Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

80s/90s Saturday morning cartoons...

• 02-07-2011 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭

....Jayce and the Wheel Warriors was my favourite or BraveStar was another great one.

Think I'll try get the box-sets, they don't make em like that anymore.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Duck Tales was my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Transformers, gobots, Wheel warriors.

Awh man bravestar.... flashback city :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I think this might have been more a weekday one, not really sure. But my favourite one was Dogtanian and the three muskahounds :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

Dogtanian and the Muskahounds, It was badly dubbed even for a cartoon but many of the feckin eegits I know can still sing the whole of the opening song on a drunken night out :-)

snap sidneykidney LOL

How can I forget about little Pajo - the rat with the pink hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Vicxas wrote: »
    Transformers, gobots, Wheel warriors.

Awh man bravestar.... flashback city :)

That horse was amazing, his gun's name was Sarah-Jane I think:pac:

Not a cartoon but I used love MacGyver. Even at the age of 7 I found him to be very handsome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

MASK was my favourite. Colected the toys as well. T-Bob was some hero.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Not a cartoon but I used love MacGyver. Even at the age of 7 I found him to be very handsome.

Is that you Patty or Selma?

The original heros in a half shell , Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and April of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

Starcom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Batman: The Animated Series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

X-Men, Fantastic 4, Centurion X i think it was called, Mask was classic.

Cartoons just dont cut it nowadays IMO.. Maybe I'm just showing my age

Barring Fan-Boy and Chum Chum or the Penguins of Madegascar(sp)

blaze1 wrote: »
    X-Men, Fantastic 4, Centurion X i think it was called, Mask was classic.

Cartoons just dont cut it nowadays IMO.. Maybe I'm just showing my age

Barring Fan-Boy and Chum Chum or the Penguins of Madegascar(sp)

What are you talking about ??? Spongebob is a legend !!!! ( mind you fan boy and chum chum is pretty damn excellent too :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

Thundercats - HOOOOO!!!!

Count Duckula - The Vegetarian Vampire.

Visionaries - Lads and Lasses who could transform into Animals and cast Huge Spells.

Never got to watch Transformers - only available to Sky Customers back then :(

katiebelle wrote: »
    What are you talking about ??? Spongebob is a legend !!!! ( mind you fan boy and chum chum is pretty damn excellent too :-)

There's alot to be said for spongebob, I agree but I think Patrick steals the show...for a starfish, he's clever:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Pinky and the Brain
    Alf, ok not a cartoon but it was quality.
    Ghostbusters
    Danger Mouse
    Shoe People

Also as other posters said Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and the M.A.S.K were the legendary ones for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Most cartoons mentioned here so far have been weekday ones.
    They don't make memories like they used to.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Most cartoons mentioned here so far have been weekday ones.
    They don't make memories like they used to.

Don't be pedantic...

Maybe a cartoon from the noughties but what about Catdog ?
    Dont call them freaks they prefer to be called a Bipolar quadraped ???LOL

stevejr wrote: »
    There's alot to be said for spongebob, I agree but I think Patrick steals the show...for a starfish, he's clever:pac:

yes quite agree Steve , I have known some pretty dumb starfish in my time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Trapdoor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Don't be pedantic...

How is it pedantic, the thread title is obvious but most of the replies are not for Saturday morning shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

Battle of the planets
    Ulysses 31
    Ren & Stimpy
    Eek the cat (The Terrible ThunderLizards)
    " When will the hurting stop"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

All of the above....

Does anyone remember Freakazoid?
    Loved that show. Didn't run for very long. It was on Network 2 back in my two channel days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Ren and Stimpy. Weird, but good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Captain Planet
    James Bond Jnr

They don't make 'em like they used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Naikon wrote: »
    Ren and Stimpy. Weird, but good.

yak shaving scum hahahaah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Babar the elephant and Animanaics were essential Saturday morning viewing for me.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    How is it pedantic, the thread title is obvious but most of the replies are not for Saturday morning shows.

Think you're still missing the point;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Bevis and butthead

Vicky the viking

Degag wrote: »
    Captain Planet
    James Bond Jnr

They don't make 'em like they used to.

Captain Planet!
    He's our hero,
    Gonna take pollution down to zero!

The writer shoulda been shot....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

What was that one called where yer man used to say - speed of the cheetah! - or - Strength of an ox - he had a horse/donkey sidekick.

Not my favourite - Mask was, but now thats driving me nutz!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Sharkey and George, Earthworm Jim and then all the usual other ones.

ardinn wrote: »
    What was that one called where yer man used to say - speed of the cheetah! - or - Strength of an ox - he had a horse/donkey sidekick.QUOTE]

That was BraveStar, the horse was called Thirty-thirty:pac:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BraveStarr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Muppet Babies! That always meant saturday to me!

The best answer on this thread so far is deffo Trap Door, that was a class show

http://youtu.be/f-dapSswWTQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

The Dreamstone was such an odd show. Anyway has this been mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

The Dreamstone was such an odd show. Anyway has this been mentioned?

Count Duckula was class. Voiced by David Jason.

Oh yeah, I guess most people will realize that after looking at the clip. I have no sound here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Hey Arnold was the best.

Agricola wrote: »
    Count Duckula was class. Voiced by David Jason.

Oh yeah, I guess most people will realize that after looking at the clip. I have no sound here!

:pac:Thanks, I'd forgotten that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

....Jayce and the Wheel Warriors was my favourite or BraveStar was another great one.

Think I'll try get the box-sets, they don't make em like that anymore.

Those were the exact two that popped into my head before I opened the thread.

Animaniacs was great as well, could be pretty extreme (for a kids show) in the joke department:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Hey Arnold was the best.

That was definitely a Saturday morning cartoon. I remember watching it from my bed every week on a shítty little 14" TV with crap reception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭irish_man

What about Recess?? It might be late 90s but its still a classic. I think its still on sometimes on RTE 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 DazlerDee

Battle of the Planets was my fav, it was made by MGM and really set the standard for new cartoons, it was 1986, it also had the famous ship called G-Force, I was wild for this cartoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I vaguely remember Scrooge McDuck, and Dogtanian and the 3 Muskahounds, because he gave his name to our then family pet.

I also remember a quiz show with Mary Kingston and some old guy called Finbarr, on a tv show that I'm told was called Scratch Saturday, but which I am sure came later that that, pretty sure i am too young to remember Scratch Saturday...

Other childhood favourites included repeats of Saved by the Bell and Hey Arnold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Don't give a fúck about the pedants. Can't be arsed looking up whether or not the following were Saturday morning or weekdays. They were brilliant. At the time anyway.

Dangermouse
    Inspector Gadget
    Rupert (the bear and the balloon etc...)
    Jumbo Jetset?
    He Man
    Bananaman

What age am I? Thanks to the person who guesses correctly.

(I'm generous am'nt I?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Can't beat The Racoons, Ulyses and The City of Gold. (Hah, now the theme songs are stuck in your noggin! :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

ANIMANIACS was THE BEST
    I saw it recently enough again there, some cartoon.