Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance claim for my car - few question.

• 30-06-2011 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭

After 10 years owning different cars completely claims free, it's over now.

My wife drove my car today, skidded, and ended up rolling over into the ditch.
    Luckily she was fine, no injuries. No other parties involved. No witnesses.

Car was 03 Primera 1.8 Hatchback.
    We called insurance company, and told them that we want to make a claim for that damage (I have full comprehensive policy with NCB protection).

They send rescue truck, which got the car out of the ditch, and took it to garage. I was told insurance company assessor will come to check the car in next few days.

Few questions here.

1. Underbody of the car most likely is fine. No leaks. All wheels look straight. Body though is much worse. Bonnet scratched and dented. Front wings the same. Front bumper broken. Rear passenger doors scratched. Rear wings scratched, and right one badly dented. Back (boot) doors scratched. Back bumper scratched. Rear right lamp broken. Front right lamp broken. Windscreen cracked.

Will this be a write off considering it's 03 Primera?

2. I understand that there is 2 options. They might decide that garage will fix the car, and I'll just get the car fixed. Or they might decide it's a write off, and they will pay me as much as they think the car was worth before crash, and keep the wreck. Am I right here?

3. My car was in absolutely perfect condition - like new. I bought it last year from first owner, which is not that common for 7 year old car. Full service history, low mileage, etc. Because of that I paid more that most of the similar cars cost. Now I'm afraid, that they will pay me just an average price for similar cars, which wouldn't be enough to buy something in as good shape as I had. Could that be the case, and if yes, what can I do about it. Can I just not accept what they offer, and make request for more? I can give them copies, of receipt from garage where I bought the car (which shows for how much I bought it, I have as well copies of invoices of all work I done to it over last year (new discs and brake pads, new wishbone balljoints, new bushings, new antiroll-bar linkage rubbers, tie rod, etc). Will that change anything?

Any advice well appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

From the sound of it, yes it will probably be a write off.
    And the bad news is no matter how good your car was before the crash they'll only go off the current market value of the car and give you fúck all to be honest.
    Your insurance premium will then probably increase too.

Unfortunately you'll prob be better off just taking the hit and scrapping the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Twigster

CiniO wrote: »
    2. I understand that there is 2 options. They might decide that garage will fix the car, and I'll just get the car fixed. Or they might decide it's a write off, and they will pay me as much as they think the car was worth before crash, and keep the wreck. Am I right here?

They have a little equation that they use, to do with the value of the car and the cost of repair. if they dont think it's worth it they won't pay for the repair, the car will be scrapped and possibly sold off by them (given that by paying out on it they will own the car).
    Im not sure on how the condition of the car will affect the valuation though.

best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Cinio was that near Delphi and a silver Primera.

That car will be a write off. It was badly damaged imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

IF they do decide to write off the car they will offer you well below the market price. Insurance companies (like all companies) are in business to make money.
    You have said that you paid above average for the car. The insurance company will not pay you anything close to what you paid.
    You are perfectly entitled to refuse to accept their first offer. You can then show them what other cars similar to yours are being advertised for (carzone rather than donedeal) and see if they will raise their offer.

At the moment all you can do is wait and see what they are prepared to do.....repair the car or write it off.

By the way your protected NCB only applies if you stay with this particular company. If you don't like their renewal price then you will be declaring a claim if you look around for quotes from other insurers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'm afraid the above posters will be proven right. Even with fully comp insurance and no claims protection, you'll always be worse off after a claim. It is unfair. It shouldn't be like that, but it is.

Thankfully your wife wasn't hurt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭johnb25

As others have said the car will probably be scrapped. Before the insurance co make an offer, have your homework done on the value of the car, and the cost of a like for like replacement, as best you can.
    You are effectively selling them the car, so treat it a bit like that. Know its value, and look for more than that. Be persistent, and use all the points you mentioned above about the condition of the car. They may move a couple of hundred to get the case closed, and I think they expect to have to move from their first offer.
    And don't let your wife near your car again... :) ....
    good to hear she is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Dean09 wrote: »
    From the sound of it, yes it will probably be a write off.
    And the bad news is no matter how good your car was before the crash they'll only go off the current market value of the car and give you fúck all to be honest.
    Your insurance premium will then probably increase too.

Unfortunately you'll prob be better off just taking the hit and scrapping the car.
    The insurance shouldnt go up too much.A lot worse happens every day.Dont worry about it.Wife ok-all that matters really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

If he has full NCB cover then the insurance premium shouldnt be effected at all tbh.

Based on the age,current market value would be approx 2.5k to 4 k max.

The general cut off point for claims loading to be applied is 7.5k to 10k depending on the company,some dont apply claim loadings at all.

OP,if you do indeed have full bonus cover and your next premium increases as a result of the claim,I would seriously question it.

Think about it.

You pay extra for NCB protection but still get an increase for making a (relatively) minor claim.

Does not compute lads.

............. Can I just not accept what they offer, and make request for more? I can give them copies, of receipt from garage where I bought the car (which shows for how much I bought it, I have as well copies of invoices of all work I done to it over last year (new discs and brake pads, new wishbone balljoints, new bushings, new antiroll-bar linkage rubbers, tie rod, etc). Will that change anything?

Any advice well appreciated.

You can haggle with them, they will come in with a very low (to you value). Find examples of similar minty condition cars that are priced at what you reckon are appropriate prices. Years ago a lad I worked with was in the same position, he had a Rover 75 1.8 petrol, he went the haggling route and found pristine looney priced ones from dealers and they improved the offer.

When I lived in Galway one of the lads I shared a house with was an insurance assessor, he used to use carzone to value cars and was quite reasonable with folks rejecting the first offer.

Get examples and prepare to haggle. As other have said, I'm very glad your good lady was not injured, I hope she's not too bothered by the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Cinio was that near Delphi and a silver Primera.

That car will be a write off. It was badly damaged imo.

Ireland seems to be very small...
    That's exactly the one ;)

mgbgt1978 wrote: »

By the way your protected NCB only applies if you stay with this particular company. If you don't like their renewal price then you will be declaring a claim if you look around for quotes from other insurers.
    unkel wrote: »
    I'm afraid the above posters will be proven right. Even with fully comp insurance and no claims protection, you'll always be worse off after a claim. It is unfair. It shouldn't be like that, but it is.

Thankfully your wife wasn't hurt :)

Can't really see any reason to be it like that.
    The funny thing is, that my renewal is in 2 weeks, and I was already quoted, dealt a bit with the price, accepted it, arranged payment, and received a disc and cert for next year.
    Does that mean they can still change the premium for it?

johnb25 wrote: »
    As others have said the car will probably be scrapped. Before the insurance co make an offer, have your homework done on the value of the car, and the cost of a like for like replacement, as best you can.
    You are effectively selling them the car, so treat it a bit like that. Know its value, and look for more than that. Be persistent, and use all the points you mentioned above about the condition of the car. They may move a couple of hundred to get the case closed, and I think they expect to have to move from their first offer.
    And don't let your wife near your car again... :) ....
    good to hear she is ok.

Thanks for advice. I already spend good bit of time browsing car advertisemt websites, so I know approximately what's the average prices now. I assume I'm well prepared.
    PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    The insurance shouldnt go up too much.A lot worse happens every day.Dont worry about it.Wife ok-all that matters really.

That's absolutely true.
    Even my wife was surprised I wasn't giving out too much about a car, even she expected it by knowing me.
    I was just happy she's OK. It if happened a mile earlier, she could end up in the lake under water.
    If he has full NCB cover then the insurance premium shouldnt be effected at all tbh.

Based on the age,current market value would be approx 2.5k to 4 k max.

The general cut off point for claims loading to be applied is 7.5k to 10k depending on the company,some dont apply claim loadings at all.

OP,if you do indeed have full bonus cover and your next premium increases as a result of the claim,I would seriously question it.

Think about it.

You pay extra for NCB protection but still get an increase for making a (relatively) minor claim.

Does not compute lads.

That's the same what I think.
    But we'll see what reality's like.

Thanks all for good words.
    I think it's not going to be that bad.
    I'll keep you informed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Its definitley a small world Cinio. Firstly I see your car in Mayo then I see a picture of my brothers car on the obnoxious parking thread....

Your wife was lucky she didnt go in any further in to the ditch..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

If you decide to claim i ws always to told to reject the insurances companies first offer, they then should come back with an improved offer.

I did that with my 02 ibiza, they offered me 1500, i rejected and they came back with 1750.

Vicxas wrote: »
    If you decide to claim i ws always to told to reject the insurances companies first offer, they then should come back with an improved offer.

I did that with my 02 ibiza, they offered me 1500, i rejected and they came back with 1750.

How do you do it?

Like, you after they tell you their offer over the phone, you just tell you think it's not enough, and then they ring you next day with improved offer?

Just a little update.
    They rang me today that assessor was already there, and he classed a car as a category C write-off (beyond economical repair). He said that car can be repaired if someone wants to do it, but before it will be back on the road, it needs an assessor certificate that it was repaired and is safe.

Anyway what they told me, is that there is company offering 400 euros for the wreck. I can accept that offer, or I can keep the car. No matter what I do, they will establish before crash value of my car by tomorrow, and pay that less mentioned 400 euros. I think it's fair enough.

Now I'm wondering if there's any point for me to keep my crashed car. Considering engine, gearbox, 4 alloy wheels are fine, I would probably be able to sell it for parts for much more than 400 euros
    What do you think.

Below few pictures of the damage..

165542.JPG

165543.JPG

165544.JPG

Do you think it's worth keeping that car, and what could I do with it if I kept it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Don't see the pictures but what about repairing it and having it check and continuing to use it. Could be the cheapest offer.

Also, possibly buy the car back, repay the insurance company, sell parts and continue without you're insurance being affected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

Just a little update.
    They rang me today that assessor was already there, and he classed a car as a category C write-off (beyond economical repair). He said that car can be repaired if someone wants to do it, but before it will be back on the road, it needs an assessor certificate that it was repaired and is safe.

Anyway what they told me, is that there is company offering 400 euros for the wreck. I can accept that offer, or I can keep the car. No matter what I do, they will establish before crash value of my car by tomorrow, and pay that less mentioned 400 euros. I think it's fair enough.

Now I'm wondering if there's any point for me to keep my crashed car. Considering engine, gearbox, 4 alloy wheels are fine, I would probably be able to sell it for parts for much more than 400 euros
    What do you think.

Below few pictures of the damage..

165542.JPG

165543.JPG

165544.JPG

Do you think it's worth keeping that car, and what could I do with it if I kept it?

From looking at the pics I would probably imagine that the insurance company will just right it off as it looks BER.

ronaneire wrote: »
    From looking at the pics I would probably imagine that the insurance company will just right it off as it looks BER.

If you read my post, you'd know they already did it.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Don't see the pictures but what about repairing it and having it check and continuing to use it. Could be the cheapest offer.

If you saw the pics John you'd realise that's not an option, 'tis fecked.

Cinio, if I was you I wouldn't bother trying to sell parts off the car, big ball ache for little return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

If you can, keep the car and sell the parts yourself. A few €50 sales and you'll quickly be past that €400.

If that's impractical, try to sell it online for more than €400 and let someone else strip, or repair it.

If everything is mechanically sound, could you keep it and try to find a bodyshop which might for a good job for €2k?

Glad it wasn't more serious!

I couldn't see a two quarter panels being sorted, new front wing, new front bumper and bonnet, new windscreen and dents sorted on the other wing along with all the painting coming in at less than €2000 or anywhere close to 2 grand really, also there may well be some suspension damaged too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

That looks like alot of damage to be repaired economically....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Mavv

Hi CiniO,
    I'm not surprised they wrote your car off. It looks really bad (too much damages).
    If I was you I will probalby keep the car. You might get much more than 400E for parts. Only one problem is the wreck on your driveway/yard. I wish you good luck with selling the spare parts.
    One good thing is your wife was ok after that accident.
    rgds,
    Mavv

RoverJames wrote: »
    I couldn't see a two quarter panels being sorted, new front wing, new front bumper and bonnet, new windscreen and dents sorted on the other wing along with all the painting coming in at less than €2000 or anywhere close to 2 grand really, also there may well be some suspension damaged too.

You forgot about 1 front lamp and one rear lamp.
    I can see repairing all above for much less than €2000 (maybe 1500), but in Poland.
    Cost of transporting car there and back would be another 1300 - 1500). 3 grand together.
    Still not really worth it.

I'm wondering if I could sell it on donedeal or something similar for more than €400?

Put an add up now with pics and see is there any interest in it ;)

lol at the repair for €1500 but in Poland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Goreygal

Just in relation to you guys about the assessor not taking into account pre-accident condition:

I was in an accident in 2009 where I ran into back of someone :( Damage to my car was estimated at €2500. It's a 00 1.4 Focus and my mechanic told me the assessor was in a real quandry and initially was going to write it off BER but the low mileage (53K) put him off so he agreed to have it repaired instead.

So does it just come down to the individual assessor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

I had my car wrote off last year by the insurers and i would not accept their offer until the gave me a fair and reasonable valuation (this took two and a half months though)

What you need to do is to keep sending them similar cars on the likes of carzone etc. Its best if you get the persons email that you are dealing with. Then you can just pester them with as many links as you like and they will have to keep all this correspondence you send them on file(make sure you save the emails yourself also and take notes of any phone calls that were made. What you are trying to do here is to build up the file as much as you can so that it is full of valuations that you think represent the price of your car.

My car was assessed three times by differant assessors becuase i didnt agree with the first two valuations, eventually the third assessor saw the light.

If you are still not happy with their valuation ask them to confirm this in writing as their final offer. They will be very reluctant to give you a final offer in writing without you agreeing with them if you have given a serious amount of evidence arguing the contrary.

You can then go to the ombudsman to make a complaint and he will view the file, this is a very last resort and you will need the insurance companies final offer in writing before you can do this.

http://www.financialombudsman.ie/

The insurers wont let this happen if they dont think they have a case.

If you have any other questions, feel free to pm me

Dont get ripped off, thats why you pay your premium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I sold a 02 Primera 1.8 model there a few months back, the guy I sold it to crashed the whole front of it badly. The Insurance company wrote it off and offered him 3000 for it. He refused as he knew a chap who would fix it for him. In the end he produced receipts for 1900 euro and is still driving it. The thing is he liked the car and didn't want to part with it. If by all means you could find someone who could do it up cheap for you I'd seriously consider what could be done, as, at the end of the day it's your car.

On the other hand if the insurance company offers you a good amount and you can upgrade go for it.