Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Lakes 10K 10/09/2011

• 01-07-2011 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Hi folks,

Lakeshore Striders are running The Lakes 10K in Blessington this year on the 10th of September. Once again we will be supporting the Cystic Fibrosis Association of Ireland.

We have lowered the cost of entry this year without cutting anything out like the ice cream & muffins :D

Last years thread

Race Website

Route Map

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 12 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0% 0 votes
    4 stars (good)
    100% 12 votes
    3 stars (average)
    0% 0 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    0% 0 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    0% 0 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Yes, I have registered for this one. With all the good reports last year I chose it as my last tune up before Berlin ahead of the BHAA 10 in Firhouse.

Hopefully I can go sun 40 in this one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Not a better 10k in Leinster. Will sandwich this between the national half and the half in the park. Maybe too much, but this race is too good to miss:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Missed this last year and regretted it. It's a great race, superbly organised. I'd recommend it to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Missed this last year and regretted it. It's a great race, superbly organised. I'd recommend it to anyone.

+1. Brilliant race and quite a fast course too. Tough hill about 2k from finish but is a loop course so you get it back in the last 1km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 thelakes10k

+1. Brilliant race and quite a fast course too. Tough hill about 2k from finish but is a loop course so you get it back in the last 1km

ah the hill is not that tough RoadRunner...... well compared to some of the hills in west wicklow :D

The first year we did advertise the course as flat, and it is apart from that short rise :p

Just to let people know the T-Shirt entry for this closes next Thursday, the 25th. Entries for the no T-Shirt option will remain open up untill Wednesday the 7th of September.

Also we have Base2Race on board this year and each entrant will receive a voucher for the store in their goody bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bluestone

signed up for this race at the weekend. good to see positive vibes here so far as it was a fairly random choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

bluestone wrote: »
    signed up for this race at the weekend. good to see positive vibes here so far as it was a fairly random choice!

Me too. Only 200 places left too so obviously a fairly popular event given it two and half weeks away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Buck

Hi guys, did anyone get their race packs yet?

From the website - Race pack will be posted to entrants a few weeks before the race.

Buck wrote: »
    Hi guys, did anyone get their race packs yet?

From the website - Race pack will be posted to entrants a few weeks before the race.

I got a sponsor card, a map and instructions this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Pronator wrote: »
    Not a better 10k in Leinster. Will sandwich this between the national half and the half in the park. Maybe too much, but this race is too good to miss:D

Signed up. Car pool perhaps...

corny wrote: »
    I got a sponsor card, a map and instructions this morning.

Yeah that is the race pack. Number & chip can be picked up at registration on the Friday evening before the race if you live local or on the Saturday morning.

Less than 50 places left so if anyone was wanting to run this and hasn't registered yet times running out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Is this booked out trying to register

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 dunkelgrun

Good luck to anyone running tomorrow! Here's hoping the rain holds off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Just to give everyone a heads up on an offer from race sponsor Amphibian King.

Amphibian King €2,000 Euro giveaway.

Amphibian King have decided to drop free vouchers into the goodie bags for competitors of the Lakes 10k. We have loaded up our voucher cards with varying amounts.

100 vouchers - With a value of €10
    20 Vouchers- With a value of €15
    20 Vouchers- With a value of €20
    2 Vouchers- With a Value of €50
    2 Vouchers- With a Value of €100

If you have a voucher all you need to do is present it to one of our three stores with this flyer and you can put the voucher towards any purchase you like.

1. Voucher is to be used in Amphibian King stores only.*

2. Voucher is valid from 30 days from the date of race.
    3. Voucher cannot be used in conjunction with any other offers.
    4. Vouchers cannot be redeemed for cash.

*Please note: Our store in Ballymount is part of Base2Race and our vouchers cannot be used on nutrition, bike, therapy or swim products. Amphibian King only do run clothing and runners in B2R.

Best of luck to everyone running this race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

The weather looks kind of unfavourable. 9m/s wind from South-SouthWest (SSW), which means the last 5 kms of the race (including the hill) will be into a head-wind, on a very open course. Better make those first 5 kilometers count!

:mad::( poses questions to oneself as to whether its worth travelling for a 10k race with bad weather :rolleyes:

Wont make this tomorrow. Disappointed not to be as its a fab race.:( Best of luck to all.

:mad::( poses questions to oneself as to whether its worth travelling for a 10k race with bad weather :rolleyes:
    *Cough* Hill runner? Complaining about bad weather? *Cough*. What if it's raining or windy on the 31st October?
    Just factor on running a 5k PB for the first half, and try to hang in there (running behind a tall lumbering runner of wide proportions) in the second half.

Got my race pack earlier, nice t shirt.
    Hope the weather is good as I am looking forward to this.

Good luck to all boardsies running tomorrow, hope the weather holds out but being Blessington you just never know. Anyway the free Ice-Cream & muffins should help cope with any adverse weather :D

Cheers to Amphibian King again for providing vouchers for those lucky enough to get one in their goody bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

Not ideal racing conditions! Hopefully the rain clears by 11.

Looking forward to this nonetheless!

See you at the start! :):)

Didn't travel :( Opted to do tempo run in local brutal conditions. Good luck to all who toed the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

I'm just back. Bit slower than last year but happy enough overall, haven't been putting in as much training.

Well done to Lakeshore Striders - it really is one of the best organised races on the calendar.

From parking to toilets to number collection, everything runs so smoothly. The stewards are great, the route is fast (apart from 'THE HILL'), the muffins and ice-cream afterwards are fantastic.

I'll definitely be back next year. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Tough conditions today with the wind. My race didn't go according to plan but that is no fault of the organisers. The race really was excellent, everything was smooth and efficient and there were almost as many marshalls as runners it seemed. The marshals were out dividing the field into goal times long before the off, so none of the first km congestion. The gigantic muffins at the end were great as was the Ice cream!

This is a race that really deserves 5/5.

One of the best organized events I have ever attended in this country. 5 Stars for me. I've a feeling I'll be a regular at this one. Couple of points of feedback:
    1) Lose the hill. Seriously, nobody wants it or likes it. Just bull-doze it out of the route. :)
    2) Fantastic having water bottles at the 5k mark, but for the speedier guys and gals up the front, a 500ml bottle is just a waste. I know it goes against the grain, but a cup would've been perfect (you just can't win, can you?!).
    3) The wind. If you could erect some 40 foot fences (transparent so we can still enjoy the views) along the route, that would be much appreciated.

Everything else was perfect!

Had a great time this morning, got a PB too. Really well organised race, loved every bit of it. Will definitely be back next year.
    And the rain stayed away for the race too.

Found it really tough going today. Hills, wind, too warm, sore foot, got sick at the finish....... but still delighted with the race if that makes sense.

Super organised race and a definite return next year for me. Nice medal and muffin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 dubrich

Exactly how a race should be organised. Not one thing wrong. From the marshall at the end of the red lane turn off the n81 to the medal and muffins at the end. Fair play to organisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Scholesy1981

Superb race, really enjoyed it, everything from tshirt, medal, goody bag, muffins, etc was spot on. Kudos to the organisers

Race seems to be an example for others to follow. Results up already. Winning time 31:48 Vinney Mulvey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Great race today. Organisation was really second to none. The conditions in the race itself were tough enough, especially 'the hill' between 6k and 7k. I was delighted with my own performance though coming in 1:33 quicker than Dunshaughlin earlier in the summer with a PB of 43:12. Nice to meet some boardsies for the first time too!
    The goodie bag was great, nice t-shirt and medal but the highlight was the Amphibian King voucher(s). I had planned to stop in Race to Base in Ballymount on the way home anyway so was pleasantly surprised when I got there that there was not one but two vouchers in the goodie bag, even more pleasantly surprised when told they were worth €70.:D
    In fact if Carlsberg did race days.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Was out at this race but couldn't run due to injury.
    Such a well organised race and some of the reasons why;

1.Large tent to collect numbers(shelter from the weather)
    2.Runners split into groups based on times
    3.finishing shoot was very long so people wern't over crowded crossing the line
    4.No traffic
    5.good prizes and good bags
    6.prize giving within the hour(top 3 did cool down and then collected prizes)
    7.free ice cream
    8.free muffins
    9.fair course
    10.friendly and halpfull stewards who knew their job

1 small fault and I mean small was the position of the van giving out goodybags.Im sure a few people missed them.

Only one other race compares that I have seen is Dunshaughlin 10k.
    Also money raised for Cystic Fobrosis:)

I'd fully agree. I could not run this due to having to work. I ran this last year and was gutted not to run it this year:( I'll be back for more next year. To compare it to Dunshaughlin says it all. A great race;)
    Was out at this race but couldn't run due to injury.
    Such a well organised race and some of the reasons why;

1.Large tent to collect numbers(shelter from the weather)
    2.Runners split into groups based on times
    3.finishing shoot was very long so people wern't over crowded crossing the line
    4.No traffic
    5.good prizes and good bags
    6.prize giving within the hour(top 3 did cool down and then collected prizes)
    7.free ice cream
    8.free muffins
    9.fair course
    10.friendly and halpfull stewards who knew their job

1 small fault and I mean small was the position of the van giving out goodybags.Im sure a few people missed them.

Only one other race compares that I have seen is Dunshaughlin 10k.
    Also money raised for Cystic Fobrosis:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bluestone

excellent race, best organised i have ever done. found conditions very tough altho that was more to do with poor race prep by myself unfortunately. was way off my target time but was just glad to complete it for finish. that hill was fair tough going also. still would definitely try & do it again even though its a long round trip from galway. 5/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Ar Strae

One of the best organized events I have ever attended in this country. 5 Stars for me. I've a feeling I'll be a regular at this one. Couple of points of feedback:
    1) Lose the hill. Seriously, nobody wants it or likes it. Just bull-doze it out of the route. :)
    2) Fantastic having water bottles at the 5k mark, but for the speedier guys and gals up the front, a 500ml bottle is just a waste. I know it goes against the grain, but a cup would've been perfect (you just can't win, can you?!).
    3) The wind. If you could erect some 40 foot fences (transparent so we can still enjoy the views) along the route, that would be much appreciated.

Everything else was perfect!

Couldn't agree more. Absolutely brilliantly organised (lose the bagpiper though lads ;-)). I was dreading the race as I hadn't really run since the Sugar Bowl but had a good day, PB'd by a handful of seconds. Didn't see any other IMRA runners I recognised but there were three of us in my car. James Clancy finished a fantastic 11th and Laura Morrogh was second girl home so I was letting the car down a little :-)

Free muffins, free 99s...what else would ya want!?

Great race, clear signage, well organised pens, lots of space, even at the start. I'll definitely be back next yearl. And now based on the chats here I'll check out the Dunshaughlin 10k too!

The race got me back buzzed about running..brought the gear in to work today!!

So what other races are you guys targetting before the end of the year? Reckon I'll hit the Donore Jingle Bells 5K in the park. Anything else I should be aiming for?

Ro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Not a great standard for the women, 42mins would've gotten a win.

http://www.thelakes10k.ie/sites/default/files/TheLakes10km_2011.xls

Cheers for all the feedback folks, it's great to hear that you all enjoyed it, apart from the now infamous 'Hill' :D It's great to be compared to the likes of the Dunshaughlin 10K

All comments will be taken on board and hopefully we can tweak things for next year. Bagpiper objection noted Ar Strae, he was a last minute addition as we couldn't get our samba band.

The weather wasn't the best on the day but at least it stayed dry for the duration of the race and afterwards too when everyone was hanging around.

Fair play to the 4 lads from Hungary,Poland, Korea & Brazil who turned up at 8:30 :eek: (only bus they could get down)

And congrats again to the winners Vinney Mulvey & Michelle Cox.

Will post up to the money raised for CF Ireland when all the sponsorship is in.

Cheers,

The Lakes 10K race committee