Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurocycles

• 05-07-2011 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

Has anyone had a bad experience? Am currently trying to actually buy a bike from them and its like they are trying to make it hard for me to do this. Customer service and communication skills are pretty damn awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I went in to the long mile road one on Sat with the brother in law, he was looking to buy a bike, we left after about 10 mins cos no-one seemed to be at all interested in selling anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Walked into the shop in walkinstown a while ago. Walked around for a good 20 minutes and left while nobody budged from behind the counter to try and make a sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

Bought a bike off them , would never go back , the chain snapped 3 times in the first week , guy hadnt a clue how to put it on , gears were all over the place , brought it in to get adjusted took half a day to get bike back and they still weren't right , had to bring it back a few more times to get them right , had creaking coming out of the BB and took them weeks to fix that also

brutal customer service and brutal bike techs in town and swords store

Avoid !

Had the complete opposite with Halfords , bought it in Malahide road and any time I bring it back for a service its always done well

And Euro babys is as bad , ur one there told us we could use the cot that comes with the pram as a moses basket , just buy a rocker stand , went to place up the north and she told us that was the most dangerous thing you could do as the cot is top heavy and the baby could topple it , instead of spending 150 on the travel cot , spend 25 on the proper moses basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

I went in with the intention of buying a bike but was put off by the lack of knowledge on the part of the staff. I was looking at a high end road bike and your man tested my saddle height by asking me to stand over top tube. I did so and he said it was a grand size for me. I expect better.
    Also, prices are high. A Pashley Guvnor caught my eye but it's way too expensive at E150 more than what the guys in Wheelworx were looking for the same bike. The staff really do not seem bike knowledgeable at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

The one on Sth William St is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

In my experience, the level of customer care has generally, I stress generally, gone down over the last year or so.

Bike shops have got such a boon from the BTW scheme, they don't even have to sell, they just put a kit together in the amount of €1000.

Cycling has really taken off, just look at the amount of people out on Howth (or anywhere I guess) and you can see that, so I guess that when you walk in the store you are just one of many, no big loss if you walk back out. Another customer will be along soon.

On the other hand, did you go up a sales person? Or did you simply walk around the store and then walk out in disgust. A lot of customers know what they are looking for and don't really want to be bothered, so I guess the shop worker has a choice of either leave you alone to come to him or maybe bother you. Not trying to excuse it, just saying.

No doubt in my mind that the BTW scheme has made the guys lazy. In others areas traders are falling over themselves for business, bike shops don't seem to be in that category.

But on the issue of Eurocycles, yes they are complete pants!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

I've always got super service from South William St.

I find that a lot of bike shops just sort of let you do your own thing until you actively go and start asking them questions, I don't know if this is a specifically a bike shop thing or not (maybe I haven't been in enough regular shops recently!).

I wouldn't expect anyone to start trying to sell me a random book in a bookshop, for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭adrianshanahan

dario28 wrote: »
    would never go back , the chain snapped 3 times in the first week

I'm going to go out on a limb and say that might have more to do with bad cross chaining than where you bought the bike.

Bit to the person who is asking about Eurocyles call into the branch on the Longmile road and ask to speak to Richie, even ring ahead to see if he is there. I guarente there isn't much he doesn't know about bikes and will look after you.

Adrian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭elwood76

I have literally waved the money in front of the staff, did a jig and wore a t shirt saying I want to buy a bike. All I have been waiting for is a bike to be put together for me... to buy. A week later I have had three call ins with no bike ready, calls with no calls back and now finally been told they don't actually have the bike that they told me a week ago was down stairs in a box waiting to be put together. So called the swords store instead this morning, left my number and was told I would be immediately called back... guess what....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Shocking service, my bike was assembled by a monkey and I'm now bringing them to the small claims court and have had to report them to the ASAI for a misleading leaflet. I requested a refund 5 times and got no responce at all, not even to formal letters. Also they charge 500 euro more than wiggle for a cayo:eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭elwood76

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Shocking service, my bike was assembled by a monkey and I'm now bringing them to the small claims court and have had to report them to the ASAI for a misleading leaflet. I requested a refund 5 times and got no responce at all, not even to formal letters. Also they charge 500 euro more than wiggle for a cayo:eek:.

Why the small claims court and ASAI?

I found them to be sound on my only visit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Holyboy

Leroy42 wrote: »
    In my experience, the level of customer care has generally, I stress generally, gone down over the last year or so.

Bike shops have got such a boon from the BTW scheme, they don't even have to sell, they just put a kit together in the amount of €1000.

Cycling has really taken off, just look at the amount of people out on Howth (or anywhere I guess) and you can see that, so I guess that when you walk in the store you are just one of many, no big loss if you walk back out. Another customer will be along soon.

On the other hand, did you go up a sales person? Or did you simply walk around the store and then walk out in disgust. A lot of customers know what they are looking for and don't really want to be bothered, so I guess the shop worker has a choice of either leave you alone to come to him or maybe bother you. Not trying to excuse it, just saying.

No doubt in my mind that the BTW scheme has made the guys lazy. In others areas traders are falling over themselves for business, bike shops don't seem to be in that category.

But on the issue of Eurocycles, yes they are complete pants!

I totally agree, with the bike boom we're having the employees of bike shops just don't care and of course the BTW scheme, it seems to be an Irish kind of mind set and in my opinion our attitude has gotten this country into the state it's in, the government is talking about scrapping the BTW scheme and I actually think it would be a good thing, it will put all the money grabbers out of business that have opened up trying to jump on the band wagon, and of course all the skullduggery, kids bikes and the likes being put down as "clothing" on the BTW forms, in my opinion a proper bike shop builds it's reputation around it's workshop no matter how big or small, if a shop can't fix a bike properly why would some one go there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Holyboy wrote: »
    I totally agree, with the bike boom we're having the employees of bike shops just don't care and of course the BTW scheme, it seems to be an Irish kind of mind set and in my opinion our attitude has gotten this country into the state it's in, the government is talking about scrapping the BTW scheme and I actually think it would be a good thing, it will put all the money grabbers out of business that have opened up trying to jump on the band wagon, and of course all the skullduggery, kids bikes and the likes being put down as "clothing" on the BTW forms, in my opinion a proper bike shop builds it's reputation around it's workshop no matter how big or small, if a shop can't fix a bike properly why would some one go there?

Not all shops i allways find Cycleways in city center great regardless of whether im just looking for info/browsing or buying, the guys there just seem to be actually interested in what they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Neverlandland

I bought a bike from Eurocycles a couple of months ago. I found the Swords store pretty shocking. One of the lads was pretty nice, but the lack of knowledge there was worrying. Also, on one of their bikes, they had a sign saying that it was x euros. I had a close look at a sticker on the frame, and it said that the price was 50 euro cheaper than the price tag on the handlebars. They were also going to charge me the more expensive price!

When I went to the longmile road, they were very helpful, and had the bike on sale at the cheaper price. Eurocycles have a good promotion where, if you're buying on the C2W scheme, you get 15% off on top of the tax you save. I also got some other discounts on other stuff I was getting. I have gone back a couple of times with different queries and they have been very helpful.

Now, they didn't exactly spend a lot of time sizing me up. It was my 1st bike and wouldn't have been totally sure what to look out for if I hadn't spent so long looking around in other shops. Other shops were probably better when it came to sizing me up, but the staff at eurocycles were very helpful, and at the end of the day, with the extra 15% I saved with their promotion, the whole package cost me around 200 euro less than it would have if I had gone through Wheelworx

projectgtr wrote: »
    Not all shops i allways find Cycleways in city center great regardless of whether im just looking for info/browsing or buying, the guys there just seem to be actually interested in what they do

Im not having a go at all shops, there are some great ones out there, cycleways was the best bike shop im the country at one stage and I still admire them, but with the bigger shops it can be very hit or miss with what member off staff you get or even if theyre having a bad day! Also there are not enough proper bicycle mechanics in the country for the amount of cycle shops we now have, so you get people who think, "ah sure its only a bike, how hard can it be". That is all:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

I'm going to go out on a limb and say that might have more to do with bad cross chaining than where you bought the bike.

Bit to the person who is asking about Eurocyles call into the branch on the Longmile road and ask to speak to Richie, even ring ahead to see if he is there. I guarente there isn't much he doesn't know about bikes and will look after you.

Adrian

Eh I know how to ride a bike thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭TommyTheGun

I have to agree with the majority of posters here. i have found their service in the Swords branch to be nothing short of absolutely horrific. I bought a bike there on the CTW scheme, and the only reason I did was because ( as another poster said) they offered the 15% accessories option which saved me the €150 I would otherwise have to have spent in another shop.

To be honest it was heartbreaking having to buy from the guy, but the 150 was the ONLY reason i did. I was in wheelworx and they couldnt have been more helpful and if they had offered close to the eurocycles deal then I would have definitely bought from them.

Now I'm a novice to cycling and this is my first bike, so I was generally looking for help in regarding cycling. The guy just looked at me and was adamant that I was a 58" frame. Since then, I'm sure the frame size is wrong, Ive had no end of trouble trying to be set up on right on the bike but I'm too proud to go back to them ! :o

Just overall a very bad vibe and they should maybe realise in future that people on BTW schemes are mostly novices who require some bike education, a little help goes a long way. I spent 1000 euro and the chap couldnt get me out of the shop quick enough.

I would'nt recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭redzone

I know its away from Dublin city but Eurocycles in Newbridge is a great shop. The lads are always very helpful and know their stuff.

They have looked after me and some friends and all I have heard about them is good.

Talk to Tiago, he looks mad but is sound and a good bike mechanic aswell.

chakattack wrote: »
    Why the small claims court and ASAI?

I found them to be sound on my only visit there.

Because the bike was sold misleadingly and there were marks on the frame they also put it together to a shocking standard ( brakes rubbed so bad the front wheel wouldn't move). I reported them to the asai as they told me as I was paying for my bike that the 15% free voucher was only available online despite no t&c to the offer. Without that voucher I would have gotten better value elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

I haven't had any experience of Eurocycles, but I can say I received the worst experience of my cycling life in Halfords in Blanchardstown. I stood at the bike counter for several minutes trying to ask a question while the bike team ignored me and had a chat. They are rude, disinterested and a damn intimidating.
    Lesson is, if you want personal service go to a smaller bike shop, not a major British chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Lesson is, if you want personal service to buy something for cycling, go to a smaller bike shop
    There you go, fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

I found Eurocycles on the Longmile rd great.

About two months ago when we bought a bike for my daughter (5), the staff were knowledgeable and spent a good amount of time making sure that we had the right bike, which was not the one we thought that we were going to get initially, we ended up with a very nice light 20" bike with a low stand over height, gears and short reach brakes and sparkly bits rather than the 16" smyths type object that looked to be the only option elsewhere. I was impressed by the amount of time spent making sure things were right even after what felt like a million laps of the car park. The end result is that she lives on her bike and just need to stop shouting out what gear she is in!

Would I go back - yes
    Would I recommend Eurocycles based on my experience - yes
    Just to echo what a previous poster said - Richie in Eurocycles is well worth talking to, he also won't hesitate to point you in the right direction.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Also there are not enough proper bicycle mechanics in the country for the amount of cycle shops we now have, so you get people who think, "ah sure its only a bike, how hard can it be". That is all:)
    How does that get remedied? Is there anywhere I can go to learn to be a better bike mechanic?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

fenris wrote: »
    Just to echo what a previous poster said - Richie in Eurocycles is well worth talking to, he also won't hesitate to point you in the right direction.

^ This. Very sound guy in my experience.

Generally speaking, decent bike shops are staffed by people who love cycling. People who just want to flog stuff with wheels work in car dealerships. Consequently, it is not unusual to walk in and feel ignored. If I was to eliminate every bike shop that had ignored me at one time or another there wouldn't be anywhere left to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Hermy wrote: »
    How does that get remedied? Is there anywhere I can go to learn to be a better bike mechanic?

Ah sure its only a bike, how hard can it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I haven't had any experience of Eurocycles, but I can say I received the worst experience of my cycling life in Halfords in Blanchardstown. I stood at the bike counter for several minutes trying to ask a question while the bike team ignored me and had a chat. They are rude, disinterested and a damn intimidating.
    Lesson is, if you want personal service go to a smaller bike shop, not a major British chain.

A someone who carries out mystery shopping as part of my job, let me put my spoke in here.
    Bad customer service is rife out there at the moment, and it's not just in major British chains.
    It's a management failure at store level that lets this happen, it's not a macro issue within chains.
    If I was a manager/owner of a store (and I was a retail manager in a previous career), and witnessed staff ignoring customers, there would be immediate repercussions.

A very recent bad example that happened to me (in a small clothing store which I was mystery shopping);
    I walk in - only me and the retail assistant were there - I say hello to this person, and they walk by me, and looked through me! And he never once approached me during the rest of the call to inquire whether I needed assistance with anything. (BTW, that outlet failed).

So the thing to do with your Halfords experience is to write a little email to their head office and explain your complaint, and I'm sure you will be taken care of. That's the benefit of the large chains! Try that with your LBS and see where it gets you!
    (btw I am a kind of a fan of Halfords in general, not that they are anything great or special, but they fill a certain niche and are often derided unnecessarily)

Hermy wrote: »

There are courses in the uk, if you dont have your piece of paper its hard to get a job as a mechanic but after a very lengthy conversation with a cytech rep I finally got him to admit that they are under pressure every month to pass a certain amount of people so sometimes have to let some not so good people through! Thats when I decided not to bother with cytech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

The thing about Halfords is that its a good shop to get stuff IF the customer knows about the item they want to buy.However if you need advice from a salesperson youre in trouble,as most of them seem to know very little about the products they are selling.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Lumen wrote: »
    Ah sure its only a bike, how hard can it be?

Lend me yours and we'll soon find out.:p

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

The thing about Halfords is that its a good shop to get stuff IF the customer knows about the item they want to buy.However if you need advice from a salesperson youre in trouble,as most of them seem to know very little about the products they are selling.

I was mindful of this philosophy when I purchased a kids bike from Halfords. I insisted on them selling me the bike in it's boxed-straight-out-of-the-van-not-touched-by-anyone-in-the-shop format.

There were a few lads around the shop who seemed to be really struggling with some simple repair/setup requests from people at the time. In fairness to Halfords they usually have at least one 'grown-up' in their shops who knows what they are at, but if you call in at a time when they are not there, the other dudes can be quite ropey. Also, you can't haggle with these guys, the stabilisers for the kids bike were charged at full whack even though I got them at the same time as the bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭green_dub_girl

gman2k wrote: »
    So the thing to do with your Halfords experience is to write a little email to their head office and explain your complaint, and I'm sure you will be taken care of. That's the benefit of the large chains! Try that with your LBS and see where it gets you!
    (btw I am a kind of a fan of Halfords in general, not that they are anything great or special, but they fill a certain niche and are often derided unnecessarily)

Yeah I agree Halfords is quite handy for car accessories, but for bikes I'd avoid.

Actually I did write an email to head office about the incident, got a response saying they were sorry and would follow up....unfortunately no gift card though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lazzie81

elwood76 wrote: »
    Has anyone had a bad experience? Am currently trying to actually buy a bike from them and its like they are trying to make it hard for me to do this. Customer service and communication skills are pretty damn awful.

I can't fault the Eurocycles in Swords retail park. The service was second to none. I bought my first bike, a Felt B16 last year, and was treated with the height of respect. The bike was fitted, and a free service after 6 weeks. I returned this year and bought another.

The bike I ordered arrived but the size was wrong. The shop manager took it upon himself to drive to the shop in Walkinstown and pick up the correct size. The correct bike was in my possession within the hour.

My brother has since returned to the store to purchase a bike upon my recommendation.

All in all, excellent staff, polite, dedicated and friendly. Willing to go the extra mile.

And in my opinion, any shop that has a customer helpline number openly displayed is not only brave, but committed to perfecting its customer service.

Can't recommend them highly enough.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

lazzie81 wrote: »
    I can't fault the Eurocycles in Swords retail park. The service was second to none.

<Snip>

I can't really fault them (swords) either, bought my bike off them, had a few niggles and they sorted them, they changed the shifters from the microshift that came on the bike to ultegras I had bought off cycling adverts for free, fixed a broken spoke and trued my wheel for free, and have been courteous and helpful throughout.

Inquitus wrote: »
    I can't really fault them (swords) either, bought my bike off them, had a few niggles and they sorted them, they changed the shifters from the microshift that came on the bike to ultegras I had bought off cycling adverts for free, fixed a broken spoke and trued my wheel for free, and have been courteous and helpful throughout.

Absoluely true...Delighted to hear...:D

I can't fault the Eurocycles in Swords retail park. The service was second to none. I bought my first bike, a Felt B16 last year, and was treated with the height of respect. The bike was fitted, and a free service after 6 weeks. I returned this year and bought another.

The bike I ordered arrived but the size was wrong. The shop manager took it upon himself to drive to the shop in Walkinstown and pick up the correct size. The correct bike was in my possession within the hour.

My brother has since returned to the store to purchase a bike upon my recommendation.

All in all, excellent staff, polite, dedicated and friendly. Willing to go the extra mile.

And in my opinion, any shop that has a customer helpline number openly displayed is not only brave, but committed to perfecting its customer service.

Can't recommend them highly enough.:D

Is your name Mel by any chance?:pac: Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

kenmc wrote: »
    I went in to the long mile road one on Sat with the brother in law, he was looking to buy a bike, we left after about 10 mins cos no-one seemed to be at all interested in selling anything.

went in the same shop last week to get a puncture fixed. stood for 15 mins after asking a girl at the counter. she told me one of the lads would deal with me. numerous lads walked past me. i was on the verge of walking out again when an old friend came in and helped pass the time.

wasnt happy.

also wanted me to leave the wheel with him for 24 hours! WTF. 24 hrs to fix a puncture:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭adrianshanahan

keane=cock wrote: »
    24 hrs to fix a puncture:confused:

Going to a shop to get a puncture fixed, seriously?

Is your name Mel by any chance?:pac: Haha

?? Negative

Have to agree...Unreal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I was in Eurocycles Long Mile road this morning, great service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭martinsvi

I ordered bicycle and accessories from eurocylces.ie homepage on mid September. I used "bike to work" scheme and my employer was kind enough to send the cheque out on very next day. it took a lot of emails to get them to actually deliver my bike. When they did - on October 6, the delivery was incomplete. Helmet was not delivered. I've been contacting them via e-mail and telephone, they know It's not delivered and they keep promising that I will receive it in next working day but I haven't received it. Lately they apparently recognize my voice and they keep asking me to hold the line. I wait more than 10 minutes but they never get back to me. Sometimes they would disconnect immediately.

Special greetings to <snip> who is absolutely pathetic at her position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

?? Negative

mel is the owner of eurocycles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Called into the shop on lg mile road few days back. There was at least 3-4 employees standing around talking. I didnt get as much as a greeting when I walked in. It was 4 in the afternoon and I got a look from them basically wondering why I would dare strp inside their shop. After 10 minutes of looking at bikes and absolutely no acknowledgement of even being in the store I walked back out past the 4 of them at the counter.

I cant believe this goes on, things are hard enough right now staying in business surely this is not standard procedure. For the record I fancied the bike that was in there, was €2500 and I will not be buying it now from them regardless.

Went to Staggs in Lucan and they fell over me with service and advice !! Costs nothing but makes the world of difference to a customer !! I know where I'm spending my money.

mel is the owner of eurocycles

Oops, I should of answered that one, Mel is actually a very nice guy, I had a lot of dealings with him in his early Eurocycles days,he even sent me a Christmas card with twenty punts in it one year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I've always found the staff in South William Street to be very friendly and helpful. Haven't really had any dealing with any of the other branches.

I had the worst customer experience of my life with the Longmile Rd store. In the end it took 9 months to get a refund and that was only after the small claims court.

For anyone who's bored, the below is an full account that I drafted up during the court stage.

I originally bought my bike under the cycle to work scheme in March 2011. Before I picked up the bike I had spent an hour in the Shop in January (when the cycle to work application had to be made for collection in March) and spoke to a sales associate Shane. He advised me on a two bikes I was enquiring on, a Focus Mares comp and a Focus Mares Expert priced 1000 and 1180 respectively. The only bike on display was the more expensive expert model, Shane advised me on the spec of both bikes and in the end I decided to go with the cheaper one and an application was made. In the interim in waiting for the application to process I changed my mind and went for the more expensive model (something Shane advised would be not problem) based on incorrect advice given by Shane - that the frames of the two bikes were identical, I wanted a black one and the comp only comes in white only - and I called eurocyles to advise a month in advance to picking up the bike. They advised the expert version would be on hold.

I went into store to pick up the bike, just before their closing time and therefore did not check it in store, put it in the car and took it home. While paying for it, I enquired about the offer they displayed in store the day I ordered (and that was still on display the day I picked up the bike) of a €150 voucher of free accessories (15% of value of bike up to €1000) but was told it was not available as the bike was already discounted, then the story changed to the voucher only being available to use on line, despite not the leaflet not stating this, being displayed in store and not have any applicable terms and conditions. Due to the time frame and the dismissive nature of the manager when I tried to enforce my customer rights and pointed out the flaws in the leaflet (i.e. lack of info or T&C). I left the store, with mind to take the matter further another day. The voucher was a massive part of me buying the bike with Eurocycles and if I had known it was unavailable I would have placed my business elsewhwere.

When I got the bike home and had a chance to fully expect it and noticed several problems, some fixable, some not. A list is provided below:.

[SIZE=+0]1) The pedals were not greased.
    [SIZE=+0]2) There is a prominent blue mark / scratch on a the white portion of the carbon fork
    [SIZE=+0][/SIZE]3) There was a large rip in the centre of the bar tape on the handlebars
    4) The brakes where insufficiently centred resulting in a lot of wheel rub and generally assembled to any amateur level and squealed unbearably (I have never used / maintained cantilever brakes before but was able to improve (not correct) the situation in 20 minutes with the help of the internet). However I believe that is beside the point as I would expect the brakes to be without fault and in their most perfect condition the first day I bring my bike home. In addition the front brake has two left brake blocks instead of one left, one right.
    5) The tyre threads were facing the wrong way, despite the tyre having a very clear front - back notice on the tyre wall.
    6) The bike has a 5600 105 chain and cassette, despite it being sold to me as a more expensive full Ultegra and in contrast to every internet site that show the spec as having an ultegra 6600 chain and cassette. Therefore this product was sold misleadingly.
    7) I am unable to remove in full the Eurocycles sticker that was attached the top tube. There is still a 2x1' area that is dull and sticky, I am now afraid of removing or damaging the paint in order to remove this residue fully.
    8) The top tube measures 57 cm, not 58 cm as advised and measured by Shane the day I ordered. Therefore the bike is too small for me and the advise I received was misleading.
    9) The threads on the frame where you attach a bottle holder were stripped by the shop upon installation, damaging the frame.
    10) The right hand Shifter (gear changer) had been handled roughly and the plastic covering is very loose.

I originally advised some of these including the main problem (stripped frame threads) over the phone to Richie and he advised he would call me back. I waited one week but after no call I then called again, where Richie tried to get me to go to anther bike shop (not eurocyles). I advised that was out of the question and subsequently gave Richie a full list of defects which I emailed down. Upon review of my email Richie advised that I can forget the rethreading that we was offering me a new frame at the very least, after discusseing with his boss. I called Richie to discuss and it appeared they would not be able to get the type of bike I wanted, I offered an olive branch and said I would consider something else. Richie asked me to call in to the store, bring back the faulty bike that day to resolve. I left work early called in, but Richie was gone and no other staff were able to help me or even knew of the situation. I left the bike with them, displease after wasted earing, and a needless trip in rush hour traffic.

I called in a few days later to discuss with Richie, however it transpired that the other bikes being offered we either too small for me or didn't offer me value for money (i.e. would never have considered them in the first place). I did see one bike, but it was too small, however Richie advised that he may be able to get it in and her would call me Monday morning (it was a Thursday). I received no call so called on Tuesday to be advised that it was not possible to order, at this point (18/04/2011) I made my first request for a refund. Richie advised that he had no authority and asked that I call Claire in customer service. I called Claire, who was looking a getting the correct size bike in for me , however she was completely unaware of this issues I have had with the bike. I briefly explained over the phone, to which Claire responded 'oh' and 'it sounds like whoever put it together didn't know what they were doing' to which I agreed. I requested the correct size bike and in writing requested a full refund in the absence of this bike.

At this point Claire asked me to leave it with here that she was looking to get a the correct size bike in. Two days later, Richie emailed me to call him and he advised the bike was available and was on order. I said I was very happy with this and asked if there was lead time for delivery he advised he would let me know. I heard nothing for 8 days emailed, heard nothing again. I then called Richie to be advised that the bike was actually not available (over two weeks later) and that now all they could be was repair the frame. I advised Richie I would not accept this and again requested a refund. Richie again advised that he had no authority and again asked me to contact Claire, which I did that day.

I emailed Claire (04/05) and requested a full refund urgently (considering I had just been messed around for the past two weeks thinking a new bike was coming). I heard nothing and called Claire the next day who advised 'she had forgotten about me' and thought Richie was dealing with me and asked me to contact him. I advised Claire that Richie keeps sending me to her and I'm just going in circles. She advised someone would call before the weekend. I advised Claire that I no longer have any trust in Eurocycles that I will get a call back and advised that In the 4 months I have been dealing with them I have only once received a call back (despite 20+ messages). Claire assured me someone will call me back before the weekend. No one called. I emailed on the Monday, detailing my dissatisfaction with no call back to which Claire promptly replied to advise someone would call me that day, again no one called.

I emailed off to Claire again, conveying my shock that I still hadn't got that call. Later that day Richie (despite still having no authority) advised that my bikes threads were repaired!! I advised that this does not change the other issues or the subsequent service (or lack of) I have received since and again for the 3rd time requested a refund. After Richie yet again advised me he had no authority to do anything else, I advised my intentions to bring this matter to the small claims court.

I then emailed Claire (coping in the Managing Director, Aidan and owner, Mel) outlining my telecom with Richie and and my dissatisfaction at not being able to speak to someone who has authority. I sent in a formal letter of complaint as per the NCA template and included most of the above and gave 10 working days for a response. I advised in my letter, my intention to bring this matter before the small claims court in the absence of a resolution. The 10 days passes, so I sent a reminder email to ensure that it had sent, which also went ignored.
    [/SIZE]
    [/SIZE][SIZE=+0]

There you go! In addition, even when the courts wrote out to them, they ignored all court letters and it was only on the last possible day that they paid.

I also sent in a complaint to the ASAI in relation to the leaflet.

Just to say as I know many people know and respect Richie, he was at all times very nice, but the problem was, I shouldn't have been dealing with him as he was unable to do anything. I'd also like to point out that I was at no point a typical bad customer (worked for too long in retail myself) and went with the nice approach. [/SIZE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

Thanks for sharing that funkyjebus. Interesting read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

i went to buy a helmet in eurocycles in newbridge two weeks ago , was left waiting at least twenty minutes and when someone did appear they served this women who had only just appeared , they were obviously friends ,talking about a function they had been at the week before ....i left , they won't see me again ...:mad: