Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever Pull an All-Nighter?

• 04-07-2011 3:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭

OK so Ive got an interview tomorrow (after eight) and have decided the best course of action to be at my best is to not sleep at all.

I've only got 4 hours left, and I aint gonna get up if I nod off.

Plus I should have extra hours in reserve since I stayed in bed till 2pm on Sunday :D:confused:

How do you guys recommend I stay awake apart from faps, throwing water on my face or blasting my face with piss or fapping to yore ma blasting piss on my face etc etc... :pac:

And do any of you have any stories of how you had to or did stay awake all night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I have to stay awake all night at least once a month. Doing so tonight, in fact. Advice I would give would be to leave drinking coffee or caffeine off for as long as possible and showering at least once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Im pulling one right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Drink and play the xbox,works for me.

I have done 2 all nighters in a row due to the above and work and another party after.

Frighting stuff I have to say. Hallucinations were weird.

The funny thing is when I did get to bed,I woke the next morning at 8 am as fresh :confused:

Fook! Its happening again, when I posted this comment and it brought me back to the thread there were only 2 comments! I thought I just imagined typing this for a second :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭dunworth1

pulling one tonight myself.

i find

that watching scary films
    playing the xbox
    on the laptop

helps

i'm fine in the morning and up until around noon then i start to really want to go to sleep. then i basically just force myself to stay awake by doing stuff.

i find walking etc.. very bad as it makes me more tired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

I can do an all nighter but I'll start having problems about 5pm falling asleep if I sit down at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

Drink and play the xbox,works for me.

I have done 2 all nighters in a row due to the above and work and another party after.

Frighting stuff I have to say. Hallucinations were weird.

The funny thing is when I did get to bed,I woke the next morning at 8 am as fresh :confused:

Fook! Its happening again, when I posted this comment and it brought me back to the thread there were only 2 comments! I thought I just imagined typing this for a second :(

What are you talking about? Who are you? There is no thread, now sleep.

And with all the lack of sleep where do you get the time for Local Womanizing?

And what kind of hallucinations do ya get, ya mad bastard ya? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Doing one now so I will be wrecked once I hop on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Reading shíte on the internet such as this thread keeps me up till all hours.

Spunge wrote: »
    Reading shíte on the internet such as this thread keeps me up till all hours.

Aww shucks! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Perfectly normal. When you do eventually get to sleep your body goes almost immediately into deep REM (not the band) sleep.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Perfectly normal. When you do eventually get to sleep your body goes almost immediately into deep REM (not the band) sleep.

No need for the clarification, I think we all associate REM with falling asleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Doing one myself, just relax and enjoy it, don't lie down and stand up every now and again to stay alert. If possible go for walks and/or take a shower. Caffeine definitely helps too.:D

Malty_T wrote: »
    Doing one myself, just relax and enjoy it, don't lie down and stand up every now and again to stay alert. If possible go for walks and/or take a shower. Caffeine definitely helps too.:D

And why are you as a matter of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Drink a cup of cocoa, put on some relaxing music, have a ****, then rest just rest your eyes for a minute. Then you should be right as rain.

Im having a shower now, so watch the thread while Im gone.

And dont let anything interesting.... oh forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭scoll

Study.

scoll wrote: »
    Study.

Aye, we officially have no life.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,759 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Noctural forum...?

Anyway, avoid alcohol works for me - just puts me to sleep quicker. Throw some water on your face if you feel yourself slipping or a quick walk down the shops for the paper one it gets bright enough.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

scoll wrote: »
    Study.

Dammit!

I knew I shouldnt have taken that shower.

Look what's happened my precious precious thread!:(

EDIT: Here lads Im off to the shop. Want anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,759 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Coke.

What he said. And hookers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sleep.

Dammit!

I knew I shouldnt have taken that shower.

Look what's happened my precious precious thread!:(

Lol I just got back from the shop.:D

I didnt see ya. You should have told me you were going, no point in two of us going.

And get back to the thread on the existensialist philosophy underpinning Football games. Your knowledge is needed

Shouldn't you be on your way to the interview by now?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Shouldn't you be on your way to the interview by now?

Im gonna give a call at 8 45 and cycle in after if I get no answer.
    I had to be up by 8 though.

Well best of luck with it. Remember though that lack of sleep can give the appearance of you being drunk. So don't go to an interview sleep deprived ever again!:D

Hopefully my tiredness will make seem calm nonchalant rather than tired and bricking it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

with or without a train?

9am and you're little green online light is still shining! Or have you fallen asleep at the keyboard...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

All I know is its hard to pull an all-nighter. Doesnt matter what your sleeping patterns are.

but op's online symbol is on :P but its only 09.15 ... you didnt go to the interview at 8ish? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Used to pull all-nighters in college all the time to get work finished. Occassionally have the odd one now. Usually after a party, or gaming with mates or some stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Nikolai Stepanov

I'm coming up on 25 hours now. Feeling tired. Got to keep going. Must.... stay.......awake.

Another.....7.........perhaps....8........hours......to...ensure......adequate.......sleep....and early......rise.

I'm coming up on 25 hours now. Feeling tired. Got to keep going. Must.... stay.......awake.

Another.....7.........perhaps....8........hours......to...ensure......adequate.......sleep....and early......rise.

Pftt amateur I'm now on..*starts counting*
    29 hours going on 30:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Yeah through drinking and whatnot mostly, next day is always a write-off though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I don't get this thread...you had a job interview at 8am? And you needed to stay up all night because you didn't want to be tired?...why not just go to bed early and wake up around 6?

I'm confused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Im pulling one right now

OMG - TMI ! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

This is probably just me but keep caffeine to a minimum. I did an all nighter once in order not to risk missing an early morning flight. Overdid the coffee to keep myself awake.

The combination of no sleep and too much coffee is a nono for me. My heart started racing and I basically ended up having a panic attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

more times than I care to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

buy football manager. real days feel like 90 minutes of sexy virtual football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Anytime I pull, it's an all-nighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I've only ever done a few.

The worst was my mate's birthday last year. I was recording an album the next day (which is an incredibly long, tedious process) and hadn't a wink of sleep. I think I basically stayed awake from lottts of chocolate and water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I used to keep mad hours when I was in college and at exam time would sleep for maybe 2 hours from 2am-4am and then back study again.

Also stayed up all night once playing an online computer game.
    > I'll be over there, posting my picture in the KYN thread :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sleep is for the weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Easy enough to do an all nighter. Its being productive the next day thats hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

First time was the day before i started my Leaving cert....to watch the 24 season finale. Definitely worth it.
    Last time was a couple of weeks ago for no reason at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Was out on Saturday night and got home at 10am yesterday. Went for 5 hours sleep then had a shit sleep last night. I woke up at 5:20 thinking it was time to get up, checked my phone and went back asleep and when I woke up I really didn't wanna get up, checked my phone and it was 5:33. I hate nights like that. Shattered today. Will be having an early one tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

I find it's easy enough to stay up until about 12pm the next day, cue sleeping at any point of sitting down, lectures, on the jacks, driving:eek:

KeithM89 wrote: »
    First time was the day before i started my Leaving cert....to watch the 24 season finale. Definitely worth it.
    Last time was a couple of weeks ago for no reason at all.

I remember staying up for the 24 series finale, downloading it, watching it before 7:00 a.m. (I think I posted on boards.ie about how it was?) Then heading off into work 2 hours later full of tears/smiles after a brief 40 minute power nap. Jackk, sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

hope it went well anyway OP, but sure jaysus, been nights where I've only gotten 4 hours sleep. I'd have hit the sack. 4 hours, you wouldn't be crisp but you'd be ok.

what I'm saying is between getting 4 hours sleep or none, I'd take the 4 hours. if you know you've to get up when the alarm goes off you get that shot of "I've to get up!!!" and away you go.

if only I was up at 4 in the morning to pass on this sagely wisdom!!!