idea to take it easy on the drink at it.

Don't be listening to that fella, he got lashed up and threw on his mate's wife's frocks and jocks last week and the missus doesn't let him drink anymore!

If only my debs could end up something like that:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

It's only a Debs date, apart from mixed schools interdebbing/intergradding with themselves, from half to a quarter of partners won't know each other in a typical debs/grads mix anyway.

Now you know what she is capable of, ........ hmmmm, it's not babysitting I'd have in mind ... and it's not dirt either, it's a super fun time opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

If you don't want to take her just don't. It's not as though you are cancelling the day before or something. Everyone has a right to change their mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I'm confused.............:confused:

4 pages and nobody has asked if she's hot?

Has After Hours matured and left me behind? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

If she was hot he'd hardly be thinking of dropping her. Hot and drunk - wow! What a combo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I'm confused.............:confused:

4 pages and nobody has asked if she's hot?

Has After Hours matured and left me behind? :(

Nobody said blast her with piss either..... weird :confused:

Anyway OP, you should bring her. Introduce her to your mates beforehand and have a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Shivers26 wrote: »
    Nobody said blast her with piss either..... weird :confused:

Anyway OP, you should bring her. Introduce her to your mates beforehand and have a great night.

on one suggested that he say something like 'I'm taking someone else yore ma'

are we in the irhgt forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Am in the process of preparing to move house and have one of those steam cleaning machines for cleaning upholstery etc;

54-4066033aA74UC739275T.jpg.......everytime I use it I morph myself into Angelina Jolie (I wish!!:() Starring in my own Action Movie and I am wielding the Piss Blaster!! Flying through the mundane:D:D:D:D