Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hard GAA Pitches

• 05-07-2011 8:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭

Lads have been playing on hard GAA pitches recently and as a result i now have serious blood blisters on my feet.

with championship tonight does anyone know the best way to cushion them so i can move around freely without feeling like im running on gravel.

wearing 5 pairs of socks and using them compeed plasters are all i can think of so far. anyone got any tricks of the trade to share??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If it's really hard you could consider wearing runners if you think you'd have the grip, either that or blades, although a lot of people don't like blades. Too many pairs of socks could lead to a lot of sweating which will lead to blisters, so that's not a good thing either. I'd recommend a good pair of UnderArmour socks under your normal socks, they can work miracles
    14-3271.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Clareman wrote: »
    If it's really hard you could consider wearing runners if you think you'd have the grip, either that or blades, although a lot of people don't like blades. Too many pairs of socks could lead to a lot of sweating which will lead to blisters, so that's not a good thing either. I'd recommend a good pair of UnderArmour socks under your normal socks, they can work miracles
    14-3271.jpg

where you get those socks i wear copa mundials and i get what your saying bout sweating but tonight i just need padding to get through the game. i usually find the compeed plasters to be good for cushioning but i think an extra couple of pairs of socks will be needed tonight

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Get yourself a pair of ankle socks, brand new and put those under your main socks. Also a bit of talc in your boots might help a bit.

I think Elvery's sell UnderArmour products, Lifestyle definitely do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Plaster the soles of your feet with Vaseline before games, also apply some to the soles of your socks. Moulded studs is also a must.

If you do get blisters, the best cure is the pee on your feet. Believe me it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

vaseline on the feet is yer only job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

slingerz wrote: »
    Lads have been playing on hard GAA pitches recently and as a result i now have serious blood blisters on my feet.

with championship tonight does anyone know the best way to cushion them so i can move around freely without feeling like im running on gravel.

wearing 5 pairs of socks and using them compeed plasters are all i can think of so far. anyone got any tricks of the trade to share??

Are you wearing studs or mouldies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

there mouldies, the copa mundials to be exact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

The other posts should help so. Its ridiculous how many lads you running around on hard ground with metal studs and then theyre wondering why their feet are fecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

any pair of sports socks under your football socks will do the job.
    I always wore two pairs as it helps the feet fit more snugly into the boots too and you don't have to tie the laces as tight.

I also know lads who have replaced the (crap) insole thats comes in the boots with special absorbant insoles to help reduce shock on the legs