Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Crash

• 03-07-2011 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭

Yesterday a friend of mine was in a small crash, he pulled out in front of someone and hit the drivers door not a lot of damage done to his car broken headlight and damage to the wing. The other car was a lot worse needs a 2 new doors which would be generally cheap enough from a scrap yard.

What the problem is the lad he crashed into crashed into is a right w*nker. I witnessed the crash and to a certain extent you could blame both (other lad was in the middle of the road) but my friend was the wrong. The guards were called and all that. There wasn't a bother on both drivers. The other driver is refusing to take cash to fix his car and from the head of him I know he is gonna take my friend on a ride claiming from the insurance, two doors is all he needs for the car but I know right well he is going to start claiming for injury and all that bullsh1t. He was a dub and I know he is gonna pull a quick one. If this happened in Dublin it would be a complete different story no doubt.

I was just wondering was anyone else and there insurance taken on a complete ride from a little bang. In this case giving cash to fix the car is the best thing to do but the dub won't accept it he wants to claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

If two doors need to be replaced, it sounds like more than a little bang tbh.

Don't think there's anything you can do, the "dub" is entitled to go through your friend's insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

damn those Dubs!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

right cause he's a dub he's going claim injury, your way of logic astounds me, ahh sure yeh me mate hit someone but it's not his fault entirely. he hit a dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

If he hit your car, would you be happy to have some secondhand doors from a scrapyard fitted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Goreygal

Insurance companies have pretty intensive medical assessments now for injury claims so it's not as easy as it used to be to "claim injuries".

Your "dub" comment is offensive though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

Happened a close friend of mine last year - smacked into both doors on the drivers side .- Looking at the car you would just think that it needed just new doors .

The lady was driving a Volvo , and when it was all finalised , she received €13,000 for the car and €22,000 injury .

Did not happen in Dublin !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

If both doors are damaged how can the B pillar not be damaged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Something doesn't sound right here. Your mate pulled out in front of this other car yet somehow managed to T-bone him causing damage to both drivers side doors? Would you like more sugar to coat that story in?

I'd be surprised if the guy wasn't injured to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

kearney13 wrote: »
    Yesterday a friend of mine was in a small crash, he pulled out in front of someone and hit the drivers door not a lot of damage done to his car broken headlight and damage to the wing. The other car was a lot worse needs a 2 new doors which would be generally cheap enough from a scrap yard.

What the problem is the lad he crashed into crashed into is a right w*nker. I witnessed the crash and to a certain extent you could blame both (other lad was in the middle of the road) but my friend was the wrong. The guards were called and all that. There wasn't a bother on both drivers. The other driver is refusing to take cash to fix his car and from the head of him I know he is gonna take my friend on a ride claiming from the insurance, two doors is all he needs for the car but I know right well he is going to start claiming for injury and all that bullsh1t. He was a dub and I know he is gonna pull a quick one. If this happened in Dublin it would be a complete different story no doubt.

I was just wondering was anyone else and there insurance taken on a complete ride from a little bang. In this case giving cash to fix the car is the best thing to do but the dub won't accept it he wants to claim.

First, stupid statement about the "dub" crap.

Second why would you think it is ok to buy some crap out of a scrap yard and put it onto a car? I had this same crap a while back. Some guy crashed into me. Was a real pain, and no he wasnt a "dub". First statement was that his car was newer so why was I so worried about my car???? At this I told him to get real. Then he wanted to get his "mate" to fix it. Told him to get lost and give me his insurance.

When I rang the insurance company he had said nothing, then they rang me back and said that there was no damage on my car according to him and what was my problem. Luckily I had brought it straight to garage after crash and had my estimate already done up. Finally then did he admit to it and was done under insruance.

It baffles me that when people crash into someone else they expect the other driver to allow them to take the pi** so they dont put it on there insurance. I wonder what would have happened if it was your mate who was crashed into? would he head off to a scrap yard and buy crap to fix his car?

And what is this statement "from the head of him". You didnt mention anything about what the Garda said? my guess is they know your mate, the non-dub, was completely at fault

another thing to point out is..ive tried to go the non insurance route before and when the second party wasnt happy with the price it started an even bigger argument where they refused out right to pay and even denied the crash even happened. and that was a damn foreginer crashing into a damn Dub lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

What the problem is the lad he crashed into crashed into is a right w*nker. I witnessed the crash and to a certain extent you could blame both (other lad was in the middle of the road) but my friend was the wrong. The guards were called and all that.

And that certian extent is no extent whatsoever, even if he was a dub.

http://www.rotr.ie/rules-for-driving/junctions-roundabouts/junctions.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,054 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Weirdly I had a mid fifties country guy reverse in to my car years ago in Dublin. I was very reasonable with him and got the car assesed in three places, the dealer, a body shop and a friends body shop. My friends was the cheapest and I was happy to go with this as I felt sorry for the man that crashed in to me, he was lost in the city and I know that's not a nice feeling. I gave him directions to where he needed to go and sent him on his way.

Time went by and he wouldn't pay me.

Eventually I called him and he insisted on speaking Irish to me, my Irish is rusty and I couldn't really understand him. When I told him I had to go through his insurance he quickly switched to English and denied hitting me at all! Luckily, I had gone to the Gards about it and they backed me up (they were on to him the day of the accident and he had admitted liability)

He then called me and said he had sourced the car parts for my car and had arranged a garage (90 klicks from where I live) to fix it and gave me a time and place to be to have the car done as he felt I would blow the money on drink and drugs and not get the car fixed at all.

I called the insurance and got the cheque the next day and got the dealer to fix the car.

By the way, your attitude stinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

surely if there is an insurance claim it does not matter if it is for 500 or 5000 you friends ncb will be gone and his insurance will go up next year anyway you comment about the dub is terrible ( i am not a dub ) but still found it offensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

I'm also wondering how you can pull out in front of someone and T-bone them?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

you can do it, but you have to be from meath like the OP is and his 'friend'.

Ah the good aul "friend" situation...:D

focus_mad wrote: »
    I'm also wondering how you can pull out in front of someone and T-bone them?:confused:

I'm guessing he pulled out and the "dub" with the "head on him" kept driving rubbing both doors off the nose of the op's friend. Where dis this happen op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Ìf I was that Dub and I got any sense of you're attitude at the crash scene I would opt to go through insurance anyway.

In fact 9/10 I would go the insurance route to avoid any messing around as you never can tell "by the head" on them what they will be like later when the friend gets on to them.

Also I imagine the other driver ended up in the middle of the road to try to avoid hitting you're completely in the wrong friend who pulled out and T-Boned the other innocent driver.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭kearney13

My 'friend' that I'm on about was a lad I knew in school, not a lad he I would hand around with to often I'd say hello to him and that would be the height of it I just witnessed the crash yesterday. The crash was his fault. There was no stop sign at the T-junction. I didn't mean to insult anyone by say the 'dub' half the time people from Dublin that moved down here call us culchie f*cks, doesn't bother me.

The other driver is from a rough place in Dublin. (I don't mean offense to anyone with this) Years back a friend of my sisters crash into a car with lads from Dublin in it, nothing serious everything was exchanged. A few days later one of them put in a claim for 20000 and got it, he made up sh1te that he couldn't work and all that.

I can honestly say I wouldn't mind parts from a scrapyard for my car at all some parts were scrap. The car damaged id an ibiza not a dear fix. I asked a lad earlier today how much would fix it given its only the doors he said 400 quid maximum. The drivers door only got the worst of it and a mark on the back passenger door nothing a panal beater wouldn't fix. The doors still opened grand.

When the guard was there he started saying the two doors wouldn't open even though I seen him get out the his door and the same with the lad in the back. Its all being dealt with now I'd say. There was no way there was an injury to anyone because it was slow collision.

I don't know why people are giving out to me really for saying 'by the head of him', when if seen threads on this about people given out about scumbags (which he was) saying there too intimidating to walk by and they cross the road to avoid them. We all know this type of person, trousers in the socks cocky as f*ck, when they have an opportunity like this one of course till will try milk it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

My 'friend' that I'm on about was a lad I knew in school, not a lad he I would hand around with to often I'd say hello to him and that would be the height of it I just witnessed the crash yesterday. The crash was his fault. There was no stop sign at the T-junction. I didn't mean to insult anyone by say the 'dub' half the time people from Dublin that moved down here call us culchie f*cks, doesn't bother me.

The other driver is from a rough place in Dublin. (I don't mean offense to anyone with this) Years back a friend of my sisters crash into a car with lads from Dublin in it, nothing serious everything was exchanged. A few days later one of them put in a claim for 20000 and got it, he made up sh1te that he couldn't work and all that.

I can honestly say I wouldn't mind parts from a scrapyard for my car at all some parts were scrap. The car damaged id an ibiza not a dear fix. I asked a lad earlier today how much would fix it given its only the doors he said 400 quid maximum. The drivers door only got the worst of it and a mark on the back passenger door nothing a panal beater wouldn't fix. The doors still opened grand.

When the guard was there he started saying the two doors wouldn't open even though I seen him get out the his door and the same with the lad in the back. Its all being dealt with now I'd say. There was no way there was an injury to anyone because it was slow collision.

I don't know why people are giving out to me really for saying 'by the head of him', when if seen threads on this about people given out about scumbags (which he was) saying there too intimidating to walk by and they cross the road to avoid them. We all know this type of person, trousers in the socks cocky as f*ck, when they have an opportunity like this one of course till will try milk it.
    Your spelling is as good as your friends driving!

People are giving out to you because you are a snob.

You are judging the guy because of where he is from and what he is wearing. He has every right to refuse parts from a scrapyard, doesn't matter if he has a Ferrari or Seat, he was not in the wrong, your mate crashed in to him.

You just don't think he deserves to have his car fixed the way he wants it fixed because you think he is a scumbag, a lesser person than you. Your €400 fix up story and your Sister crash stories are completely irrelevant if true at all.

You have some attitude, you need to change it before you go in to the real world Kearney13.

how do you know he was a scumbag? im from dublin am i a scumbag?

Read that back there spelling is really off was on the beer last night. I'm just putting my point across if I was in the accident. I wouldn't go down the road of making a claim. I would be just as happy to take cash and cheap parts from a scrap yard as they are just as good as new ones I think anyway.

We are in the real world there are snobs everywhere ya go. Not trying to say I'm a better person than anyone, from reading through a few threads on boards a lot of people are hostile towards the people I am describing.

Its guaranteed if one of ye were in the situation my friend is in you would offer money to fix the car rather than having a claim coming though on your first month insured in your car. Insurance is dear enough as it is.

I was talking to lad just there on facebook, passenger is complaining of severe headaches, drivers left right keeps on going numb, he cant work for a week.... coincidence????

I would be just as happy to take cash and cheap parts from a scrap yard as they are just as good as new ones I think anyway.

They are not.
    a lot of people are hostile towards the people I am describing.

Towards Dubliners? Maybe so, doesn't mean you have to jump on a band wagon.
    Its guaranteed if one of ye were in the situation my friend is in you would offer money to fix the car rather than having a claim coming though on your first month insured in your car. Insurance is dear enough as it is.

If your mate had an attitude like you after crashing in to me, pushing his own agenda, suggesting scrapyards I would insist on going through the insurance. I wouldn't have time to be dealing with a jumped up, presumptions little cute hoer to be honest with you.
    I was talking to lad just there on facebook, passenger is complaining of severe headaches, drivers left right keeps on going numb, he cant work for a week.... coincidence????

No, not a coincidence, I'd say you are lying now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Read that back there spelling is really off was on the beer last night. I'm just putting my point across if I was in the accident. I wouldn't go down the road of making a claim. I would be just as happy to take cash and cheap parts from a scrap yard as they are just as good as new ones I think anyway.

We are in the real world there are snobs everywhere ya go. Not trying to say I'm a better person than anyone, from reading through a few threads on boards a lot of people are hostile towards the people I am describing.

That's for the insurance company to worry about. Was your friend ever going to report the accident to his own insurance company? Or was the 'cash offer' meant to be a bit of nudge nudge wink wink?

your freind completely crossed one side of the road to hit the th drivers side of the car....if the other car was traveling at 30 mph that is a fairly serious hit. and is entitled to what ever compensation he is entitled too....if your freind drove in an appropiate manner he would not be in this situation

Its all being settled now. This happened in robinstown if anyone seen it. It was a complete accident that happened, mass was just over place was full of cars sun was in his eyes didn't see the other car. His car was doing about 10mph max the other car probably 20-25mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

other lad was in the middle of the road
    By "middle of the road", do you mean "the other side of the road", which means that your "friend" hit the other guy on the drivers side.
    The other driver is refusing to take cash to fix his car
    As your friend seems to be a muppet, I don't blame the other driver.
    two doors is all he needs for the car
    Two doors, the pillar, and that's not even counting labour. I wonder would the damage write the car off?
    He was a dub and I know he is gonna pull a quick one. If this happened in Dublin it would be a complete different story no doubt.
    This makes no sense. It actually makes you look quite silly.
    In this case giving cash to fix the car is the best thing to do but the dub won't accept it he wants to claim.
    Erm, no. It isn't. You see, your "friend" has probably offered the other driver some stupidly low figure based on two of the cheapest doors in a scrap yard that his friend will fix onto the car, as opposed to a figure that includes the two doors, the pillar, and the labour.

Oh, and why did your "friend" not stop before the T junction? Your "friend" sounds like a muppet who shouldn't be on the road.

mass was just over place was full of cars sun was in his eyes didn't see the other car
    WOW. Like, wow. If he can't see a car, what hope does he have of seeing a small child cross the road?

First month eh? It was you, wasn't it?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72176810&postcount=14

As we say in rough parts of Dublin - snared rapid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

the_syco wrote: »
    WOW. Like, wow. If he can't see a car, what hope does he have of seeing a small child cross the road?

True I never read such tripe in such a long time.

It was a complete accident these things happen. Not a bother on the pillar btw. Why does everyone here have a problem with parts from a scrap yard. I had a field day in a scrapyard one day getting parts for my own everything was perfect.

By the middle of the road I mean his car was on the white line fairly easy to understand that, he was turning right and hit the drivers side. To be fair is a very awkward turn when its busy my friend should of been creeping and peeping in all fairness to him.

A lot of crashes happen everyday around Dublin guards can't arrive at everyone of them so its much handier paying for the damages done if there's no injuries. If my friend was crashed into in a city both drivers nearly always get the blame, hit and run, other driver has no insurance or your politely told to f*ck off and deal with it yourself. Based on stories I've read in newspapers and on here.

I'm not being an asshole here, I think your man is trying to pull a quick one, he didn't have a trustworthy face to me. At the scene after I seen him get of the drivers door, he told the guard it didn't open, lying straight away that's why I think he gonna pull a quick one, If he lies to the gaurds he will lie to anyone.

I work with a polish chap, hes a handyman with cars, I rang him up earlier he said 400 would cover it all if ya find the same colour doors and he would get money for scraping the damaged ones.

They were roads with equal importance hence why there was no stop sign at the junction as I said it was after mass village was busy. He stopped for the traffic to go by so he could pull out, he thought everything was clear but it wasn't, genuine accident if your saying he shouldn't be on the your an idiot accidents happen everyday of the week. He has a good 6 or 7 years experience driving machinery on the roads and you have no other choice than be aware driving them, so he does have the cop on. It was just an accident. unfortunately sh1t happens.

My point of all this is people regardless of who they are and where there from shouldn't try insurance fraud, say everyone seen the ads on tele at this stage. If theres no injuries and minimal damage done whats wrong with taking cash to fix it, an insurance claim would take a while to come though anyway. If the driver of the crashed car took the cash his car will be as good as it was by the weekend.

No it wasn't me might seem like that to you but I would admit to it being me worst I've done is hitting a toe bar if needs be I can take a timstamped picture of my bora and stick it up on here so I don't think I was snared rapid ;)

I just don't want my friends insurance being rode by a lying a*sehole! Which is fair enough isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

My point of all this is people regardless of who they are and where there from shouldn't try insurance fraud, say everyone seen the ads on tele at this stage. If theres no injuries and minimal damage done whats wrong with taking cash to fix it, an insurance claim would take a while to come though anyway. If the driver of the crashed car took the cash his car will be as good as it was by the weekend.

I'm all for people not defrauding insurance, but there are very few people who crash into me on the side of the road that I'd trust to just pay up the proper amount of cash required to repair my car.

If I get my car serviced at a main dealer, then that's where I'd want it assessed and quoted. If you can come with me to the garage, wait for the quote and pay the garage there and then, grand. If you start asking me to go to Bob's Nixer Joint down the road where he'll "find" some parts, I'll be less enthused and less likely to play ball. Just because you're confident in the quality of Bob's work doesn't mean I am.

I can use photoshop too. Post up a pic with you holding up a copy of today's paper and I'll believe you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

No it wasn't me might seem like that to you but I would admit to it being me worst I've done is hitting a toe bar if needs be I can take a timstamped picture of my bora and stick it up on here so I don't think I was snared rapid ;)

I just don't want my friends insurance being rode by a lying a*sehole! Which is fair enough isn't it?
    1 Thought it was a passat you said you had!
    2 I know who i would consider to be the lying a*sehole!

If my friend was crashed into in a city both drivers nearly always get the blame, hit and run, other driver has no insurance or your politely told to f*ck off and deal with it yourself

Are you for real? Where you read and here these stories about cities? Bull**** pubtalk???
    I'm not being an asshole here, I think your man is trying to pull a quick one, he didn't have a trustworthy face to me

This gets better, and you are being an asshole.
    I'I work with a polish chap, hes a handyman with cars, I rang him up earlier he said 400 would cover it all if ya find the same colour doors and he would get money for scraping the damaged ones.

He quoted the replacement parts, labour, repair etc over the phone without seeing the car assuming the chassis isn't misaligned? Does he weld separate cars together in his spare time?
    If the driver of the crashed car took the cash his car will be as good as it was by the weekend.

You're a chancer, a wide boy. You tried to pawn off the crash victim with a few quid after you dangerously t-boned him and he threw it back in your face, dead right of him too. I wouldn't trust you either, you've some cheek.

wouldnt it be great to hear the other side of the story...i bet it would go something like this

i was driving down the arse end of nowhere listenin to my bangin tunes and up to general no good when this thick culchie pulled out in front of me!! i got out and the whole side of me car waz wrecked... the bleedin muppet then had the cheek to say he get me 2 second hand doors... the bleedin hack of him with his big thick culchie head on him. now me missus has bad headaches and my side is killin me i think ill go the hospital and bang in a massive claim cos that what us Dublin people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Let the insurance deal with it.
    If your friend feels the damage or injuries are being exaggerated, either you or him can report it to insurance confidential ie via the proper avenues.
    Why would you give a stranger €400 basically on the side of the road.
    If he seemed untrustworthy or whatever the best thing to do is let the professionals deal with it. He could take that €400 and still make the claim.
    His car will be assessed as will his injuries, or lack of.

If someone hit me and offered me €400 to repair two doors I'd have a head on me too to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Your spelling is as good as your friends driving!

If you're going to be pedantic about spelling you shouldn't forget your possessive apostrophes.
    Jeez, all you keyboard warriors are being a tad harsh on the young fella. I think he gets it.

Why does everyone here have a problem with parts from a scrap yard.
    If I scratch my own car, I'll do it cheaply. If someone else scratches my car because they're being a muppet, I'll ensure they thing twice about doing it again.

=-=

So your friend didn't yield. And if there wasn't a stop sign, there would be a yield sign. And if somehow there was neither, you use the cop the f**k on sign, and look both ways. If
    sun was in his eyes
    and he continued driving forward as
    he was turning right and hit the drivers side.
    So, he drove forward, and hit the drivers side. Now, I can confirm that he wasn't driving fast, as if your "friend" was driving fast, there'd be a good chance that the other driver would be pinned into the car, and unable to get out.
    I'm not being an asshole here
    I hope the other driver takes your "friend" for every penny your "friend" has.
    I work with a polish chap, hes a handyman with cars, I rang him up earlier he said 400 would cover it all if ya find the same colour doors and he would get money for scraping the damaged ones.
    The other driver doesn't care about how much it will cost your "friend". Why should they? Your "friend" is the one who crashed into them.
    He stopped for the traffic to go by so he could pull out, he thought everything was clear but it wasn't, genuine accident if your saying he shouldn't be on the your an idiot accidents happen everyday of the week.
    So your "friend" stopped for the traffic, and was going so slow that he never saw the other car coming? Your "friend" sounds like the idiot here.
    If the driver of the crashed car took the cash his car will be as good as it was by the weekend.
    I very much doubt it.

Keyboard warriors are right I always thought it was attack the post not the poster on here. I'm just saying people do fraud insurance and this is a lad who looks like he would not saying all dubs do to me he looks like a lad looking out to pull a quick one. These type of people are everywhere.

I don't know why some of ye really think it was me that crashed I'd admit to it if I did wouldn't bother me these things can happen to any of us. I can take a picture of my car no bother its a 02 red bora I can have a piece of paper to say anything yas want on if needs be.

The syco you can actually go and f*ck yourself your being the biggest d*ck here I know I'm contradicting myself by saying that to you but you can cop the f*ck on if you get pleasure arguing with people over your keyboard if that's your little pleasure and makes you feel better about yourself fair enough, for Christ sake I posted this to see if any was screwed by a massive claim against them for minimal damage not a f*cking keyboard war

If the chassis got damaged from the crash I would be incredibly surprised because it was a very slow crash.

The roads were of equal importance so no yield signs up, genuine accident and a lesson was learned on my friends behalf.

I got my car fixed up from scrap yard parts, new bonnet, front shocks, wishbone and a radiator car is great. I'd never recommend anything dodgy to anyone because your car is very important to you, even tho hes an a*sehole I'd never go to someone that will make the car worse.

And lastly I'm no lair and why would I lie to people I don't even know I've a lot more to be at than that

Keyboard warriors are right I always thought it was attack the post not the poster on here.

The syco you can actually go and f*ck yourself your being the biggest d*ck here I know I'm contradicting myself by saying that to you but you can cop the f*ck on if you get pleasure arguing with people over your keyboard if that's your little pleasure and makes you feel better about yourself fair enough, for Christ sake I posted this to see if any was screwed by a massive claim against them for minimal damage not a f*cking keyboard war

Careful now..the mods are quite strict on that!!
    The roads were of equal importance so no yield signs up, genuine accident and a lesson was learned on my friends behalf.

While the roads were of equal importance, the pulling out part may change that.
    I got my car fixed up from scrap yard parts, new bonnet, front shocks, wishbone and a radiator car is great. I'd never recommend anything dodgy to anyone because your car is very important to you, even tho hes an a*sehole I'd never go to someone that will make the car worse.

I know it has been said to you that while you may be happy repairing your car using suitable parts from a scrap yard, other people are not as happy. I have been crashed into multiple times and each time I have demanded new parts, i.e quarter panels...Also I am from Dublin and am a Dub so does that mean I am pulling a fast one? I think not. I could start about Meath people but that would be going off topic.
    If the chassis got damaged from the crash I would be incredibly surprised because it was a very slow crash.

Are you a trained mechanic to make that call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

But you always yield to the right on roads of equal importance. I'm still finding it hard to understand how exactly the crash happened...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

It was a complete accident these things happen. Not a bother on the pillar btw. Why does everyone here have a problem with parts from a scrap yard. I had a field day in a scrapyard one day getting parts for my own everything was perfect..

I drive a 04 Fiesta
    Not exactly in the same league as a Merc or a Saab or an Audi but its my car & at the moment its the only car i can afford
    So... if some muppet who obviously doesn't know how to drive hits me side on and damages MY CAR then damn right i'll be bringing it to the Ford dealership to get it fixed and damn right I'll be claiming off the muppet who drove it to me
    Why should i get crappy scrap yard parts to repair my car because some other fool doesn't know how to drive????

Now... on the other hand.... if I walloped my car myself.. into a pillar in the driveway or in a skid in bad weather I'd probably look at getting second hand parts to sort it out cos I can't afford new parts

BUT
    This is an insurance claim coming off someone else's insurance
    The car needs parts, and will need at least a partial if not a full body spray (depending on the car) so SORRY but I won't be taking the €400 at the side of the road either!

In my honest opinion second hand parts are just as great as new ones. I'm not a a trained mechanic but if the chassis is damaged or twisted in anyway I would be incredibly shocked now. If yas all want to call me a liar that's fair enough I'm not gonna loose any sleep over it just makes me grind me teeth all the same. I'm telling the truth I'm not targeting dubs now as the whole lot of them being dodgy sure they call everyone in meath inbred and stupid even tho in the last couple of years a heap of dubs moved into the country side. To be fair I never should of said anything about the dub if its causing all this distress and drama too some people...

If the mods are watching I'm sorry I lost the head a bit I just hate being called a liar.

Now just got this off the friends brother on facebook, The other lad wasn't insured to be driving car it was his woman's so looks like he is in for some trouble he thought he was but his cover as a named driver ran out only 3 weeks ago from him calling the guards over a little bang caused him to get in deep trouble now. I'm not being spiteful I think that is an unfortunate mistake for him.

Ya can call me a liar all yas want now everything is dealt with now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I CERTAINLY BELIEVE EVERYTHING I HAVE READ ON THIS THREAD, IT DOES NOT SOUND DODGY AT ALL

OP, I think this is the forum you're looking for ----> http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=382

Never have I come across such a bad shower like all of ye, your all pissed because I insulted a scumbag dub. Honest to god this story is the honest truth don't know why your doubting me, If I wanted to make up bullsh1t I would of went elsewhere. I take this website seriously and wouldn't waste any ones time with stupid lies. But my god I have faced some of the best keyboard warriors in this post some are pathetic really. All I wanted to find out was anyone ever screwed over before from a minor crash and I was gang raped by everyone here.

It was an awkward crash! Guaranteed if I never mentioned my friend was involved everyone would be saying differnet and I was an eye witness to the crash so naturally enough I had to talk to the gaurds at the seen anyway but my story would be the same no need to claim for the if theres no injury.

Anyway the guards told the friend the fella wasn't insured in the car, he didn't know his cover was up which can happen to anyone we could all forget about these type of things.

It's really annoying me now that none of ye are believing me I don't understand why ya think I would waste my time lying to everyone here. These type of things happen everyday, just unfortunate luck for both involved. I cant believe I'm actually still awake at this time trying to prove myself out to people I don't even know and I said I wasn't going to loose sleep over this haha well that the joys of being used to working night shifts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

John_Rambo wrote: »
    This gets better, and you are being an asshole.

Banned for 3 days for personal abuse.

Banned for a week for personal abuse.

focus_mad wrote: »
    Careful now..the mods are quite strict on that!!

Do us a favour, report the post instead of wagging your finger next time. :rolleyes:

If the mods are watching I'm sorry I lost the head a bit I just hate being called a liar.

And yet you didn't edit your post...