Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A stressful day !!

• 05-07-2011 11:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭

Arrived home yesterday evening to find my father in a very stressed state, he informed me that he had just had the day from hell !! His health is not the best over the last 36 months and he really should'nt be working at all tbh. Anyway i found out later that two young men (scumbags) had confronted him at work (he owns a petrol station), they entered the shop and started abusing the staff and smashed 3 empty longneck bottles of heineken off the shopfloor. My father approached them and asked them to leave the premises, they were off their faces on drink/drugs, after hurling abuse at him they eventually made their way. Approx 5 mins later they returned with what my father described as "security fencing" that they found across the road. They started to ram the fencing through the shop windows and caused an unmercifull amount of damage. At this point he decided to close the doors and rang the gardai, within 3 mins they arrived and had both idiots arrested.
    The ordeal could have ended much worse than it did to be fair but the stress it adds to an individual/business is terrible and in reality these clowns will more than likely get off with a slap on the wrist and will be free to harrass the public again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Hope your dad managed to get pictures of them, get massive versions printed out and stuck to the front of the petrol station, make sure everybody knows what they're like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

they wont even get a slap on the wrist. they will only get a lift home. shit buzz though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

press charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Shocking.

A guy I knew well got abuse from a customer in the pub he was working in one day. The guy was out of control but was eventually removed by other lads having a few drinks. The stress got to the barman though and he dropped dead a few minutes later. Shocked me, he was one of the soundest people round here.

Your dad was lucky, this kind of thing is hard on someone whose health is good even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Go Miguel , Yay !!! I love a good ending !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Last week four cars on my road (including my own) had their wing mirrors kicked off by a bunch of scumbag local kids. They also jumped on the bonnet and booted in two front windscreens (not mine though). This may seem trivial enough, but the guy next door and his g/f (young German couple) had to move out over it he had an excess on his policy and to pay for it himself. It set them back two weeks rent and they knew they knew it would take them months to catch up (car needed for work apparently) and so they moved in with friends yesterday.

Would be nice if young thugs were made more aware of the consequences of their actions. Not sure how that could be achieved, but I think inconsideration is one of the most overlooked factors that cause crime. It's that element of not caring how what you do effects those around you that has people running wild. Maybe it's something that can never be taught and you either have empathy for other people or you don't. The system we have sure isn't working, that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

It drives me mad with little bastards going around and doing what ever the fcuk they like and knowing right well they are going to get away with it.

Just last Wednesday I was in my Aunts in Portlaoise, we were inside and heard a loud banging so we went outside to find a little cnut no more than 12 jumping up and down on the bonnet of my car, I ran after the little prick and gave him a kick in the hole, and he shouted that he was going to get his father after me.

The bonnet is now totally ruined and theres no chance i'm going through my own insurance to get it fixed, my Aunt told me there's no point going to the little fcukers parents for the money as they would just laugh in my face, my Aunt had found this out the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I suppose he could bring a civil case against them and get money from their income/dole. Wouldn't be easy but could send a message...however slight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I dont really want aload of hassle, they live close to my Aunt so im sure they would make her life hell if I took action.

The law seems to side scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

It drives me mad with little bastards going around and doing what ever the fcuk they like and knowing right well they are going to get away with it.

Just last Wednesday I was in my Aunts in Portlaoise, we were inside and heard a loud banging so we went outside to find a little cnut no more than 12 jumping up and down on the bonnet of my car, I ran after the little prick and gave him a kick in the hole, and he shouted that he was going to get his father after me.

The bonnet is now totally ruined and theres no chance i'm going through my own insurance to get it fixed, my Aunt told me there's no point going to the little fcukers parents for the money as they would just laugh in my face, my Aunt had found this out the hard way.

The little fcuker, and after all you went through to get that lightbulb sorted for it.

I really do think it's a pity Gaurds can't get away with flaking the heads of f of these kids to scare them a bit straighter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Would be nice if young thugs were made more aware of the consequences of their actions.

They don't care about the consequences of their actions. What we should be doing is building more prisons now in preparation for this new generation of arseholes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They're oblivious to cause and affect and don't give a shít either way. As a result of this, they've no sense of responsiblity for their actions. It's nothing new, there's just more of it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Be careful what you say here. If that young man sees this post he will sue you for calling him a little cnut and the distress you caused by the kick up the hole! The way the law is on their side you will probably end up doing a strech in prison and owing him a few grand !! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Nikolai Stepanov

Unfortunate situation is unfortunate. Hopefully scummy scumbags get scumbagged. I doubtly doubt doubt though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The Irish justice system needs far more poetic irony. They should be forced to clean up the mess they made, pay to have the damage repaired, and then (under strict Garda supervision of course) man the checkouts at that garage so your dad can take a few days off and get a well needed rest after that kind of trauma.

I mean c'mon, if we're refusing to jail people who deserve it then why not implement some sort of poetic justice system as outlined about? Not only would it punish the scumbags but it would also reward the guy who had to put up with their crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

you can blame the bcc luther for this :rolleyes:

It's nothing new, there's just more of it now.

I definitely agree with this. I'm only 28 and i genuinely can't believe the level of scumbaggey i experience on a day to day basis, things weren't like this a scant 10 years ago.

I put it firmly down to the Celtic Tiger. People got their hands on a bit of money and stopped caring about actually being decent human beings. Parents had kids that the can't control or don't care about just to get a free house or free money in the form of childrens allowance and now those kids are turning out to be utterly undiscplined scummers who have the same sense of entitlement that their parents do.

Certain sectors of the population were basically just paid off with social welfare to go away and not bother us and now we're reaping what we've sowed. A large group of people who are beyond the law because it is both inadequate in dealing with them and irrelevant to them and all the participation they require in society is to take from the pot that they contribute very little to.

This is the beginning of something huge, i think. Our society as a whole is going to get a whole lot nastier, for want of a better word, over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

The Irish justice system needs far more poetic irony. They should be forced to clean up the mess they made, pay to have the damage repaired, and then (under strict Garda supervision of course) man the checkouts at that garage so your dad can take a few days off and get a well needed rest after that kind of trauma.

I mean c'mon, if we're refusing to jail people who deserve it then why not implement some sort of poetic justice system as outlined about? Not only would it punish the scumbags but it would also reward the guy who had to put up with their crap.

Who's going to pay for all this garda supervision? They should get a good hiding and have their dole stopped for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

the parents of these under age scum should serve time for damage etc caused by their son/daughters,

only then will the parents take note of what their children are like , and perhaps the kids will learn the lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

+1 to the idea of stopping dole

Anyone caught committing crimes should have all government support cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

If that was in Ireland the Store owner would of been sued and the robber would be awarded €50,000 plus in damages and the store owner would have got a criminal conviction and maybe time in jail.

The only law here is for the everyday Joe soaps who abide by it, and the scumbags they can do anything and get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

BizzyC wrote: »
    +1 to the idea of stopping dole

Anyone caught committing crimes should have all government support cut off.

I'd be more inclined to have a cut in their dole than stopping it.

Take money away from a scumbag and how do you think they are going to go about getting money?
    Steal it, most likely.....

I would say a 3 month reduction in the dole, pending no more run ins with the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Dymo wrote: »
    If that was in Ireland the Store owner would of been sued and the robber would be awarded €50,000 plus in damages and the store owner would have got a criminal conviction and maybe time in jail.

The only law here is for the everyday Joe soaps who abide by it, and the scumbags they can do anything and get away with it.

Yeah, 'cos the US is the land where no-one ever sues anyone.:rolleyes:

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Take money away from a scumbag and how do you think they are going to go about getting money?
    Steal it, most likely.....

That argument always irks me. They already steal anyway, the dole is just extra free money for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Agreed. You need to hit them where it hurts.
    And no, not in the cojones but rather the pocket.

Take discipline in the schools.

If Little Johnny is being a constant messer then he gets a proverbial yellow card from the school.

More persistent messing and he gets a red card (seconded by the principal and school inspector) along with a €100 fine for the parents.

I'm telling you if little johnny's parent(s) were getting fines for his behaviour, then it wouldn't be long before he stopped the messing.

I'm not sure how this could be applied to our current scum generation but at least the next generation might be salvaged without resorting to the re-introduction of corporal punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

That argument always irks me. They already steal anyway, the dole is just extra free money for them.
    .............which basically means there's no point in cutting the dole at all-the point was to discourage them from stealing/doing whatever, but if they do that ANYWAY, removing all support would surely be no help.
    Forced labour (sounds bad in that context, but what I mean is govt. says to them "you must do this job if you want money") for a period of time after a crime would be better surely (assuming they are on the dole), with repeat offenders after this facing jail.
    IDK, I'm a ****ing idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

I'm a firm believer that humiliation and embarresment is the only way to sort these thugs out tbh, when someone urinates against a wall they're made clean it !! Some form of community service in high visibility clothing (like the chain gang) is warranted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

a lot of professionals can have scumbag kids, not just those on welfare.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Most of these little cnuts dont care and never will.. Their parents and local thugs are worse than they are and are the role models they grow up trying to emulate.

Like someone said, if they are on welfare, knock 20% off their entitlement each time they are caught and convicted of a crime.

If they and their families are causing problems in the community, remove them for their social housing, lets see how they survive on little or no social welfare and no free house..

Social welfare is the state attempting to look after the less advantaged, but its turned into a system of free money and housing for scumbags that abuse the system and turn into leeches on society.

Humiliation and hard work are the only ways to stop them. Working clearing ditches on the side of the road, cleaning sewers, removing graffiti etc. Show them that if they break the law, the society has the right to make them suffer for their actions.

Make prison or community service orders so unbearable that they will think twice about wanting to commit a crime again in case they get caught and have to go back. Not the summer camps they have now turned into..

The political correctness brigade have a lot to answer for, society has gone soft and the result is an all time high number of pure scum who dont give a sh*t about people or society in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

As paddy said the PC parade have alot to answer for,i know if had danced on bonnet on car,i would had got right wallop from parents.

But kids will be kids,some are brought up with lack of disciple,disfunctional household or soft touch from parents who frankly don't give a fck about them.

We cant jail them despite our wishes as there frankly no room in our prisons or its not a place for that young,but would wish there was an uk type approach where the police would vist and talk to the offenders of their actions.

Cutting off the dole for some of the scoobs would sound nice but the bleeding heart liberals would be out in force.

Personally for any yobs with no intention of reform i would be in favour of a fireing squad or electric chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭martin6651

You can blame the Bleeding Heart Do Gooders who wont allow you the kick the crap out of these scumbags that roam our streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

.............which basically means there's no point in cutting the dole at all-the point was to discourage them from stealing/doing whatever, but if they do that ANYWAY, removing all support would surely be no help.
    Forced labour (sounds bad in that context, but what I mean is govt. says to them "you must do this job if you want money") for a period of time after a crime would be better surely (assuming they are on the dole), with repeat offenders after this facing jail.
    IDK, I'm a ****ing idiot

What if prisons were run in a way that the conditions were worse and keeping an inmate cost way less than paying them the dole? Then add in work such as cleaning the beaches, roads etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Wasn't going to post in this as I will just get a load of guff back, but when I lived in London our street was the quietest going, despit being in a rough area. When I left the sh1tes returned, my own parents home was broken into about a week later. For an area to be good, the "good" people need to pull up the scum(I wasn't too good, but I never messed with ordinary people or property).
    If scummers came into our street, they got a hiding, simple as. We were probably regarded as just young scummers ourselves, but we never messed with normal people or their homes. Nobody was allowed to hang around on our street, burglars just gave it a miss, you could park your car where you wanted. Ok, we were violent, but it was violence for a reason and it made living where I lived nice. Funnily enough, where I live now, you can park your car and its fine, burglars give it a miss, and no outside scummers hang around....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

As much as I agree with the cutting of dole for sh1te parents,it will never happen as ultimately this will lead to the children losing out in food/heat/clothes even if they dont receive these things in the first place....Human rights and all that .

You cant fine the parents for the childs crime if they are unemployed.

Cant,cant,cant...........:mad:

Hard times call for hard measures.

Food stamps which can only be redeemed with identification.Alcohol cannot be purchased as this is not a necessity.

Holidays may not be taken to mainland Europe.

For those long term unemployed,there should be some form of back to work scheme where people help out in the community in which they live so that they have something to do during the day and have to get up and put in a shift.Removing grafitti,watering flowers,cutting grass.cleaning council vehicles......any fcuking thing,but something!

Their progeny will soon learn that they do not want to follow in the footsteps of their parent.

My more austere measures will be kept until Greece causes the house of cards to fall and the fan hits the sh1t:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Arrived home yesterday evening to find my father in a very stressed state, he informed me that he had just had the day from hell !! His health is not the best over the last 36 months and he really should'nt be working at all tbh. Anyway i found out later that two young men (scumbags) had confronted him at work (he owns a petrol station), they entered the shop and started abusing the staff and smashed 3 empty longneck bottles of heineken off the shopfloor. My father approached them and asked them to leave the premises, they were off their faces on drink/drugs, after hurling abuse at him they eventually made their way. Approx 5 mins later they returned with what my father described as "security fencing" that they found across the road. They started to ram the fencing through the shop windows and caused an unmercifull amount of damage. At this point he decided to close the doors and rang the gardai, within 3 mins they arrived and had both idiots arrested.
    The ordeal could have ended much worse than it did to be fair but the stress it adds to an individual/business is terrible and in reality these clowns will more than likely get off with a slap on the wrist and will be free to harrass the public again

Fair play to the guards getting there on time.