Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Do Irish People Always Fight Among Themselves?

• 28-06-2011 1:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭

It's a considerable phenomenon that we, as a people, find comfort in discriminating against each other. Racism is alive and well in many parts of the world, but perhaps the most usual, is the nature of the nationalist - we all know at least one. A person so blinded by coloured flags and songs that they find legitimacy in their own ignorance towards other cultures. However, on an island of under five million people, those that reside in Dublin are known as "West Brits" and those from other area's of the region are labeled "culchies", "bog-people" and "muck savages" - I just can't understand where all the animosity comes from...

I think history has stayed with us even to this generation. Automatically, we paint those from a separate county as, in some way, 'different'. But isn't it ironic? The sheer stupidity of the Irish population..that villages would disregard another town not a twenty minute drive because they reside in a different county? The counties which were drawn up by the British in the first place? I just have to chuckle at the backwardness of our people. The inbreeding and limited gene pool have surely taken it's toll on our small island and has, quite obviously, impeded the development of our intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

What the f*ck did you just call me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Doesn't this exist in England/Scotland/Spain/America/South Africa/Israel/Pakistan/Iran/India?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

It's a considerable phenomenon that we, as a people, find comfort in discriminating against each other. Racism is alive and well in many parts of the world, but perhaps the most usual, is the nature of the nationalist - we all know at least one. A person so blinded by coloured flags and songs that they find legitimacy in their own ignorance towards other cultures. However, on an island of under five million people, those that reside in Dublin are known as "West Brits" and those from other area's of the region are labeled "culchies", "bog-people" and "muck savages" - I just can't understand where all the animosity comes from...

I think history has stayed with us even to this generation. Automatically, we paint those from a separate county as, in some way, 'different'. But isn't it ironic? The sheer stupidity of the Irish population..that villages would disregard another town not a twenty minute drive because they reside in a different county? The counties which were drawn up by the British in the first place? I just have to chuckle at the backwardness of our people. The inbreeding and limited gene pool have surely taken it's toll on our small island and has, quite obviously, impeded the development of our intelligence.

Jesus, the last sentence was a bit harsh there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Wut?! Every nation does it. In America, they practically despise everyone down to their neighbours. In England, the Northerners hate the people from the south. In Australia it's rampant too. It's a generalisation to say everyone in x country hates everyone else, for sure. But to say that the Irish picking on themselves is unique to the Irish is just wrong. Silly post, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The inbreeding and limited gene pool have surely taken it's toll on our small island and has, quite obviously, impeded the development of our intelligence.

Steady on there OP

You could have started this thread about self hatred in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Racism, everyone loves a bit of casual racism :pac:

OP it's the same in every other country, people from certain regions don't like people from other regions

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Seachmall wrote: »
    Doesn't this exist in England/Scotland/Spain/America/South Africa/Israel/Pakistan/Iran/India?

Sure does!! Yet another thread giving out about a supposed "Irish" trait which is just in a fact a human trait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Its better than playing hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Human nature is a b**ch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

those from other area's of the region are labeled "culchies", "bog-people" and "muck savages" - I just can't understand where all the animosity comes from...

Maybe you can explain it to us then. Didn't you say that people who wear GAA jerseys are "bogmen" on the GAA Jersey thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The sheer stupidity of the Irish population..that villages would disregard another town not a twenty minute drive because they reside in a different county? The counties which were drawn up by the British in the first place? I just have to chuckle at the backwardness of our people. The inbreeding and limited gene pool have surely taken it's toll on our small island and has, quite obviously, impeded the development of our intelligence.

If you say so. did you marry your cousin ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I find the fact that we can laugh at ourselves much more entetaining :D

/LOL's at OP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I admire West Brits and think they are very brave people to stand up for what they believe in.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Its better than playing hurling

I'm deeply offended by this post, sure you can fight on the pitch too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I think history has stayed with us even to this generation. Automatically, we paint those from a separate county as, in some way, 'different'. But isn't it ironic? The sheer stupidity of the Irish population..that villages would disregard another town not a twenty minute drive because they reside in a different county? .

Does this really happen?

Opelfruit wrote: »
    Maybe you can explain it to us then. Didn't you say that people who wear GAA jerseys are "bogmen" on the GAA Jersey thread?

He did? I'd never wear my jersey when I'm footing turf, could get it dirty and not be able to wear it to mass on Sunday or out on Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

its not just ireland OP where that happens, take england for example for some reason people in the north of england and in the south don't always get along, the same applies to those from different parts of australia, usa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

LOL - what a thread fail - this happens in every country - what's ironic is that it makes the OP appear to have "impeded the development of his/her intelligence" for being so ignorant & oblivious to a common human trait that exists worldwide. DUH, OP. DUH.
    And ironically again, it's you who needs to open your eyes & travel more & you'll see this isn't a "a considerable phenomenon" exclusive to the Irish.

Seriously... what a dumb thread. If you had any sort of insight into this planet or humans or history in general, you'll see this happens EVERYWHERE, and has for thousands & thousands of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

What a stupid thread. Clearly started by a West Brit.

Oh.... wait... ahum...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Google Gold

"The inbreeding and limited gene pool have surely taken it's toll on our small island and has, quite obviously, impeded the development of our intelligence."

That's racist of you to say these thing's. It's utter B.S anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭boogerballs

I'm not racist but................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Anyone outside the pale is an inbred pig fecker, anyone inside the pale is a quaaaaaar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Like most animals, humans are territorial. The end.

YEP & like most animals :) Their own distinct & unique character is what make's the world such a diverse place,I love it like that unlike the O.P who obviously think's we need to alter our genetic's ,Sound's like a Nazi to me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Equally applicable to any other country in the world op.

/unsubscribes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Im gonna be different and agree with the OP...because Im mad like that. Inbred swine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm deeply offended by this post, sure you can fight on the pitch too.

thereby perpetuating the notion that irish people fight with each other

orourkeda wrote: »
    thereby perpetuating the notion that irish people fight with each other

Careful now them sounds like fighting words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

There are some people that seem hell bent on criticising every little thing about this country. As if every other country is the promised land or something compared to us. You really think other countries don't have similiar problems and rivalries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Sure does!! Yet another thread giving out about a supposed "Irish" trait which is just in a fact a human trait.
    Gandalph wrote: »
    Human nature is a b**ch

a common human trait that exists worldwide.

I, respectfully, disagree that it's 'natural' or a trait. It's bred into us - it's a form of indoctrination. Counties and countries don't exist - they're social constructs. We'd never have a concept of these things unless they are constructed for us by our culture/environment.

"I, respectfully, disagree that it's 'natural' or a trait. It's bred into us - it's a form of indoctrination. Counties and countries don't exist - they're social constructs. We'd never have a concept of these things unless they are constructed for us by our culture/environment."

Are we really all fighting among ourselves i doubt that because it's called banter.
    What do you think is bred into us & what's then the solution to that mess?

Has culture been a curse that's driven us to be the way we are. Seem's like your blaming culture. Is it only Irish culture that's been constructing these outcome's or is it more widely spread throughout the whole entire world that you know of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I, respectfully, disagree that it's 'natural' or a trait. It's bred into us - it's a form of indoctrination. Counties and countries don't exist - they're social constructs. We'd never have a concept of these things unless they are constructed for us by our culture/environment.

Seems to me, since time immemorial, humans have organised themselves into tribes of various sizes. Everywhere in the world the same deal. I'm willing to believe this is a natural product of humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

dsmythy wrote: »
    Seems to me, since time immemorial, humans have organised themselves into tribes of various sizes. Everywhere in the world the same deal. I'm willing to believe this is a natural product of humanity.

Most primates do it... most mammals do it for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

dsmythy wrote: »

Yes, but groups of people fighting over stuff is not a trait - I don't think we can describe tribes as having traits because tribes are aggregates of individuals.

trait

1. A distinguishing feature, as of a person's character.

2. A genetically determined characteristic or condition: a recessive trait.

Gangs/Tribes/Nationalities have cultures.

Ascribing traits to groups is dodgey imo. 'They' are stupid compared to 'us' so we should knock the shite out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

That is b.s. Ya I hate those damn Kikenny foreigners coming in and taking our Waterford women and taking our jobs:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Yes, but groups of people fighting over stuff is not a trait - I don't think we can describe tribes as having traits because tribes are aggregates of individuals.

trait

1. A distinguishing feature, as of a person's character.

2. A genetically determined characteristic or condition: a recessive trait.

Gangs/Tribes/Nationalities have cultures.

Ascribing traits to groups is dodgey imo. 'They' are stupid compared to 'us' so we should knock the shite out of them.

I'm not really arguing whether branding a different group from your own is good or bad. It would be great if it didn't happen sometimes. Other times it will tell an uncomfortable truth of difference, such as the difference between the alcohol drinking habits of Irish people versus South Koreans, but it happens and continues to happen because I think it is in human nature. Obviously some people will resist it but the fact that it continues on today shows that most have variable levels of this behaviour presenting itself. I'm simply saying that IMO it's a fact of humanity. Whether it is a good or bad fact of humanity is irrelevant.

I think humanity also has violence and coercion and conflict written in it's code too. One group or tribe or whatever wouldn't go about attacking another if there was a sufficient numbers of individuals seriously opposed to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 nextbestintown

You've never lived anywhere outside Ireland have you?

The Irish mentality is why do we do this, why do the Irish do that? When in reality it is human nature that repeats all over this wonderful world... e.g begrudgery....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Seachmall wrote: »

Nope, nothing but hugs and love everywhere else in the world man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Craebear wrote: »
    Anyone outside the pale is an inbred pig fecker, anyone inside the pale is a quaaaaaar.

Let's not forget sheep and cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Notice the OP has been too embarrassed to post since he/she started the thread. It must be embarrassing to be so far off the mark & have your theory so categorically & irrefutably debunked...