Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Evening With Clive Barker

• 01-07-2011 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭

In association with Horrorthon and Trinity College, Dublin, we are delighted to present An Evening with Clive Barker at the IFI on July 13th (21.00). The renowned horror and fantasy author/director will give a talk about his career, followed by rare theatrical screenings of his early films, Salomé and The Forbidden. This event will be facilitated by Horrorthon’s Ed King.

Cant wait for this tbh plus tickets are only a tenner :eek:.

Hoping to get my Hellraiser boxset signed by the man himself.

Tickets are expected to sell out fast.

Ticket info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

Can't make it but am going to this at the weekend instead

A full report is expected Mr. Driftwood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

OMG OMG OMG!

/hopes there are tickets left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,968 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I can't make this and am absolutely raging. Would love to get my copy of Coldheart Canyon signed by him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I dont even know if Barker will be available to do a signing but Ive been in contact with Ed King and he will let me know if its happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Profondo Rosso

Complete the pattern, solve the puzzle, turn the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Yep, looking forward to this, though I hear the two shorts ain't great, but that only makes it more interesting as to how he became a success. I hope Ed King comes up with as many questions about this as possible.

Im hoping there is the chance for a Q+A with him as there are a couple of things I wanna ask him!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

^ me too. He's one writer that I have loads of questions for!

Always wanted to meet the man, been reading his work since I was 10 but unfortunately u can't make it next week. If there is a Q and A I hope someone, looking at you Otis will ask him what's happening with the directors cut of Nightbreed. Is the found footage good enough to use in restoring it to it's initial cut? Also what the he'll is up with book 2 of Galilee book 2, been over a decade since book one was published and part 2 has had more date changes than Chinese Democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Seeing as he is in Ireland there should be a question on the overlooked masterpiece that is Rawhead Rex!
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0091829/

They should at least screen a clip of it, although I think Barker has disowned it... (Still, any film that has an Irish priest getting a demonic golden shower while Niall Toibin looks on can't be all bad.)

Don't mention Rawhead Rex haha

Lads, if any of ye can ask him 'If there will be a tv series for Coldheart Canyon, as was planned before' I would be highly appreciative and give you a big thumbs up!

Always wanted to meet the man, been reading his work since I was 10 but unfortunately u can't make it next week. If there is a Q and A I hope someone, looking at you Otis will ask him what's happening with the directors cut of Nightbreed. Is the found footage good enough to use in restoring it to it's initial cut? Also what the he'll is up with book 2 of Galilee book 2, been over a decade since book one was published and part 2 has had more date changes than Chinese Democracy.

Funnily the question about Nightbreed is top of my list.Great minds eh.

I figured that if anyone on here was a fan bar myself it would be you. Im desperate to see the original version and have been for years. Every bloody time there's a news story about the footage I get my hopes up only to have them dashed.

Ya Id be keen to get it straight from the horses mouth if possible.Im beginning to think though that it is just some kind of horror urban legend.

After Undying and Jerico, I'm intrested to know if he will be writing more for games,
    and given the popularity of the comic series of books of blood are there any more comics planned and if there are any more children's books in the works after the Theif of Never.

His art is wonderful as well.

Id recommend his Books of Blood RD,brilliant little shorts.

Can't go wrong for a penny! So many gems in one book!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Books-Blood-Volumes-1-3-v/dp/0747401640/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1310069547&sr=8-4

Just a bump for this as its on tomorrow night.

There also seems to still be tickets available for anyone thats interested.

Cant wait.

There are still some tickets left, got mine, can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ditto, jesus I'd even settle for a DVD release of the original cut! You can't even get that anywhere.
    Either way, I'd love to see him write a sequel to the novel it was based on Cabal, it was a book that felt like the first chapter of a 'hero's quest' that was never continued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Just got tickets there now, yesterday at one point, the system said it was sold out.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

conorhal wrote: »
    Ditto, jesus I'd even settle for a DVD release of the original cut! You can't even get that anywhere.
    Either way, I'd love to see him write a sequel to the novel it was based on Cabal, it was a book that felt like the first chapter of a 'hero's quest' that was never continued.

Yeah I have it on VHS! I remember the C64 computer game too!

conorhal wrote: »
    faceman wrote: »
    Yeah I have it on VHS! I remember the C64 computer game too!

It was released ages ago.

E-bay!

Region 4 is the same as region 2.

Its also available in Region 1 aswell.

Ive held off ever buying it as Im hoping that someday a directors cut will see the light of day.

Just home now,an interesting night.

He spoke for approx 45 minutes but it was about nothing specific although he did manage to get in a pop at Michael Bay,Barry Norman and horror remakes which was pretty funny.

No opportunity for a Q+A though he briefly mentioned Nightbreed and said that at some stage he hopes to release it as he intended but that was it.

The 2 shorts were not up to much at all tbh but were interesting as curios.I can now say that I have seen a teenage Clive Barkers erect penis.:pac:

He just comes across as a cool person that is genuinely into what he does because he is passionate about it rather than he wants to make money out of it.

All in all, definitely 10 bucks well spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

Just back from it. Utterly inspired talk, he was brilliant. Can't quite say the same about the shorts themselves, maybe a little too arty for me.

Sadly, someone pointed out to me that Barker seems to have had a stroke or something because he was leaning very heavily to one side and he shook the interviewers hand very akwardly. :(

I heard from another boardsie that there are a number of different rumours doing the rounds including a horse riding accident or that he has suffered nerve damage from years of leaning over a desk.

To my (untrained) eye,he looked like someone that was suffering from some type of palsy.

He has had multiple operations to remove polyps from his throat, they keep re growing and each surgery leaves behind more and more scar tissue on the muscles and tendons of his neck.

I enjoyed the talk.

"Passion is what allows you to push aside the scrub, the hassles of the everyday and put your art out there; on a canvas, on a screen, on a page and then you give it to others to see and experience as an act of love"

I think the point of showing the two shorts was to push and inspire people to go and make art, just go do it, don't over think it, don't care what anyone thinks, just make it happen and let it grow from that start.

Thought the talk was amazing, very inspirational.

A sound guy, who is not in anyway up himself.

The still that came on screen at the end was from the South Bank show.

Only seen it yesterday for the first time. It's well worth watching:

Nice one Pete,will watch tomorrow.

It seems that a few bodies have managed to wrangle his works and create academic works based on them. Trust Trinity. And so there is a two day conference on which he is attending.

http://clivebarkerdarkimaginer.blogspot.com/p/conference-schedule.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Enjoyed last night, but sad to see Clive looking so decrepit. I met him a couple of times about 15 years ago and he was so strong and vital. He must have had a stroke or Parkinson's or something - there was someone helping him both in and out of the IFI. Very sad.

I thought the 'Forbidden' would never end - have seen it before but had forgotten how boring it was. Also, it really stank in the IFI last night, was dying to get out of there.

Delighted I went though, I love that man. And I enjoyed admiring his dancing penis for 5 minutes or whatever it was.

Had to laugh when I saw the still from the South Bank Show - had it at home on video back in the day and watched it to death :)

You can hear the difference in his voice in this clip about the game Jericho in 2007.

And Clive talking with Grant Morrison in 2009.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Enjoyed last night, but sad to see Clive looking so decrepit. I met him a couple of times about 15 years ago and he was so strong and vital. He must have had a stroke or Parkinson's or something - there was someone helping him both in and out of the IFI. Very sad.

I couldn't make it last night but hope his health improves. The difference in his outward appearance from 10/15 yrs ago and now is completely shocking. I remember noticing it on a documentary a few years ago after not having seen him in years and years, nearly didn't recognise him to be honest.